WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Jan 27th, 2015
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Magazine Covers, Opening Scene Revealed
Jan 27th, 2015
Fox Confirms "X-Men" TV Series in the Works
Jan 27th, 2015
Joss Whedon Hints He Won't Direct "Avengers: Infinity War"
Jan 27th, 2015
First Look at Michael B. Jordan in Costume From "Fantastic Four," Trailer Coming Today
Jan 27th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Ridiculous 6" Netflix Film Unveils First Details
Jan 27th, 2015
Trailer for RZA's "The Man With the Iron Fists" Sequel
Jan 27th, 2015
"American Sniper" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Mortdecai" Flops
Jan 26th, 2015
"Birdman" Wins at PGA Awards, Becomes Favorite to Win Oscar
Jan 26th, 2015
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Jesse Eisenberg Would Return as Lex Luthor in Future Films
Jan 24th, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Arrives Online
Jan 24th, 2015
"Con Air" Director Simon West to Remake "The Blob" Horror Film
Jan 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Jan 24th, 2015
Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast
Jan 23rd, 2015
"Project Almanac" Cuts Out Controversial Scene One Week From Release
Jan 23rd, 2015
Chiwetel Ejiofor in Talks for "Doctor Strange" Role
Jan 23rd, 2015
Video: Will Ferrell Hits Cheerleader in the Face at Basketball Game
Jan 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Vincent Cassel's "Partisan" Sundance Film
Jan 23rd, 2015
First Look at Leonardo DiCaprio in "The Revenant" Thriller
Jan 22nd, 2015
Photo: Will The Hulk Turn Grey in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?
Jan 22nd, 2015
Four Actresses Considered for Female Lead in "Star Wars" Spin-Off
Jan 22nd, 2015
"Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" to Begin Filming in August
Jan 22nd, 2015
Nicolas Cage to Hunt Osama Bin Laden in "Army of One" Comedy, Directed by "Borat" Helmer
Jan 22nd, 2015
Fox Planning New Season of "24" Without Kiefer Sutherland
Jan 22nd, 2015
Promo Art: Batman's Armored Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jan 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Kidnapping Mr. Heineken" Thriller, with Anthony Hopkins and Sam Worthington
Jan 21st, 2015
First Poster for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Lobo" Comic Book Film?

Posted: May 22nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Lobo" Comic Book Film?Submit Comment
Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson has been hinting on his Twitter account that he is in talks to play a DC Comics character on the big screen. There were many guesses about who the actor could play, but now comes word that Johnson will be playing the interstellar mercenary and bounty hunter, Lobo.

Back in April, Warner Bros announced that Brad Peyton (Journey 2: The Mysterious Island) will re-write and direct the live-action "Lobo" film, after Guy Ritchie dropped out in order to focus on the "Sherlock Holmes" sequel.

Back when Ritchie was attached, Jeffrey Dean Morgan (Watchmen) was rumored to star. The script had Lobo team with a small town girl to track down four alien fugitives who landed on Earth. No word how much the story has changed since then.

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 8:55:38 PM

f*cking stooopid choice.might as well make him gay too
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:06:09 PM

It's just a rumor.

http://www.bleedingcool.com/2012/05/21/expect-to-see-the-enchantress-in-thor-2-but-how-about-the-rock-in-lobo/
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:12:56 PM

It can happen and the rock is profitable at the box-office
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:16:34 PM

Profitable? How so? Fast Five? Ensemble cast. What else has the man done alone that made any money? Faster? Tooth Fairy? Escape to sh*t Mountain? Stop me when I hit one of these 'profitable' movies, ok?
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:19:56 PM

I do see The Rock being cast in this future sh*t fest.
leezy84 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:25:51 PM

sh*t bandogaylero I thought this was your wet dream ??
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:31:07 PM

Actually all the ones you mentiones are.maybe with the exception of faster.and with Gijoe and pain and gain he's gonna become even more famous.

Look up his new mansion in Fla and boxofficemojo for the results.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:33:43 PM

Too bad is in the wrong hands.another dc character gone to the sh*tter.

Weezy84 you try to hard wah
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:37:20 PM

Tooth Fairy made over a 100 mil on a 50 mil production budget, and Race to sh*t Mountain made 100 mil on a 50 mil budget again, so, I dunno if those qualify as 'profitable' according to Jews, I mean people, in Hollywood.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:42:10 PM

It's a hit if it doubled its budget domestically.thats why the rock keeps getting offers left and right lately.Soooo yea maybe the rock will get his wish as US president after all.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:44:26 PM

And on April the Cack had that retarded wrestling match with John Cena in Miami,so that sh*t was sold out and he made more bank.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:44:53 PM

The totals I cited are TOTAL. Domestic plus international, Bando, not domestic alone.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:45:36 PM

But hey, I like the guy too, he just doesn't have much of a range and never will.
KillerCOck writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 10:16:13 PM

Hahahaha!!! I gotta see that!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 10:24:22 PM

So Dwayne is going whitefaced ? Does this mean Lobo will have to sing "Zippidee Doo Dah ?" and tapdance during action scene ?

He has a better chance of being a stuntman in the "Ryan Dunn Story", playing Ryan on fire, trapped in the car.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 12:16:45 AM

So is Lobo going to be brown and Pacific Islander? Cool score one for my peeps!
darthnoah writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 12:28:20 AM

I haven't seen the Tooth Fairy or the Journey thing...

But The Rock is awesome to watch on screen. He actually acts well. And I enjoyed Faster.. Say what you will.. _|_
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 2:06:08 AM

I could see him doing it, with his build & maybe Hollywood magic to make him bigger....but

The Lobo character is violent & batsh*t crazy and The Rock is not really known to handle that...doesn't go with his recent "blockbuster image". If he actually gets the gig & pulls it off, I'd be impressed, having the balls of taking risky & diversified roles.

The project's make or break point will be finding a director to be handle it seriously dark, like a Deadpool to do it justice and thats IF it finds it's small niche audience of fanboys. You really need a director that will fight to be true to the comic.

The director will probably try to make it mainstream, diluting the character & betraying what made it so popular...going soft on the material, IMO. I'll be honest, to the regular moviegoer, the material/ character is pretty out there...

I really don't envy anyone's job involved in the making of this film. It's a tough selll, probably the reason its taken this long to get it off the ground.
tolgaboy writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 4:34:24 AM

definitly wrooooooooooooooooong
pornfly writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 7:08:21 AM

The Rock to star in The Rock remake
kBob writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 2:21:09 PM

"But hey, I like the guy too, he just doesn't have much of a range and never will."

Yeah, that's the best way to sum it up. He's a likeable presence, but as an actor, he's mediocre, okay at best.
Farradin writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 4:35:42 PM

He's a poor director!
Blacktinoheat writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 6:05:19 PM

I can see The Rock playing this role honestly all I know is for those that remember and where bodybuilders back in the 90's, might remember Andrew Brynarski who played in the movies "The Program, Higher Learning, Batman Returns, and Any Given Sunday". Walking around in public dressed as Lobo trying to promote himself as playing the character and getting Hollywood to make a movie about this mediocre comic book character. i am pretty sure his steroided ass will be pissed!!

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Chris Pine Says "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit" is One of His Deep Regrets

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Tim Burton Was Replaced on "Batman Forever" Because of McDonalds

Adam Sandler is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor, Again

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Ohio Man Demanding Refund for 50 "The Interview" Tickets

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved