WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot
Aug 9th, 2015
Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews
Aug 8th, 2015
Three Actresses in Talks for "Gambit" Female Lead
Aug 8th, 2015
Trailer for "By The Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Aug 8th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Lobo" Comic Book Film?

Posted: May 22nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Lobo" Comic Book Film?Submit Comment
Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson has been hinting on his Twitter account that he is in talks to play a DC Comics character on the big screen. There were many guesses about who the actor could play, but now comes word that Johnson will be playing the interstellar mercenary and bounty hunter, Lobo.

Back in April, Warner Bros announced that Brad Peyton (Journey 2: The Mysterious Island) will re-write and direct the live-action "Lobo" film, after Guy Ritchie dropped out in order to focus on the "Sherlock Holmes" sequel.

Back when Ritchie was attached, Jeffrey Dean Morgan (Watchmen) was rumored to star. The script had Lobo team with a small town girl to track down four alien fugitives who landed on Earth. No word how much the story has changed since then.

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 8:55:38 PM

f*cking stooopid choice.might as well make him gay too
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:06:09 PM

It's just a rumor.

http://www.bleedingcool.com/2012/05/21/expect-to-see-the-enchantress-in-thor-2-but-how-about-the-rock-in-lobo/
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:12:56 PM

It can happen and the rock is profitable at the box-office
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:16:34 PM

Profitable? How so? Fast Five? Ensemble cast. What else has the man done alone that made any money? Faster? Tooth Fairy? Escape to sh*t Mountain? Stop me when I hit one of these 'profitable' movies, ok?
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:19:56 PM

I do see The Rock being cast in this future sh*t fest.
leezy84 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:25:51 PM

sh*t bandogaylero I thought this was your wet dream ??
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:31:07 PM

Actually all the ones you mentiones are.maybe with the exception of faster.and with Gijoe and pain and gain he's gonna become even more famous.

Look up his new mansion in Fla and boxofficemojo for the results.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:33:43 PM

Too bad is in the wrong hands.another dc character gone to the sh*tter.

Weezy84 you try to hard wah
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:37:20 PM

Tooth Fairy made over a 100 mil on a 50 mil production budget, and Race to sh*t Mountain made 100 mil on a 50 mil budget again, so, I dunno if those qualify as 'profitable' according to Jews, I mean people, in Hollywood.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:42:10 PM

It's a hit if it doubled its budget domestically.thats why the rock keeps getting offers left and right lately.Soooo yea maybe the rock will get his wish as US president after all.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:44:26 PM

And on April the Cack had that retarded wrestling match with John Cena in Miami,so that sh*t was sold out and he made more bank.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:44:53 PM

The totals I cited are TOTAL. Domestic plus international, Bando, not domestic alone.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:45:36 PM

But hey, I like the guy too, he just doesn't have much of a range and never will.
KillerCOck writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 10:16:13 PM

Hahahaha!!! I gotta see that!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 10:24:22 PM

So Dwayne is going whitefaced ? Does this mean Lobo will have to sing "Zippidee Doo Dah ?" and tapdance during action scene ?

He has a better chance of being a stuntman in the "Ryan Dunn Story", playing Ryan on fire, trapped in the car.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 12:16:45 AM

So is Lobo going to be brown and Pacific Islander? Cool score one for my peeps!
darthnoah writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 12:28:20 AM

I haven't seen the Tooth Fairy or the Journey thing...

But The Rock is awesome to watch on screen. He actually acts well. And I enjoyed Faster.. Say what you will.. _|_
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 2:06:08 AM

I could see him doing it, with his build & maybe Hollywood magic to make him bigger....but

The Lobo character is violent & batsh*t crazy and The Rock is not really known to handle that...doesn't go with his recent "blockbuster image". If he actually gets the gig & pulls it off, I'd be impressed, having the balls of taking risky & diversified roles.

The project's make or break point will be finding a director to be handle it seriously dark, like a Deadpool to do it justice and thats IF it finds it's small niche audience of fanboys. You really need a director that will fight to be true to the comic.

The director will probably try to make it mainstream, diluting the character & betraying what made it so popular...going soft on the material, IMO. I'll be honest, to the regular moviegoer, the material/ character is pretty out there...

I really don't envy anyone's job involved in the making of this film. It's a tough selll, probably the reason its taken this long to get it off the ground.
tolgaboy writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 4:34:24 AM

definitly wrooooooooooooooooong
pornfly writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 7:08:21 AM

The Rock to star in The Rock remake
kBob writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 2:21:09 PM

"But hey, I like the guy too, he just doesn't have much of a range and never will."

Yeah, that's the best way to sum it up. He's a likeable presence, but as an actor, he's mediocre, okay at best.
Farradin writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 4:35:42 PM

He's a poor director!
Blacktinoheat writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 6:05:19 PM

I can see The Rock playing this role honestly all I know is for those that remember and where bodybuilders back in the 90's, might remember Andrew Brynarski who played in the movies "The Program, Higher Learning, Batman Returns, and Any Given Sunday". Walking around in public dressed as Lobo trying to promote himself as playing the character and getting Hollywood to make a movie about this mediocre comic book character. i am pretty sure his steroided ass will be pissed!!

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved