WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Government Adds New Anti-Piracy Warning to DVDs, Pirates Run Away in Fear

Posted: May 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Government Adds New Anti-Piracy Warning to DVDs, Pirates Run Away in FearSubmit Comment
The federal government and Hollywood have teamed up to create new anti-piracy warnings that will appear on new DVD and Blu-ray discs starting this week. The warnings are meant to scare off anyone who might violate copyright law by making illegal copies or uploading films to the internet.

The new version has a Homeland Security Investigations logo alongside the FBI logo. Then a second screen will appear stating: "Piracy is not a victimless crime." And both screens cannot be skipped over.

There's a lot that's wrong with this system. First, pirated copies don't have any warnings on them, which means that only those who purchase the DVDs legally will have to tolerate the threats. Second, it seems that it would be wiser if the FBI, the Homeland Security and Hollywood would have a "thank you for purchasing this DVD legally" message, instead of one that threatens you with jail and a hefty fine.

Check out shots of the new warnings below.

Warnings: (click to enlarge)


Source: Wired


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 67 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
D˛eko writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 5:07:20 AM

Good luck with that.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 5:29:01 AM

I'm still gonna download movies
Wazza writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 5:30:58 AM

Another reason to download movies from The Pirate Bay, good jobm anti-piracy guys
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 5:34:40 AM

I don't download or watch pirate movies, So this news makes not one jot to me !!
pornfly writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 6:28:22 AM

Just dont f*ck wit my porn!
wonderBOY writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 6:35:55 AM

@trailertrash
since you don't download pirated movies it will. You will have to watch that unskipable scene everytime you watch a movie.

In Australia they started putting a thank you for buying the dvd/blu ray message, it makes so much more sense than the pirate warnings
pornfly writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 6:41:13 AM

I suspect the headline pic is what happened to RANGER
Bullit writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 6:49:08 AM

And this is meant to stop the piracy from today with immediate effect?

Aks the Russians if they do give a sh*t about that!

There are too many servers around the world where the FBI will never have any kind of authority and that's good! One country telling the rest of the world what they should do or not do is a concept that will only provoke an uprise of disobedience as it's in our human nature to react like that thanks to the inheritance of human kind's history.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 6:55:18 AM

Avengers 2 will boost the economy. now get to it!
Bullit writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 7:07:21 AM

Off topic: RIP Carroll Shelby.

A legendary constructor with the AC Cobra, GT350 & GT500.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 7:12:01 AM

Speaking of Russia.saw red heat with Arnold yesterday.Arnold talking Russian with Austrian accent helarious.

They don't make action movies like that anymore.
Avirex writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 7:50:46 AM

Now I suddenly remember why I don't buy DVD's or Blu Rays anymore.

But fear not you greedy corporate f*cks, I still go to the theater occasionally and give away my money.
Kurskij writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 7:51:19 AM

Spot on, Alex.

It might be targeted at those evil-evil men who buy disks with intent to rob them of content, but one might as well start installing "Crime Is Illegal" road signs.

Pirates don't care - do your job if you want to apprehend criminals and let me enjoy my legally purchased movies without 5 minutes long useless adds no one gives a f*ck about.
Kurskij writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 7:55:45 AM

@bando

Juiciest lines belong to Ed O'Ross.

- Ebi svoyu mamu v zadnicu! (Go f*ck your mother in the ass)

- What did he say?

- Hee sad kiss yo mothaz beehind!
bandolero999 writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 8:40:17 AM

Sure was
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 8:57:43 AM

It'll still happen.
Bullit- Good Call, RIP Shelby!!
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 9:04:00 AM

wonderBOY

Yeah we have the same kind of thing here Thanking you for buying the dvd/blu ray at the start.

Don't really know how much that really helped in the war against piracy though.

I don't do it for 2 reasons,

1: I love to collect films .....

2: I have been affected by piracy/down loading in a previous business, So i just don't do it, Thats my choice.

But times as they are around the world at this moment people will always think of themselves and what money they can save, So piracy is something you can get for practically free, For a product which vastly over priced to start with and has been for years.

I don't condone it but i totally understand why people do it.
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 9:05:52 AM

I'm sure Dirty Barry and his dodgy dvds won't give two sh*ts about these new Warnings.
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 9:20:31 AM

Bullit

I have these pics in an Great McQueen cars book....

http://theselvedgeyard.files.wordpress.com/2010/07/carroll-shelby-steve-cqueen.jpg?w=600&h=447

http://cdn5.wn.com/pd/39/f7/85c170b24f0bb10e3e1fa2c183c2_grande.jpg

RIP
beepboop writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 10:12:23 AM

in germany they sometimes add some flashy clip about how downloading a movie is like stealing a car and/or annoying kids singing happy birthday in front of a prison and asking their mom when their father will be released.
both are way more obnoxious than this. and they are super annoying. everytime I see them I regret paying money for it.

why are they punishing the wrong people?
AYT BALL writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 10:59:55 AM

@ Trailer - sure we've talked about this a while back, i have a huge collection of bought dvds and now blu rays and love going to the cinema. IF i download a movie and its worth buying i go buy it, may keep the download version to play on my computer or PS3......IF however a movie is a piece of crap! i delete the download and don't buy it, so if they are complaining to me that i tried before buying it, realised it was sh*t and didn't get conned into buying the original....then yeah, I'm guilty! lol As you said if prices were fair piracy would die down. Never vanish but reduce.
bane writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 10:59:56 AM

i will think about that

when i am watching TDKR

(for the eight time)
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 11:06:06 AM

There's not a whole lot of good Pirate movies out there anyway. haha.
Man in Black writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 11:20:48 AM

A thank you instead of a warning of time in the gulag ... really it's rule though fear and intimidation the Govt gives us a list of sh*t you can't do but never says what you can do . That hasn't made it out of committee yet so until further notice don't do anything . And doesn't the Dept of HLS have its hands full already trying to keep illegals out and performing security theater at the airports ?
Kurskij writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 12:00:24 PM

I'm tired of this one. They often play it in front of the movie and a million f*cking ads I don't want to watch but can't skip.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HmZm8vNHBSU
OneTime writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 12:00:48 PM

download 4 life



is the tattoo i have across my chest
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 12:22:16 PM

AYT

Yes we did speak about this before.

I've rented a few films lately before I buy, even that isn't as cheap as it used to be £4 a film seems a lot to me.

They should work it they reduced the cost of the film if you buy or something after you've watched it.

If its no good you Just pay the rental charge.

It's something the studios could set up. Then you could deal with them direct,Therefore cutting out the high street which would bring the cost of the blu ray/dvd down.

Just an idea ....
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 12:45:57 PM

From a previous thread:

AGB: Unblocking The Pirate Bay, in the UK, is trivial:

http://torrentfreak.com/how-to-unblock-the-pirate-bay-111004/

@myvaghurtz: that invite is growing cold. Give men an email if you want it.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 12:49:21 PM

Hilarious anti-piracy ad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALZZx1xmAzg
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 12:58:54 PM

Mink - LOL !! They are funny guys ....
rocketman writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 1:22:16 PM

Why are pirates called pirates?





coz they arrrrrrr
reach110 writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 1:25:09 PM

Suddenly have the urge to download... EVERYTHING...
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 1:42:04 PM

Rocket - Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo


LOL .....

swoooop writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 2:03:00 PM

Thats America and the fear factor for you inn a nutshell.

Notes to myself:
-Never by another DVD.
-Never by a another Bluray
-Find out who the victim is.
-Go out and get laid.
Bullit writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 2:41:37 PM

@BadChad: Cheers mate. Carroll Shelby was a true mechanic genius. I really admire his work. Although his famous AC Cobra with its staggering Ford V8 was only destined to the real hardcore drivers and among the few of them was Steve McQueen!

@Trailer: Thanks mate, nice pics.

I've got these ones too:

http://i1066.photobucket.com/albums/u417/bullitt8/Fun/McQueen/SMcQueenACCobra.jpg

http://i1066.photobucket.com/albums/u417/bullitt8/Fun/McQueen/SMcQueenFerrari1.jpg

And to add to his cool, he was also very stylish:

http://i1066.photobucket.com/albums/u417/bullitt8/Fun/McQueen/SMcQueenStyle.jpg

Back to this topic: for whatever it's worth, I NEVER download a cam copy simply because the quality is so crappy that it's really not worth it. That's the real sense of piracy therefore I don't contribute to that part.
AGB writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 3:12:14 PM

@ mink
the link says its just for belgium and doesnt work in uk but thanks anyway :-)

I use demonoid,extra torrent and nzbs for the majority of stuff but piratebay is a decent backup

anything i download its usually because its only worth watching once and not worth £15 on bluray,but if its a good movie i will shell out for it,ive got over 200 blurays and they look better than a bunch of avi files on a hard drive
Bullit writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 3:18:53 PM

"The link says its just for belgium and doesnt work in uk but thanks anyway :-)"

Belgium? Friggin Belgium? Bouhahahahahahahaha!! You haven't lost anything there mate! Believe you me.

Belgium, besides their famous lagers & "frites" aka chips or French fries, it's becoming more like US people say: durka durka f*cking land! ugly & f*cking dirty! I hate that f*cking country!
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 3:30:45 PM

AGB: Don't dismiss the link because it's only for Belgium. It works for any place because most ISPs in Europe only block The Pirate Bay at the DNS.

http://news.slashdot.org/story/12/05/06/2245225/unblocking-the-pirate-bay-the-hard-way-is-fun

http://news.slashdot.org/story/12/05/06/2245225/unblocking-the-pirate-bay-the-hard-way-is-fun

Now, maybe you're just not too serious about overcoming the obstacles those Euro-fascists have thrown in your way...
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 3:44:10 PM

"ive got over 200 blurays and they look better than a bunch of avi files on a hard drive"

This is very true.

A typical 1080p Bluray comes in at about 50 gigabytes, and the best you can deal with over the newsgroups is about ten gigabytes for a 1080p Bluray rip, so right there, a one-fifth loss, and sure that 10gb BD rip looks good on a laptop screen, or a 24 inch LCD, but when the 'compressed' (lol) bitstream goes to a 55inch television, you're going to get some ugly artifacts, because even the best AVI compression, say MKV, is still lossy, so data is gone, the bitstream is f*ckered, and you have less that what comes on the actual disc.

That's why even the most hardcore downloaders still buy the movies they love because they want the BEST POSSIBLE experience, and you can't get that with f*cking rips.

OTOH, if these government lackeys, these mindless bought and paid MPAA and RIAA's goons, keep tacking annoying ads onto movies legally purchased by legit consumers, they're going to drive people to piracy MORE, because a movie without the stupid 20-sec warnings is simply a superior product.

Dumbasses.
SergioFX writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 5:24:15 PM

Oh sh*t! Now that they have TWO logos, I will never download anything ever again!!!! Good work FBI. Good work!
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 5:42:51 PM

Bullit

Very cool pics there bud ....
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 5:52:49 PM

Steve McQueen, the man who would have been Bond if only he had been born on the other side of the pond.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 5:54:08 PM

"Second, it seems that it would be wiser if the FBI, the Homeland Security and Hollywood would have a "thank you for purchasing this DVD legally" message, instead of one that threatens you with jail and a hefty fine."

Riiiiiight. This coming from the same 'government' that thought color coding terror alerts would make anyone feel safe? LMAO!
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 5:56:06 PM

"Look mom, the terror alert is now *fuschia*, we had better REALLY run and hide from those evil a-rabs now!".

Idiots. f*cking bunch of simian sh*t-tossers.
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 6:02:28 PM

Connery was our kind of Steve McQueen Mink.

If he had ever played Bond he would have only made one film, No way he would have made a sequel it's something he never did.

He never wanted to vist the same sort of role twice, Hence he turned down Dirty Harry he felt it was too close to his Bullitt character.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 6:14:15 PM

"Dirty Harry he felt it was too close to his Bullitt character."

So interesting that fact. The character of McQueen's Bullitt was heavily modeled on San Francisco inspector Dave Toschi, as was Callahan from Dirty Harry.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dave_Toschi

http://www.cracked.com/article/99_5-badass-movie-characters-you-didnt-know-were-real-people/

Toschi famously lead the investigation into the last of the Zodiac murders.

Also, George Lucas, who was fascinated by the Zodiac murders, as am I, named a location on Tatooine after the detective.

Toschi was real-life cool to me.
James Blond writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 6:14:28 PM

anyone know Kim Schmitz alias KIMDOTCOM??

he is under arrest in new zealand


the US goverment demands his delivery becoz he causes a damage about 500 mil $ by megaupload.com

minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 6:21:02 PM

The Kiwis should tell the US to f*ck off. I don't care if Kim is the biggest digital criminal sc*mbag in the US, my so-called government needs to go f*ck themselves fully and forthrightly.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 6:22:27 PM

I like how the guy in the image is using one of those old, first gen iMacs.

http://www.everymac.com/images/cpu_pictures/apple_imac.jpg

lol. Anyone pirating anything on them deserves a bevy of pity, not jail.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 6:23:03 PM

not US, I meant world.
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 6:31:36 PM

Mink

That is very interesting i did not know that about Dave Toschi.

To inspire 2 of the screens most popular police characters is a testament to the kind of man he was in real life.

The Zodiac killer is a very captivating story.

What did you think of Finchers movie ?

Me, i really liked it one of his best IMO, Brilliant atmosphere and pacing, He really captured the addiction they had to try and catch the killer.

I know the Zodiac was more in the back ground of the movie, But when he killed it made a big impact to the film and was very chilling.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 6:38:07 PM

"What did you think of Finchers movie ?"

Well, I thought it was, like all of Fincher's films, well executed and expertly shot, but, as a buff of the actual crimes, he gets a lot of things wrong, mostly because the film is not based on the historical record, but a book called Zodiac Unmasked, written by Robert Graysmith.

In fact, in the film, he doesn't even show the first murder, the one on Lake Herman Road, in December of 1968, because, he says, there was no witness, but then he goes on to film scenes that never occurred outside Graysmith's book.

Here's a good place to go

http://www.zodiackillerfacts.com/movie.htm

Although the author, Micheal Butterfield isn't entirely the nicest guy alive, he does a good job comparing the film to what actually occurred.

But the film itself is just good old Fincher being the gifted auteur he is.
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 7:16:16 PM

Thanks for the link there Mink.

I didn't realise the film differed so much from what had happened back then.

There's always a little poetic licence when it comes to adapting a story to the big screen, i guess.

The fact he has never been caught adds to the mythology and fascination surrounding the whole Zodiac case, Much like the Jack The Ripper stories here.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 9:10:45 PM

Yeah, I agree trailer, but in the case of Jack the Ripper, you guys have a damned good suspect, one the police suspected from early on in the investigation, a man who to this day remains the far most likely perpetrator, a man named Aaron Kosminski.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_the_Ripper_suspects#Aaron_Kosminski

Although there's issues with the case against him, at the time of the murders, a man, a fellow Jew living in Whitechapel named Israel Schwartz, identified Kosminski as the individual talking to one of the victims right before she was murdered. He refused to testify because of his loyalty to fellow Jews and because he knew what would happen to them if a Jew was found guilty, or even charged, of slaughtering London's ladies of the night.

One particular researcher wrote probably, imo, the most balanced, rational book on Jack ever.

http://www.amazon.com/Ripper-Scotland-Yards-Prime-Suspect/dp/0470938994/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1336870863&sr=1-3

If you read only ONE book on the guy, read this one. He nails it, without resorting to that dime-store novel bullsh*t so often used by losers like Patrica Cornwell. Also, read the comments on Amazon. Not many, but they define the book's solid premise. He convinced me.

As for the Zodiac, lol, we don't even have one good suspect. The Zodiac was just that good, or lucky.

And though the movie tried to promote Arthur Allen, he was NOT the Zodiac. His fingerprints didn't match, his physical description differed enormously from the guy seen twice at the Paul Stine murder, his handwriting, from both hands, was also a non-match, plus, Nancy Slover and David Slaight, the only two people who ever spoke to the Zodiac, over the phone, testified that his voice has totally different.

The cops lost interest in Allen back in 1972, and he only came to their attention because Allen had tried to molest a friend's daughter, who then made up some story about how Allen admitted that he was the Zodiac. From there, Graysmith, a failed political cartoonist, made a second career from spinning yarns about Allen's supposed guilt.
pornfly writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 10:36:18 PM

MINK,i know your affinity for serial killers and i did a report on Jack The Ripper so...

http://m.yahoo.com/w/legobpengine/news/jackie-ripper-infamous-serial-killer-woman-211027739.html?orig_host_hdr=news.yahoo.com&.intl=US&.lang=en-US

Heard somethn bout Zodiac on Coast2Coast but i gotta track it down
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 11:06:00 PM

Well, not so much serial killers as the mysteries they engender, like, who the f*ck were they and why did they do what they did. I also have this interest in how demented people's minds work, I guess because the entire evil thing has me perplexed.

I mean, killing women? Seems like a total waste of p*ssy to me.
Recumbentibus writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 12:04:08 AM

I don't really care for murders as, in my personal experience, they are not all that interesting as individuals. It just takes a lack of empathy and a low enough IQ combined with a pinch of aggression to make one. My friend's brother in high school killed their mom and set fire to her body parts in the backyard. He wasn't some misunderstood loner or evil genius, just an *sshole who got into an argument with his mom about video games.
Recumbentibus writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 12:09:52 AM

I should add that the neighbors called the cops and he was arrested.
pornfly writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 12:55:47 AM

Did he save the video games?^
Maacho writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 5:28:12 AM

And btw, pirates are too cool for running away!
James Blond writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 6:23:05 AM

in germany the pirate-party get 8% of votes more than the liberal-party

pirates want free downloads of copyrights movies and music ( intellectual property )
velocityknown writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 9:28:18 AM

The biggest reason I have a problem with piracy is this:

At my college, the president of Fox's Legal Department came to talk to classes. And I know that you would assume someone who works at Fox Legal comes straight from hell, but he's actually the nicest guy. He was reluctant to even talk to us about piracy because he was afraid of getting to high on a soapbox, but he made the point that I feel people hardly consider when they pirate a movie:

A) Pirating movies is causing films to lose a chunk of their profits
B) Most people who are aware of this say, "Who cares, it's not like (insert director/actor/producer) here needs that much more money."
C) What they don't consider in saying that is that the above-the-line people are NOT the ones losing money. They below the line people who help light the movie, or work as a grip or work in some random department in the studio could end up losing their job because no studio is going to pay their above-the-line people in less because of piracy.

I do agree though, and so did this guy, that the ad campaign against piracy is a pretty poor one, but, as he also pointed out, it's really hard to advertise for without seeming like a big corporation that's complaining about losing a little bit of money. When its effects are actually more widespread than that.

My comments on this specific piracy tag: No one buys a DVD and is on the fence about ripping and then is turned away once they know the consequences. If someone buys a DVD to rip it, they know there's a warning and it's not going to stop them.
trailertrash writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 10:37:40 AM

Nice post Mink and thanks for the links

On the Ripper, Here in the Uk we like to speculate it was a Royal Doctor that killed the prostitutes because of Prince Albert Victor's relationship with a working girl called Annie Crook and it was all a big cover up.

All very Hollywood though .....

Like we've said it's the not knowing that makes these kind of cases all the more intriguing.
trailertrash writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 10:51:25 AM

velocityknown

Interesting post and i agree with pretty much what you say.

I would add to the NON superstars/directors/producers etc who will be affected by piracy.

It's the public who go out and buy the dvds/blu-rays and pay to go to the cinema that will also be counting the cost of piracy in their pockets, With the price of seeing a movie rising upwards each year.
minkowski writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 4:14:44 PM

Well, to everyone, studies have shown that not only do studios massively over-report their losses to piracy, they count every interpolated download as a lost sale. Also, studies have shown that many first-world pirates, who have the money, actually buy MORE movies and music than those who do not, which makes sense if you think about it.

And Velocity: of course the guy was nice! Did you really think he'd convince you, the largest sector of casual pirates, to stop downloading by being a d*ck? LMAO! Dude didn't get to where he's at by not knowing how to manipulate his audience. Don't be so naive, bro.

Also, much of the piracy, the kind that is actually a lost potential sale, occurs in third-world nations with depressed economies, so there's not much that can be said for people that download something that would never have the money to purchase it in the first place, BUT, the good news in that is that there's a HUGE under-tapped market if only you can elevate the economy in those places.

I think people need to think a little more about all this, because movie sales and ticket sales are ENORMOUSLY strong, and sure, CD sales are down, and they have been for a decade, but that's because of a change in technology, not because people decided en masse to stop buying music. Online sales of Mp3 and FLAC are up and growwing strong.

This whole piracy thing is a big load of nothing, the screaming of a bunch of very afraid old people who greatly fear a change in the way entertainment business is done, and rather than adapt, they're choosing extinction.
swoooop writes:
on May 13th, 2012 at 6:54:28 PM

I agree with you last post there mink. But its also about control. The industry, that before the internet had 98 % control over their products, (the 2 last % was of corse VHS ripping) could decide where to marked their products first, and last. They had a system, where they drained every possible drop of money from the different markets. First America, then Europe and so on. They lost that control when the nett came, and I think it bugs the hell out of them.
They are showing a different strategy now, like the Avengers, which opened outside the US first, so they are learning and adapting.
The entertainment industry was not ready for what hit them when the internet took of. Think about it. All over the world, people could read about and check out movies and music when it was marketed inn the US. And then we found out that we had to wait half a year before we could see a blockbuster her inn Europe. And then we found out that we could download it for free and watch it when our dialup modem had worked overtime?
They have to understand, when they create a demand on a product, people will want it as soon as possible. And if the supplier can't deliver, we will find another way. Its like a law of nature or something.
The old control of the marked they use to have, is gone. Adapt or die.
darthnoah writes:
on May 14th, 2012 at 12:36:30 AM

I don't live in the US. Till the long arm of the law reaches me, I'm downloading like a motherf*cker..

and after that, I'll piss on the producers faces..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved