WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ridley Scott Says "Blade Runner 2" Lead Will Be a Woman

Posted: May 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ridley Scott Says "Blade Runner 2" Lead Will Be a WomanSubmit Comment
We've been talking about a "Blade Runner" sequel for about a year. Ridley Scott is planning to return to direct the new film, but whether Harrison Ford will reprise the role of Rick Deckard has been unclear.

Producer Andrew Kosove (Insomnia) has been saying that Ford should not be brought back. "This is a total reinvention and in my mind that means doing everything fresh, including casting."

Now, while promoting "Prometheus," Scott revealed that work on "Blade Runner 2" has started and explained why Ford will not be the main character in the film. "I started my first meetings on the 'Blade Runner' sequel last week," he said. "We have a very good take on it. And we'll definitely be featuring a female protagonist."

Source: The Daily Beast


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 9:44:20 PM

f*ck, just make it a prequel. Show how the replicants came to be, a la some origin back story like what they've done with Prometheus. You have a winning formula, Scott, so just use it.
Sugartits writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 11:09:15 PM

I bet he'll pluck the connections to the original out and make it it's own stand alone film just like Prometheus
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 11:17:26 PM

meh, I just have a good recall of that film and I wanna keep it that way there's no point for me to see the sequel f*ck Hollywood and the c*nt WORTHINTHONG really f*ck them!
bandolero999 writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 12:10:08 AM

the lead would be a woman no wayyyyy
Rambo writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 12:35:32 AM

you no come here..illegal!!!
OneTime writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 12:50:47 AM

blade runner was 30 yrs ahead of its time.
trailertrash writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 3:51:10 AM

Blade Runner is still Ridleys finest piece of Cinema IMO

Agree with Mink i'd rather see a prequel than a sequel.

The Ford story was like a rhetorical ending and thats how it should stay.
Morbius writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 5:23:19 AM

"And we'll definitely be featuring a female protagonist."

Does not necessarily mean, or explain why (?) Deckard will not be the MAIN character.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 5:41:14 AM

FAIL!!!!!!!!
thomas deadison writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 5:53:08 AM

I really really don't want this to happen.
thomas deadison writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 5:56:07 AM

I don't mean because of this news, either. I mean at all. Not every movie is a franchise.
KillerCOck writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 12:10:41 PM

Blade Runner was an ok film. f*ck a sequel, Ridley should focus on something good.
minkowski writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 7:37:49 PM

I guess you mean something other than Prometheus, right?
KillerCOck writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 9:39:32 PM

right

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved