WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gary Oldman Joins "RoboCop" Remake

Posted: May 24th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gary Oldman Joins "RoboCop" RemakeSubmit Comment
Gary Oldman has just signed on to star in the upcoming "RoboCop" remake, which has Joel Kinnaman ("The Killing") on board as the title character, a cop named Alex Murphy who is saved from death by being turned into a cyborg police officer.

Oldman will play Norton, the scientist who creates Robocop and finds himself torn between the ideals of the machine trying to rediscover its humanity and the callous needs of a corporation.

According to director Jose Padilha (Elite Squad), Oldman's character will be at the center of the movie. "In the first 'RoboCop' when Alex Murphy is shot, you see some hospitals and stuff and then you cut to him as RoboCop," he said. "My movie is between those two cuts. How do you make RoboCop? How do you slowly bring a guy to be a robot? How do you actually take humanity out of someone and how do you program a brain, and how does that affect an individual?"

The plan is to begin shooting in September in Toronto. The remake is set to hit theaters on August 9th, 2013.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 6:26:39 AM

Good freakin news, Oldman will make this worth watching.

Hope he goes Frankenstien crazy at some point !!
j-man writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 6:28:40 AM

f*ck this movie!
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 6:43:19 AM

I hear ya j-man, This movie is gonna happen anyways. We may as well have the Awesome Oldman on board.
Rambo writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 6:57:20 AM

well give the man a hand !
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 8:11:36 AM

Best actor on the planet. I have a feeling this film will be too much CGI not enough substance though.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 8:18:50 AM

Still will suck
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 8:22:28 AM

Cinema

Must be in the jeans, His sister not bad actress either !!

http://img.metro.co.uk/i/pix/2009/05/lailamorseBBC_450x250.jpg
boogiel writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 8:26:47 AM

I would stay out of this movie if I were him.
pornfly writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 8:35:41 AM

First Neeson in Battleship,now this
Whats next? Deniro in Ben Stiller movies??
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 8:54:44 AM

There's finally one plus to this movie.
Bullit writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 10:09:36 AM

@Cinema: Anthony Hopkins and ralph Fiennes comes to my mind.

@Trailer: Lol mate
nawtnt writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 10:18:44 AM

Great actor.

I hope this remake turns out to be awesome.
Dre-EL writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 10:22:12 AM

OK now I'm curious
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 10:42:22 AM

trailer- Not sure if you're joking or not but I couldn't believe it when I found out she was his sister. I think she's shocking lol
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 11:01:44 AM

Bullit - lol

Cinema - I know crazy right, Who'd of thought Mo from Eastenders was Gary Oldmans sister LOL

I don't watch the show so i have no idear if she's a good actress or not, But she does look like a bit of a skate !!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 11:36:29 AM

Bullit- They're both good too, but I think Oldman has more range lol
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 2:13:32 PM

What a tough job to pick a great actor nower days.

Gone are the days of De Niro, Pacino and Hoffman dominating all the great screen roles and performances.

Daniel Day Lewis would be very high on my list, The guy excels in pretty much anything he's in.
Bullit writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 2:34:44 PM

"Daniel Day Lewis would be very high on my list, The guy excels in pretty much anything he's in."

Absolutely! He's a tremendous actor and a genuine artist. I admire him since The Unbearable Lightness of Being and he's consistent too at the opposite of De Niro & co's. Well said mate.
Bullit writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 2:39:00 PM

The film is taken from Milan Kundera's novel and it's a must read if anybody hasn't.
j-man writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 3:09:21 PM

@trailer

S'pose thats always a plus!........i hear makenzie crook is gna play kinnamans stunt double lol
Ranger writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 4:21:42 PM

Yo! Back... but swamped!
Hope you're all well, and a few lurkers have died of Cancer.
Ranger writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 4:23:32 PM

PS: to surviving lurkers...

SUCK MY d*ck!
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 4:40:36 PM

Good to see ya bro ..

When's the house party ?
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 4:42:48 PM

j-man lol, That guy still alive thought aids had him
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 4:48:17 PM

Cheers Bullit

Not seen that movie, My Beautiful Laundrette
is the first time i remember seeing him.

But him in My Left Foot is one of the outstanding performances from anyone that i can think of IMO, The film was so so but D.D.L was awesome.
Ranger writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 5:55:54 PM

Hey tt. Well... one week+ to finish the reno (it'll be a year at that point...)... then... PAR-TAY!!!

Seriously... post reno party, it's BYOB, BYOF (food), and I'm asking for a canned item for my pantry as I'll need to eat!

How goes it with you, and on here?
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 6:04:06 PM

Yeah all good thanks pal

Been the same old same old on here. Not so many lurkers lately which has made a pleasant change, I'm sure that will change though.

Been a year since you started all that work damn that has gone quick, All be worth it in the end though i bet.
Ranger writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 6:09:26 PM

Nice to hear (re: lurkers). And yes... except a best friend is hiring me to reno a suite of his and build a 3-car garage (I usually don't farm out my skill... but he's a best friend, so WTF?!).

As for Robo... just watched the only one worth watching (the first one) about a week or two ago (lol... always a classic!). Would like to see this one (as much as I hate reboots) updated with some Matrix-esque effects, combined with a dark, gritty story.
cress writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 6:14:04 PM

Maybe they can get Judi Dench for the Nancy Allen role.
Ranger writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 6:16:46 PM

And call her Judy's Trench in the porn parody.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 6:19:46 PM

Raaaaaaangeeeeer
Ranger writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 6:21:44 PM

baaannnndooooooo! Allo my friend!
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 6:21:53 PM

Busy busy then Ranger .... And it's a best friend, Even if he asks you to join him and the wife in a 3 way you just gotta do it thats the best friend code .... lol

Yeah this could be a descent remake Oldman is a big plus for me.
j-man writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 6:22:40 PM

@trailer
c*nt was born with it lol
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 6:27:55 PM

j man lol, We await that fatal cold ....
elrei writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 7:48:08 PM

I saw Elite Squad 2 a week ago, NOW I can say that I trust Padilha with this. And you can't go wrong with Gary Oldman. You just can't.
mehh0408 writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 8:52:33 PM

"My movie is between those two cuts"
So does that mean 2 hours or cyborg building ? get outta here
bane writes:
on May 25th, 2012 at 7:22:23 AM

gary oldman
is in some low budget
indie film this year

let me think...

dark some thing..wanna watch
the first SIX minutes

http://www.movieweb.com/movie/the-dark-knight-rises/6-minute-prologue



bane writes:
on May 25th, 2012 at 7:26:36 AM

pornfly

ha ha ha

thanks 4 your comment

Whats next? Deniro in Ben Stiller movies??



you made me laugh
Pig Newtons writes:
on May 25th, 2012 at 1:54:43 PM

I'll have to admit, I'm really excited for this now. It sounds like the director and scriptwriters actually want a REAL story, not just a bunch of bullsh*t pooped out on a plate for the "Transformers/GI JOE/Battleship" audience.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved