WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Matthew McConaughey, Sam Worthington and Gerard Butler in 3D Iraq War Film "Thunder Run"

Posted: May 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Matthew McConaughey, Sam Worthington and Gerard Butler in 3D Iraq War Film "Thunder Run"Submit Comment
Freedom Films announced that it will begin shooting their 3D Iraq War action film "Thunder Run" this summer and has attached Matthew McConaughey, Sam Worthington, and Gerard Butler. Simon West, the man behind "Con Air" and the upcoming "Expendables" sequel, is directing.

The story focuses on the dangerous and bloody capture of Baghdad by American forces. In April 2003, three battalions and fewer than a thousand men launched a violent thrust of tanks and Bradley Fighting Vehicles into the heart of a city of five million, igniting a three-day blitzkrieg, which military professionals often refer to as a lightning strike, or "thunder run."

McConaughey, Worthington and Butler will each play a Colonel in charge of one of the three battalions. The movie is based on the book by Pulitzer Prize-winning correspondent David Zucchino.

Source: Freedom Films


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2012 at 8:29:56 PM

No thanks. Three actors I can't stand (Butler hasn't done anything good in years) in yet another Iraq movie. Must be a tax break for filming over there or something...
realgirl76 writes:
on May 15th, 2012 at 8:36:54 PM

Iraq war films now are the Vietnam war movies of the 80's.
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2012 at 8:43:32 PM

Still waiting, then, for the Iraq War version of Platoon...I guess I'll have to settle for Hurt Locker...lol.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 15th, 2012 at 9:41:31 PM

3 of the most hated actors in one movie.could cause seizures.
Pig Newtons writes:
on May 15th, 2012 at 11:08:12 PM

This WILL fail. Trust me. I wasn't part of the Invasion force in 2003, but I was part of the relief force (2004-2005) and I know ALOT of people (who were part of the Invasion force of '03) that are going to be very angry when this "Call of Duty" impression is poorly made and comes off as historical bullsh*t
Man in Black writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 12:08:48 AM

Wow , just don't . It's gonna suck , and why these 3 . Butler is the only one with any acting chops and even that's a stretch. Also they are way to young to be a Col. full bird or other wise unless they were on a fast track but it wouldn't be in an Armor or Inf Batt that's for damn sure .
@ Pig/04-05? what sh*t hole errrr i mean FOB ?
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 9:14:44 AM

f*ckKKK FUCCCKK FUCCKKKK what an insult to the american army, this 3 faggots can't be soldiers for sh*t, they look so stupid and THE c*nt can't never be badass he is a f*cking c*nt FUCCCK this sh*t really f*ck hollywood!
Bullit writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 1:05:56 PM

1 Scotsman, 1 from Texas and 1 Aussie to represent the Iraq invasion: hm, I don't think that this will be a popular thread. Or movie.

This is only about the bankable casting to only make some bucks for the studios but at the expenses of the real soldiers who paid a heavily tribute for a war that wasn't really necessary at the end. I'm thinking about d*ck Cheney & friends i.e.

Not to mention the Iraqi civilians.
Orias writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 2:49:04 PM

Should be awesome, I have a book on that of the same title. I love tanks and those forays into Bagdad were so violent and action packed many of those tanks took dozens and sometimes over 100 RPG-7 hits each and kept on ticking so to speak!
Pig Newtons writes:
on May 16th, 2012 at 7:15:28 PM

@Man In Black: I was attached to an Armor unit (2/37 AR REG-1st AD) and we operated in a "pie-shaped" sector of the central west of Iraq that went from Taji to Ramadi down to Karbala. I was Headquarted at Taji though.
tolgaboy writes:
on May 17th, 2012 at 12:26:24 PM

i hate war movies
Man in Black writes:
on May 18th, 2012 at 1:38:17 AM

Taji ,nice place first time i got to wear a soft cap in 6 months ... and not have to stand in line for a phone for an hour . We had everything east of Taji since they blew the bridge at Zab to Kirkuk south to Tikrit ... stationed out of McHenry . Called a FOB should had been a fire base . C Co 163 INF/MECH 42ID . Good times !

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved