WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Avengers" Crosses $1 Billion, "Dark Shadows" and "The Artist" Bomb

Posted: May 13th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Avengers" Crosses $1 Billion, "Dark Shadows" and "The Artist" BombSubmit Comment
"The Avengers" is continuing to perform exceptionally well at the box office. The film has now passed the $1 billion mark, and only in nineteen days, matching the speed record set by "Avatar" and "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2." It is also now the 11th top grossing movie of all time.

During its second weekend "The Avengers" grossed a whopping $103.2 million domestically, becoming the first movie ever to cross the $100 million mark in its second weekend. This was easily enough to take first place at the box office, beating Tim Burton's "Dark Shadows."

"Dark Shadows," which stars Johnny Depp, had to settle for second place with $28.8 million domestically, which is much lower than the $40 million predicted by early tracking numbers. The $150 million film will have a really tough time making its money back at home. It grossed an additional $36.7 million internationally for a worldwide total of $65.5 million. "Dark Shadows" has a 41% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Meanwhile, The Weinstein Company re-released "The Artist" in theaters, but despite the fact that the film won an Oscar for Best Picture, there was absolutely no interest from movie-goers. The film played in 751 theaters, but grossed only $161,000. That's a lousy $214 per screen.

Click here to read our "The Avengers" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
YoungChris writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 10:27:42 PM

Good for them ...
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 10:38:32 PM

Trailer you were right mate
pornfly writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 10:47:28 PM

I read Avatar beat Avengers by two days
pornfly writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 10:50:19 PM

214$
Isnt that like 40people per screen?
Thats not bad at all
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 10:56:58 PM

Knew that comedic take on Dark Shadows was gonna bomb. Make it serous and less campy I woulda see it no problem.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 10:57:31 PM

Hahahhaaa depp.the world is tired of your stupid gothic love triangle of you,Burton and his weird wife.

Now you're gonna say Americans are too stupid to comprehend dark shadows.
mrstretch writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 11:55:35 PM

I just got back from Dark Shadows and it sucked balls. One of the worst movies I've seen in a long time.
AngryBird writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 12:08:09 AM

Took my son to se Dark Shadows because he likes Johnny, my son said it was really boring and somewhat funny and wanted to know what Johnny Depp was thinking when he took the part.
Man in Black writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 12:48:54 AM

And all the while the studio that owns the rights to DC properties still is saying " Justice League ? we don't see enough interest in an ensemble cast movie of superheros. " .... Hey maybe Kevin Smith will sh*t out a script for it ? Glad to hear Avengers giving the finger to Avaturd . Avengers delivered across the board and the good critics saying that the Hulk stole his scenes where not kidding . I was rather impressed by Ruffalos performance as Banner / Hulk .
UMRAO writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 1:20:25 AM

Ahh 3D=$$$$
pornfly writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 1:39:01 AM

No clip of Liam Neeson from SNL??
Damon242 writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 1:46:03 AM

This is getting interesting...
pornfly writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 1:50:16 AM

Good job Weinstein re-releasing The Artist four months after the Oscars with the summer blockbusters
Rambo writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 1:55:35 AM

so even depp can star in flops...and now the prodcuers of 'the lone ranger' have another reason to worry...
witwicky-potter writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 2:08:56 AM

So happy the Avengers is doing well.Shame for Tim though,still dont understand upto now how that movie cost $150 million to make
Bullit writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 3:26:16 AM

"Dark Shadows" cost $150 million!?!? Somebody in the production got really f*cked hard in the ass.
According to the trailer, I really don't know what was the most expensive! And Bando said it right, it's really boring by now. This is 2012 Not the bloody 90's!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 4:20:24 AM

Fist....

Man Utd...HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!


On subject

This is great news. Just keep on racking up the dosh.

What a fantastic weekend!!
Bullit writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 4:40:49 AM

^ ^ Yep, it sure was. What a fantastic match!


http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2143841/Manchester-City-fans-blue-ecstaCity-Premier-League-title-win-footballs-greatest-turnaround.html
Džeko writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 4:43:22 AM

I don't think were going to see trailertrash here today...sorry dude.
Džeko writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 4:43:59 AM

*we're
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 5:38:17 AM

@bullit

I know, great innit?

Now they know how most of us felt in 1999..lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 7:40:42 AM

Good! Shove that up your arse Cameron. Did the studios really expect anyone to see The Artist in cinemas? The main age range that goes to the pictures now days is below 20, you really think teenagers are gonna sit through a silent, black and white film. That's why Avatar performed so well because it was colorful, full of explosions and required barely any brain power.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 7:48:04 AM

Dave & Bullit- As bored as I am of seeing Man U win the title every year I still would have preferred them to get it than Man City. Can't stand teams buying their way to the title it wound me up when Chelsea did it as well. I'm a Gooner btw so all I've got to be happy about is having to watch us get knocked out of the Champions League again next year. Arsenal will be back on top one day... they have to be :(
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 8:06:19 AM

Dr.D -

Thanks bud, It's been an incredible performance at the B/O from The Avengers ...
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 8:12:29 AM

dave/bullit -

You can go off some people you know ;-)

I've got something to fill that city chicks mouth up with ..... grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Džeko

Fair play my friend best team over the 38 games always wins the title and your man got that all important 2nd goal in the 92nd minute.

Truly unbelievable last 5 minutes of football, Not even Hollywood could make that up.
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 8:20:53 AM

Cinema

Football has gone money crazy now.

f*ckin Tevez jumping around yesterday f*cking c*nt went missing for 4 months and left his team high and dry.

Money has taken the game to another level now, with teams Like City (1 BILLION so far spent) and Chelsea chucking money around like confetti.

I know United do spend money, But it's money they have earned through football,Same as Arsenal who really need to buy this summer to get back in touch with the Manchester clubs
Džeko writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 8:47:07 AM

@tt
Yeah,absolutely unbelievable overall season and of course especially those last couple of minutes.One think I didn't like though was how Ferguson inclined that those 5 minutes of stoppage time were too much and that's why City has won the title,easily forgetting how many goals(and titles for that matter)has Utd won by scoring goals in the last minutes of the match.
Džeko writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 8:47:42 AM

*one thing
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 9:35:38 AM

Yeah he was just gutted to lose not only on goal difference but have the title snatched away with the last kick of the season too.

We've done it sooooooo many times ourselves i guess it was a little karma coming back our way.

He was pretty magnanimous after the dust had settled, despite what people think he is gracious loser when it comes to the title at the end of the season, Best team always wins it and he knows that better than anyone.
Bullit writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 9:36:05 AM

@Cinema & Trailer: Well, what can I say? I'm MU fan since Cantona's years but in all fairness City scored more goals than MU and the results are there! Thank you Rooney...

Anyway, most of all, I do enjoy watching a good match and that was the case yesterday with City since we couldn't win with more panache. And you've got to be fair since City was waiting for 44 years to finally get it, so good for them.

At the end, like Cinema said, MU was winning almost every year, so better time next year.

And Arsenal is a good club, always a pleasure to watch them, thanks to Arsene wenger.

Cheers,
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 9:55:46 AM

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Aaaaaaahhhhhhhhh Cantona !!

One of favorite ever players along with Roy Keane and Bryan Robson (the reason i started following UTD at school in the 80's)

In truth bullit we were lucky to still be in it with 10 games to go, But when we went 8 clear with 6 games left i thought we may have nicked it in the end, But it wasn't to be.

That early Premiership team with Cantona up front with Hughes and Ince/Keane/Giggs/kanchelskis/Irwin/Parker/Bruce/ Pallister and Big Pete in goal is still one of the best sides i have ever seen play.

If only we hadn't been hampered by the 3 foreigners rule we could have done very well in europe in the early 90's.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 10:02:25 AM

Trailer- You know it mate. Pathetic really that people are getting payed this much to play the most enjoyable sport on the planet, f*ck bitches and act like spoilt brats. Well we'll see how Podolski gets on upfront. We desperately need a solid center half with experience who can control our poor defence. Most importantly we need to keep Van Persy, but I highly doubt that will happen.
j-man writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 10:32:22 AM

Which is dumber, a bag of dog sh*t. Or joey barton!?
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 10:34:15 AM

Thats a tough one J Man, Barton does get paid Ł80,000 per week, But is still a giant c*nt !!
Bullit writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 10:36:51 AM

@Trailer: I agree with you on every line you wrote. Memories, sweet memories.

Also, how can it be to win by just one goal against a team like Sunderland??? Err, never mind.

And Trailer, did you say City spent 1 BILLION Ł!? How? From whom? Tha's a shocking figure for a team like City. Bloody hell.

@Cinema: speaking of spoilt brat, the one that I really can't stand is Balotelli! That bloody wap is the worst of them all! Arguing with his own teamate about because he wanted to shoot the free kick! Unbelievable. And he's not that good either.
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 10:38:09 AM

A few top signings Cinema and Arsenal will be back up there i'm sure.

Wenger is a good manager and with Pat Rice leaving and Bold coming in a fresh face and ideas on the bench can't be a bad thing IMO

Lukas Podolski is a good start him and RVP could be awesome next year.

trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 10:43:20 AM

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/manchester-city/9255702/Manchester-Citys-930-million-spending-spree-to-turn-club-into-Premier-League-title-contenders.html

There you go Bullit

And we had enough chances against Sunderland to win by more, Just one of those games keeper played well hit the woodwork 4 times and Rooney missed a sitter.
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 10:44:39 AM

Sorry about all the football talk peeps ...
minkowski writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 10:45:01 AM

Lol. Another Burton-Bonham-Depp collaborative sh*tfest. f*ck. What the f*ck did he expect, basing it off some sh*tty 'gothic' (of course!) tv show from the f*cking sixties.

And the poster, Christ, the lettering was done in Photoshop using the sh*ttiest font and the worst hard beveling I've ever seen.

The day I never have to hear of that one-tune piano Burton and his ball-washing wife is a good goddamned day indeed. c*nts.
Bullit writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 10:47:18 AM

Joe Barton? that c*nt is paid 80K a week?

That's the one who stubbed out a lit cigar in the eye of a teammate and was jailed for punching someone 20 times while on a night out!

Yep, a c*nt indeed!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 12:30:34 PM

Bullit- Yep, Balotelli pretty much sums up everything that's wrong with the modern game. Egotistical little boys who think they're better than the team. That's why managers like Fergie and Wenger have done so well for so long cause they don't put up with that sh*t. Look at Beckham at Man U, Ferguson didn't give a sh*t how good he was he threw a boot at his head lol.

Trailer- I hope so mate I;m getting to the point where I'd even like to see a new manager. I miss the Arsenal of 2004, unbeatable all season. No stress or heartache just pure pleasure.
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 1:05:04 PM

Yeah thats him Bullit, He had a slot on news night during the season so now he thinks he's an intellectual, But he's just a thick old thug.

Cinema

Wenger and Sir Alex are old school managers and they don't stand for guys like Joey or Mario, That is why Tevez wasn't signed Alex knew he was trouble.

You've got guys like f*cking John Terry or Cashly Cole trying to run the England team from a players position, they have to much power now.

The things JT has got up to on and off the field he shouldn't be anywhere near the England squad let a lone captain

Player power !!! Sir Alf will turning in his grave now i bet.
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 1:08:28 PM

Bullit

Did you check out that City Billion pound link ?
Džeko writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 1:11:22 PM

Money doesn't buy titles..last minute goals do.
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 1:19:05 PM

LOL !!!

Very True, It's just those 2 strikers cost about Ł65 million

:-)
Bullit writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 1:40:44 PM

@Trailer; yes I did & thanks mate for the link. I read it with total consternation. But even with all that money, I'm not sure they'll be able to gather the best team in the League.

It's all about business investments in order to become as profitable as MU. Well, that will take some time as Rome wasn't build in a day. I'm sure Fergusson will strike back accordingly next season as I trust him & respect the old man.

Also, hats down to Scholes, he did a pretty good job during the hole season.
Džeko writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 2:55:14 PM

@tt
Yeah...the owner apologized..it was all that that he could find in his pockets at the moment :) .
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 3:31:49 PM

Bullit

Yeah i trust Sir Alex too, Big summer in front of us though. We need 3 top class forward thinking players and a fully fit Vidic to return, Then i will happy.

As for City all this talk of a shift of power, They need to be up there for a fair few years yet before they can talk like that.

Džeko

haha i fear that he will have very deep pockets this summer though ....

Bullit writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 3:54:39 PM

@Trailer: According to Vidic's agent, he should be back for this summer and I'll be happy too because he's the central key of the defense and Ferdinand wasn't up for the job. Things will get much better, I promise!
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 4:10:50 PM

Yeah he's the rock of the team, Rio and Evans have done ok but we need him back and he will help David De Gea out as well.

Breaking News !!!

Paul Scholes signs on for 1 more year (hope thats to help the new super stars we buy into the team)

He's a wonderful player one of the best United have ever had, Shame he's not 27 instead of 37
Bullit writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 5:40:56 PM

"He's a wonderful player one of the best United have ever had, Shame he's not 27 instead of 37"

I couldn't agree more, he's a great player combined with a nice personality which is quite rare these days. Great news in all accounts.

We'll Be BACK! MU 4 U!
Cody Fairless-Lee writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 7:21:57 PM

$150 million? Wikipedia says that DARK SHADOWS cost $60 million!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on May 15th, 2012 at 9:23:19 AM

Bullit

Hope so buddy !!

Looking forward to next season already ...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved