WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon on His Rejected "Batman" Film

Posted: May 3rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon on His Rejected "Batman" FilmSubmit Comment
In an in-depth interview with GQ magazine, "The Avengers" director Joss Whedon spoke about the times he came close to making a big-budget superhero film. Most recently there was "Wonder Woman," which he was going to write and direct for producer Joel Silver. There was also "Iron Man," which was before the 2008 movie with Robert Downey Jr.

And there was also Batman, which was between Joel Schumacher's sequels and Christopher Nolan's reboot. Whedon had a chance to pitch his take to Warner Bros and he was sure he was going to nail it, mostly because of a scene in which young Bruce Wayne tries to protect a girl from being bullied in an alley, an alley like the one his parents were murdered in.

Whedon explained: "[Bruce Wayne] is like this tiny 12-year-old who's about to get the sh*t kicked out of him. And then it cuts to Wayne Manor, and Alfred is running like something terrible has happened, and he finds Bruce, and he's back from the fight, and he's completely fine. And Bruce is like, 'I stopped them. I can stop them.' That was the moment for me. When he goes 'Oh, wait a minute; I can actually do something about this.' The moment he gets that purpose, instead of just sort of being overwhelmed by the grief of his parents' death."

That scene was so special to Whedon that he was excited about just being able to pitch it. "And the executive was looking at me like I was Agent Smith [from 'The Matrix'] made of numbers. He wasn't seeing me at all," he said. "And I was driving back to work, and I was like, 'Why did I do that? Why did I get so invested in that Batman story? How much more evidence do I need that the machine doesn't care about my vision? And I got back to work and got a phone call that 'Firefly' was cancelled."

Back in 2008, Whedon said that in his version, "there was actually a new [villain], it wasn't one of the classics -- which is probably why [Warner Bros] didn't use it. It was more of a 'Hannibal Lector' type -- he was somebody already in Arkham Asylum that Bruce went and sort of studied with."

Source: GQ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ZenShark writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 5:20:22 AM

I dont know how good he would be with batman, as i think he's best working with a group, but i would definitely be interested.
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 5:28:47 AM

He's Batman vision sounds interesting, but he also was going to tackle difficult properties like Wonderwoman.

For the life of me I just can't wrap my head around how to maker her updated, yet avoiding the risk of making her look skanky with the traditional suit.

Her origin story could easily be hokey in the wrong hands. Tough sell IMO.

As for Iron Man, I just think it eould be difficult to to Favreau's version...it was an updated version, but cool and faithful to the essence of the comics. Who would do it better than RDJ? No one comes to mind.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 5:44:55 AM

Doesn't sound good to me.
darthnoah writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 5:48:17 AM

Don't f*ck it up..

Nolan has done his bit. Whedon has done his. Don't step on any f*ckin' toes..
KillerCOck writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 7:17:09 AM

I think a Wonder Woman Origin Story Would be Easy to do if Taken Seriously. Done in a cinematic way in the same Tone as "Troy" crossed with "Gladiator" but with women of course and then in sequels do ssomething along the lines of what "Thor" did but again taken seriously.


As far as Whedon's Batman goes, I'd love for him to write a script but get another to Direct. I like his directing style for Ensemble pieces. My Ideal movie for him to direct would be an X-Men Reboot or The Inhumans, he Could make an epic Space movie outta that.



Everybody Chillllll writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 7:53:55 AM

Wow, thats the scene he was excited about?? Pretty lame.... and a WW movie should never bother to be made unless they go campy. A "serious" one would be stupid.
Man in Black writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:11:38 PM

You know they have green lit sh*ttier movies with less of a pitch ... " The Love Guru " anyone ? . Hell " Daredevil " was probably Affleck give hand jobs to try to get a franchise .
bandolero999 writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 1:51:19 PM

Here you go more interesting news:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=XQf3YP8p85I#!

EXPENDABLES 2 trailer hidef
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:21:22 PM

Bando

Thank you my good man that was f*ckin Great ...
Bullit writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:32:22 PM

Hey BANDO: Your link is def more interesting than this bloody thread! Way to go buddy!
billofill writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:34:07 PM

They should just remake that animated Wonder Woman movie from a few years ago and make it 50 minutes longer.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:45:06 PM

Yea thanks.The WP has been sh*tting out some useless gay news these past couple of days.
j-man writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 3:29:51 PM

New expendables trailer there

http://m.movies.com/movie-news/expendables-2-trailer/7775?wssac=164&wssaffid=news
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 3:34:41 PM

Good stuff j-man

Come on WP pull ya fingers out
j-man writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 3:46:20 PM

Gona need a wheelchair for transport, cant walk with this expandable boner knocking c*nts out..
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 4:15:08 PM

lol

Rambo writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 4:56:46 PM

have a feeling it will be better then the first one since sly is not directing.
KillerCOck writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 5:40:34 PM

If Chuck Norris gets killed and Van Damme puts Sly in a Wheel Chair, i'll enjoy it!
Rambo writes:
on May 3rd, 2012 at 5:48:51 PM

I agree with what Joss said about TDK...the problem with that movie was that it was about the joker and not about batmna/bruce wayne and that is one of the reasons 'Batman Begins' is the best batman movie ever made.that and liam f*cking neeson.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved