WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jackie Chan Retires from Action Movies

Posted: May 19th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jackie Chan Retires from Action MoviesSubmit Comment
While promoting his latest action film, called "Chinese Zodiac," at Cannes, Jackie Chan revealed that he plans to retire from making action movies and to instead focus on roles that don't require stunt-work.

"This is my last action film," he said. "I tell you, I'm not young any more. I'm really, really tired. And the world is too violent right now. It's a dilemma -- I like action but I don't like violence."

Chan, who has appeared in more than one hundred films, is best known for his martial arts skills. But he now wants to be known for his acting. "I want to be an Asian Robert De Niro," he explained. "I don't just want to be an action star, I want to be a true actor. I want to get rid of my image. I want the audience to know I'm not only a comedian. I can act."

Source: The Telegraph


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 6:18:01 AM

Just keep casting him with Owen Wilson
He'll get his Oscal (not a typo) soon enough
Bullit writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 6:25:24 AM

"I want to be an Asian Robert De Niro,"

Well, good luck with that!
bandolero999 writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 6:25:56 AM

Uh there's like a million other Chinese martial artist out there so now they'll be able to be recognized.

Deniro stopped being cool after the 90s
AYT BALL writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 6:33:14 AM

....Well I'm gonna show him a little respect, good luck to him in the future, he's done a lot for martial arts and movies and physically put himself through a lot for us.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 6:43:55 AM

And at least he got to fight it out with Jet Li.would of been cool if he fought tony jaa too.

Bullit writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 6:58:03 AM

Jackie Chan was a hardcore stuntman. He broke almost every bone in his body and several times.

Years ago, I had a double fracture and everytime the weather changes, I can feel some slight discomfort. So, imagine for him...
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 7:09:06 AM

Greatest Action star i've ever seen IMO

Anything from the early 80's to the late 90's that wasn't American was f*ckin Awesome !!!
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 7:12:33 AM

Last 20 minutes of Project A pt2 was his finest !!

And thats his best film too ....
Slimer42 writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 7:14:03 AM

He is old and he had a hell of a career with action. Good luck Jackie. I think you can move on and still be a household name. Just don't do another Spy Next Door type of movie. You can still do a Rush Hour 4.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 7:46:30 AM

Ewww rush-hour by Brett Rattner?
Jew f*ck director hell to the f*ck no.
nawtnt writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 7:49:55 AM

I think Jackie Chan should do The Expendables 3 if thats ever made then retired from action.

At least he's planning to be a singer.

In The Karate Kid, he showed that he can act in emitional scenes, I thought he did a amazing job as Jaden's mentor.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 8:02:12 AM

He acted in this movie called heart of dragon.where sammo plays his retarded brother.
witwicky-potter writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 8:08:49 AM

ill miss you Jackie.
Rambo writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 9:33:23 AM

he was never one of my fav action heroes...
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 9:45:24 AM

RIP Jackie!
KillerCOck writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 10:41:48 AM

I'm very surprised no one is crying about him ever being in an Expendables movie now. hahaha
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 11:21:26 AM

Jackie wants to be the asian Robert Deniro ?

So he wants to sleepwalk through roles, tread on years of 'method acting' and turn his past of revered acting into what now is a joke, a fluke ?

Fair enough. I figured hanging around Jaden Smith made Jackie vomit in the trailer's porcelain bowl and go "f*ck ... I went from Drunken Monkey to this ?"

That's what happens when you sell your soul to Brett Ratner.
James Blond writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 11:28:40 AM

which roles he want to play??


chinese restaurant owner??

vely delicious meal, you want some mole lice?
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 11:44:37 AM

Never cared for his 'acting', which consisted of him delivering lines like one of those talking Japanese toy robots. As far as his 'action', sure, he's a dedicated stuntman, but that's it, and sure he's good as a limber-limbed leaper, but that's the extent of his cinematic talents.
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 11:51:23 AM

Bando

I've seen that movie Heart of Dragon (it was called First Mission back then) Good movie.

Sammo (as his simple brother) and Jackie acted their socks off in that movie , Also has some good action too.

Has to be watched with subtitles though the dubbed version takes the edge right off of the film and their performances.

Also thought he was very good in New Police Story as well
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 12:16:47 PM

Maybe Jackie feels jaded because no one wants the outrageous plots & stunts anymore. Audiences want a bit more realism. Done are the days where he has to kick 30 guys' assess while he holds a baby against a time clock where everything turns out fine with Jackie's smile at the end. That doesn't cut it anymore.

Sh!t, he wouldn't even have a love interest in almost all his movies, he almost never got the girl. The premise to show more action was king, but wore thin as well.

Is not that things are more violent and not more action, which in itself does is a bit confusing, but when he says that, I hear, "the times are changing and I can't keep up with audiences' action interests now."

I don't think he should limit himself as "no more action, more acting" type movies. The mixture of acting & martial arts like in THE KARATE KID is just fine. He doesn't have to be do stunts like in the 80s/ 90s anymore.

Jackie sacrificed life & limb (see end credits) for DECADES for our entertainment. At this point, I say he really earned to do whatever he wants. Really him & Sammo Hung are the last big names in these type of films.

I think Jackie should look for roles, that IF it required SOME action, he wouldn't shy away from. And I mean martial art action (which he can do in his sleep) and not stunts.

IDK, I think some projects can have both & have more emotion to the action. Saw YIP MAN with Donnie Yen & was really blown away with his acting (very restrained, very subtle) as a sprawling period piece with action. Part 2 is also good, but takes the drama to fuel the final action climax. I was impressed.

Anyways, thanks for all the badass action memories, Jackie.
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 12:34:32 PM

I have no idea what yo guys are smoking, but the guy cannot act. American, English, Chinese, Hong Kong, subtitled or not, he cannot act. Never could, never will, and he sucked in The Karate Kid. Totally forgettable, as was the entire movie, but his role especially.

Mister Miyagi? Pat Morita? I remember him, as I have for decades now, very clearly, but Chan? Who? Can't recall. Don't care.

Fact is, him and his repetitive tricks are old hat. Lame. Used up. He had a thing, a gimmick, and it worked for a long time but people aren't interested any longer and he just can't get anyone to theaters on his poor attempts at REAL acting, at which he totally fails.

Retiring? No, he was fired by the audiences.

But I like how people came to love him through his Three Stoogish stunt acting and thus then gave him far, far more credit than he deserved when he tried 'real' roles. It's almost like charity, or the kind of pity a parent gives to a retarded child that manages to tie his or her shoe correctly that one rare time.
UMRAO writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 12:54:29 PM

I've always respected you Jackie, but to make a comment “I want to be an Asian Robert De Niro" is a very foolish thing to say.

You couldn't even begin to scratch the surface of what Bobby has done as an actor. Shame on you….
jay-c writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 1:31:55 PM

From Jackie's Face Book page -

"Hello all my friends and fans,

Yesterday in my press conference in Cannes for Chinese 12 Zodiac I said that this movie was my last big action movie.

Today I was shocked when I woke up to read all the news coverage that I was retiring from doing Action movies.

I just want to let everyone know that I am not retiring from doing action movies. What I meant to say is that I need to do less of the life risking stunts on my movies. After all these years of doing so many stunts and breaking so many bones, I need to take better care of my body so I can keep working.

I will continue to do international action movies.

And I will keep improving my English :-)

I love all of you!

Jackie"
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 2:14:26 PM

^^Damn. More Rush Hour films and another The Spy Next Door movie.

Jack Chan rocks....*sigh*.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 2:38:42 PM

Mink- you can't forget shanghai dawn, or whatever that future piece of sh*t with suicidal Wilson was called.
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 2:39:18 PM

Mink

I'm not saying he's a great actor not by any means but he was a great action star.

Like i already said anything early 80's to late 90's that wasn't American was pretty great in my book.

This has been along time coming, He told Jonathan Ross on his Incredibly Strange film show (great show BTW) back in 1989 he would only make those kinds of action films for a couple more years, 20 odd years later he finally gives up.

I liked him in the (The Unnecessary) Karate Kid film, I thought he had a certain charm about his character he was the Mr Miyagi for a new generation, Both my boys love that movie, Which is what the movie was aiming for not old school Karate Kid fans like us.

Have to agree though if we are going to get films like Spy Next Door, Medallion, Tuxedo, Rush Hour 3 he should just call it a day for good.
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 3:05:13 PM

All I'm saying is that Chan is the proverbial one-trick pony. I've seen many, many of the man's films over the years, and yeah, sure, he's an amazing *stunt* man, but his acting, his delivery of dialogue, is beyond atrocious.

I think people are confused. They think that if someone amuses them, that makes that person a great actor, and what people say about Chan reminds me of how people thought Ryan Dunn was just somehow awesome, when in reality, the reality in which I live, both people made careers via their 'amusing' antics, and not their ability to play a character with any level of convincing fidelity.

James Cagney was a great actor. Jimmy Stewart was a great actor. Steve McQueen wasn't bad at all. Tom Cruise? Great actor. Jack Chan? Goofy Asian with a superhuman willingness to do sh*t that would otherwise kill anyone else, but NOT a great actor, because who or what he plays is never played with any depth or with any ability to convince me he's pretending to be anyone but himself.

That and I hate the way he talks. Annoying as f*ck.
pornfly writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 7:46:03 PM

Police Story and ProjectA

Thank you Drunken Kung Fu Master

That is All
pornfly writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 8:18:40 PM

Everybody knows Stephen Chow is the biggest goofball anyway

NOW, that is all
Detrimental writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 11:23:19 PM

..The Asian stereotype is slurring "L"'s by using "R"'s.. not vice versa.

I repeat, L becomes R, not R becoming L
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 21st, 2012 at 10:08:22 PM

f*ck, with all that money he made he could at least get plastic surgery ... his face looks like he kept hitting the f*cking wooden door in every f*cking action movie he made.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved