WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Beastie Boys Rapper Adam Yauch Dead at 47

Posted: May 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Beastie Boys Rapper Adam Yauch Dead at 47Submit Comment
Beastie Boys rapper Adam Yauch (stage name MCA), who also founded the indie film company Oscilloscope Pictures and was recently inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, has died at the age of 47.

In 2009, Yauch was treated for a cancerous parotid gland and a lymph node and underwent surgery and radiation therapy, delaying the group's release of the group's album Hot Sauce Committee and a tour that included a headlining slot at Lollapalooza. He was unable to attend the Rock Hall induction ceremony in April, but said that he was "continuing treatment, staying optimistic and hoping to be cancer-free in the near future."

Beastie Boys exploded on the national scene in late 1986 with the top 10 single "(You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (to Party)." The group's debut album "Licensed to Ill" became the first rap disc to top the Billboard 200, eventually spending seven weeks at No. 1 and selling more than 9 million units in the US.

The trio released eight albums, six of going platinum and four hitting No. 1, and sold a combined 22 million units stateside and more than 40 million worldwide.

Yauch is survived by wife Dechen Wengdu and their daughter Losel.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on May 4th, 2012 at 8:31:22 PM

That's cool, but this has what to do with movies? Nothing, you say? All right then.
alexgi writes:
on May 4th, 2012 at 8:35:53 PM

@minkowski: we secretly hid his connection to Hollywood in the first sentence. Shh, don't tell anyone.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 4th, 2012 at 8:40:31 PM

Rip mate!
minkowski writes:
on May 4th, 2012 at 8:44:26 PM

@alex: that's cool. I know this guy who knows this chick who did this porn video in Russia back in 1983, so when I get killed after f*cking a light socket, not only do I want a story on WP, I demand an IMDb entry.

It's only fair.
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 4th, 2012 at 8:54:32 PM

whO? AGAIN wHO?
bandolero999 writes:
on May 4th, 2012 at 9:12:28 PM

Rip guy
But their music was sh*t.sorry youre not gonna get pushy by listening to beasty bois
alexgi writes:
on May 4th, 2012 at 9:33:28 PM

@minkowski: I can't speak for IMDB, but there will definitely be an article on WP.
triggax writes:
on May 4th, 2012 at 10:35:03 PM

He produced films, Mink. We need to talk about Kevin, most recently.

This is movie news.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 12:57:50 AM

jesus mutha f*ckin teresa
pornfly writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 2:12:38 AM

ALEX LOL

bummed me out right after i saw The Avengers,im rockn Ill Communication

R.I.P.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 4:18:58 AM

That is a shame.

Never knew he was sick.

Remember when they first come out with "fight for your right to party" we decided to play their album on a school trip, the teacher in charge had no idea the contact of the album or song and as soon as she heard it playing...she ran from the back of the coach to turn it off....great days.

R.I.P
Džeko writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 4:52:51 AM

R.I.P dude.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2012 at 1:30:59 PM

"@minkowski: I can't speak for IMDB, but there will definitely be an article on WP."

As long as you use a light socket as the article image, I'm all shades of cool with it.



"He produced films, Mink. We need to talk about Kevin, most recently."

I'll take your word for it.
Bunny X writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 12:32:25 PM

Even without the production company connection, I'm sure that a number of folks on here appreciated the nod to place this as a thread. Even though they performed on SNL a few times, they did a mini nod to his passing.
I guess its a judgement call for alex to make the genre connection to post. Glad it was done.
Such a sad loss. Yet another victim to cancer. RIP Yauch. The induction performance for the Rock n Roll HOF was epic as much as it was surreal.
minkowski writes:
on May 7th, 2012 at 9:47:37 PM

^^I guess. It would all hinge on whether you could care less about the Beastie Boys or not, and I'm solidly in the 'not' category.

Don't follow them, don't care. Didn't know they were in any way involved with film, so there's that.

Call me when Phil Collins dies.
Bunny X writes:
on May 8th, 2012 at 1:21:07 PM

Lol got it Mink. Oh and You should have gotten at least a text telling you his career died. That phone call shouldn't be too far behind.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved