WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Reviews for Alfonso Cuaron's "Gravity" Sci-Fi Film, Starring Clooney and Bullock

Posted: May 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Reviews for Alfonso CuaronSubmit Comment
There have been a lot of talk about the upcoming "Gravity" sci-fi film (to be released on November 21st), that's directed by Alfonso Cuaron (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban), and stars George Clooney and Sandra Bullock.

The cast is incredible, the plot is intriguing, and some of the filming techniques used have been called ground-breaking. And just recently, "Gravity" invited random people for a test screening. Special effects weren't fully finished, but the movie was all there.

But before we get to the reviews, check out the plot synopsis to get an idea of what the movie is about.

Plot: Bullock plays Dr. Ryan Stone, a brilliant medical engineer on her first shuttle mission, with veteran astronaut Matt Kowalsky (Clooney) in command of his last flight before retiring. But on a seemingly routine spacewalk, disaster strikes. The shuttle is destroyed, leaving Stone and Kowalsky completely alone–tethered to nothing but each other and spiraling out into the blackness. The deafening silence tells them they have lost any link to Earth... and any chance for rescue. As fear turns to panic, every gulp of air eats away at what little oxygen is left. But the only way home may be to go further out into the terrifying expanse of space.

Pretty interesting, right? Well, not everyone thought so.

* SlashFilm's Germain Lussier said: "VERY unfinished but heard it's visually ambitious, interesting but not world-changing."

* David Vendrell (screening attendee) said: "It was far from being done, but it will be a visual feast when it is... and nothing more."

* Briana Hernandez (screening attendee) said: "Worst movie ever!"

But there were also plenty of positive reviews.

* FilmStage's Jordan Raup said: "Despite rough FX, hear good things about last night's 'Gravity' screening. 'Masterpiece, phenomenal, visually amazing.'"

* AwardsDailyForums user said: "I still can't believe what a great movie this is. Wow!!! I don't think anyone will doubt Sandra again after seing this. what a performance! Overall I thought it was a very suspenseful and engaging movie. Even with the extremely long takes it never dragged or became boring in my opinion."

* AICN user said: "This is not just next level sh*t, this is several levels ahead of next level sh*t, and quite possibly the highest level sh*t you could possibly make. This is like if 'Avatar' had been released in 1927 a week after 'The Jazz Singer.'"

And while a user on FilmExperience website thought the movie was fantastic, he explained that many will find the movie too boring to enjoy. "'Gravity' is Cuaron's masterpiece," he said. "It's gonna be divided. Half will think it's a self-indulgent borefest and half will think it's amazingly brilliant. The movie is 80% just Sandra Bullock."

He went on to say that Bullock could get an Oscar nomination, especially for her performance in the last fifteen minutes of the film.

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
filmaddict24 writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 4:58:58 AM

First.
I have to see scenes before I can decide if i want to watch it.
pornfly writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 4:59:21 AM

Couldnt be more boring than Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
bandolero999 writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 5:14:02 AM

Thanks for giving me the heads up.in my avoid list.especially with George Looney.

A new level of sh*t it is.
lppinto writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 7:19:53 AM

Tinker Tailor was a very good movie!!
Bullit writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 7:32:55 AM

The cast is very limited and the plot doesn't let you think that there will be a lot of actions...

--------------


More pictures from The Expandles 2:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2139796/Rocky-vs-Kickboxer-Sylvester-Stallone-faces-Jean-Claude-Van-Damme-new-Expendables-2-trailer.html
Bullit writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 7:34:03 AM

sh*t! It's "The Expendables 2"!
rocketman writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 8:04:42 AM

Sounds like my sort of film.,my guess if you hated 2001 you won't like this.

Me,I luvs it.


Tinker was a great film.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 1:44:18 PM

I expect no elaboration, but the question must be asked: how is 'Gravity' science fiction? And if your only reply is to inform me that the film takes place within the cold confines of space, you should defer your exegesis indefinitely.

But this is from the guy that made that horrible Children of Men? lol. Yeah, no thank you sir!
Rambo writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 2:13:11 PM

yep,children of men sucked big time but at least he made the most watchable harry potter movie in that boring franchise.
Kurskij writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 2:26:12 PM

First I'd like to happily announce that I've learned a new word 'exegesis'. The day wasn't wasted.

Second, yeah two people in outer space is not a science fiction for a couple of decades now, of course if you don't define science fiction as a movie that involves science in some form and is fictitious in it's plot.

Aaand third Children of Men is amazingly shot, that's what cinema is about - introducing something new, which is exactly what this movie has done.

As for Gravity - i'll definitely check it out. Cuaron is an interesting director.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 2:28:15 PM

Yeah, Children of Men sucked hard. Definitely One of the worst 'science fiction' films ever made. And pretty damned dumb to boot. Guess they forgot the 'science' part.
Kurskij writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 3:14:04 PM

@ mink
Could you elaborate? Sincerely interested.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 3:52:13 PM

is it me or does anyone else find some of these reviews absolutely f*ckin retarded? "i 'hear' good things about the screening"... "'heard' it's a visual feast"... what kind of dogsh*t reviewing is this when it's obvious you haven't seen the goddamn movie???
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 5:00:24 PM

^^Most of them saw an unfinished advanced screening, and one guy just served up what he heard, probably while getting f*cked by Harry Knowles.

So, don't beat the reviews, beat the fact Alex posted a review that isn't...a review.

"Could you elaborate? Sincerely interested."

Elaborate on what, exactly? The boring, plodding acting and plot, or the unscientific/fantasy story? Or the left-wing politically-correct ending? Maybe the lousy non-diegetic music?

Yeah, Children of Men possesses bold cinematography (and so did Rescue Dawn and Dexter, season one and two, for that matter), so I'll concede your earlier opinion, but in every other area, it absolutely failed.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 5:08:29 PM

Oh. Guess it should be noticed then that one of the three positive reviews is hearsay and the other two are from 'users' who don;t have a reputation to squander if they're lying.

I especially like the last one, comparing The Jazz Singer to Avatar. Yeah, that's a serious, objective level-headed 'review' right there. Dude probably has Call of Duty stickers on his Jonah Brothers lunch box.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 5:09:03 PM

jonas..
Kurskij writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 5:13:19 PM

Elaborate on what, exactly? The boring, plodding acting and plot, or the unscientific/fantasy story? Or the left-wing politically-correct ending? Maybe the lousy non-diegetic music?

^well, that's exactly the elaboration I expected

I loved the movie as a whole. Didn't watch Dexter yet, Rescue Dawn was a solid movie with a surprisingly muscular performane by Steve Zahn, cinematography as I remember it was solid for its budget, but nothing new.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 5:25:41 PM

Nothing new, no, but Rescue Dawn had Werner Herzog's gorgeous photography, which up until then I hadn't noticed, so it was a first for me, and the first two seasons of Dexter had very strong music from Daniel Licht and some experimental, and sometimes jarring, cinematography that came out as polished in execution, gritty in style and realistic in form.

Or so I thought. Later seasons of Dexter got lazy on all fronts, and just generally went to hell from mid-season 3 on, though it picked up some in season 4, largely thanks to to John Lithgow's singularly stand-out performance, but Dexter then slipped back into the sh*tter with Julia Stiles the season thereafter.

I can't even recall season 6.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 5:35:09 PM

Speaking of Dexter, have you heard of the guy that actually emulated Dexter only once and got nailed?

His name is Mark Twitchell. I came across the guy in a local bookstore when I picked up the book The Devil's Cinema.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Devils-Cinema-Untold-Twitchells/dp/077105033X

Mark Twitchell was a young filmmaker, btw, who was working on feature length Star Wars fan film called Secrets of the Rebellion.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2671533/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Il5y2T1o_eA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A-SddGNXSkQ

Twitchell was absolutely fascinated with Dexter. He even mentioned the show in his murder diary, which he claimed was a story for his next movie and also had a Facebook page named after the character.

Coincidentally, Twitchell also directed a short called House of Cards in the very same garage he murdered his first and only victim, John Altinger.

Here's Twitchell's diary/story.

http://www.scribd.com/doc/51760361/Manuscript-from-Mark-Twitchell-s-laptop

What a total f*cking psycho. sh*t will give you nightmares. NOT for the 'faint of heart'.

minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 5:39:31 PM

Something else, which never made its way here, of course.

http://www.fxguide.com/quicktakes/total-recall-the-version-you-never-got-to-see/
Recumbentibus writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 6:08:25 PM

I don't know if I could trust a director that starts screening his film without it being finished. If you want to make a great science fiction movie you need to make the special effects a key part of the overall experience. This, "the movie is finished and all that's left is to throw some fancy CGI at the screen so audiences gobble it up", shtick really grinds my gears.
Kurskij writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 6:12:16 PM

Herzog's doc*mentaries are gorgeously filmed.

Cave of Forgotten Dreams is simple yet pretty stunning in execution.

Yet to see Encounters at the End of the World.

And Fitzcarraldo.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-W9p6Nmv-Djs/Tq7NdKKY62I/AAAAAAAAANY/93pOErV5emE/s1600/fitzcarraldo2.jpg

What a great f*cking scene.

Looks like I'll have to check out Dexter. Luckily, I have only the first two seasons on dvd.

Will read about Mr. Twitchell later. Sounds like an interesting looney.

Thx for Total Recall link - been looking for the site for some time. Good articles they post from time to time.
Kurskij writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 6:19:06 PM

btw gotta love the new WP censorship politics:

d*ck Donner c*me up with a doc*mentary. Only one typo.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 6:20:24 PM

"Sounds like an interesting looney."

Absolutely fascinating specimen, really. Evil as f*ck, but still, fascinating.
trailertrash writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 6:29:48 PM

Well i think i read around 25 pages of that link Mink (thanks for the nightmares BTW)

Chilling truly Chilling.
trailertrash writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 6:31:07 PM

I have never seen Dexter heard great things though, May have to check the show out now.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 6:39:33 PM

"Well i think i read around 25 pages of that link Mink"

Oh now, trailer, you have to read it all. A real cliffhanger.

And you will NEVER read anything, fictional or otherwise, more horrifying, Not even 'Ruins'.

And Canadian investigators believe most of it (85%) is entirely accurate, and they stopped there only because the 15% couldn't be verified 100%.
Kurskij writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 6:40:58 PM

ot

It all makes sense now. Nic Cage manages to make everything look batsh*t insane. Even good old motion-capture make up.

http://cdn.fxguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/4.jpg
trailertrash writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 6:51:30 PM

Mink - lol

I will finish it a little later on, Just had to stop for a bit.

And Canadian investigators believe most of it (85%) is entirely accurate, and they stopped there only because the 15% couldn't be verified 100%

That i believe 100% the passion and enjoyment in the writting tells you all you need to know
trailertrash writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 6:52:36 PM

Kurskij - lol
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 7:44:20 PM

Nic Cage is the one in the top left....right?
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 8:03:44 PM

@trailer: I seriously think people like Twitchell need to be studied, intensely, scientifically, as part of a reduced sentence. Say, instead of a 25 year to life sentence, ten years of imprisonment with the strict proviso they sign off on any and all research, humane of course, to determine how people like them, like Twitchell, are different, so that we can find them before they kill, or kill again, and perhaps discover a way to cure, or alleviate, what it is that makes people do the horrible sh*t they do, because I just don't believe in some nebulous evil permeating the world.
Pig Newtons writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 11:33:56 PM

So basically it will be another "The Fountain" in which intelligent critics/moviegoers loved it, and the dull-witted "Michael Bay" audience will say "Dude it was so boring. Where were the explosions, rapper co-stars, awful music montages and explosions?"
trailertrash writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 3:01:49 AM

Mink

I agree with you that people like Twitchell need to be studied. But it should be part of their sentence not as a carrot for a shorter jail time, It's the least guys like him can do.

After reading the rest of that link. To know that there are people out there that can rationalize murder to themselves like the way he did is very frightening indeed.

At some point you would think the rational side of you would kick in and stop you from doing these terrible things.

It doesn't with these kinds of people and that is why they need to studied.
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2012 at 2:30:34 PM

^^I agree, absolutely. I imagine people in the year 2112 are looking back on us and our primitive psychiatry the way we look back on 1912's ship design standards.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 5:47:13 PM

sounds as boring as the movie some guy was left in the ocean.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved