WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Avengers" Sets New Box Office Record, Becomes Highest-Grossing Disney Film

Posted: May 19th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Avengers" Sets New Box Office Record, Becomes Highest-Grossing Disney FilmSubmit Comment
"The Avengers" keeps breaking records. On May 17th the film reached $400 million at the domestic box office, accomplishing the feat in just fourteen days, which is a record. "The Dark Knight" was the previous record-holder by reaching the $400 million mark in eighteen days. Only thirteen films have ever been able to do that.

"The Avengers" has grossed a $1.07 billion worldwide, surpassing "Toy Story 3" and "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest" to become the highest-grossing Disney film and the sixth highest-grossing overall.

It's still too early to tell where "The Avengers" will end up, but it's not showing any signs of slowing down. Many believe it has the legs to eventually beat "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2" ($1.328 billion) to take third place, it will likely not be able to surpass "Titanic" ($2.183 billion) or "Avatar" ($2.782 billion), especially with all the great summer movies coming up.

Click here to read our "The Avengers" review.

Source: Walt Disney Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 10:49:49 PM

I just hope Disney doesn't f*ck up a good thing like they did Favreau and thus, IRON MAN.
OneTime writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 11:30:06 PM

can i have some of that profit to pay off my mortgage. its only 200k
Avirex writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 12:23:42 AM

Someone get me Robert Downey's drug supplier, I mean agent. I could use $50 million right now.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 12:41:21 AM

"with all the great summer movies coming up."
Um other than TDKR and Prometheus, what other great movies are there?

I knew this was gonna do well but not this well.


rocketman writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 1:39:15 AM

OMG bestest film everz Josh is the greatest directors in the world and the unpredictable script had me on teh edge of my seat,TDKR is going to get pwnd etc....

Wake me up when the balance of the universe is restored.....Prometheus is out soon right?
EarOne writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 3:50:01 AM

really..?? unlikely to surpass either Titanic or Avatar?? well, both movies were released more than once, right..?? if so, then THAT's what they gotta do with The Avengers.

sides..the ONLY movie that most likely to be a THREAT to Avengers' reign is The Dark Knight Rises. I HIGHLY doubt that the Spider-Man reboot will be as phenomenal as the original Tobey Maguire's spidey movie, in 2002.
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 5:38:56 AM

Rocket - Right !!
python6 writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 6:36:46 AM

@EarOne

They could put the deleted scenes back into the movie and release it back to theaters around Christmas and dominate the box office again


Sandullivan23 writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 9:58:52 AM

And how much of that is IMAX 3d, basic 3d, or just standrerd, I mean if all films were released in IMAX 3d a billion dollars would be an avarge thing for most movies, so sure I can buy a billion dollar movie ticket and that movie will be a big hit
rocketman writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 11:05:36 AM

@TT, good film but fuuucckkkk the kids need to calm down and watch more films.
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 12:06:50 PM

In other news, according to various Jewish Hollywood accountants, Avengers will be a net loss for Disney, which the company blames on internet piracy...
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 2:46:25 PM

Rocket haha good point my friend
Ryanlawson writes:
on May 19th, 2012 at 6:42:09 PM

haha mink!
Speaking of which, i have the second half of my downloaded copy of john carter to watch huzzah
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on May 20th, 2012 at 2:34:39 AM

^^ just watched john carter tonight myself. contrary to its box office and sh*tty reviews i didnt completely hate it...it was okay at best. could have obviously been written better but not horrible.

Aside from that im glad the avengers is doing well still, very entertaining movie and I hope that Prometheus holds up to how awesome it looks.
EilanVakshti writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 5:09:10 PM

Bravo, Avengers! Bravo!

Your turn now, Mr. Wayne.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved