WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sacha Baron Cohen and Kurt Russell No Longer in Tarantino's "Django Unchained"

Posted: May 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sacha Baron Cohen and Kurt Russell No Longer in TarantinoSubmit Comment
Quentin Tarantino is currently shooting "Django Unchained" in Louisiana, with a cast comprised of Leonardo DiCaprio, Christoph Waltz, Jamie Foxx, Sacha Baron Cohen, and Samuel L Jackson. But things aren't going as smooth as expected.

Back when the film was still in pre-production, it was announced that Kevin Costner would play slave-trainer Ace Woody. But Kostner eventually dropped out due to a scheduling issue and was quickly replaced with Kurt Russell, who Tarantino worked with on "Death Proof."

And issues with the cast continued. Then Joseph Gordon-Levitt announced that he's dropping out to direct his first film, which has Scarlett Johansson and Julianne Moore attached. Now, Cohen has revealed to Howard Stern, that he too won't be able to take part in the movie due to promotion of "The Dictator." He was set to play a gambler who buys Django's (Foxx) wife, played by Kerry Washington.

And finally, Russell has dropped out as well. No reason has been given, but it's rumored that the actor didn't feel the film is "western enough." This leaves Tarantino with several roles to fill and very little time. Stay tuned.

Source: TheFilmStage, Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 5:13:14 AM

My guess Russell didn't want to be a part of a collective cast same as he didn't want to do The Expendables either.

Shame ...
Muscle Man writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 5:24:44 AM

Replace Russell with Neeson or Bridges and Cohen with Mads Mikkelsen (that evil looking sun of a gun in casino royale)

"Gordon-Levitt directing his first movie" -> turd
pornfly writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 5:34:23 AM

f*ck you Russell
You cant quit,youre fired!
We're gettin Gibson

WHOS HUNGRY!!!
trailertrash writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 5:41:17 AM

Thomas Jane is hungry ....
Wallace writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 7:05:46 AM

@ muscle man: agreed.
Cannon writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 7:34:37 AM

@pornfly - Nobody says 'f*ck you' to Kurt Russell. And I mean nobody!

Russell is a man's man, and if he doesn't jive with Tarantino's post-modernism, so be it. I'm sorry to see the production lose him, but I respect Russell's old fashioned tastes more than I do Tarantino's self-indulgent hipster nonsense, though I can still enjoy his movies.
Big_Daddy writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 7:56:50 AM

Tarantino is a great director. Sure some of his newer projects have fallen off a bit but you cant deny He changed some of the career paths of a few individuals. Not to mention his list of great movies is as long as the line to get into Emma stones vajajajaaaaaa..

Hell even that B movie samurai sh*t he did was a nice artistic film in a way. Maybe I'm bias , maybe its maybelline but the guy has a very particular set of skills; skills he acquired over a very long career.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 8:32:58 AM

stuntman mike!
bandolero999 writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 8:56:54 AM

Russell is old as f*ck these days.Death Proof was some p*ssy sh*t at the end.He got owned by those bitches.that kilt the movie for me.
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 9:41:38 AM

Shame to lose those actors. They could've brought some great performances.

But I do kinda know what Russell is talking 'bout. Russell did TOMBSTONE, so he has some experience in Westerns & he probably doesn't think people actually wore green leather jackets like Foxx's pic here.

BTW, isn't it curious how QT got actors cast like nothing AND THEN many start finding excuses to drop out? Curious, indeed....

I still have faith in QT that he'll bring a 70s feel western, mixing different genres & great dialogue with brutal action.

I mean, look at KILL BILL, he made an English language/ Chinese karate action (part 2)/ Japanese sword wielding (part 1)/ Mexican soundtrack (end credits of part 2) violent movie and he made that sh!t work....

So here's to having an open mind...
aymanut writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 11:58:08 AM

I thought this was already in post! I hope this doesn't push the release date back.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 12:08:08 PM

It can only be a good thing that Sacha Baron Cohen has dropped out. Apart from being a clever wordsmith and interview manipulator his acting skills are below par compared to the rest of the cast. The film will work better without him.
iceskateuphill writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 12:22:32 PM

Bruce willis. You know its gonna happen. He's in everything else right now and I love it.
minkowski writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 2:03:20 PM

Some times, Tarantino, you get signs you shouldn't make a film, and this is one of those times.

Not sure who goes to see Tarantino films anyway. He isn't broadly mainstream, and never will be.

Seems like the only people to buy a ticket to anything he makes are his fans and bored folks with nothing better to do.

I think the last film I saw of his was Death Proof, and I thought, yeah, ok, pretty much standard fare from the guy, but nothing revolutionary.

I guess because we have so much choice these days, competition isn't what it used to be, because I doubt if the race to make films tightened significantly, Qt would make much more than foot fetish porn.

He kind of looks like a porn director now that I think about it.
rockkillers writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 2:52:35 PM

I wouldn't mind seeing Liam Neeson in this! Then again, I wouldn't mind seeing Liam Neeson in any movie. He's a boss!
rockkillers writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 2:59:50 PM

minkowski: are you serious? I actually think Tarantino is quite good. He does have way to much exposition and dialogue in his movies but the dialogue in Ingorious Bastards beween the girl and Christopher Waltz character was excellent. Also, it goes without saying that this guy really enjoys making cool violent films. A lot of directors these days are soft, casting Justin Bieber looking actors with lame teenage romance subplots. Some of Tarantinos bests: Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, Death Proof (not as good as Planet Terror, but the soundtrack and car chase at the end was amazing), Inglorious Bastards, Kill Bill 1 and 2...the only one I didn't care for was Jackie Brown. It also has to be said that Tarantino always has great soundtracks to his movies. Hopefully Django Unchained will be another great in the list.
Big_Daddy writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 3:15:05 PM

QT is a great director IMO. hes casting ability, dialog and pacing are perfect. Yes his movies are alike in a lot of ways but having great
dialog
actors
timing
screen play

is not bad to have in a film or 2. Hell even his segment from 4 rooms was the best
minkowski writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 4:08:18 PM

"Also, it goes without saying that this guy really enjoys making cool violent films"

Hmmm. I wonder how cool violence would be to those who experienced some on a daily basis...
Quidd writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 5:21:06 PM

Damnit! I was excited about this because of Russell. Gibson is the ONLY one who can replace him!
pornfly writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 5:23:03 PM

CANNON,point taken
just gimme the scene where Russell smacks the sh*t outta BillyBob Thornton

Sad to see him leave this kind of movie but its nice to know there are still actors with some integrity

Russell is classic Hollywood not Clooney
oklahomaer writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 5:57:20 PM

Ian Mcshane can take over Cohen's part.
blumpkin4 writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 6:33:11 PM

get a job mink! Take a day off from this site will ya
NewYorkCine writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 7:33:18 PM

Tarantino has never failed to deliver and this movie will be no different. His love for cinema is un-matched by any of his peers or anyone else for that matter. Any director that has more than three excellent films to their name must be doing something right. Would have loved to see Russell in this but I'm sure Tarantino will find a suitable replacement, maybe De Niro.
cress writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 7:43:16 PM

Tarantino has BECOME a great director. I think Kill Bill showed that he took some time to learn the craft. Pulp Fiction is a great film, but he didn't impress with his directing, just his screenwriting and editing. The opening scene in Inglorious Basterds is a brilliantly shot scene that slowly ratchets up the tension. Like I said, for me, Kill Bill showed that the guy has mad skills.
minkowski writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 8:02:08 PM

"Any director that has more than three excellent films to their name must be doing something right."

And yet Michael Bay has made ten billion at the box office over fifteen years while Tarantino has made how much again? Yeah, he's hip and he likes feet, but I doubt his bank manager gives much of a sh*t.

Sure, money doesn't equal quality, or some would say that to defend the impoverished underdog, played by Tarantino here, but Michael Bay must be doing something really right then. Right?

Personally, I don't find Qt's films appealing. I guess it's a maturity thing. Stylized gushing blood and preposterous characters spewing pretentious nonsense probably appeals to the ignorant masses who haven't read a real book since third grade, but it neither entertains nor enlightens me.

And all his characters are cut from the same mold. They're either stratospherically cool or they're abominably evil. No complexity in the characters until they open their mouths, and then it's just false sophistication and contrived bullsh*t.

Nothing Tarantino has ever made even pretends to be anything remotely realistic or anything more than 'pulp fiction' narcissism.

His films say nothing, have no message, no meaning, no use but to entertain people who feel the desperate psychological need to take the time to feel simultaneously 'cool' and 'smart', which tells me they're absolutely neither. Probably people trying to compensate for being high school losers and outcasts.

And if you, the random generic you, don't like *that* opinion, feel free to kill yourself.
cress writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 8:31:03 PM

Minkowski you are a f*cking moron. Tell us how you feel about a film, but don't sit there and "inform" us why other people have likes or dislikes about a film. You once again go to your box, where you keep your ill, preconceived notions on human behaviour. You seem to base your opinions about other humans from what you view on a tv, movie, or computer screen. Please, take a break from sitting behind your computer in your gimp cave, and go outside. Try forming an opinion from something other than a glowing box.
minkowski writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 8:32:00 PM

Wah.
cress writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 8:51:45 PM

57 seconds on the reply to my comment Minkowski? Wow...constantly scanning every WP page for new comments, always at the ready? Because you have no f*cking life.
minkowski writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 8:53:19 PM

Did I mention wah?
minkowski writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 8:59:13 PM

The average internet poster, i.e., Cress:

http://legalinsurrection.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/Time-Magazine-Cover-Are-You-Mom-Enough.jpg

Tarantino's in drag in that one. Also could be Nolan. Either or.
KillerCOck writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 10:32:59 PM

Call up Tim Roth, Michael Madsen, Christopher Walken and Harvey Keitel! problem solved
BigUnit writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 11:58:42 PM

@mink

Inglourious Bastards took in over 300 million at the box office at least from what i can remember, that doesnt sound like just QT fans.

Quentin is hands down still one of the best directors in the business, ranks up their with Nolan.
BigUnit writes:
on May 11th, 2012 at 12:02:17 AM

Quentin Tarantino's films are ART, theyre unique, thats one thing many people do not understand about movies, they ruely can be a work of art and that is one thing Quentin Tarantino understands and always does with his movies, Hes original

@mink you probably want to go see battleship? those the type of movies your into.
EarOne writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 10:00:40 AM

Costner to Russell to...why not BRUCE WILLIS..?? another Tarantino's frequent collaborator and can play nasty like the best of em.

as for JGL's role, it could go to..well, any young actor out there. that dude ain't so special. but, SBC..Borat..!! now, if the role's catered to his likeness or his set of abilities, it'll be a tough one to recast.

i hope all these dropping outs don't mean the script's a lousy one.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved