WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot
Aug 9th, 2015
Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews
Aug 8th, 2015
Three Actresses in Talks for "Gambit" Female Lead
Aug 8th, 2015
Trailer for "By The Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Aug 8th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Universal Suing Asylum for "Battleship" Rip-Off

Posted: April 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Universal Suing Asylum for "Battleship" Rip-OffSubmit Comment
The Asylum, a company that's behind cheap straight-to-DVD rip-offs like "Transmorphers" and "Snakes on a Train," are planning to release "American Battleship" on May 22nd, just four days after Universal Studio's big-budget "Battleship" is set to hit theaters.

Now comes word that Universal is suing, claiming that it spent over $100 million produce "Battleship" and another $30 million to market it in the US, and Asylum is trying to profit off that effort.

The studio went on to point out all the similarities, including the plot and posters. And since Universal is the exclusive film rights owner of the "Battleship" board game, it's suing not only to stop the release of "American Battleship," but also for unspecified damages.

"American Battleship" Trailer:


Source: TMZ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 9:24:53 PM

PUT THE c*ntS OUT OF BUSINESS!!
bandolero999 writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 9:39:30 PM

at least Asylum hires washed up actors.better than putting Rihanna in a movie.
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 9:48:32 PM

B/c universal's version will be so much better. Both companies can go f*ck themselves!
japaninmotion writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 10:03:46 PM

I never thought i would root for the big guy. the art work looks the same plus the *sshole rental stores but the fake boxes next to the real ones and. I was in a rush and grabbed the asylums dark knight rip off. unwatchable. not just the story or acting but ive seen homemade porn with better video quality. I want know how much money they made just on accidental rentals. cuz that is the only way they can make money on this sh*t.
www.japaninmotion.com
japaninmotion writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 10:06:15 PM

that being said....what does it say about hollywood that a piece of sh*t production company can make a movie with almost the same plot and story just by seeing the trailers and make it close enough for Universal to sue
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 10:36:27 PM

f*ck off Universal. It's called fair use, and you bunch of corporate fascist d*cks can suck a long one.

Asylum can even say their version is parody, which despite all the changes to copyright, like extending it for more than seventy years, people, companies even, have the right to produce loosely derivative works according to fair use.

Sure, Asylum is a bunch of no-talent retarded Uwe Boll clone parasites, but even they have rights, and you certainly don't either the concept or the word 'battleship'.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 11:01:47 PM

+own.
pornfly writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 2:53:34 AM

Thats like MINK suing the fake MINKs
We should all have the right to have the choice to be MINK

WATTACOUNTRY
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 7:32:25 AM

I'm betting Universal feels like they have a clunker in their hands and are trying to recoup their losses elsewhere. Because, believe me when I say, 'Battleship' is pure garbage. One of the worst films I've seen this year. And the only acting Rihanna did that was convincing was when she took a beating.
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 11:55:15 AM

I see pornfly is back into the hash again, and didn't share.
noneofyourbusiness writes:
on April 29th, 2012 at 12:15:27 PM

It doesn't matter, Universal. It's not gonna stop how much of a massive failure this film will be. I saw this film at a screening and I can honestly say it's worse than all three of the Transformers films.
Dre-EL writes:
on April 29th, 2012 at 4:34:51 PM

My guess is that Battleship sucks balls and they know it. There are trying to recoup money at asylums expense.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved