WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon Discusses Mid-Credits Scene in "The Avengers"

Posted: May 8th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon Discusses Mid-Credits Scene in "The Avengers"Submit Comment
If you went to see "The Avengers" and stayed throughout the credits, then you got to see a bonus scene that Marvel head Kevin Feige says was completely director Joss Whedon's idea. Watch the scene here.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

"I wanted to get cosmic and did with 'Thor' and told [Joss Whedon] that we wanted it to be aliens, that a portal opens in New York and aliens poor out, because the cosmic cube opened a portal. Who they were, what they were, and how they interacted was all Joss and Joss is a huge fan of Thanos."

When asked by he was such a big fan of Thanos, Whedon replied: "He for me is the most powerful and fascinating Marvel villain. He's the great grand daddy of the badasses and he's in love with death and I just think that's so cute. For me, the greatest Avengers was The Avengers annual that Jim Starlin did followed by The Thing 2 in 1 that contained the death of Adam Warlock. Those were some of the most important texts and I think underrated milestones in Marvel history and Thanos is all over that, so somebody had to be in control and had to be behind Loki's work and I was like 'It's got to be Thanos.'"

Feige also spoke about why the popular catchphrase "Avengers Assemble" was never said in the movie. "There wasn't a right place for it," he explained. "That 360 shot... if right at the end of that, he goes 'Avengers Assemble!' [then] well, we just assembled. You do it without saying, it gives more impact."

Click here to read our "The Avengers" review.

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
funkymonk writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 10:22:15 PM

Keen
minkowski writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 10:30:02 PM

Ok, Joss, Avengers is an entertaining box-office smash, but you're starting to get on my nerves. Move on. Make Serenity 2 or something. Thanks.
mrstretch writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 10:30:59 PM

He looks like he's directing kiddie porn in that scene.
darthnoah writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 12:26:00 AM

This is all very good.. when is the next movie out?
Rambo writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 12:33:57 AM

Serenity was actually much better then the avengers...
pornfly writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 2:04:40 AM

"thassa bold statement"^
JakeVermont writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 3:19:09 AM

@Mink
dont wanna get personal man, but you seem to be in a bad mood lately, did your gf break up or what? Or did the trolls finally break you?

ot: Joss rock on!
efdfsdft5 writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 4:22:35 AM


Love has a language that transcends race.This club is for those of us that don't discriminate!It is, plain and simple, aparadise for interracial mature singles together...I`nter'r'cilC`htS^,C0*M..
codeman_1216 writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 5:42:06 AM

I'm hoping The Amazing Spiderman will be tied with the next Avengers movie. In some comic book versions, his parents worked for SHIELD, and so far the new movie looks like it has a lot to with his parents. So that would make for some interesting plot points in the next Avengers.
Detrimental writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 7:34:51 AM

"...that a portal opens in New York and aliens poor out, ..."

Pour. *
Detrimental writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 7:44:23 AM

Codeman_1216's optimism brings up a good point for me. First, to put some perspective on that, Spider-man is owned by Sony. The Avengers & other series' movie rights belong to Marvel, now an extension of Disney. X-men to Fox, etc.

MY POINT IS, who owns S.H.I.E.L.D.? Cuz they're obviously in Spidey's world this time. And I know it's in the air for a possible (unlikely) SHIELD movie. So it has to be its own thing, right? So is it a separate or floating entity?
[Do your best to avoid all available puns here]
velocityknown writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 10:03:06 AM

Unless there is some unlikely stroke of luck and we get some odd modesty from two gigantic movie corporations, Spider-Man and The Avengers will never meet up on the big screen.

The only scenario where that happens is when Sony loses the rights to Spider-Man and Marvel/Disney snags them. But as we can see from their quick reboot of the series, they are in no hurry to let go of the Spidey property.
Bunny X writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 12:12:33 PM

When passion for the work is at a high that knowledge of the work is on as well, you get good results. Good for him.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 12:55:46 PM

"dont wanna get personal man, but you seem to be in a bad mood lately, did your gf break up or what? Or did the trolls finally break you?"

Uh, not really bro, I just think Joss is getting too full of himself.

I mean, he makes Cabin in the Woods, right, and it has this poster of a Cabin doing the Rubik's Cube thing (pretentious), but the film is only an innovation in that it doesn't ape forty years of torture porn/slasher horror, and that's a really low bar for the man, so I'm not impressed and though The Avengers is good, no doubt, his media coverage is starting to annoy me.

I mean, cabin in the Woods is 'original' only if you've never read any horror short stories in your entire life. Apparently Joss has, and that's where he gets his ideas.

He just isn't that great imo, though I'm getting the feeling he thinks he's a young James Cameron or something.
codeman_1216 writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 4:19:03 PM

Just wishful thinking on my part, I suppose. I also hope Stan Lee will make another cameo in this reboot.
Faceman writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 8:59:58 PM

Sounds legit
JakeVermont writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 6:14:39 AM

Havent seen Cabin yet, but maybe the Avengers hype enlarged hid d*ck. yeah the movie is awesome but it has the avengers in it they should get more credit than whedon. so...
JakeVermont writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 6:15:15 AM

Havent seen Cabin yet, but maybe the Avengers hype enlarged hid d*ck. yeah the movie is awesome but it has the avengers in it they should get more credit than whedon. so...
seveltoto writes:
on November 3rd, 2017 at 10:35:51 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 20th, 2017 at 11:47:26 PM

recreator9 writes:
on November 28th, 2017 at 10:46:49 PM

sevelace writes:
on December 1st, 2017 at 12:02:33 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved