WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron to Only Direct "Avatar" Films, Kills All Other Projects

Posted: May 6th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron to Only Direct "Avatar" Films, Kills All Other ProjectsSubmit Comment
Despite the fact that James Cameron has been wanting to make "Battle Angel" and Arnold Schwarzenegger has been hoping to bring him back for "True Lies 2" and possibly as a producer on "Terminator 5." Cameron has now revealed that he will no longer direct any other movies besides "Avatar" installments. He will also stop producing other people's movies.

"I've divided my time over the last 16 years over deep ocean exploration and filmmaking. I've made two movies in 16 years, and I've done eight expeditions. Last year I basically completely disbanded my production company. So I'm not interested in developing anything," he explained. "I'm in the 'Avatar' business. Period. That's it. I'm making 'Avatar 2,' 'Avatar 3,' maybe 'Avatar 4,' and I'm not going to produce other people's movies for them. I'm not interested in taking scripts."

Cameron continued: "All sounds I suppose a little bit restricted, but the point is I think within the 'Avatar' landscape I can say everything I need to say that I think needs to be said, in terms of the state of the world and what I think we need to be doing about it. And doing it in an entertaining way. And anything I can't say in that area, I want to say through documentaries, which I'm continuing. I've done five documentaries in the last 10 years, and I'll hopefully do a lot more."

Source: NY Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 5:52:29 PM

Why not just stay at the bottom of the ocean then

And take you're Avatar 2,3,4 with you ...
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 6:20:33 PM

Who pissed off this DIVA?!!

So, he's punishing us, the audience, by not being worthy of him putting out any more movies?

Teasing us with so many projects just to p*ssy out like this? Get the f*ck outta here! Good riddance...
beepboop writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 6:28:16 PM

"within the 'Avatar' landscape I can say everything I need to say that I think needs to be said, in terms of the state of the world and what I think we need to be doing about it."

we should have sex with blue cat people via ponytails? what did the deep water do to you, james cameron?

ps I watched one of his doc*mentaries and it was useless. it was about how awesome and inventive james cameron is and then that one scientist woman said she had a daughter at home.
and during that he showed wonderful sea creatures and said nothing about them. so useless.
trailertrash writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 6:30:32 PM

Battle Angel did sound interesting, But more Avatar films !! Really thats where he sees himself as a film maker now, Churning out sequels

Maybe if Avatar 2 is not so successful he will change his thinking slightly.

SeWerin writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 6:39:41 PM

Son of a c*ck Cameron! Just finish one movie at a time before you start talking about part 4 of the saga. Hell, you are becoming more of a d*ck with each month, you pretentious bastard.

And what's that? You are killing your all other projects but you won't let anyone else to get their hands on Battle Angel?!? Well aren't you a modest fella.

But yeah, you can totally go and finance crapfest like Sanctum...

I can't believe that i admired him. Yeah his a good filmmaker, but there is no excuse for him to act like a some kind of almighty entity.
rgon writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 6:43:03 PM

The film grossed an incredible $200.3 million at the domestic box office, bringing its worldwide total to $641.8 million, already surpassing the lifetime grosses of all previous Marvel films. "The Avengers" is now on track to reach the $1 billion mark.

He just dont want anybody else to take his spots on the top grossing list
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 6:46:32 PM

Translation: My name is James Cameron, and I don't have an imagination, so Avatar expresses the only two thoughts I have ever had: I like water, and humans are bad, bad, bad.
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 7:00:00 PM

Apparently, rumors are flying that Cameron, who has recently decided to move to a New Zealand farm, is departing the US because of the historically massive tax hike Obama is planning after his inescapable re-election.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2095239/James-Cameron-leaving-U-S-New-Zealand-farm.html

Now *I* just need to find a way out of the US....
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 7:10:32 PM

f*ck you JC!!!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 7:14:31 PM

So much for Battle Angel !! I think ill punch a baby now, im so pissed.
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 7:25:32 PM

"f*ck you JC!!!! "

Yeah, I hate that Jesus Christ guy too. What a pretentious douchebag. Thought he was king of the world. Pffft.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 7:28:08 PM

Cameron you died to me in the 90s after true lies.
Crazyhorse writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 7:37:12 PM

well I guess I wont be watching a new Cameron movie at theatres no longer

I sure hope the new Superman is going to be good
trailertrash writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 8:00:29 PM

Mink

Did you read the interview ? He sights Robert Rodriguez as someone he admires today as a film maker ....

Wonder if thats because his 3D films are so bad he's no threat to him ....
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 8:02:07 PM

Lol looks like avengers is already pissing him off ... And avatar 4 ?seriously? Does this guy think hese george lucas or something . Sorry to burst your bubble but nooo your avatards will never be a cultural PHENOMENOM so stop trying IDIOT !!!!
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 8:07:52 PM

@trailer: Which interview?
Kurskij writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 8:17:35 PM

You know, as much as I admire Cameron's work, as much as I was defending him in the past, he f*cking lost it.

If he said "I'm out. I quit. I'm not interested in movie business anymore, I want to explore ocean depths, f*ck mermaids, fly in outer space, greenpeace the sh*t out of the world, but I'm no longer interested in making movies" - I'd be OK with it. The man gave a lot to the medium, made some great movies, pioneered a lot of techniques. Made tons of money - it's his right to retire and do whatever he wants to do. Especially if that includes f*cking mermaids.

But "I'm in the 'Avatar' business... within the 'Avatar' landscape I can say everything I need to say that I think needs to be said, in terms of the state of the world and what I think we need to be doing about it." - that's just to much.

Sure, making movies is not a walk in the park but that basically means "f*ck it. I've got a great cow to milk. I can push my agenda down everyones throat AND make money on it".
KillerCOck writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 8:18:01 PM

As Long as he puts Arnold Schwartzenegger in an Avatar movie, I don't give a sh*t
Kurskij writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 8:20:50 PM

@mink

The NY Times Interview.

Cameron loves Snyder and Rodriguez.

And to follow tradition, WP slightly altered the citation
Johnnyb writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 8:21:36 PM

Good news of the day, but a shame he will still making blue men movies, f*ck it!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 8:34:10 PM

Went searching for the aforementioned NYT interview that Alex failed to source link, as always, and found this, which will be ignored, I'm sure, but I don't really care.

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/04/15/science/titanic-may-hold-passengers-remains-officials-say.html?_r=1&ref=jamescameron

Makes me wish the people who have turned the Titanic tragedy into popcorn entertainment (you know, Cameron, who claims he's conveniently never seen evidence of bodies...) would leave the wreck the f*ck alone. People DIED. It isn't f*cking Disneyland, you greedy *ssholes.

Here's the interview link.

http://mediadecoder.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/05/05/james-cameron-on-chinese-filmmakers-censorship-and-potential-co-productions/

You're all welcome.

And interestingly enough, Cameron cites 300 as a 'revolutionary' film, because you know, it had a sh*t load of bullsh*t green screen, a ton of CGI and a hollow story.

You know, like Avatar.
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 8:47:12 PM

Cameron is such a tool. From the interview:

"I donít find my inspiration in movies. I find my inspiration in life Ė in the natural world, in daily life. There are filmmakers that come along that are quite iconoclastic. And that Iím in awe of, frankly. Zack Snyderís ď300.Ē I think that was a really revolutionary film, because it was a completely deconstructive form of filmmaking in a way that nobody had done before, other than maybe Robert Rodriguez. Thatís inspirational to me. Zhang Yimouís films are inspirational to me. I have to see them multiple times to really see how heís doing it and what exactly heís doing that seems to work so well. So as a fan of film, there are certain films that come along that are just stunning to me, and Iíll study them."

LOL. He doesn't take inspiration from film, but then goes on to cite Rodriguez as something of an inspiration. He makes a statement, and then not only doesn't follow that up with support, he refutes it. I bet he sucked at writing college essays.

"Cameron enrolled at Fullerton College, a 2-year community college, in 1973 to study physics. He switched to English, then dropped out before the start of the fall 1974 semester."

Ugh. This guy is a total *sshole.

"I got the biggest political blowback in the U.S., because frankly the U.S. is the most medieval right now when it comes to climate change and the role of business in compromising and devastating the natural world. Way behind Europe."

And Cameron really helped things with Avatar and Titanic and all his f*cking cars and huge mansion. But he's taking Avatar to Chine, outsourcing even more of America's work, and you people will pay again to see Avatar 2, right?

I hate this guy. Really. And he used to be someone I greatly admired. How the f*ck did THAT happen?
Kurskij writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 9:33:28 PM

Getting back to the right thread.

There might be bodies or their parts inside the hull, no questions. As it was rightly mentioned in the arcticle - it all depends on the currents and bacteria. If scavengers didn't get to them - they are intact. So the question is whether there are sealed compartments left on the ship.

billofill writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 10:04:59 PM

Mink in all fairness he was giving Robert props for dropping his wife who helped his career for that gash that was f*cked Marilyn Manson and was popular fer a minute.
Nexus72 writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 12:28:47 AM

All you people who are complaining that Cameron is a Diva need to go to hell (in place of very bad words). He can do whatever he wants. Just because you're not getting your Cameron fix doesn't mean he needs to oblige you. And, I'm sure there are more layers to the Schwarzenegger relationship than any of you will ever know. Cameron is obviously compelled to do different things in his life than simply make movies for you. I appreciate his honesty.
reach110 writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 12:50:55 AM

"within the 'Avatar' landscape I can say everything I need to say that I think needs to be said..." Hey, Jimmy, I'll just do it for you. Based on the first Avatar, I think you're going for: "Be nice to each other and the planet." There. Oh, and that you're the "king of the world." Got it. Saved us all a couple billion dollars. I don't need more Avatar.
darthnoah writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 12:59:53 AM

I wasn't kicked about Avatar. A visual treat, but that's available in Playboy.. I live in India and know Bollywood. The Avatar storyline was as bad as the worst in Bollywood IMO.

I love 'Aliens' and the first 2 Terminators. But I managed YEARS without him.. So f*ck it.. I don't care..
Rambo writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 2:33:31 AM

Thank you for Aliens,Terminator 1,2 and True Lies.

Avatar was crap.
trailertrash writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 3:45:16 AM

Thats the one mink (2nd link)

On the first link ...

Scholars say most of the people who died were probably in life jackets and swept far to sea by wind and waves.

Yeah right oh ........ More like locked in the lower decks and drowned on board the Titanic, So somewhere down there, There will be human remains.
rockkillers writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 3:54:31 AM

Smug alert.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 6:11:38 AM

You narcissistic....c*nt!!!!
Bunny X writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 8:42:12 AM

I truly wanted Battle Angel and was willing to sit through a 2nd and maybe 3rd Avatar if it meant so. But now hearing this?

f*ck You Cameron.
arcademonkey writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 8:42:48 AM

what a C***....f*** cameron & f*** avaturd 2,3 & 4.
mmmmmm...simpsons writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 4:11:59 PM

looks like Cameron got off on the c*cky side of the bed again
bandolero999 writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 5:33:49 PM

I'm in the avatar business bitches.I'm gonna make billions because I'm the king of the world.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved