WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Prometheus" is Officially R-Rated

Posted: May 8th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Prometheus" is Officially R-RatedSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox has just confirmed that Ridley Scott's upcoming "Alien" prequel, called "Prometheus," has received an R-rating for "sci-fi violence including some intense images, and brief language." This MPAA rating comes as a bit of a surprise. Both Scott and Fox CEO Tom Rothman have been hinting that the film will end up PG-13.

Scott previously said: "I want certification for ['Prometheus'] that allows me to make as large a box office as possible. If studios don't get their money back we don't have any movies."

If your goal is to bring it the most money, that won't be done with an R-rating. But it looks like the goal was never to make a PG-13 film, since Rothman promised not to cut a single frame out of the movie, especially not to adjust the rating. "Not one frame [of 'Prometheus'] will be cut," he recently said. "If that means it's an R rating, so be it."

Click here to read more about "Prometheus."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 10:11:46 PM

Thanks for the news, although it's been on the Prometheus website for quite some time. I posted the link a few days ago myself.

http://www.prometheus-movie.com/news/176
mpiper821 writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 10:19:43 PM

Thank You.
funkymonk writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 10:23:36 PM

Word.

Bring on the Jockeys.
mrstretch writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 10:28:06 PM

Woohoo
pornfly writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 11:31:02 PM

thassrightbitch!
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 11:33:01 PM

Yes!!!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 11:33:32 PM

Best news ever
Doucheception writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 11:44:42 PM

Rated R for Rockin'!
Rambo writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 12:34:34 AM

I hope Chuck Norris doesn't read this
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 12:49:41 AM

The major suit Rothman not wanting to cut a single frame and avoiding to compromise the director's artistic vision, no matter if it affects its finance?

AND...

A world renowned director responsible for some of this century's most iconic movies WANTING to compromise his vision in order to secure financing FOR the studio?

WTF?! NOW, I'VE HEARD EVERYTHING!!
Johnnyb writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 12:51:10 AM

Well, nothing is bad at all. Maybe we can't see Del Toro's vision with At the Mountain of Madness, but we get all what we wanted with this, just excellent!!!!!
rockkillers writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 12:51:55 AM

Hate to let everyone know this but the thing none of you understand is that Ridley actually cut out 20 minutes of violence before he submited the film to the mpaa. He was hoping for a pg13 here. They still gave it a R rating so what we have here is a fake R rating/soft R. It's good news its R sure, but it may turn out to be like Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark type R which made you wonder how it even grants a R rating.
I will still watch this now because it's R now like it should be, but it might not be a true R movie. I would like to think Ridley would include back the 20 minutes of violence he removed in hopes that he would get his expected PG13 rating, but I think they are just releasing this as is.
:(
UMRAO writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 12:58:16 AM

SCORE!!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 2:19:16 AM

So be it baby!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 2:50:51 AM

Thank god, I can't f*cking wait for this movie... My "most looked forward too movie of the year"
rockkillers writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 3:23:03 AM

Soft/fake R but still good.
trailertrash writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 3:44:20 AM

Good news, But i was looking forward to this R or PG-13 either way the film is looking (as tony the tiger would say) grrrrrrrrreat.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 3:56:35 AM

All that was left to hear about it, no more now, bring on the film!
efdfsdft5 writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 4:23:12 AM

Find your interracial romantic ture love-..I`nter'r'cilC`htS^,C0*M..
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 4:37:18 AM

Nicccccccccce!!!
codeman_1216 writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 5:36:09 AM

This is truly great news. Now I'm even more excited for this movie, which I didn't think was possible.
nawtnt writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 6:44:01 AM

Great news.

F*** 20th Century Fox.

I now have the same repsect for Ridley Scott that I didn't give towards McG for making Terminator Salvation PG-13.
witwicky-potter writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 8:29:49 AM

Theres a God out there :-D
velocityknown writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 11:30:31 AM

"Shame" kind of proved this past year that MPAA ratings don't mean sh*t when it comes to making money during a theatrical run. If you embrace the rating and don't act like there's anything in your film to hide, people will find a way to see it.
DexterMorgan writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 4:23:52 PM

that's right motherf*cker woo!
Recumbentibus writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:26:43 AM

Does this mean that the footage Scott originally cut to try and get a "PG13" rating might its way back into movie? There is probably not enough time for that though as they would have to resubmit the film to the MPAA again. Still, I guess a soft "R" is better than a hard "PG13" any day of the week.
OneTime writes:
on May 9th, 2012 at 9:00:23 PM

yeeeeehawwwwww

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved