WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 16th, 2014
"I Know What You Did Last Summer" is Being Rebooted
Sep 16th, 2014
Leslie Mann in Talks for "Vacation" Sequel as Audrey Griswold
Sep 16th, 2014
"You're Next" Director to Remake "I Saw the Devil" Thriller
Sep 16th, 2014
Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"
Sep 16th, 2014
First Look at "By the Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Sep 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Massive Banner For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Sep 15th, 2014
First Look: Adam Driver on "Star Wars: Episode VII" Set
Sep 15th, 2014
"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office
Sep 14th, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Sep 14th, 2014
Photos: "Gotham" Star Ben McKenzie Injured on Set
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look at "Transporter" Reboot, Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look: Mark Wahlberg on "Ted 2" Set
Sep 14th, 2014
Batmobile Stolen From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set, Zack Snyder Knows Who Did It
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "The Sea of Trees"
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Seth Rogen's "BOO: Bureau of Otherworldly Operations" Animated Film
Sep 13th, 2014
Morgan Freeman Joins "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Action Thriller
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer for "Serena," with Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For "Playing It Cool," Re-Teaming Chris Evans and Anthony Mackie
Sep 13th, 2014
James McAvoy Will Finally Be Bald in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Sep 12th, 2014
Theo James to Star in "Underworld 5," Kate Beckinsale NOT Returning
Sep 12th, 2014
Mark Ruffalo Begged "Star Wars: Episode VIII" Director For a Role
Sep 12th, 2014
Photo: Tom Cruise, Simon Pegg, Jeremy Renner and Ving Rhames on "Mission: Impossible 5" Set
Sep 12th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 12th, 2014
"Married With Children" Spin-Off in the Works
Sep 12th, 2014
Official Photo of Batmobile From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Sep 11th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Sony's Decisions Hurt "The Amazing Spider-Man 2"
Sep 11th, 2014
Photos: Haley Joel Osment is a Nazi in Kevin Smith's "Yoga Hosers"
Sep 11th, 2014
James Bond Villain Richard Kiel Dead at 74
Sep 11th, 2014
New Poster For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Sep 11th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone's "Rambo 5" Gets a Title
Sep 10th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Lobo" Comic Book Film?

Posted: May 22nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Lobo" Comic Book Film?Submit Comment
Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson has been hinting on his Twitter account that he is in talks to play a DC Comics character on the big screen. There were many guesses about who the actor could play, but now comes word that Johnson will be playing the interstellar mercenary and bounty hunter, Lobo.

Back in April, Warner Bros announced that Brad Peyton (Journey 2: The Mysterious Island) will re-write and direct the live-action "Lobo" film, after Guy Ritchie dropped out in order to focus on the "Sherlock Holmes" sequel.

Back when Ritchie was attached, Jeffrey Dean Morgan (Watchmen) was rumored to star. The script had Lobo team with a small town girl to track down four alien fugitives who landed on Earth. No word how much the story has changed since then.

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 8:55:38 PM

f*cking stooopid choice.might as well make him gay too
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:06:09 PM

It's just a rumor.

http://www.bleedingcool.com/2012/05/21/expect-to-see-the-enchantress-in-thor-2-but-how-about-the-rock-in-lobo/
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:12:56 PM

It can happen and the rock is profitable at the box-office
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:16:34 PM

Profitable? How so? Fast Five? Ensemble cast. What else has the man done alone that made any money? Faster? Tooth Fairy? Escape to sh*t Mountain? Stop me when I hit one of these 'profitable' movies, ok?
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:19:56 PM

I do see The Rock being cast in this future sh*t fest.
leezy84 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:25:51 PM

sh*t bandogaylero I thought this was your wet dream ??
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:31:07 PM

Actually all the ones you mentiones are.maybe with the exception of faster.and with Gijoe and pain and gain he's gonna become even more famous.

Look up his new mansion in Fla and boxofficemojo for the results.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:33:43 PM

Too bad is in the wrong hands.another dc character gone to the sh*tter.

Weezy84 you try to hard wah
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:37:20 PM

Tooth Fairy made over a 100 mil on a 50 mil production budget, and Race to sh*t Mountain made 100 mil on a 50 mil budget again, so, I dunno if those qualify as 'profitable' according to Jews, I mean people, in Hollywood.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:42:10 PM

It's a hit if it doubled its budget domestically.thats why the rock keeps getting offers left and right lately.Soooo yea maybe the rock will get his wish as US president after all.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:44:26 PM

And on April the Cack had that retarded wrestling match with John Cena in Miami,so that sh*t was sold out and he made more bank.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:44:53 PM

The totals I cited are TOTAL. Domestic plus international, Bando, not domestic alone.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:45:36 PM

But hey, I like the guy too, he just doesn't have much of a range and never will.
KillerCOck writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 10:16:13 PM

Hahahaha!!! I gotta see that!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 10:24:22 PM

So Dwayne is going whitefaced ? Does this mean Lobo will have to sing "Zippidee Doo Dah ?" and tapdance during action scene ?

He has a better chance of being a stuntman in the "Ryan Dunn Story", playing Ryan on fire, trapped in the car.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 12:16:45 AM

So is Lobo going to be brown and Pacific Islander? Cool score one for my peeps!
darthnoah writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 12:28:20 AM

I haven't seen the Tooth Fairy or the Journey thing...

But The Rock is awesome to watch on screen. He actually acts well. And I enjoyed Faster.. Say what you will.. _|_
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 2:06:08 AM

I could see him doing it, with his build & maybe Hollywood magic to make him bigger....but

The Lobo character is violent & batsh*t crazy and The Rock is not really known to handle that...doesn't go with his recent "blockbuster image". If he actually gets the gig & pulls it off, I'd be impressed, having the balls of taking risky & diversified roles.

The project's make or break point will be finding a director to be handle it seriously dark, like a Deadpool to do it justice and thats IF it finds it's small niche audience of fanboys. You really need a director that will fight to be true to the comic.

The director will probably try to make it mainstream, diluting the character & betraying what made it so popular...going soft on the material, IMO. I'll be honest, to the regular moviegoer, the material/ character is pretty out there...

I really don't envy anyone's job involved in the making of this film. It's a tough selll, probably the reason its taken this long to get it off the ground.
tolgaboy writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 4:34:24 AM

definitly wrooooooooooooooooong
pornfly writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 7:08:21 AM

The Rock to star in The Rock remake
kBob writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 2:21:09 PM

"But hey, I like the guy too, he just doesn't have much of a range and never will."

Yeah, that's the best way to sum it up. He's a likeable presence, but as an actor, he's mediocre, okay at best.
Farradin writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 4:35:42 PM

He's a poor director!
Blacktinoheat writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 6:05:19 PM

I can see The Rock playing this role honestly all I know is for those that remember and where bodybuilders back in the 90's, might remember Andrew Brynarski who played in the movies "The Program, Higher Learning, Batman Returns, and Any Given Sunday". Walking around in public dressed as Lobo trying to promote himself as playing the character and getting Hollywood to make a movie about this mediocre comic book character. i am pretty sure his steroided ass will be pissed!!

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved