WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Adoption Community is Boycotting "The Avengers"

Posted: May 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Adoption Community is Boycotting "The Avengers"Submit Comment
"The Avengers" has already grossed over $700 million in just thirteen days, bringing lots of positive and negative attention to itself. It's now being reported that an adoption community has launched a petition demanding an apology from Marvel over something that Thor says in the film.

MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD:

As many of you know, Loki is Thor's brother, but was adopted when Odin defeated his Frost Giant father. In "The Avengers," Black Widow comments that Loki has "killed eighty people in two days," to which Thor replies: "He's adopted."

I took that to mean that Thor is trying to distance himself from Loki by stating that they are not the same. But the adoption community saw it completely differently. "According to your scriptwriter, the fact [Loki] was adopted is the reason he is a bad guy," wrote the community. "Being adopted is NOT something to use for the butt of jokes. Marvel, immediately cease using adoption as the butt of jokes AND issue a public apology to the adoption community."

Click here to read our "The Avengers" review.

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:13:51 PM

I didn't know there was such a thing as an adoption community? What the f*ck is that? Just some more bored losers making trouble over nothing? Let 'em boycott. Not like it helped those southern Baptist idiots.

f*ck 'em Disney and Marvel. It's still a free country, at least until November.
Dekead writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:26:50 PM

Can anyone take a f*cking joke?
bandolero999 writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:37:50 PM

not In America.thats why we got bombed by Durka Durka in New York.
Kurskij writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:38:13 PM

Imagine that in the late 80s - early 90s.

"The Last Boy Scout" released and sh*t hits the fan.

I. Joe Hallenbeck: They got the brothers ridin' horses now, huh?
Jimmy Dix: Yeah, cars're gettin' too hard to steal.

Spike Lee comes out and cries "Racism!"

II. Jimmy Dix: Hey, man. You ever play ball? You've got a good build.
Joe Hallenbeck: What are you, a fag?

Here comes GLAAD.

III. Mike Matthews: What'd you do last night?
Joe Hallenbeck: I think I f*cked a squirrel to death, and don't remember.

PETA releases a statement in the name of all raped squirrels stating that raping squirrels is no laughing matter.

There was also a gun to childs head, lines about pimps, police, rednecks, women etc.

What would happen if this movie was released in this age?
Kurskij writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:43:08 PM

"According to your scriptwriter, the fact [Loki] was adopted is the reason he is a bad guy"

According to Dr. Milo J. f*ckup (Ph.D) someone has a problem with logical thinking.

"Being adopted is NOT something to use for the butt of jokes"

Being John Travolta is NOT something to use for getting bags of d*cks but we read the news, right?

"Marvel, immediately cease using adoption as the butt of jokes AND issue a public apology to the adoption community"

They love butts way too much at the adoption community. I wouldn't let any children near them just in case.

Let's wait what Marvel has to say about that.

A simple "f*ck off" would be enough.
minkowski writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:45:33 PM

^When was the last time you saw a film like The Last Boy Scout? I'm surprised Kick Ass made it to the screen.

And that scene in The Long Kiss Goodnight wherein Davis snaps the deer's neck? Yeah. Can't happen now.

And don't even ask me how Mel got away with turkey-raping that beaver.
minkowski writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:47:06 PM

And The Men Who Stare At Goats. I'm surprised that the People Against the Bullying of Animals didn't issue a harshly worded statement and start a petition.
Kurskij writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 10:07:31 PM

"When was the last time you saw a film like The Last Boy Scout?"

Probably Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, but that was 7 years ago, got abysmal release and was written and directed by the very same Shane Black.

I'm depressed now...
minkowski writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 10:10:02 PM

^^Do what I do. Go kill a hooker. You'll feel a LOT better in the morning.
Ryanlawson writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 10:32:43 PM

i was adopted and i dont give a f*ck, that was one of the funniest parts of the movie. this kind of thing only brings bad press to themselves. f*cking idiots.

The humour was in the contrast between thor defending loki violently then 2 seconds later after hearing how he killed like 80 people saying well hes adopted.. ergh.. its not like he was going, 'loki is adopted, what a sh*t c*nt. f*cking hell, some people are retarded.
KillerCOck writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 10:55:09 PM

Loki calls Black Widow a c*nt in the film and this is the sh*t they're crying about?? hahahaha Christ Next thing you know there gonna be an Orphan joke in the next Bond Flick and The Orphan community is gonna attack with Hellfire
Doucheception writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 10:59:54 PM

What a bunch of *ssclowns, well it's their loss their going to miss a really good movie.
Doucheception writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 11:01:25 PM

*they're,

,my bad
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 11:11:40 PM

@ mink I'm southern baptist but don't take offence to what you said. Your right, their just a bunch a whiny p*ssys out for attention
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 11:13:46 PM

Adoption Community go f*ck yourselves!!
minkowski writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 11:15:32 PM

^^I was talking about the Baptists that boycotted Disney years ago over some sh*t. I think it was the hiring of gays for a theme park or something. Something inane, which may or may not represent most SB. Anyway, my mother is one and she couldn't care less about what Disney does.
masht7 writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 11:38:37 PM

Another flaw that someone points out to get the attention they've longed to desire.
masht7 writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 12:04:27 AM

But if I remember correctly, the 'Adoption' joke probably had the biggest laugh.
pornfly writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 1:46:59 AM

NOW EVERBODY KNOWS WHY YOU WERE ADOPTED
(not u RYAN)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 1:59:14 AM

Not gonna read the spoiler as I haven't seen the film yet..but I will say this.

Adoption Community...grow the f*ck up..it's a movie!!!
pH0u57 writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 4:13:20 AM

Really, adoption community? Really!?!
SergioFX writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 4:37:56 AM

Attention whores much?
Dan1382 writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 4:45:11 AM

Its a passing comment to show that Thor wants to distance himself from Loki. It's not a dig at adopted kids.

I don't think we should be allowing these people to have a public voice when something as ridiculous as this causes them offence. How do they manage every day in the real world if a sci-fi fantasy movie causes them to get upset? If they saw the news their heads would explode!
AtariZombie writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 7:36:05 AM

Gaha. f*ck u adoption people
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 8:38:12 AM

is this all some kind of f*cking ploy. Avengers fans arent going to adopt anymore children because they all turn up evil like loki did.
lol pathetic losers.
struck21 writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 1:22:49 PM

And the scene before that and many after Thor is trying to bring his BROTHER back home with him to live. Did they stop watching the movie after that one joke?

He wasn't trying to distance himself from his adopted brother at that point but the crimes he committed. It was a funny scene, the whole theater I was in was laughing at it and not because any of them thought adoption was funny. People need to settle down and realize we live in a society full of, well everything. If we stop making jokes because it might offend a person or group of peoples, then we might as well stop talking. Lighten up.

Something I wrote down once:

"Don't take life to seriously or you will never get out of it alive."
Shadow Bebop writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 2:41:42 PM

If it were me, my response would say, "Guess what? I've got 1"$700 million bucks that says you can KISS MY ASS
darthraige writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 3:05:54 PM

There's always one...
brokeboy writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 3:08:36 PM

lets just stop making any type of funny comment about anything or anyone just to be fair. And no more bad guys. No one should be a bad guy. Everyone should love one another. I want to see that movie. "you look really nice today" "you do too" I want to see that movie.
mongoose writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 6:33:07 PM

C'mon, is this for real? People need to relax their sphincters and lighten up a little. Can't a joke just be a joke without offending someone?
venomex writes:
on May 10th, 2012 at 10:44:34 PM

aren't these people boycotting portal 2 as well?
EarOne writes:
on May 12th, 2012 at 10:07:27 AM

GEEZ...lighten the F**K UP..ADOPTED people..!!! what da heck's WRONG with people today. they complain and complain and friggin' complain ALL THE TIME..!! and over WHAT...???!!!

Hey, ADOPTION community...rather than complain about such a LAME issue like this, go volunteer in some third world country, somewhere..make USE of yourselves. and from this silly complain of yours, it looks like you guys got ALL the free time in the friggin' world.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved