WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Will Ferrell Bench Presses Kevin Hart in First "Get Hard" Photos
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for Ewan McGregor's "Son of a Gun" Crime Thriller
Nov 19th, 2014
Snoopy and Charlie Brown are Back in "The Peanuts Movie" Trailer
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for "Project Almanac" Time-Traveling Thriller
Nov 18th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Unveils New Photos, Trailer Coming Next Week
Nov 18th, 2014
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says "Running Man" Sequel is Happening
Nov 18th, 2014
New Images of Snoopy and Charlie Brown From "The Peanuts Movie"
Nov 18th, 2014
See "Interstellar" as Many Times as You Want for One Price
Nov 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Nov 18th, 2014
Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy
Nov 17th, 2014
"Captain America 2" Directors May Take Over "The Avengers" Franchise
Nov 17th, 2014
Oscar-Winning "The Hurt Locker" Writer Hired for "Uncharted" Video Game Film
Nov 17th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Takes First Place at Box Office with $38 Million
Nov 16th, 2014
"Battlestar Galactice" and "Knight Rider" Creator Glen A. Larson Dead at 77
Nov 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Nov 16th, 2014
Jude Law is the Villain in Guy Ritchie's "Knights of the Round Table" King Arthur Film
Nov 16th, 2014
Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"
Nov 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Lobo" Comic Book Film?

Posted: May 22nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Lobo" Comic Book Film?Submit Comment
Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson has been hinting on his Twitter account that he is in talks to play a DC Comics character on the big screen. There were many guesses about who the actor could play, but now comes word that Johnson will be playing the interstellar mercenary and bounty hunter, Lobo.

Back in April, Warner Bros announced that Brad Peyton (Journey 2: The Mysterious Island) will re-write and direct the live-action "Lobo" film, after Guy Ritchie dropped out in order to focus on the "Sherlock Holmes" sequel.

Back when Ritchie was attached, Jeffrey Dean Morgan (Watchmen) was rumored to star. The script had Lobo team with a small town girl to track down four alien fugitives who landed on Earth. No word how much the story has changed since then.

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 8:55:38 PM

f*cking stooopid choice.might as well make him gay too
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:06:09 PM

It's just a rumor.

http://www.bleedingcool.com/2012/05/21/expect-to-see-the-enchantress-in-thor-2-but-how-about-the-rock-in-lobo/
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:12:56 PM

It can happen and the rock is profitable at the box-office
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:16:34 PM

Profitable? How so? Fast Five? Ensemble cast. What else has the man done alone that made any money? Faster? Tooth Fairy? Escape to sh*t Mountain? Stop me when I hit one of these 'profitable' movies, ok?
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:19:56 PM

I do see The Rock being cast in this future sh*t fest.
leezy84 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:25:51 PM

sh*t bandogaylero I thought this was your wet dream ??
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:31:07 PM

Actually all the ones you mentiones are.maybe with the exception of faster.and with Gijoe and pain and gain he's gonna become even more famous.

Look up his new mansion in Fla and boxofficemojo for the results.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:33:43 PM

Too bad is in the wrong hands.another dc character gone to the sh*tter.

Weezy84 you try to hard wah
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:37:20 PM

Tooth Fairy made over a 100 mil on a 50 mil production budget, and Race to sh*t Mountain made 100 mil on a 50 mil budget again, so, I dunno if those qualify as 'profitable' according to Jews, I mean people, in Hollywood.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:42:10 PM

It's a hit if it doubled its budget domestically.thats why the rock keeps getting offers left and right lately.Soooo yea maybe the rock will get his wish as US president after all.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:44:26 PM

And on April the Cack had that retarded wrestling match with John Cena in Miami,so that sh*t was sold out and he made more bank.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:44:53 PM

The totals I cited are TOTAL. Domestic plus international, Bando, not domestic alone.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 9:45:36 PM

But hey, I like the guy too, he just doesn't have much of a range and never will.
KillerCOck writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 10:16:13 PM

Hahahaha!!! I gotta see that!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 10:24:22 PM

So Dwayne is going whitefaced ? Does this mean Lobo will have to sing "Zippidee Doo Dah ?" and tapdance during action scene ?

He has a better chance of being a stuntman in the "Ryan Dunn Story", playing Ryan on fire, trapped in the car.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 12:16:45 AM

So is Lobo going to be brown and Pacific Islander? Cool score one for my peeps!
darthnoah writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 12:28:20 AM

I haven't seen the Tooth Fairy or the Journey thing...

But The Rock is awesome to watch on screen. He actually acts well. And I enjoyed Faster.. Say what you will.. _|_
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 2:06:08 AM

I could see him doing it, with his build & maybe Hollywood magic to make him bigger....but

The Lobo character is violent & batsh*t crazy and The Rock is not really known to handle that...doesn't go with his recent "blockbuster image". If he actually gets the gig & pulls it off, I'd be impressed, having the balls of taking risky & diversified roles.

The project's make or break point will be finding a director to be handle it seriously dark, like a Deadpool to do it justice and thats IF it finds it's small niche audience of fanboys. You really need a director that will fight to be true to the comic.

The director will probably try to make it mainstream, diluting the character & betraying what made it so popular...going soft on the material, IMO. I'll be honest, to the regular moviegoer, the material/ character is pretty out there...

I really don't envy anyone's job involved in the making of this film. It's a tough selll, probably the reason its taken this long to get it off the ground.
tolgaboy writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 4:34:24 AM

definitly wrooooooooooooooooong
pornfly writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 7:08:21 AM

The Rock to star in The Rock remake
kBob writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 2:21:09 PM

"But hey, I like the guy too, he just doesn't have much of a range and never will."

Yeah, that's the best way to sum it up. He's a likeable presence, but as an actor, he's mediocre, okay at best.
Farradin writes:
on May 23rd, 2012 at 4:35:42 PM

He's a poor director!
Blacktinoheat writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 6:05:19 PM

I can see The Rock playing this role honestly all I know is for those that remember and where bodybuilders back in the 90's, might remember Andrew Brynarski who played in the movies "The Program, Higher Learning, Batman Returns, and Any Given Sunday". Walking around in public dressed as Lobo trying to promote himself as playing the character and getting Hollywood to make a movie about this mediocre comic book character. i am pretty sure his steroided ass will be pissed!!

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved