WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: How Pixar Accidentally Deleted "Toy Story 2"

Posted: May 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: How Pixar Accidentally Deleted "Toy Story 2"Submit Comment
This video came out a year ago, but some of you may not know this story. Since the video has now started circulating around the internet, we decided to post it as well.

Apparently when Pixar was making the sequel to "Toy Story," some of the employees ran into a big problem. They erased the entire movie before giving it a chance to be released. The back-up was a mess and wasn't much help.

The only solution would have been to remake the entire film from scratch, which would have created a serious delay and cost tens of millions of dollars. By pure luck, the company was able to escape this disaster and went on to make $485 million from "Toy Story 2," which eventually led to a third installment.

Check out the video below which explains how everything went down.

Video:


Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
youraveragetroll writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 7:49:55 AM

i hate everything and love to leave cynical comments no matter what the article. have i found a place to call home with you all?
oh yea, of course ive accomplished nothing with my life, so i hate on everyone elses work
youraveragetroll writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 7:54:35 AM

toy story...

more like Gay Story

did i do that right?
Donyae 420 writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 8:01:03 AM

Well played sir
Bullit writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 9:25:14 AM

If I'm not mistaken, that copy was Pixar's property and therefore if was a felony or a federal crime considered as an act of piracy by bringing it to her home.

Still, how the hell did they manage to loose the original and the backup?

Interesting and a very bizarre story.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 11:49:13 AM

youraveragetroll's jokes went down like a lead balloon...

If only Pixar "accidentally" deleted Cars 2. Then they might still have the flawless reputation that they used to.
darthraige writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 12:55:18 PM

What f*cking format was the backup in?
Bullit writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 1:15:17 PM

*therefoe IT was...

sorry.
pornfly writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 1:50:47 PM

How the f*ck do you delete something 'accidentally'??

Smart people with no common sense
bjoneslsu writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 2:26:40 PM

They should have done this sketch with bunnies...
SergioFX writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 4:55:06 PM

TOY STORY 2 SUCKED ANYWAY

TOY STORY SUCKED!!!! I HATE PIXAR THEY ARE ROBBING US!

I ALSO HATE EVERYTHING ABOUT HOLLYWOOD AND EVERYTHING ABOUT MOVIES IN GENERAL!

Do I have friends here yet?
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 3:57:20 AM

@ Cinema, i watched Cars 2 a couple days ago with my lil bro, wasn't that bad, the first was better but i enjoyed it lol
minkowski writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 7:51:23 PM

youraveragetroll must be a Dark Knight fanboy.
johar writes:
on September 19th, 2017 at 8:12:49 AM

I am just so happy to hear that eventually that did not get deleted. Because Toy Story 2 is me and my best thesis writing service mates favorite animated movie!
johar writes:
on September 26th, 2017 at 12:10:20 PM

I am so happy that the accident did not do much damage. Because, if this best drone for gopro movie was destroyed, I would not have seen my favorite movie of all time.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved