WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Avengers" Has Second-Biggest Friday Ever, May Break Weekend Record

Posted: May 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Avengers" Has Second-Biggest Friday Ever, May Break Weekend RecordSubmit Comment
Insiders were predicting that "The Avengers" would bring in around $65 million on Friday. But now that the results are in, it turns out that the superhero film has outperformed those expectations and actually brought in $80.5 million.

That's the second biggest gross for one day ever, just behind "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2," which earned $91.1 million on its first day last summer. "Deathly Hallows" also went on to have the best opening weekend of all time with $169.2 million. But "The Avengers" is expected to best that and hit $170 million.

Meanwhile, "The Avengers" already beat "The Dark Knight," which grossed $67.3 million on its first Friday and went on to take $158.1 million over the weekend.

Internationally, "The Avengers" already grossed $334.3 million, eclipsing the total lifetime grosses for "Iron Man" ($267 million), "Thor" ($268 million), "Captain America: The First Avenger" ($192 million) and "Iron Man 2" ($311.5 million).

In total, "The Avengers" now has a worldwide total of $414.8 million and is on pace to break to the $1 billion mark.

Click here to read our "The Avengers" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WTF writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 2:22:40 PM

Hell Yeah
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 2:28:13 PM

Nice!
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 2:42:36 PM

But yeah, it would be cool if that were true.
witwicky-potter writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 3:09:47 PM

A billion is very much possible.it totally deserves this
mehh0408 writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 3:13:20 PM

TDKR already failed
Rambo writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 3:14:19 PM

my review:

http://www.worstpreviews.com/moviereviews.php?id=1258
Kurskij writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 3:20:04 PM

A billion is sealed. Transformers 3 is on the way, the question is will it break the last Potters final number.

The Dark Knight Rises has a lot to live up to, especially in terms of worldwide gross. Your marketing call, Warners.
Kurskij writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 3:26:29 PM

@Rambo

Nice review, I'll tell what I think when I'll see it this weekend, for now looks like a 7/10. and I'd gladly give Serenity an 8 without seeing Firefly - Whedon knows how to write dialogue and entertain.
[StuntMan_MiKe] writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 4:59:36 PM

This will definitely hit the $1 billion mark. It's a great action packed superhero movie without the whole origin story to slow it down. I'm ready to see it again.
trailertrash writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 5:43:09 PM

Massive numbers for The Avengers so Kudos to them

I think TDKR will match or better what ever The Avengers finally opens with this weekend on it's opening weekend, Where it ends up will depend on how good the movie turns out.

The Avengers has set the super hero bar pretty damn high this summer already IMO
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 5:43:31 PM

TDKR will make 2 billion then, and Prometheus won't break past 300 mil domestic.
trailertrash writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 5:46:11 PM

This is the Orange mobile Expendables 2 advert, With James Buckley (Jay from Inbetweeners)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWCXeThO0qo
Recumbentibus writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 5:58:45 PM

I hope Prometheus is able to break at least 500 million so we get a sequel. Scott said in an interview that if the film is very well received then future installments are a possibility. Unfortunately the fact that it failed to get a PG-13 rating by the MPAA might prove to be a pretty hard financial blow.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 6:10:23 PM

^^Well, the IMAX and 3D versions will make some serious cash, so 300 mil domestic is definitely a low-ball estimate, and a cynical one too.

800 mil tops all said and done, domestic and international.

I'd really just rather Scott do another Blade Runner anyway, rather than beat Prometheus to death.
trailertrash writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 6:26:33 PM

Can't see Prometheus making anything close to $800 mil w/w Mink

I Just don't think there are enough people out there that will go and see this movie to push it's take that high.

My guess would be anything from $110/160 mil US and around another $250/300 mil rest of the world.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 6:35:36 PM

Well, I dunno. It depends. Not much between Avengers and TDKR, and I think Avengers will have made most of it's revenue by June 8th, so...

From Wiki:

"In the United Kingdom, 18,827 tickets were pre-sold for the London IMAX, the largest IMAX screen in the country, breaking the theater records for the highest grossing week of pre-sales with 293,312 ($474,687), and the highest grossing first day of pre-sales with 137,000 ($221,717), exceeding the performance of other high-profile IMAX releases including The Dark Knight and Avatar."

It's tracking well, I'll give it that. I think 300 mil (low) to 800 mil (high) with a 400 mil midpoint. So 500 mil is probably not unrealistic, but I'm hoping for better. The rating is the real issue, and because of that, well, revenue is going to be lost. A LOT of revenue. None will be gained by an R cut, though.

http://www.prometheus-movie.com/news/176

Pretty f*cked up.


trailertrash writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 7:00:34 PM

Agree R will servilely limit it's final boxoffice take.

As much as we all want the R Rated version you can see why the studio big wigs want that PG-13 rating can't you.

The Avengers has been very busy here, A lot more so than the past Marvel films. This one has caught the UK's attention for sure.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 7:45:17 PM

"As much as we all want the R Rated version you can see why the studio big wigs want that PG-13 rating can't you"

I'll take 'What is Greed' for a thousand, Alex.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 8:09:58 PM

Five science-bending twists in The Avengers

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/47302575/ns/technology_and_science-science/
Big_Daddy writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 8:53:52 PM

It helps that the only showings for 2 d on Friday at my theater anyway were at 1:00 and 3:30 the rest of the shows going into the night were 3d only. Way to pad the numbers
Crazyhorse writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 9:36:08 PM

Just saw Avengers

Was surprised that the Hulk was actually a good character in this since the 2 Hulk movies were crap
pornfly writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 12:48:00 AM

Summer of 85 was huge for movies

http://www.the-numbers.com/movies/index1985.php
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 3:45:47 AM

Now knock "Gayvatar" off number one spot so we can have "TDKR" at one and "Avengers" at number 2
trailertrash writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 6:36:50 AM

Pornfly

Nice link there, Yeah the 80's was a brilliant decade for movies and by the end of it the summer movie season was in full flow as we know it today.
trailertrash writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 6:38:37 AM

Mink - lol
Wallace writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 11:34:23 AM

Update from Boxoffice.com: "Disney reports that The Avengers will take in $200.3 million domestically during its debut frame. That shatters the previous opening-weekend record of $169.2 million set by Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part II."
kBob writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 5:39:30 PM

I don't understand the feud between Nolan fans and Marvel fans. Some people act (you need to see some other boards) as if the franchise is an emotional attachment. Avengers was pretty damn good, I won't lie. Comparing it to Batman (TDK), solely because its a superhero film, is flat out stupid. TDKR may not beat the film in box-office numbers, but why all the sudden doubt that the film will do poorly in terms of quality. I re-watched the trailer a few times, it still looks pretty exciting. BTW, I think TDK is overrated, but lets face it, it was definitely an enjoyable thriller the first time around with some splendid performances. That being said, I'm happy for The Avengers' success. I hope it continues lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved