WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Confirmed: Sam Raimi is Producing "Poltergeist" Remake

Posted: April 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Confirmed: Sam Raimi is Producing "Poltergeist" RemakeSubmit Comment
Yesterday we heard of a rumor that Sam Raimi (Spider-Man) may be involved with the upcoming "Poltergeist" remake. THR has now confirmed Raimi's involvement, but it turns out that he will only be producing. A director has yet to sign on.

David Lindsay-Abaire, who wrote Raimi's "Oz: The Great and Powerful," is working on the script, which focuses on a family whose house was built on a holy site and whose daughter is taken by ghosts.

And because the Raimi rumor turned out to be true, it's likely that another rumor that came along with it is true as well. Apparently, the filmmakers behind the upcoming "Carrie" remake are planning to partially use "found footage." This would include interviews with Carrie's classmates recalling the events from the terrifying prom night.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
realgirl76 writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 4:14:28 AM

For the love of God I hope this gets canned. Revenge of the f*cking remakes, makes me sick
Bullit writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 5:52:14 AM

^ ^ I second that!
pornfly writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 6:20:54 AM

Carries classmates couldnt recount sh*t cuz they all died!

rocketman writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 6:27:46 AM

The twat who ruined Spiderman is going to touch one of my favorite classic films?

Wheres my ninja stars?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 7:16:48 AM

Enough with the "found-footage!"

And, please, do not taint 'Carrie' with that sh*t.
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 7:54:50 AM

I really enjoyed the Steven Spielberg directed ...... i mean Tobe Hooper original
rocketman writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 7:57:36 AM

Haha you know TT.The kitchen scene with the chairs is classic Berg
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 9:15:29 AM

Thats true mate,

The whole film smacked of Spielberg and the fact he wrote the screenplay and edited the film as well

I don't know why he didn't bother just directing it himself after he had finished on ET.

Anyways bloody good movie that won't be topped IMO by a remake. But Fright Night turned out well so no doubt i will watch it.
mattjudge62 writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 9:38:55 AM

I dont want to see any of these movies remade what I would like to see s raimi make is evil dead 4
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 9:48:22 AM

Tt- Yea I remember reading where Spielberd directed some scenes. Some, don't you mean the whole damn thing?
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 9:49:58 AM

^ After terrible part 3 i don't think he could ever recreate the feel and tone of the first 2 films again.
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 10:07:17 AM

My comment was for mattjudge

Just to add Army Of Darkness main fault for me was it wasn't a horror film, Could have been some sinbad movie or something.

Evil Dead films should be Horror and thats it.

bad -

Yeah i think it was his pet project but he couldn't direct due to the fact he was working on ET still and wasn't aloud to direct another film at the same time.
rocketman writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 11:02:05 AM

Read a story that Tobe was hired as a director in name only and Spielberg direct large parts of it.Something to do with contracts etc if I remember.
rocketman writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 11:04:24 AM

Scratch that...here it is

http://www.poltergeist.poltergeistiii.com/really.html
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 11:43:26 AM

While they are busy sh*tting on classics, they should go ahead and announce that 'Carrie' will be rated PG-13.
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 12:00:39 PM

Hmmmm, I know it's Standard Operating Procedure to bash remakes and reboots, and believe me, I'm usually there with you, but I dunno. Some of them have been "not bad".

And I haven't seen the new Total Recall, but after seeing old Colin Failure in Fright Night, in which he did a pretty f*cking good job, I thought, I'm a bit more optimistic that while the new Recall may not be a cult classic like Verhoeven's film, I do think it'll be "not bad".

The Judge Dredd OTOH, no, that's going to stink like yesterday's tuna fish in a dead hookers twat.

So I'll wait and see, but I do agree, the found footage thing, though done well in The Fourth Kind (f*cked up film, had me fooled a bit) is really beginning to lose whatever little novelty it once possessed way back in 1999.
pornfly writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 4:16:26 PM

F I N E
i'll f*ckn watch the FrightNight remake already

I refuse to watch unneccessary remakes but i guess The Thing/FrightNight is on my list
(yes i know The Thing is technically a prequel)

Thx for the recommendations by the way fellas
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 4:20:10 PM

Hmmm, I don't know.

The remake could be a hit or miss. Today's update to technology with flat screens, computers, and digital recording show a lot of promise, but doubt they'll be able to tap onto it for it's full potential.

On the positive, it is Raimi, but the jury is still out with the EVIL DEAD remake (he is a producer). We'll see....
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 4:41:11 PM

Rocket

Thanks for the link pal ...

Jobeth Williams said it best
"It was a collaboration, with Steven having the final say" lol
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 4:43:08 PM

pornfly

Make sure you do, The Thing prequel is pretty darn good and wellworth watching too
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 29th, 2012 at 2:33:17 AM

I have no more faith in humanity...
eddie499 writes:
on April 29th, 2012 at 6:29:16 AM

As much as I love the original Carrie, the found footage angle might be interesting. It is getting seriously played out, but much of the book is written in the form of newspaper articles and other reference type materials when it comes to the discussion of Carrie's abilities and the events of the final night. If done right, this could be a more faithful adaptation of the original material.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved