WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

US Military Refused to Help "The Avengers" for Being "Too Unrealistic"

Posted: May 8th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
US Military Refused to Help "The Avengers" for Being "Too Unrealistic"Submit Comment
The US military is often involved with Hollywood blockbusters, like Michael Bay's "Transformers" franchise and Peter Berg's "Battleship," which even has a cameo by Secretary of the Navy Ray Mabus. The filmmakers get to save loads of money by using the military's resources and the military gets to promote itself to movie-goers. Everyone wins.

But when it came time to shoot "The Avengers," the Department of Defense (DOD) quickly made a decision not to get involved with the project, which they called "too unrealistic."

The problem wasn't the fact that the film has a God, a super-soldier, a green giant, and lots of alien invaders, but that the DOD wasn't able to figure out the connection between Nick Fury's SHIELD and the US government.

"We couldn't reconcile the unreality of this international organization and our place in it," said Phil Strub, the DOD's Hollywood liaison. "To whom did SHIELD answer? Did we work for SHIELD? It just got to the point where it didn't make any sense. We hit that roadblock and decided we couldn't do anything [with the film]."

Click here to read our "The Avengers" review.

Source: Wired


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
codeman_1216 writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 5:50:12 AM

I guess that makes a little sense, but I'm sure they could have figured something out. Anyway, who cares, the movie was fine without them.
pH0u57 writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 6:12:09 AM

Hahaha, what a bunch of idiots.
Dekead writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 6:22:43 AM

Hmmm... No one cares!!!
The First Rule writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 6:50:38 AM

Let me guess, it didn't glorify them..and Marvel wouldn't allow them to line edit the script.
pornfly writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 7:30:36 AM

I bet if Nick Fury was David Hassellhoff they wouldve been there with a helping hand with an erection in it

There was no oil either
trailertrash writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 8:07:51 AM

lol
Detrimental writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 8:12:40 AM

"...the DOD wasn't able to figure out the connection between Nick Fury's SHIELD and the US government."

LOL. And not a single soul could think of one word: Interpol.

In a country where their own military disregards the joint doctrine division, home sweet America.

They either don't how stupid that is or pretend the general public won't notice.
Big_Daddy writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 8:14:19 AM

Doesn't matter. They recruited during the previews. At-least 3 commercials. ARMY,AIR FORCE , MARINES all back to back.
witwicky-potter writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 8:27:09 AM

So Sector 7 worked well with them,but not S.H.I.E.L.D?What a load of waffle
SeWerin writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 8:34:26 AM

Holy crap America?! Are you seriously this retarded?! i don't even....

It isn't important thing in a movie, but the reason for not appearing is extremely dumb.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 8:45:01 AM

What? Really?
SergioFX writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 8:51:13 AM

Someone is taking this too seriously :S
boogiel writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 9:04:49 AM

So, the transformers is realistic? I don't get it.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 9:13:57 AM

Dumbest sh*t ever
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 9:49:14 AM

Cause films about transforming aliens are so much more realistic.
Serpico1988 writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 9:59:09 AM

Read a f**king comic book once in your life dumbass !

Lmaooo @pornfly.
Pig Newtons writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 10:51:40 AM

As they shouldn't be a part of many military related movies (Avengers isn't).

You look at how embarassing directors make the military feel because they can't get uniforms right, lingo, action etc.. Ask any Iraq Veteran about that pile of sh*t 'The Hurt Locker' and then re-evaluate if the DOD should lend equipment or their time to terrible, embarassing movies. the answer is no, they shouldn't.
Bunny X writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 12:03:05 PM

But they were ok with John Tutturo and his "section" in Transformers?? Dolts
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 12:10:44 PM

Ok. So the DOD has a Hollywood liaison? Does this remind anyone of The Running Man?

[Damon Killian is talking to the operator on the telephone]

Damon Killian: Hello, this is Killian. Give me the Justice Department, Entertainment Division.

*blink*
Mr. Blonde writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 12:45:35 PM

S.H.I.E.L.D. = Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement and Logistics Division. Since the acronym mentions "Homeland", it ultimately answers to POTUS President of the US. I understand Director Fury assembles the Avengers Initiative when the threat (alien/superpowered) is insumountable to battle against using conventional warfare means i.e. the US Military.

So the US Military didn't like that there is another fictious Agency above them to address a fictional threat which they viewed was "unrealistic". And the US Military couldn't trace S.H.I.E.L.D. connection to present governmental hierarchy. That's because there is no S.H.I.E.L.D. today but there is the Department of Homeland Defence - you would think Whedon or some exec at Marvel could have helped to clear that up with a well placed memo instead of having DOD spin their collective wheels and stamp "decline". Whereas Battlesh*t - which I haven't seen and can only gauge from the trailers - was "realistic" in that US Naval Forces (a real life entity) were deployed to meet the Alien threat. Right...

Pretty closed minded by the US Military to not be involved with probably the biggest film ever because they couldn't connect the dots.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 12:58:23 PM

Battleship is even more unrealistic in that the Navy retired all their battleships two decades ago, and who the f*ck would send fifty year old *battleships* to fight f*cking aliens anyway?

I think Marvel just didn't put enough money in the envelope, or else John Travolta did the 'negotiating'.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 1:16:30 PM

http://www.wired.com/dangerroom/2012/05/avengers-military/
Mr. Blonde writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 1:21:04 PM

@Mink - good point. And as an alternate title "Aircraft Carrier" doesn't have the same nostaligic ring as the boardgame I believe this movie used as a springboard.
happileperkon writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 2:26:04 PM

hahaha transformers is realist and Avengers isnt?? oh the wonders of my country. god bless america
pornfly writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 3:58:10 PM

damn MINK, the sh*t you remember
I wonder who wrote that line,its pretty prophetic
With all the new media now
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 3:58:52 PM

Oh, this one is just too good to not read

http://torrentfreak.com/the-avengers-why-pirates-failed-to-prevent-a-box-office-record-120508/
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 3:59:40 PM

"damn MINK, the sh*t you remember"

lol, I may have a lot of toys in the attic, but it IS a big f*cking attic.
Doucheception writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 4:39:26 PM

So wait! Are the accelerator suits in G.I. Joe also REALISTIC!?
Doucheception writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 4:43:23 PM

P.S. Battleship just looks plain stupid, oh now I know why it's realistic, the Aliens (WHO LOOK A GREAT DEAL LIKE THE CHARACTERS FROM HALO) are ran by Chris Brown who has made an invasion/war in order to have an excuse to beat the licing hell out of Rihanna onc again:)
Doucheception writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 4:44:00 PM

*living
mehh0408 writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 5:03:41 PM

They decided to help sh*t movies like transformers and battleship but not avengers? lol
pornfly writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 5:27:09 PM

Its that damn 'Dont Ask Dont Tell' they shouldve been all on Johannsen/Smulders ass
They thought the attention they wanted to give to Capt.America would be too obvious
SACdaddy writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 5:27:12 PM

I knew having a black guy dressed like a futurist Black Panther giving orders from his flying invisible aircraft carrier had to scare the sh*t out of someone.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 5:28:56 PM

I guess they didn't like SHIELD having technology far more advanced than those 79 billion dollar F-22s. You know, the fighter planes that no one will ever use.
pornfly writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 5:30:19 PM

Travolta had Sailors flown to the Broken Arrow set
"I SAY GOD D A M N WUTTA RUSH!"
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 5:30:29 PM

@sac: Yeah, but even Sam Jackson has to answer to Whitey eventually.
pornfly writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 5:51:49 PM

The President:"M I S T E R Fury, i'd like to remind you
that you ARE still black"
Nick Fury:"Yes sir."(looks down)
pornfly writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 6:08:56 PM

^^^^^^^^^^^^the Pirates/Bootleggers just took that article as a challenge
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 8:24:21 PM

I hadn't seen this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_Tgw6f61Vg

I guess Joss Whedon's work was made a little easier after seeing this animated film...
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:01:42 AM

lol. couldave been a great piece of film history, with avengers. but you'll sink with the sh*tty likes of battleship!
Muscle Man writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 2:19:10 PM

So this means a flying aircraft carrier doesn't exist ? :(

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved