WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Avengers" Pre-Sale Numbers are Huge

Posted: April 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Avengers" Pre-Sale Numbers are HugeSubmit Comment
"The Avengers" was released in Australia, New Zealand and Taiwan a few days ago, and has already grossed $8 million. Australian audiences brought in $6 million of the total, making it the second highest opening day in the country, only behind "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2."

Marvel will next release "The Avengers" in over forty international territories this weekend and will then release it in the US on May 4th. MovieTickets.com is now reporting that the film's US pre-sale numbers are better than "Iron Man," "Iron Man 2," "Thor" and "Captain America: The First Avenger" combined.

56% of all pre-sale tickets are for 3D showings, despite the fact that "The Avengers" was not shot in 3D, but was instead converted in post-production. Part of the reason why so many want to see the film in 3D, is because all midnight showings are in 3D and some theaters are giving out posters to movie-goers.

"The Avengers" will obviously be a huge blockbuster, but just how huge remains to be seen.

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: MovieTickets.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 62 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 2:47:18 AM

This isn't a shock is it, This could be the Super Hero winner of the summer
Detrimental writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 2:48:22 AM

"Part of the reason why so many want to see the film in 3D, is because all midnight showings are in 3D and some theaters are giving out posters to movie-goers."

Fucc you, corporate cinematic conglomerations.

We actually have one non-3D midnight run here though. So... ok.
Rambo writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 2:48:38 AM

first i'll watch it then i'll decide if it's huge or not
pornfly writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 3:01:33 AM

Hopefully any sequels will be shot in 3D
Wutta cheapskate move with the posters

I'll give in just this once but The Clash of the Titans 3D conversion was sh*tty and i had vowed never again
trailertrash writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 3:33:21 AM

first i'll watch it then i'll decide if it's huge or not

You talikng about Black Widow and her fine ass,Rambo ?
pornfly writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 3:37:42 AM

"first i'll watch then i'll decide if its huge or not"

DAASSSAGOOODWON
Quidd writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 3:52:40 AM

This is the ultimate superhero movie.
pornfly writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 4:15:36 AM

The most exciting thing about the avengers is that it's heroes that you already know in it together to fight a greater evil.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 4:35:40 AM

More excited for this than TDKR! ! Hathaway or Scarlett? Um that's a tough one!!
trailertrash writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 4:41:33 AM

I'd let them f*ck to the death, then take the winner , bad
pH0u57 writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 4:42:44 AM

This movie was simply epic. And I don't say that as a fanboy or anything. It was just one of the best movies I saw in the last years. And it was funnier than most comedys I've seen in that time.
pornfly writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 5:04:59 AM

Id f*ck Hathaway while i call her Scarlett and vice versa
Its gonna be one wild ride
funkymonk writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 5:32:45 AM

I've seen it guys, it's awesome. I won't spoil anything for you but in my opinion, HULK kicks some serious ass. Honest to god amazing j*zz-in-pants moment/s.

Yep, there's more than one. sh*tttttt, ALL of the movie is j*zz. j*zz EVERYWHERE.

Great stuff Marvel, you've proven once again that DC ain't got sh*t on you. BRAVO!
Mudders writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 5:42:54 AM

plus the 3D conversion is pretty good...better than the way transformers was done....epic flick....def inately gonna have to go watch it again i think....

GET YOUR TICKETS GUYS AND ENJOY THE RIDE!!
TemporalFlux writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 6:34:43 AM

Saw it in 3D yesterday, best movie this year so far. I just knew Whedon would deliver. And, they finally got the Hulk right!
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 6:43:36 AM

Yep, there's more than one. sh*tttttt, ALL of the movie is j*zz. j*zz EVERYWHERE.


*Note to self*
Bring Gallagher audience safety kit
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:32:52 AM

Yep, there's more than one. sh*tttttt, ALL of the movie is j*zz. j*zz EVERYWHERE.


*Note to self*
Bring Gallagher audience safety kit
j-man writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:39:30 AM

Saw it las night, f*cking brilliant! Action packed n funny, plus tom hiddleston does a very good micheal fassbender
MatimaximumX writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 8:26:03 AM

GOT MY TICKETS!! ready to go :)

Damon242 writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 8:59:42 AM

Actually the reason why in New Zealand is because there are hardly any sessions being offered in 2D. If we want to see the film, we are practically forced into seeing it in 3D.
Avirex writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 9:00:12 AM

I foresee a movie that will positively impress my kid side in one scene...and positively annoy my adult side in the next scene..which will leave me wanting to watch a condensed version with just the awesome sh*t and none of the retarded sh*t.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 10:41:05 AM

Now that's a way to do it TT. Weed out the weak one.
Rambo writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 11:41:14 AM

@trailer

of course i meant her ass...in 3D !!!
flybynight writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 11:59:32 AM

Blew me away, despite my already really high expectations. I have a new found respect for Hulk.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 12:15:12 PM

Going to see this sh*t tonight in 3D after a huge spliff to add further to the excitement. Can't wait, been walking around with a semi all day. YEAAAHH BOYYEEEE
darthraige writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 12:22:16 PM

Love how these foreign f*cks get an American movie before us.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 1:29:42 PM

Avengers is already released onto the internet. That was FAST! Faster than pretty much any other cam, like, you know, ever.

HULK SMASH TDKR!

"Love how these foreign f*cks get an American movie before us."

Because of piracy, I suspect. They release it here, first, in the US, because the second-tier markets would just watch comparatively HQ bootlegs.

Which is odd, considering that I can watch the Avengers CAM before I can pay to see the film in theaters. What a world.

Speaking of piracy, I think *everyone* should read this story

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/04/27/nyregion/at-92-movie-bootlegger-is-soldiers-hero.html

92, and the dude operates a disc-duplicator, which has allowed him to send 300k films overseas. Wow. Dude is my biggest hero. Go Hyman!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 2:16:49 PM

minkowski- The guy's a f*cking legend, obviously at 92 you don't care about being arrested or even fined. If they did try to persecute him they'd be a huge public backlash cause he's obviously making soldiers lives a lot better. I hope that if i ever reach that age I give as little f*cks as he does.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 2:20:32 PM

i hope i get a poster :)
pornfly writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 2:39:34 PM

This feels like everybodys gettin laid but i have to wait till may4
Im soo f*ckn ready!
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 3:32:38 PM

Watching it now.

Sorry, just couldn't wait.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 3:36:20 PM

Pornfly- I feel the same way. lol
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 3:52:15 PM

@cinema: Dude's ex-mil. He doesn't give a sh*t, and never will.
baxattax writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 4:33:41 PM

I'm tired of hearing what 'the most exciting thing about the avengers' is.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 6:06:39 PM

"The Avengers" will obviously be a huge blockbuster, but just how huge remains to be seen."

And the fact it's already all over the internet isn't going to help, and only enrage the studios further...
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:04:51 PM

Already seen it... IT WAS AMAZING!!!
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:06:47 PM

@Mink: It was released here on Mexico before the US, not because of piracy. Just letting you know.
Gates writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:08:39 PM

To those who've seen the movie:

How much screen time does Hawkeye get?
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:18:21 PM

^^Not too much, he's a bad guy for a while and then teams up towards the end. He's in it a bit, but less than Stark, Caps, BW and the others, until the end.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:19:35 PM

@Qwerty: I'm pretty sure piracy had something to do with it, at least a little. Unless you have evidence to the contrary, I'll stick to my speculation.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:20:49 PM

Btw, The Hobbit isn't doing too well

http://badassdigest.com/2012/04/24/cinemacon-2012-the-hobbit-underwhelms-at-48-frames-per-secon/
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:34:28 PM

Just seen the Avengers and trust me people BELIEVE THE HYPE! Couldn't have asked for it too be better really, enough action to satisfy 6 horses. Witty, beautifully shot, The Hulk f*cked sh*t up. 3D didn't make too much difference and was probably the only bit that didn't match up to the standards of the rest but watch it in the cinema. 10/10
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:45:40 PM

@Mink: Here you go http://qbit.mx/pre/index.php/espectaculos-puebla/item/3181-los-vengadores-llegarán-primero-a-méxico
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:45:47 PM

"That's my secret. I'm always angry."

Bad.

Ass.

If you see one movie this year, see Prometheus.

If you see TWO movies this year, see Avengers!
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:46:00 PM

It's in Spanish, but you know...
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:48:33 PM

@qwerty: that link only says that Avengers came to Mexico a week before the US, but it doesn't say WHY.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:49:11 PM

Also, Mexico isn't the primary release venue right now, it's Australia.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:49:23 PM

Yes Mink!

"That's my secret. I'm always angry." SMASH!!! j*zzED!!
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 7:59:50 PM

@cinema: Did you see wtf 'you know who' did to the guy with the big horns? LMFAO!
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 8:17:24 PM

@Mink: Well, I already saw it on the movie theater and I don't think piracy had anything to do with it. BTW, the "I'm always angry" part was amazing. Hulk was the best part of the whole movie! The way he beats the sh*t out of Loki was just priceless.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 8:20:51 PM

^^Hey now, no spoilers, but yeah, that scene was worth the price of admission (which I haven't paid yet) alone.

Oh, and the two negative reviews over at Rottentomatoes...bullsh*t. I'm certainly not one to praise a film for no reason, but those two critics (Amy and Sam) are idiots. Their complaints? Non-existent. They saw something I didn't. Whatever.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 8:23:39 PM

Sorry, but it is worth talking about. But yeah no more spoilers.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 9:03:53 PM

Yeah Mink that scene creased me up. Whedon definitely knows how to make a film and what the fans want in these films. The action was all exciting enough to be able to last that long where as filsm like Transformers which is equal on cgi and action bores the sh*t out of me. Did you see the bit after the credits as well?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 9:03:54 PM

Yeah Mink that scene creased me up. Whedon definitely knows how to make a film and what the fans want in these films. The action was all exciting enough to be able to last that long where as filsm like Transformers which is equal on cgi and action bores the sh*t out of me. Did you see the bit after the credits as well?
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 10:32:34 PM

With Thanos? Yeah, I did. That was even posted on here a bit back. You know Avengers 2 is going to be bad ASS! And I loved the flying aircraft carrier. Oh, and Transformers? f*ck that sh*t. Avengers all the way baby! Best movie of the year!
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 11:15:57 PM

...so...far...
Avirex writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 12:28:49 AM

The reason all these "blockbusters" get released overseas first (which is nothing new btw) is because the foreign market has been giving the studios a much larger profit than America has in the last few years.

Inception for instance made over $500 million overseas and under $300 million in the states. Pirates (Stranger Tides) is the greatest example though, making only $241 million domestically and $800 million overseas.
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 12:37:26 AM

^^I don't think that's it, because if it was, they'd release the film in the US at the same time. Wouldn't make a difference if they did or not.

And the US always provides a disproportionate amount of revenue, considering that the US contains 1/27th 300mil vs 7bil) of the world's population but often provides anywhere from 1/2 to 1/5 BO revenue.

But I guess you're right, or at least that's what people have been saying for a while now.

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/SuperArgoLives/news/?a=51179

I read the comments too.

Greed. And Hollywood, like DC and Marvel's comic distribution business, realized there's vast money to be made within foreign markets.

I guess my logic <<< greed.
Avirex writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 12:55:19 AM

Well, I wouldn't doubt if there are other supporting motives sprinkled in there but money seems to be the main focus factor like always.

I've also noticed lately that releasing them overseas first looks good on paper for the studio execs. Like how Battleship made $150 million before being released domestically. "Don't worry about the movie bombing..we've already made a couple hundred million anyway! ..please don't fire me!" ..rather than bomb straight away the first weekend domestically they can save face I suppose.
Ryanlawson writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 1:50:14 AM

Actually guys im from australia and i have wondered this a lot.. some movies we get 4 months later, some we manage to get weeks before... I did some research a year or two ago, and i remember one of the main reasons studios release some films in australia a few weeks before america sometimes is kind of like an isolated "test market" for projecting numbers for the opening weekend in the US...
witwicky-potter writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 3:52:50 AM

I loved this movie all the way.Joss did such an amazing job on this one,even more than i ever thought he would.Hope you guys love it like i did.
swoooop writes:
on April 28th, 2012 at 7:09:05 PM

Saw it last night here inn Trondheim Norway, and the movie rocked. It had everything, action, humor, LOT of humor, great buildup, and the effects where top. The 3D could maybe have been better, I have a problem with 3D when it comes to fast moving scenes. It simply don't work, but beside this, the movie was everything I hoped it would be. Killer.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved