WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Could Morgan Freeman Hurt "The Dark Knight Rises" Box Office Results?

Posted: May 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Could Morgan Freeman Hurt "The Dark Knight Rises" Box Office Results?Submit Comment
Just like many other Hollywood actors, Morgan Freeman is known for making insulting comments aimed at certain groups of people, mostly Republicans. Freeman recently said that the Tea Party wants to kick President Barack Obama out of the White House because they are racist.

The actor said this during interviews for "Dolphin Tale," a Warner Bros movie that's targeted at families and religious people. His comments immediately caused many movie-goers to swear that they will never attend a Freeman film. "Dolphin Tale" eventually became profitable, but some wonder how much more it could have grossed if the actor kept his opinions to himself.

During a recent Time Warner's annual shareholder' meeting, one of the shareholders asked if the company will do anything to prevent Freeman from pushing his political agenda while promoting "The Dark Knight Rises." The fear, of course, is that Freeman will hurt box office results.

Tim Warner CEO Jeff Bewkes responded that there's very little that the company can do and that he believes what actors say "doesn't usually have a significant effect on the success of the film."

It's tough to say whether he's right, since 35% of Republicans and 20% of Democrats will consider avoiding movies that star an actor whose political values clash with their own. I'm sure the number skyrocket if the actor flat out insults them.

Question: Do you think comments like Freeman's can hurt box office results?

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Serpico1988 writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 6:50:42 AM

Dumbest news of the week...

well done wp.
brandonegc writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 6:54:42 AM

This is the stupidest f*cking thing I've ever seen.

Morgan Freeman had nothing to do with Dolphin Tale's failure, hell he's probably the only reason anyone saw that movie. Well, other than people who mistook if for a sequel to Shark Tale with Will Smith.

Nothing will hurt the box-office numbers for TDKR except the possibility of negative reviews upon release.
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 7:06:31 AM

LOL !!!!!!!

It's all Morgan's fault The Dark Knight Rises isn't as big as The Avengers ....

Getting them excuses out early then !!
WV-Films writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 7:25:42 AM

It's no secret WP tilts republican, and tries to spin stories in that direction whenever possible. WP needs to stop using it's own site for it's own political agenda, and need to start selling crazy somewhere else.
STIFLERinANDaroundURmouth writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 7:26:06 AM

he is such a boss. his character in the movie is a perfect role for him
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 8:06:32 AM

Wtf is this ?? This isn't news.
Damon242 writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 8:17:13 AM

People go to movies to escape reality. I hardly think they care.
AngryAngel writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 8:28:50 AM

I don't want Obama out because he's black. I want him out because he's spending spending 3 times more in one day than bush did. STFU Freeman, and take your granddaughter wife and go the f*ck back to acting not tellin people they're idiots that give you money.
Bullit writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 8:35:33 AM

Whether WP is republican or not, this "news" is really pathetic. I wish I didn't read this.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 9:00:55 AM

No. Now stop trying to stir up another political/race debate. On the other hand, if this was Mel Gibson, you might have some real news. I'm pretty sure Jews don't watch his films anymore.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 9:12:53 AM

I cant stand the following black actors.they needed to stay in the 90s and 2000s:
Sam Jackson
Morgan freeman
Will smith

Denzel and Wesley are smooth playas
bandolero999 writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 9:17:59 AM

I have a feeling dkrises will not be successful as people predict.we will see opening day.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 9:23:25 AM

In other interesting important news.A-lister T3 actor Nick Stahl is missing since May 9th and probably might have Overdosed:
http://www.tmz.com/2012/05/16/nick-stahl-missing-terminator-3/
Everybody Chillllll writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 9:39:49 AM

If he was actually the star the of the movie this may have some merit. But you could eliminate his role completely and it wouldnt even be noticed.
Cork writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 10:19:06 AM

Where did those statistics come from?
KillerCOck writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 10:19:25 AM

I hope so! it'd be nice to go to a comic book movie where people aren't f*cking cheering or clapping
Serpico1988 writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 10:22:22 AM

@Everybody chill

i doubt that man, his screentime might be short but Lucius Fox is the reason Batman got all that amazingg sh*t - the pod, the suit, the Bat which 'ISN'T A CAR'
TonyWalnuts writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 10:33:53 AM

This is ridiculous. I think most of Hollywoods political views are hippy liberal douchebag sh*t but I still watch the films.

Actors like George Clooney supporting socialism yet would probably kill their own mother to remain wealthy.

And did morgan freeman ever marry his step grand daughter? I would be more worried about that but would still see has films.
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 11:04:42 AM

^ That sounds HOT !!

I would definitely see this movie if he was banging the step grand daughter
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 11:44:38 AM

Like any of the little kids who are going to flock to The Dark Knight even know how to read...
Phoenix Fire writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 11:46:55 AM

The Tea Party is racist. Thats a fact. So no damage done. Republicans almost put Sarah Palins dumb ass in the Vice President spot. I value not their judgement. f*ck em!!!
Rambo writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 12:09:33 PM

movie will not do as well as TDK because of the Heath Ledger hype. that's the only reason.
brokeboy writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 12:26:46 PM

just an excuse why dark knight did not beat the avengers.
darthraige writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 12:52:06 PM

You honestly think the general public gives a frogs fat ass about Freeman and his comments?
TonyWalnuts writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 1:02:34 PM

Haha @trailertrash yeah that movie would be hot.

I wish I could tell you that Morgan fought the good fight, and the anti marry your step grandaughter people let him be. I wish I could tell you that - but hollywood is no fairy-tale world.

He never said why he did it, but we all knew. Things went on like that for awhile - hollywood life consists of routine, and then more routine. Every so often, Morgan would show up with fresh viagra.

The anti- marry your step grandaughter people kept at him - sometimes he was able to fight 'em off, sometimes not. And that's how it went for Morgan- that was his routine.

I do believe those first two insertions were the worst for him, and I also believe that if things had gone on that way, this place would have got the best of him.
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 1:06:02 PM

I'd blame those Uber clean bright orange prison uniforms before i'd blame Freeman for hurting TDKR Box Office figures.
pornfly writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 1:32:12 PM

Im sure Freeman dont give a flying f*ck about the people that wont go to to his movies

Chris Brown,Gibson,Allen,Polanski arent doin too shabby

Jessica Biel has a hot ass,Vergara has bomb titties and the Tea Party is rascist these are just facts not hate
La Grinta Belga writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 2:22:14 PM

This is just bullsh*t... if you don't want to see a film because of an actor's opinion (who cares about their opinion in the first place??) the joke is on yourself I think. Btw Freeman is probably not more than 5 minutes in the movie...
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 2:34:39 PM

Morgan Freeman, just another old black racist. Bit it is cool that WP may tilt right. Helps offset all the liberal and leftist wackjobs on the internet. And no, the Tea Party isn't racist. You're a f*cking idiot if you believe that one. But hey, it IS the WP comment section...

In other news, Nick Stahl is missing

http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/entertainment/2012/05/terminator-3-star-nick-stahl-missing/

and hardly anyone has noticed.
Sugartits writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 2:37:22 PM

He can say what he wants and this movie will still make a billion dollars
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 2:56:12 PM

Mink

They should be checking Edward Furlongs basement !!
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 4:16:56 PM

Maybe the mob finally got him from T3.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 4:16:59 PM

Maybe the mob finally got him from T3.
Rambo writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 4:36:03 PM

has anyone seen Nick Stahl?
Rambo writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 4:37:31 PM

ranger is missing also...wait a minute!!!
rancid meatloaf writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 4:39:28 PM

It wouldnt surpise me if tickets sales go up in response to the brave comments freeman made, gotta love america
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 4:55:05 PM

Who gives a sh*t what actors think? I just want them to act. Besides, everyone knows if you don't vote for Obama, you are a racist white, even if you're black.
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 7:24:35 PM

wow mink the level of your stupidity actually amazes me
and thats not saying a whole lot
jikae writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 7:50:40 PM

@Ranger You may be onto something here... lol
pornfly writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 8:31:26 PM

MINK,ok Tea Baggers arent rascist
99.9999% of them just happen to be white and the only guy that pisses them off is black

Where were these people when Busch was screwin us
Phoenix Fire writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 10:18:20 PM

This is what would happen if Obama tried to pass the law of gravity:


Obama: "What goes up, must come down."

Tea Party: "Floating off into space is a God given right!"

Obama: "It's a proven scientific fact."

Tea Party: "Gravity is a myth created by the liberal media."

Obama: "Then let me see you fly."

Tea Party: "No, because once we're in space you'll close the atmosphere and lock us out!"
Phoenix Fire writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 10:19:22 PM

Obama: "Have a good weekend."

Tea Party: "NO!!!"
Phoenix Fire writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 10:23:09 PM

And Nick Stahl is in another news headline so if you wanna bounce then bounce!
SACdaddy writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 12:30:39 AM

@Phoenix fire: lol!!!! oh so true.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 3:54:32 AM

i highly doubt his words could effect a huge movie like TDKR..
Attos writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 4:21:11 AM

I personally don't give the single tiniest bit of a sh*t what actors do or believe in their own free time. I hardly see what it has to do with any films they are in. To boycott a movie because of something a cast member says or does would require that every movie in history be unwatchable. Who doesn't honestly think that out of the hundreds and hundreds of people involved in the making of a film, there aren't a few *ssholes or nutjobs? Who cares?
Also, by refusing to support a film because of the opinions of one person, you're failing to support the rest of the cast and crew who sweat and toil and otherwise work their asses off. That's pretty f*cking selfish if you ask me.
OneTime writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 8:30:40 AM

people still vote? thats sooo 1960's
thisajoke? writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 11:29:38 AM

Wasn't the time you tried a takedown on a democrat almost no one had ever heard of, using that he mentioned the green lantern once as your flimsy excuse, embarrassing enough?
Even the biggest morons who love posting racist near gibberish for shock value every day on this site are barely backing you up because of how stupid this try was. Doesn't that say something?
Next time you decide to strike clumsy a blow full of made up statistics for the Republican/tea party "cleverly disguised" (hey that's sarcasm is case you missed it) as a story about the movie industry, why not just send it to fox or the Drudge report where people would eat it up instead of making your own site look this stupid/ hacky? Or better yet put the cap back on the bottle and sleep it off.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 8:06:39 PM

f*ck politics
thisisntme writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 11:27:15 PM

Hey Angry Angel, why don't you shut the f*ck until you know what the f*ck you're talking about.
minkowski writes:
on May 20th, 2012 at 12:24:42 PM

"99.9999% of them just happen to be white and the only guy that pisses them off is black"

You forget how much William Jefferson Clinton pissed them off too, same folks, and old BlowJob Billie didn't have even half the left-wing retardation of Obama.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved