WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Downey Jr Responds to Being Replaced as Iron Man

Posted: April 30th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Downey Jr Responds to Being Replaced as Iron ManSubmit Comment
A few days ago, Marvel head Kevin Feige revealed that he would love to have Robert Downey Jr return for as many "Iron Man" films as possible. But when the time comes that the actor can't play Tony Stark/Iron Man anymore, the franchise will not be rebooted. Instead, the studio will hire a different actor for the lead, similar to what the James Bond franchise has been doing.

Now in an interview with MTV, Downey spoke about Feige's comments, stating: "I would really hate for someone else to think they could step into my shoes. I wonder who's playing Tony Stark next."

When asked how long he plans to play Stark, Downey replied: "I know things are looking like that they could go on for a long while. As usual, it's all about quality control and delivering a product that you can have this kind of reaction to (referring to 'The Avengers' screening at Tribeca). If they keep doing that, maybe I'll keep showing up."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 3:16:28 AM

"Instead, the studio will hire a different actor for the lead, similar to what the James Bond franchise has been doing"

Right, a super hero franchise not rebooting and Lindsey Lohan being a pure non-drinking virgin.
KillerCOck writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 4:13:14 AM

I think its a good idea but it would be difficult to pull off. RDJ Hasn't played Tony Stark once, its always been himself and now that's what people are used 2 and how non comic fans think of Tony stark to be.

And though I could think of people who make a good Tony Stark, I can't think of anyone who would make a good RDJ.
KillerCOck writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 4:14:11 AM

would*
pornfly writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 5:39:33 AM

KILLER nailed it
boogiel writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 7:10:06 AM

He can play Iron Man as long as he wants as far as I'm concerned.
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 7:23:49 AM

The next Iron man should be black.
trailertrash writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 8:07:46 AM

^ Maybe Morgan Freeman as Iron Hip
trailertrash writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 8:11:23 AM

They couldn't reboot Iron Man anyway, Not the way they have entwined all the stories to lead to The Avengers.
Damon242 writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 8:31:11 AM

But each James Bond film is independant and prior to Quantum of Solace, they never referenced any previous films.

Unlike Iron Man which is sequential in terms of each films' narrative.

There would be no way that it could be done without rebooting the franchise.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 8:38:22 AM

"I would really hate for someone else to think they could step into my shoes."

Ahhh, you gotta love RDJ.
trailertrash writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 8:42:49 AM

^ RDJ does ....
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 8:58:54 AM

He's obviously a method actor and is staying in character for Iron Man 3 the arrogant bastard lol, to be fair he has a right to be arrogant. Mark Ruffallo played the Hulk better than Banner and Norton IMO but RDJ pretty much is Tony Stark in real life, no one in Hollywood can be that much of a d*ck but be likable too. Just STOP beating dead horses Hollywood and start concentrating on giving birth to knew, original animals. Make another Avengers or two, finish off the other films sequels and leave the whole thing on a high.
trailertrash writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 9:10:09 AM

Agree Cinema, Mark Ruffallo owned it as Banner/Hulk. (little dig on Thor was classic)


*** End Credits Spolier ***

@anyone whos seen the Avengers....


Who was the guy at the end of the credits, Never read the comics or anything so i had no idea who he was ...



Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 9:57:00 AM

AVENGERS SPOILERSSSSS








Trailer- That's Thanos, think he used to appear in Thor quite a bit and turns up in a villian in a lot of other Marvel characters stories as well. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thanos
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 10:14:38 AM

Agreed no one can play RDJ, err I mean Iron Man better than RDJ.

If they do this with Iron Man they'll have to do it with all the other super hero's.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 10:21:25 AM

Btw the Prometheus trailer is worse than viagra!! 12 hours later I still have a massive boner, I'm heading to the emergency room now to get it taken care of.
trailertrash writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 10:28:18 AM

Cheers Cinema

There were a fair few Ooohs and Ahhhhs in the cinema at the end, Me i thought it was of The Angel Family from Judge Dredd, lol

trailertrash writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 10:30:11 AM

# one of ...
venomex writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 10:31:06 AM

i guess the studio forgot about the sh*tstorm that happened when they replaced terrance howard
trailertrash writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 10:37:15 AM

bad - lol

Yeah that had it's world premiere on Chan 4 here last night about 9pm.

Now everyone suddenly (FB, etc) have gone Prometheus mad, Where have you all been !!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 11:20:28 AM

Trailer- No worries mate, I didn't even know who it was at the time I had to look it up and remember seeing him a bit before but I don't read comics so it means nothing to me. Rabid on the other hand passed out and could only be resuscitated by a doctor wearing the Hulk gloves.
trailertrash writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 11:34:45 AM

Cinema - lol

She-Hulk on the other hand can Revive me anytime
minkowski writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 11:49:24 AM

"i guess the studio forgot about the sh*tstorm that happened when they replaced terrance howard"

You're speaking sarcastically, right? In reality, the so-called sh*tstorm was over the fact they not only retained the character after Howard departed, but that they integrated him far further into the sequel.
nawtnt writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 12:15:06 PM

WTF Robert Downey Jr. getting replaced as Iron Man?

I think Downey Jr. was a great choice as Tony Stark, he pull it off.

I like how he responded to Kevin Feige's comments and it's like this: if the film is s*** then I am not going with it but if the film is awesome like The Avengers then I'm in.

Feige is a idiot for comparing the Iron Man series to the James Bond series.

Bond is a spy, any person can play him since he's just a name.

But Tony Stark is one person, having different actors play him in every movie is like thinking the fans are stupid.

For example Batman Forever and Batman & Robin, everyone knew how that turned out to be but still I am happy that Joel Schumacer destoryed that series because if he didn't destoryed the movie series back in 90's then the world wouldn't have had Batman Begins and The Dark Knight.

So at least that proves Joel Schumacer isn't a f****** idoit.
minkowski writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 12:20:59 PM

"if he didn't destoryed the movie series back in 90's then the world wouldn't have had Batman Begins and The Dark Knight."

Yeah, thanks Joel Schumacher...hooray..
LEONCIO writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 12:34:51 PM

Thanos is Marvel's version of Darkseid. A blatant rip-off that became a huge character thanks to the Infinity Gauntlet/Infinit Gems stories.

Wikipedia:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thanos

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Infinity_Gems
minkowski writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 1:04:43 PM

^^I like how Starlin swears he didn't rip-off Darkseid, and then goes on to elaborate how he was instructed to rip off Darkseid.

Ok. Nuance. I get it. Whatever.
Serpico1988 writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 2:13:31 PM

"I would really hate for someone else to think they could step into my shoes."

lol Robert downey's the man !
KillerCOck writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 4:10:36 PM

Norton's performance in Hulk was dull and lifeless, anyone could've played it how he played it even Orlando f*cking Bloom!
Topping that performance wouldn't have been hard to do.

Tony Stark is Comic book character and No one actor is going to out live the character, I think re casting is better for these types of movies instead of rebooting every 5-10 years. It also gives the audience a chance to see an actor be better or worse or just different than what was done before.

If Chris Hemsworth or Chris Evans didn't wanna play Thor or Cap anymore, Recasting their roles would be better than rebooting everything they'd done and it wouldn't be hard to do because they stay true to the characters in the comics.

RDJ Played himself with a genius mind and called himself Tony Stark. Tony Stark and RDJ aren't very similar in terms of character, they're actually very little alike. Now I love RDJ in Iron Man but he isn't Tony Stark and thats whys recasting him without rebooting will be difficult
minkowski writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 5:57:25 PM

RDJ plays Tony Stark and Sherlock Holmes as well as he does because both characters are narcissistic pricks. No work there I think. It would be like Ranger playing Ted Bundy.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 6:36:08 PM

Now I love RDJ in Iron Man but he isn't Tony Stark and thats whys recasting him without rebooting will be difficult

Killerc*ck- Don't quite get what you're saying there if RDJ wasn't a good Iron Man then why would recasting him be difficult? Who do you think would make a better Iron Man?

Mink- Have you seen the English TV show "Sherlock" that was on recently set in modern London. Benedict c*mberbatch is a more believable Sherlock for me cause he's a more believable eccentric sociopath where as RDJ still comes across with too much charisma and social awareness. Plus he doesn't nail the English accent well enough for my picky taste especially when he's playing such a British icon.
minkowski writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 6:52:33 PM

@cinema: Oh yeah, no doubt. I've read the original Conan Doyle and absolutely, RDJ's Sherlock is nothing at all like Doyle's, but I do think that it all works in it's own way, and I think taking a different spin and not insisting on a necessarily purist interpretation breathes a little new life into a very, very old character.

And yeah, you're not going to get a proper British accent out of an American.

Also, c*mberbatch isn't really Sherlock either, because Doyle described the great detective as a tall, gaunt, with a beaked nose. c*mberbatch is just too photogenic in the visual department. Haven't heard his accent, but hell if I know, without a historian's assistance, what Doyle imagined Sherlock sounding like when he wrote up the character.

I also thought A Game of Shadows, while perhaps not as fresh as the first film, was a great deal more cerebral. There was more of Sherlock in the film than in the second film, though his fear of horses and the use of heavy weapons is pretty much diametrically opposed to Sherlock in general.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 7:20:20 PM

Just back from seeing avengers, caught it in 2d this time and would recommend it, as I said in a previous post the 3d in this movie is not gimmicky at all but I found it a little distracting at times. Second time around was even better
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 7:52:22 PM

Mink- Yeah sounds like none of the recent screen adaptations really matched up to the character. They just pick and choose the bits that suit them in Guy Ritchie's case it was the action that barely gets mentioned. It's worth checking out at least season 1 of that Sherlock it's done brilliantly I think and I guess he has more leeway to be different as they've set it in modern times.

Yeah Game of Shadows, as much as I enjoyed it, went way too far away from the clue finding Holmes and more in to the cross dressing, gun shooting one. I gotta admit I don't know enough about the original books to have too much of an opinion, we don't learn about it in school and I'm sure a lot of people my age don't even know the books exist.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 7:53:54 PM

LeeMaca- Yeah the 3D seemed a bit rushed and pointless when I saw it. There was moments when there was 2 of Loki on the screen I started questioning the contents of my Ice Blast, I might have to check it out in 2D I need to see that f*cking film again!!
bane writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 7:59:56 PM



there is another
super hero film this year
i wanna watch

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.232196663526282.57572.100002078500368&type=1#!/photo.php?fbid=321495054584623&set=a.266197466781049.59778.238565269544269&type=1&theater
LeeMaca writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 8:04:16 PM

@cinema lol although yeah you must see it again in 2d!!!
KillerCOck writes:
on April 30th, 2012 at 10:22:59 PM

@ cinemaisdead

I'm saying RDJ played himself and now people think of him as Tony Stark. Now to me personally, I can't think of any actor who could play or impersonate RDJ because I think of RDJ as one of a Kind.
In the comics (the ones i've read) Tony stark isn't nearly as charming, eccentric or funny as he is portrayed in the movies.
I think of him as more suave, highly intelligent and a charming but very serious and a lot of the time sad and lonely character. Think Leo Dicaprio as Howard Hughes in the Aviator without the crazy! He's more like that than RDJ in my opinion.

Like People think of Hugh Jackman as Wolverine but he doesn't embody the character at all and yet thats how most people would see him as.

I love RDJ and I prefer that he does stay as long as he can as Tony Stark because he makes the character fun but I am saying you can't replace RDJ so I think the move would be to make the character more like the comic should he leave franchise.

If James McAvoy didn't play Xavier I think he'd be an excellent replacement but I'd rather put more thought into that when and if he actually gets re cast

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved