WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon on Competing with "The Dark Knight Rises"

Posted: May 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon on Competing with "The Dark Knight Rises"Submit Comment
Now that "The Avengers" is a big hit, director Joss Whedon updated his official website with a letter to the fans, thanking them for supporting the film. He also answered a few questions, also asked by Whedon, including whether he'll be sad if "The Dark Knight Rises" outperforms "The Avengers."

"I will feel sad," he said. "But let's look at the bigger picture: Our successes are a boon to each other. We're in the business of proving that superhero movies aren't just eye-candy. People seem intent on setting us against each other, and though I'm proud to be Woody Strode to [Christopher] Nolan's Kirk Douglas, I think they're missing the point. Whatever 'TDKR' does on its first weekend, the only stat that matters to me is the ticket I'm definitely buying."

He added: "Nolan and [Sam] Raimi (Spider-Man) INVENTED the true superhero flick. (Special mention to Jon Favreau and James Gunn.) Happy to be in the mix."

To read the entire post, click here.

Click here to read more about "The Dark Knight Rises."

Source: Whedonesque


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:22:21 PM

Well played Joss, well played...

"Nolan and [Sam] Raimi (Spider-Man) INVENTED the true superhero flick"

What's a 'true' superhero movie? Because Donner's Superman and Burton's Batman are just ancient bullsh*t, right?

Get off Nolan's d*ck, Buffy.

But I guess you can afford to be gracious now that Avengers has performed far better than anyone could have imagined...

"We're in the business of proving that superhero movies aren't just eye-candy."

Ahem. We're still waiting, I'm afraid, because TDK and TDKR are ugly and no fun, 'true' as they may be, and Avengers was what cotton candy is to fillet mignon, so I have clue what you're smoking, Joss.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:40:14 PM

actually not many young people in their 20s and teens have seen the Donner's superman movies and burton's batman mink.
minkowski writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:53:44 PM

^^Most of them haven't seen p*ssy either. Doesn't make any of it any less awesome.
minkowski writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:57:14 PM

..no..
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 10:12:26 PM

Dark what? GAYMAN. Is going to suck so hard than john travolta penis been erected with a massage guy, AVENGER best sh*t ever and wedon is our messiah and f*ck GAYVATERD, GAYMAN, SUPER GAY, SPIDERGAYMAN all that carppy films hulk smash those c*nt's like the c*nt WORTHINTONG!
triggax writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 10:32:38 PM

^^Most of them haven't seen p*ssy either. Doesn't make any of it any less awesome.


For the f*cking win!
KillerCOck writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 10:45:18 PM

f*ck this Guy!!! invented!?!?!
Raimi did exactly what Burton did in capturing the tone of the comics but misrepresenting the characters

Nolan never made A comic book movie. He made a movie BASED on comic book characters and material. He made them cinematic and there is a difference.

But this guy is f*cking d*ckless to ignore Burton or Donner completely. f*ck I'd even give credit to Del Toro for HellBoy and Stephen Norrington for Blade before I ever give props to f---king Raimi! dude is a hack.
Doucheception writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 11:06:43 PM

Honestly i like TDK but I'm not really pumped for TDKR, they're good movies but they're kind of over rated IMO, I guess I was way more pumped for the avengers than anything else just a week ago, hell I'm even more pumped for spider-man than TDKR, but the one I'm really looking foward to now is Prometheus!
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 11:22:19 PM

Well said Mink!!
pornfly writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 1:54:53 AM

RE-RELEASE DONNERS SUPERMAN 1-2
IMAX 3D BITCH!
Damon242 writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 4:41:54 AM

In terms of what he meant by "true", I imagine it was the creation of films that threatened to elevate their status beyond mere comic-book-based popcorn flicks. "True" is just finding that right formula...

This is why he adds that they're in the business of "proving that superhero movies aren't just eye-candy".

And Mink, just because his opinion differs from your own doesn't mean that he isn't being genuine with what he is saying.
blinkbomber writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 10:20:01 AM

Joss is BOSS! lol. but seriously, if he wasn't already an awesome person, he is now for giving a shout out to James Gunn. heck yeah.
minkowski writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 5:11:45 PM

@Damon: They're comic book movies. True and fantasy just don't go together, and despite all of Nolan's failed attempts to marry the dark crime drama with the guy in the plastic suit, they've all failed.

As for Joss being genuine, I never said otherwise. You should give my post a second or third go.
reach110 writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 5:50:20 PM

Every time I read an article like this on WP I'm always astounded by the comments down here that tear it to pieces. Donner's Superman and Donner's Batman are each at least two decades old. While they absolutely cannot be forgotten, I think Whedon was just thinking in terms of more modern cinema, and I think it's great that he at least seems humble about this and is trying to establish a sense of camaraderie among filmmakers. Whedon is just a nerdy kid like the rest of us and he's just having fun.
cress writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 7:01:06 PM

Minkowski leading the Nolan hate train again.
Damon242 writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 11:55:44 PM

@Mink

Comic-book realities are actually less-silly than their on-screen depictions. 'True' may be representing the worlds as they were depicted the very first time around in the original source material.

And "true" is meant in terms of what they were always meant to be, rather than them being real.

Now, you stated that he can "afford to be gracious now that Avengers has performed far better than anyone could have imagined", that he should "get off Nolan's d*ck" (despite referencing more than just Nolan) and inferring that he must be mentally impaired in some way with the "I have no clue what you're smoking" (I imagine you meant to have inserted a 'no' in there) comment. Do you understand now why one might think that you weren't treating his opinions as being completely genuine?

And it is getting tiresome, Mink. Yes, you don't like Nolan or his batman series - we get it - we don't need this fact, which we don't need to know anyway, being repeatedly hammered into our heads.

You seem to have already forgotten about what I said last time, regarding you treating your opinion as fact. Nolan's attempts failed? Who exactly are you to determine that?

SuluNakamura writes:
on May 11th, 2012 at 11:26:54 AM

@mink, he's talking about in recent years, silly goose. Think about how many years of bad superhero movies we had to go through before something worthwhile came along again. Yes, Burton's Batman was great, as was Donner's Superman, but yes, in the eyes of most media outlets, they are "ancient." Doesn't mean they're any less good, just not as relevant in the current superhero movie scene.
seveltoto writes:
on November 3rd, 2017 at 9:21:41 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 20th, 2017 at 10:32:10 PM

recreator9 writes:
on November 28th, 2017 at 10:39:33 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved