WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Poster Arrives Online
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Toy Story That Time Forgot" Poster Features the Battlesaurs
Oct 15th, 2014
Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive
Oct 14th, 2014
See Concept Art of Krang, Bebop and Rocksteady For "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles"
Oct 14th, 2014
Ben Affleck Was Studio's First and Only Choice to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Oct 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Downey Jr Earned Over $50 Million for "The Avengers," Plus Marvel Film Timeline

Posted: May 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Downey Jr Earned Over $50 Million for "The Avengers," Plus Marvel Film TimelineSubmit Comment
After "Iron Man" became a big hit for Marvel, Robert Downey Jr's agents renegotiated his fee to appear in future film that would require the actor to play Tony Stark/Iron Man.

Now that "The Avengers" is a huge hit, THR has learned that Downey may end up earning more than $50 million for just the one movie. Meanwhile, his co-stars never made the same deals and will thus depend on bonuses. Chris Hemsworth, Chris Evans, Jeremy Renner and Mark Ruffalo will ultimately make $2 million to $3 million.

Downey's payday is impressive, but $50 million is still low comparing to other Hollywood stars. Johnny Depp collected at least $250 million from the four "Pirates of the Caribbean" films. Michael Bay earned $80 million for just the first "Transformers" film and likely earned much more for the next two sequels. And James Cameron likely earned more with "Titanic" and "Avatar" than everyone mentioned combined.

Meanwhile, the "Art of The Avengers" book contains an official timeline for the Marvel Cinematic Universe, which shows exactly when all major events took place that led up to "The Avengers." Check it out below.

Timeline: (click to enlarge)


Source: THR, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 7:08:48 AM

Nice ...

But not as sweet as Big Jack's paycheque for Batman Returns though ....
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 7:39:43 AM

Yeah didn't he make like over 100 million for that
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 8:12:37 AM

God damn I knew I shoulda got into the movies when I could, especially if they are making that kinda money.
boogiel writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 8:25:45 AM

$50 mil? Damn, he should build a real Iron man suit.
Bullit writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 9:01:39 AM

What would be interesting to know is how those highly paid movie stars mangage all those millions? How much taxes? In what do they invest? Do they all have bobyguards or a contract with securitiy companies? How do they find good & trustworthy accountants?

Earning $mil is one thing, finest managements & staying on top is another...
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 9:10:21 AM

I think Jack made around $50 mill on the first Batman because he opted for a percentage of the BO gross. It was the first time I remember hearing an actor make such a killing for a film. RDJ is one smart mofo!

btw, didn't Keanu Reeves make over $40mill for the two Matrix sequels?
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 9:13:20 AM

50cent's Vitamin Water commercial deal still beats all the others. $400 mill for a few hours of work! Must be nice.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 9:15:04 AM

Chris Evans needs to go on strike then.he's gettin paid sh*t
Janus writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 10:38:29 AM

No wonder Marvel is talking openly that he can be replaced like every James Bond actor.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 10:38:37 AM

Good for him. I always liked him and he did his fair share of roles that made him f*ck all but he obviously thought something of the role.Fur: An Imaginary Portrait of Diane Arbus comes to mind.
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 10:57:56 AM

Dr.D

It was well into the Millions, But not sure how much i have about $30mil in mind after VHS/dvds merchandise etc, Which is nice pay for doing nothing !!
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 10:59:33 AM

SAC - $400mil !! WTF !!
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 11:12:07 AM

SAC

Also 1st time i remember earning money out of the % of the gross was Sir Alec Guinness from Star Wars he had 2% i think instead of a flat fee, Now that was forward thinking !
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 11:46:53 AM

In what do they invest?

@Bullit- Cocaine.
venomex writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 11:48:44 AM

hard to believe that 3 to 4 movies happened within the same week
Rambo writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 12:10:33 PM

50 mil ?

lots of money for drugs when he retires...
Bullit writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 12:42:17 PM

@Cinema: Well, if he's back to the Betty Ford clinic then we'll all know about his investments. Not to mention that they still keep him a hot spot in the Los Angeles County jail.

@SACdaddy: you rather depressed me with this kind of news and I was wondering how on Earth a talentless fat, ugly c*nt for a f*ck face like 50 cents could make that kind of money: I read in the Washington Post that his manager is obviously much smarter than him and actually made the deal for him.

Go figure, most of us has to study all the way up, working very hard and eventually making few thousands a month! And then you've got 50 f*cking cents with his luck of one in a billion and his talentless skills! Yeah, go figure...

I still can't believe how f*cking ugly the bastard is!
pornfly writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 1:43:19 PM

You cant compare Downey to directors paydays

I cant believe how loaded Depp is

Trust me Bullit, '50' got the $$ but hes surrounded by 'yes men' and sycophants and doesnt get the respect

Its harder to make tons of dough respectfully
Look at Kim K. all she had to do was show that ass gettin pumped and now,anybody that comes in contact with her is set for life

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved