WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
"X-Men: Apocalypse" to Focus on Younger Cast, Patrick Stewart Says He May Still Return
Apr 20th, 2014
Hayden Panettiere Won't Return for "Heroes: Reborn" TV Series
Apr 20th, 2014
Trailer for Michael C. Hall's "Cold in July" Thriller
Apr 20th, 2014
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ridley Scott Says "Blade Runner 2" Lead Will Be a Woman

Posted: May 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ridley Scott Says "Blade Runner 2" Lead Will Be a WomanSubmit Comment
We've been talking about a "Blade Runner" sequel for about a year. Ridley Scott is planning to return to direct the new film, but whether Harrison Ford will reprise the role of Rick Deckard has been unclear.

Producer Andrew Kosove (Insomnia) has been saying that Ford should not be brought back. "This is a total reinvention and in my mind that means doing everything fresh, including casting."

Now, while promoting "Prometheus," Scott revealed that work on "Blade Runner 2" has started and explained why Ford will not be the main character in the film. "I started my first meetings on the 'Blade Runner' sequel last week," he said. "We have a very good take on it. And we'll definitely be featuring a female protagonist."

Source: The Daily Beast


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 9:44:20 PM

f*ck, just make it a prequel. Show how the replicants came to be, a la some origin back story like what they've done with Prometheus. You have a winning formula, Scott, so just use it.
Sugartits writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 11:09:15 PM

I bet he'll pluck the connections to the original out and make it it's own stand alone film just like Prometheus
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 11:17:26 PM

meh, I just have a good recall of that film and I wanna keep it that way there's no point for me to see the sequel f*ck Hollywood and the c*nt WORTHINTHONG really f*ck them!
bandolero999 writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 12:10:08 AM

the lead would be a woman no wayyyyy
Rambo writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 12:35:32 AM

you no come here..illegal!!!
OneTime writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 12:50:47 AM

blade runner was 30 yrs ahead of its time.
trailertrash writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 3:51:10 AM

Blade Runner is still Ridleys finest piece of Cinema IMO

Agree with Mink i'd rather see a prequel than a sequel.

The Ford story was like a rhetorical ending and thats how it should stay.
Morbius writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 5:23:19 AM

"And we'll definitely be featuring a female protagonist."

Does not necessarily mean, or explain why (?) Deckard will not be the MAIN character.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 5:41:14 AM

FAIL!!!!!!!!
thomas deadison writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 5:53:08 AM

I really really don't want this to happen.
thomas deadison writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 5:56:07 AM

I don't mean because of this news, either. I mean at all. Not every movie is a franchise.
KillerCOck writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 12:10:41 PM

Blade Runner was an ok film. f*ck a sequel, Ridley should focus on something good.
minkowski writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 7:37:49 PM

I guess you mean something other than Prometheus, right?
KillerCOck writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 9:39:32 PM

right

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved