WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Universal Suing Asylum for "Battleship" Rip-Off

Posted: April 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Universal Suing Asylum for "Battleship" Rip-OffSubmit Comment
The Asylum, a company that's behind cheap straight-to-DVD rip-offs like "Transmorphers" and "Snakes on a Train," are planning to release "American Battleship" on May 22nd, just four days after Universal Studio's big-budget "Battleship" is set to hit theaters.

Now comes word that Universal is suing, claiming that it spent over $100 million produce "Battleship" and another $30 million to market it in the US, and Asylum is trying to profit off that effort.

The studio went on to point out all the similarities, including the plot and posters. And since Universal is the exclusive film rights owner of the "Battleship" board game, it's suing not only to stop the release of "American Battleship," but also for unspecified damages.

"American Battleship" Trailer:


Source: TMZ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 9:24:53 PM

PUT THE c*ntS OUT OF BUSINESS!!
bandolero999 writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 9:39:30 PM

at least Asylum hires washed up actors.better than putting Rihanna in a movie.
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 9:48:32 PM

B/c universal's version will be so much better. Both companies can go f*ck themselves!
japaninmotion writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 10:03:46 PM

I never thought i would root for the big guy. the art work looks the same plus the *sshole rental stores but the fake boxes next to the real ones and. I was in a rush and grabbed the asylums dark knight rip off. unwatchable. not just the story or acting but ive seen homemade porn with better video quality. I want know how much money they made just on accidental rentals. cuz that is the only way they can make money on this sh*t.
www.japaninmotion.com
japaninmotion writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 10:06:15 PM

that being said....what does it say about hollywood that a piece of sh*t production company can make a movie with almost the same plot and story just by seeing the trailers and make it close enough for Universal to sue
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 10:36:27 PM

f*ck off Universal. It's called fair use, and you bunch of corporate fascist d*cks can suck a long one.

Asylum can even say their version is parody, which despite all the changes to copyright, like extending it for more than seventy years, people, companies even, have the right to produce loosely derivative works according to fair use.

Sure, Asylum is a bunch of no-talent retarded Uwe Boll clone parasites, but even they have rights, and you certainly don't either the concept or the word 'battleship'.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 11:01:47 PM

+own.
pornfly writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 2:53:34 AM

Thats like MINK suing the fake MINKs
We should all have the right to have the choice to be MINK

WATTACOUNTRY
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 7:32:25 AM

I'm betting Universal feels like they have a clunker in their hands and are trying to recoup their losses elsewhere. Because, believe me when I say, 'Battleship' is pure garbage. One of the worst films I've seen this year. And the only acting Rihanna did that was convincing was when she took a beating.
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 11:55:15 AM

I see pornfly is back into the hash again, and didn't share.
noneofyourbusiness writes:
on April 29th, 2012 at 12:15:27 PM

It doesn't matter, Universal. It's not gonna stop how much of a massive failure this film will be. I saw this film at a screening and I can honestly say it's worse than all three of the Transformers films.
Dre-EL writes:
on April 29th, 2012 at 4:34:51 PM

My guess is that Battleship sucks balls and they know it. There are trying to recoup money at asylums expense.

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved