WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Wanted Tom Hardy as Sandman and Sean Penn as Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Dec 22nd, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Director Says There's No Script, Release Date or Green Light
Dec 22nd, 2014
"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" Bomb
Dec 22nd, 2014
Two Posters for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 22nd, 2014
Photos: Better Look at Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Dec 21st, 2014
First Look at "Sisters" Comedy, Re-Teaming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer: Sex Has Terrible Consequences in "It Follow" Horror Film
Dec 21st, 2014
New Photo From Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer for Sarah Michelle Gellar's "Veronika Decides to Die" Thriller
Dec 21st, 2014
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Peter Jackson Responds to Negative "The Hobbit" Criticism

Posted: April 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Peter Jackson Responds to Negative "The Hobbit" CriticismSubmit Comment
During CinemaCon, Peter Jackson screened ten minutes from "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey," which was shot and projected at 48 frames per second, rather that the industry standard speed of 24fps. The goal was to offer a clearer image and 3D experience.

But the plan backfired. Critics called the footage "strange" and "jarring," and some even compared it to a 70s soap opera. "It was too accurate - too clear. Higher frame rates are used for things like home video, soap operas, and reality TV," said Gizmodo.

Jackson has now responded to the criticism, stating: "Nobody is going to stop. This technology is going to keep evolving. At first it's unusual because you've never seen a movie like this before. It's literally a new experience, but that doesn't last the entire experience of the film. There can only ever be a real reaction, a truthful reaction when people actually have a chance to see a complete narrative on a particular film."

Meanwhile, James Cameron is planning to shoot "Avatar 2" using 60fps.

Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
realgirl76 writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 4:15:26 AM

70's soap operas were bad?? Says who?? lol
Damon242 writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 5:18:18 AM

I agree with him. Reserve criticism until you have seen it for yourself and have seen it in its entirety.

Also, keep in mind that the technology is always changing and that there will be many new experiences such as this to come.
Johnnyb writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 5:38:00 AM

Mmm, this doesn't sounds good!!!!! I hope it doesn't look like a Dark Shadows or even that show that was about Fairy Tales, which looks terrible and cheap fantasy show!!!!! For god sake I hope I'm wrong!!!!!!
rocketman writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 6:24:31 AM

If it was unbelievably amazing,the difference between black n white and colour it would have been praised from the off not met with reservation.
He has just said they don't know what they are talking about and to dismiss their criticism like that stinks of denial at best hubris at worst.
It will still be available in 24f's anyway so it's not that much of an issue.

2D forever.
Rambo writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 6:25:36 AM

so where can we see those 10 min?
pornfly writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 6:40:57 AM

Nosh*t^
Intersted in BANDO/MINKS opinion on this
bandolero999 writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 6:56:54 AM

Hobbit movies and harry potter make me sleepy. I never finished any of them.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 7:00:23 AM

I like how Jacson gets a free pass but Cameron gets sh*tted on.
Damon242 writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 7:09:20 AM

I've never seen 48fps used in a fantasy film with a multi-million dollar budget. And I doubt anyone else has either.

The difference between those 70's soap operas and this, just look at the above.

All this world-building (sets, cgi, etc.) is designed to develop the authenticity of the reality (in this case of Middle-Earth). Jackson is using 48fps to further build on this authenticity.

People complaining that it "looks too real" are just confirming that Jackson has succeeded in regards to his intention.
rocketman writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 7:37:48 AM

I think they mean by too real is that you can tell far too easily that's its a set or hes wearing a wig.I've also read that the CGI looks better?
Its a suck it a see methinks.
OneTime writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 8:49:15 AM

oh great....he ruined it..
SACdaddy writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 9:14:01 AM

I'd worry less about the frame speed and more about the fact that NOBODY wants to see this film.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 9:43:59 AM

it'll turn out great when we see it.
buttabean writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 10:44:52 AM

I think they need a variable frame rate. Dialog and scenes that involve a traditional film approach should stay at 24fps but action and anything with cgi and panning the camera could be greatly improved at 60fps or even 48fps.

I think what they will end up doing is cut the extra frame out of scenes I just mentioned in post production. There's no need for high frame rate for character mouths moving. Doesn't feel like a traditional movie like critics have been saying.

Variable frame rate is definitely the way to go. Computers make it beyond easy to adjust on the fly too.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 11:09:03 AM

I agree with Damon.

People usually discard or critisize of what out of their cookie-cutter brains of what movies are about.

I wasn't totally sold on the 3D, but knew it was a (re)start to a new direction in moviemaking. This is similar, going in another direction, but ultimately is changing how the audience will experience the story.

If I like it or not, I'll still be for it. Apart from SFX, story & movie making should also be evolving and experimenting & for that, it will always be a win in my book.

Plus, can you imagine? It'll be like a doc*mentary being filmed in middle earth! Like you're right there with the characters...how f*cking cool is that?!

Can't wait for the trailer...
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 11:12:22 AM

In other words..YOU TELL'EM JACKSON!!

f*ck THE CHUCK!! (in this case, whoever is afraid of evolution of storytelling & movie experiences)
AYT BALL writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 11:52:26 AM

Mmmm I've shot 24 and 50 a lot, but 50 never looks right, only really good for smooth slow motion....will wait and see, sure he has a reason
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 12:17:26 PM

"so where can we see those 10 min?"

I wouldn't matter. Any compression scheme, like h.264, used to stream across the internet probably wouldn't retain the film's controversial quality/nature.

"Intersted in BANDO/MINKS opinion on this"

Why? Because we're negative? Please. I just spent all day singing high praise for Avengers, and I love neither Marvel nor comic books in general.

And I like Hobbit/LOTRs even less, but I don't see the issue. People have to get used to things. The first time you see 3D, the experience might be a bit jarring. The first time you play a video game, you might not get the whole control-to-action disconnect that requires the development of hand-eye co-ordination. The same goes for other 'unnatural' activities like riding a bike. Seems weird, even impossible at first, but then you can't even imagine NOT riding one.

People bitch before they even give adaptation time to do it's thing.

And the guy who opined that variable frame rate would be a good option for specific films, yeah, that's an old idea, but a good one, sadly I think it takes more work than it's worth.

"I think they mean by too real is that you can tell far too easily that's its a set or hes wearing a wig"

Pffft. And CDs used to come with a warning plainly stating that the quality of the disc audio may reveal defects within the original recording.

It's called CLARITY. Fidelity. Whatever you want to f*cking call it.

I swear, people would bitch if they were blind but now they can see. "The f*cking sun, it's too bright, and that sky, it's too blue! Waaaaaaah!"

(not addressing you specifically Rocketman)
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 12:18:00 PM

"Mmmm I've shot 24 and 50 a lot"

I shoot 2 or 3 a day.


Oh, you mean footage. Never mind.....
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 12:19:24 PM

Oh, and you know what makes people OLD? Not age, not even looking old, the but the mental inability to adapt. I bet the people that saw the Hobbit footage are already 'set in their ways'.
Cream_Puff_Deluff writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 12:33:51 PM

I totally agree with Mink on this subject. When I bought my Samsung TV which is what they call 960 CMR (clear motion rate) it seemed very weird as the Technology in the TV guesses what the next pixel will be and fills it in; sort of increasing the frame rate. I didn't like it at first and almost took the tv back. Now, after giving it some time, I love it and the picture(particularly action sequences) are crystal clear.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 12:35:12 PM

I'll wait to judge till I see the movie. Technology does have to advance at some time.
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 1:03:32 PM

"which is what they call 960 CMR (clear motion rate) it seemed very weird as the Technology in the TV guesses what the next pixel will be and fills it in"

Yep, motion pixel interpolation is what its called, I think, but that has to do with the limitation of the television's (in)ability to handle HD bit streams, which is related to, but different from, what Jackson is doing.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motion_interpolation

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDTV_blur

AYT BALL writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 1:27:52 PM

@ mink - lol!
rocketman writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 1:33:49 PM

No worries Mink,I read all this about set/hair etc on AICN,just parroting some of the reviewers statements.
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 2:48:29 PM

^^lol, it's all good guys.

Anyway, just dropped in to drop this: Mel has a bit if a temper he says. lol! Ya think?

http://todayentertainment.today.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/04/28/11447036-mel-gibson-ive-got-a-little-bit-of-a-temper?lite

Video included.
velocityknown writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 3:41:26 PM

I hate to say that Peter Jackson seems wrong, but he seems wrong on this one.

Shooting at 48fps is NOT an innovation. No, I haven't seen the footage, but guess what, the option to shoot at 48fps has been around since people DECIDED to shoot at 24fps. To quote one of my friends, "People don't shoot at 24 because they like the number". Every person since the 1920s has used 24 for a reason, because it is more cinematic. Yes, 48fps might make everything sharper, but when you show it on an HD projector at a movie theater with a top of the line screen, it's too sharp and everything looks as fake as it actually is.

That's why old Westerns and stuff suck to watch on Blu-Ray. The clarity ruins the illusion of the movie (and they obviously weren't shooting for HD back then).

Mostly, I don't like Jackson (or Cameron) trying to pass this off as an innovation. There is a setting on every camera now to increase the frame rate, they are simply choosing to increase it. This is not innovation, it's a choice that's been present almost as long as film has.

I'm not saying 48fps won't work, I'm just saying I am very, very skeptical and definitely upset that it's trying to be passed off as an innovation. But I'd rather know that I'm going to see a technically smooth version of a movie I was very excited about, rather than a potential two and a half hour mess caused by the director's own ego.
velocityknown writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 3:43:32 PM

@Ayt

The only reason I've seen anyone shoot above 24 is precisely for slow motion. All slo-mo "Hobbit" anyone?
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 3:46:55 PM

"That's why old Westerns and stuff suck to watch on Blu-Ray. The clarity ruins the illusion of the movie (and they obviously weren't shooting for HD back then)."

That doesn't make ANY sense at all. BluRay is lower resolution than the original film. So if it's fine on the original film, why does HD ruin the illusion as you said? You can't go higher in resolution than the original film. Sorry, but that's just unavoidable.
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 3:48:01 PM

And yeah, an old western may look like sh*t on a film screen, and it may look like sh*t on DVD, and on the broadcast television resolution, but that's what you're used to seeing.

It's really all in your head.
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 3:50:13 PM

Also, I doubt we've seen a combination of cutting edge CGI and 48FPS, either, and I applaud Jackson for trying new paths and techniques to try to bring us something a bit off the beaten path.
pornfly writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 4:08:03 PM

your negativity is always appreciated but i was interested in what you and BANDO thought since hes says hes a practicing film maker and youre a professional knowitall.

Saw a video where the cameras frame rate matched the mhz of a woofer so that falling water seemed to freeze in mid air,then as you adjusted the mhz the water seemed to go back into the spigget
That was awsome Mr.Wizard!
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 4:36:22 PM

@pornfly: I'm an *amateur* knowitall, but a professional masturbator, PHD, esquire.

HTH.
pornfly writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 4:44:54 PM

Damn over achiever,i only have my Masters
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 5:18:24 PM

You'll graduate soon enough. More homework will help.
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 5:25:34 PM

I may as well add to The WP Avengers love in, Just got back really enjoyed it, Just what going to the flicks is all about being right royally entertained.

Didn't bother with the 3D ....

No spoilers but i thought Josh handled the multiple super hero characters on screen really well and everyone had their part to play.

Great start to the summer movie season 8.5/10

jesustheboy writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 6:29:17 PM

"Peter Jackson Responds to Negative "The Hobbit" Criticism"

Negative Criticism = Compliments?
vaodsi writes:
on April 29th, 2012 at 12:26:57 AM

personally i think the 3d in avatar was jarring and obnoxious. Not into 3d. Although i will say the 3D trailer for the hobbit was the best 3D i have yet seen, and even then, meh.
Bullit writes:
on April 29th, 2012 at 6:55:00 AM

@Mink & Velocity:

In 1990, I had the incredible chance to watch a 5 min high speed scenes using the technology from Douglas Trumbull: Showscan @ 60 FPS!!

I remember the scene on the rollercoaster was very, very vivid and incredibly real so that the entire audience in the theater screamed their heads off.

I later read that it won't be used because it was too expensive to make it as a new standard. What a bloody shame!
Gnarkill writes:
on April 29th, 2012 at 8:18:30 AM

Tell em Jackson and make anther movie like Dead Alive
minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2012 at 2:05:47 PM

@Bullit: very interesting story. Good to hear some commentary that is not only based on personal experience, but isn't knee jerk negative. Thank you.
Bullit writes:
on April 29th, 2012 at 2:57:12 PM

@Mink: As much as I like to read your comments/analysis, as much I like to say you are welcome my friend.
minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2012 at 6:39:58 PM

Cheers.

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved