WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Great Gatsby"

Posted: May 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprioSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has unveiled the trailer for "The Great Gatsby," which is based on the F Scott Fitzgerald novel and stars Leonardo DiCaprio, Tobey Maguire, Carey Mulligan, Isla Fisher, Joel Edgerton and Jason Clarke. Check it out below.

Plot: Nick Carraway (Maguire), a Midwesterner now living on Long Island, finds himself fascinated by the mysterious past and lavish lifestyle of his neighbor, Jay Gatsby (DiCaprio). He is drawn into Gatsby's circle, becoming a witness to obsession and tragedy.

The new movie is written and directed by Baz Luhrmann (Australia, Moulin Rouge, Romeo and Juliet), and is set to hit conventional and 3D theaters this Christmas (December 25th).

Trailer:


Click here to read more about "The Great Gatsby."

Source: Apple


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 4:46:06 AM

The image on the video looks like Stargate. I was excited before I read the title.
Bullit writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 4:54:04 AM

1st Major fail: the music! Ever heard about Django REINHARDT??? I mean, it's uspposed to be in the 20's!

The rest seems okay but knowing this director to take liberties with classic litterature such as Romeo and juliet, I hope he won't screw up with Scott Fitzgerald's greatest novel as well.
Valerie writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 5:51:14 AM

Well visually it looks simply stunning, and DiCaprio appears perfect as Gatsby, but then its Baz, usually its style over substance, hopefully its not the case here.
vaodsi writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 6:00:12 AM

I'll certainly be checking this out. Great cast, great source material and an always visually inventive (if somewhat narratively misguided) director.
Serpico1988 writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 6:08:45 AM

The f*ck is it with the Jay Z rap from Safe house trailer..
This movie is at the risk of ending being one of the worst films of all time, or it could actually be alright. Still love Robert redford from the orginal though... Leo doesn't have that class, and Tobey Midgetquire looks miscast.
trailertrash writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 6:12:48 AM

It's a Baz Luhrmann film, So thats a No Thanks from me.
trailertrash writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 6:17:55 AM

Carey Mulligan, She is starting to get around a bit, ( totally I would BTW)

Watched Shame the other night, A little bizarre and not for evertones taste, But i enjoyed the movie.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 6:18:37 AM

Wow what a terrible trailer (that I had to watch on YouTube because this sh*tty player isn't working as usual). I was mildly interested in this film before, now my interest level is somewhere below zero. Tobey Maguire said one thing, I have no idea what sort of emotions the trailer was trying to make me feel except confusion and disappointment.
trailertrash writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 6:20:34 AM

*Everyones
AngryBird writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 6:30:40 AM

@Bullit didn't Fitzgerald die before finishing The Great Gatsby novel?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 6:35:34 AM

Trailer- Yeah I forgot to mention Carey Mulligan is f*cking sexy. That cute innocent look is right up my street. What is that Shame about then? I saw the movie poster spelled out with c*m so I assumed it had something to do with sex but ain't seen an advert for it.
trailertrash writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 6:51:53 AM

Cinema

Wasn't about much at all really, Fassbender is pretty much has a sex addiction living in NY and his sister (Carey) moves in with him (Which wasn't anywhere near as HOT as it could have been)and she kind of throws his life into a bit of a spin.

It was Fassbender that made the film his character had some real issues going on and his performance was very strong, especially the final 20 minutes or so.

First film i've seen from Steve McQueen too, Worth a look mate IMO
pornfly writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 6:56:33 AM

Thornton Melon said he (Gatsby) was great so I'm just gonna take his word for it.

Dicaprio and Toby make cute butt buddies
darthnoah writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 6:57:09 AM

YO!!
This movie also stars Amitabh Bachchan in a guest role - single scene they say, but who knows.

For those who came in late, Amitabh Bachchan is legend in India and quite a bit around the world. BBC's Actor of the Millennium beating the likes of Laurence Olivier, Charlie Chaplin and Alec Guinness..
http://news.bbc.co.uk/hi/english/static/events/millennium/jun/winner.stm
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 7:56:20 AM

Trailer- Ahh is it like an art housey sort of film then. I might have to check it out online. Yeah Fassbender is easily one of the best actors out there at the moment you can tell he puts 110% in to every role. Didn't know it was Steve Mcqueen, definitely worth checking out then cheers!
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 8:07:00 AM

I'll see it on DVD.
Rambo writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 8:07:44 AM

just finished 'john carter'...what a mess..had some good moments in the second half but overall a very bizarre production...
Mongoloid dad writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 8:50:12 AM

I'll see it. I like the man's eye for dazzling cinematics... Even if it's all a bit thin.

The only thing that could truly improve this as well as Shame, The Master, Cogan's Trade and all the other sh*t coming out is adding in Psycho Paul.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1Med7phdgQ
Bullit writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 8:50:24 AM

@Angrybird: No, his unfinished novel was "The Love of the Last" and it was published posthumously.

And how could I forget the lovely Carey Mulligan, silly me. Real Bristih cutie there and very talented as well. I'm sure she'll play perfectly Daisy's character. Better I hope than how Mia Farrow did originally.

@Trailer: which McQueen's film are you referring to?

About SHAME, that was more than bizarre. Besides being a sex addict and even have gay sex at some stage, the whole story was about a man who couldn't commit in a relationship because he was incapable of simply loving genuinely a woman? IMO, that was a useless story to tell. For you ladies, appart from his performance, I'm sure you'll enjoy Fassbender's big willy which is shown just for you obviously.
trailertrash writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 9:00:15 AM

Cinema

Artsy, Yeah thats it mate spot on, Let me know what you think.

On Mcqueen I haven't seen Hunger but it looks good have you seen it ?
Mongoloid dad writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 9:08:13 AM

@Bullit

Pardon if you may, but I saw the film last week myself. Quite taken by it. Not the easiest film to watch, but it hasn't left me. I feel that's because it taps into a raw nerve. This addiction thing he goes through... It's gross and ugly in the most poignant ways, as it portrays something quite truthful about ourselves.

Also it hints at things in his past, vulnerabilities, some inner darkness they seem to leave out for what we choose to read into him. Breathing room for the character.

Point is... I think it's about more than your summation of it.
trailertrash writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 9:11:01 AM

Bullit

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2588606/

Not the great man Steve the Brit Director Mcqueen.
trailertrash writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 9:12:55 AM

^ If thats what you meant mate....
trailertrash writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 9:15:39 AM

Rambo

"just finished 'john carter'...what a mess.."

That's all kinds of wrong bud !! lol
AngryBird writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 9:25:46 AM

Thanks Bullit
trailertrash writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 10:03:49 AM

Bullit

I understand what your saying about Shame mate, But i thought Fassbender performance was so good he really lifted this film out of the gutter so to speak.

I liked the whole films awkwardness towards the subject in hand, With it's less is more approach McQueen brought to the characters and the story.

Thought New York looked really good to.

But the scene you are talking about towards the end of the movie was a little random i must say wasn't expecting that at all !!
trailertrash writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 10:13:03 AM

Mongoloid dad - Nice post mate ..
Bullit writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 10:41:01 AM

@Trailer: yes mate, that's what I meant, thanks.

@Mongoloid dad: well, I didn't say much about it except...that it's a great novel. Now, I agree with your interpretation and I can also write endless lines about that novel.

To be honnest, I didn't read the book since I was in secondary shool but I do know that it's a tragic, love story about a great man who was maddly in love with a woman who actually didn't deserve him but that's human nature. What stroke me the most is Scott Fitzgerald's writing style, just superb, easy to read, to picture & comprehend the nature of the characters, the relations between them, the subtleness & sensitivity about Gatsby and many other things that makes a great novel by a great writer.

Anybody noticed that he 20's were the decade of true artists? Like Kandinsky and the Bauhaus, Picasso, Hemingway, Dali, Bugatti's brothers...and the 1st film with sound effect.
Rambo writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 11:32:46 AM

@trailer

Don't make me mention again who won the premier league this season...
Rambo writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 11:34:47 AM

http://a1.img.mobypicture.com/450e4e4ea4a772490d50100506d0d2d2_view.jpg
Bullit writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 11:50:51 AM

^ ^ As a MU fan, I should say you cheap bastard but i forgive you for the 2 good reasons above, :)
Bullit writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 12:03:02 PM

"But the scene you are talking about towards the end of the movie was a little random i must say wasn't expecting that at all !!"

Well, the end was disappointing, I mean it could have ended in a more positive way, but no, it leaves you with an unpleasant feeling, nasty selfish bloke leading the same life and without a sister that needed care & help. Not the kind of film to put you in a good mood.
WV-Films writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 12:33:10 PM

You can almost tell it was shot in/for 3D. The angles seem a bit forced, like they're trying to create depth where there is none.

The logo is rockin though!
Bullit writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 1:26:22 PM

^ ^ The logo is representing the motives from the Art Deco architecture style.
buttabean writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 1:40:22 PM

Wow the VO in the beginning is really bad. I'm surprised...

I'm curious why they chose to make this 3D. Not really a movie I would pay to see in 3D.
Sugartits writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 2:29:10 PM

Same Great Gatsby I was forced to read my senior year in high school...in 3D
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 3:48:08 PM

Baz Luhrman...isn't he the guy that makes normal sh*t look weird for no goddamned good reason at all?

Must be a French thing. And the U2 remix, not bad, visually stunning. But yeah, no, no thanks.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 3:53:30 PM

I said remix, I meant cover.

And yeah, style over substance for sure. The damned trailer is nothing more than an incoherent train of visuals. What the f*ck is the story? Love? Rivalry? Tobey's latent homosexuality? Great colors, sure, great visuals, but is there a story? Anything genuine? Anyone to whom we might lend some sympathy? Probably not. Looks hollow and vapid like all of Baz's other films. A gilded, empty box.
Johnnyb writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 4:13:01 PM

One of my favorite authors getting an excellent treatment. I hope is better than Redford's version!!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 6:19:35 PM

Rambo Damn you !!!

Nice pic, Those City fans are all tits anyways
Man in Black writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 2:20:04 AM

Pass.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 2:41:13 AM

Love the novel but as people have mentioned I am skeptical of Lurhmanns handling, the glamour and sheer decadance of gatsbys manor and parties are supposed to reflect a vaccuous soul of pointless conversation, drinking and music. Hard to tell from a trailer but it looks like the visuals are painting these affairs in a very positive fashion. Just hope he doesnt lose the essence of the charachters as he tends to do.

As for Shame I thought it was a great film however I am a big Fassbender and Mcqueen fan so I could be biased. I found the ending of the movie to not be wholey negative as Bullit was suggesting. Throughout the film he displays the detest of his lifestyle through actions but never really truly emotes, the end he is actuly trying to reach out to his sister and breaksdown conveying real emotion for the first time hopfuly managing to breakdown his innerwall and finnaly going to address his addiction.
Gnarkill writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 3:44:21 PM

no interest at all to see this
Gnarkill writes:
on May 24th, 2012 at 3:44:43 PM

couldnt even sit through the whole preview

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved