WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Movie Theaters Considering Lifting Cell Phone Ban

Posted: April 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Movie Theaters Considering Lifting Cell Phone BanSubmit Comment
During a panel about industry issues at the CinemaCon convention in Las Vegas, Sony Pictures' Jeff Blake started off the discussion by stating that twenty years ago kids would go to movie theaters every week, but not anymore.

Amy Miles, CEO of Regal Cinemas, said that her company currently discourages cell phone use, but there have been internal discussions about removing the ban for some movies. "If we had a movie (like '21 Jump Street') that appealed to a younger demographic, we could test some of these concepts," she said. "You're trying to figure out if there's something you can offer in the theater that I would not find appealing but my 18-year-old son might."

IMAX's Greg Foster backed the idea, stating that his 17-year-old son "constantly has his phone with him. We want [kids/young adults] to pay $12 to $14 to come into an auditorium and watch a movie, [but banning cell phones may make them] feel a little handcuffed."

The only person who was completely against cell phone use in theaters was Tim League, CEO of Alamo Drafthouse, a small chain that throws out customers who talk or text during a film. "Over my dead body will I introduce texting into the movie theater," he said. "It's our job to understand that this is a sacred space and we have to teach manners."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Damon242 writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 3:13:44 AM

Who does this benefit? Really?

Times have changed, people, and so have ticket prices. Maybe if you were a little less greedy more people would go.

But if customers have to put up with cellphone use, just keep an eye out for when the piracy rates skyrocket.
Taco writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 3:16:16 AM

Well then if texting and phone use is allowed then you will certainly alienate those who apose it. Your just sacrificing one group for another. For f*ck sake, I think teens and younger consumeristic ungrateful pieces of sh*t can hold off using a phone for the duration of a movie.
Gates writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 3:40:56 AM

Using your phone during a movie is retarded. I guess the thought of not being able to send "OMG", "LOL", or "Titty Sprinkles" to your friends during a movie is outrageous.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 3:46:23 AM

Just what i need some kid texting in front of me f*cking up my viewing pleasure. I'll quit going to the movies if this happens...
Barney Stinson writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 3:55:30 AM

"We want [kids/young adults] to pay $12 to $14 to come into an auditorium and watch a movie, [but banning cell phones may make them] feel a little handcuffed."

Well I think that people who use cellphones during a movie need to be handcuffed and thrown in jail...

Suck it up *ssholes and put your f*cking phone away for a couple of hours. You won't die. I promise.

trailertrash writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 4:00:51 AM

I bet not one person will post on here today it's a good idea to allow phones on during a movie !!

If i owned a cinema my sign on mobiles would read;

Turn it off or f*ck Off, Have a nice day ...
otis writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 4:04:01 AM

I didn't even know cell phones were banned, I just thought it was a general, common-sense act of courtesy.

How bringing attention to this will bring any kind of benefit to anyone involved is beyond me. As a matter of fact, phones out with those f*cking bright lights are the biggest reason I would avoid movie theaters altogether.
trailertrash writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 4:24:10 AM

Tell you why these guys are all for it ...

You will be sitting in the cinema watching the movie then , Beep Beep on the mobile....

You will get some f*ckin advert or offer come through on your phone.

It's all about the extra cash they can earn from us in the cinema.

They are just using the trying to appeal to the youth as reason to start this off.
Doc Gonzo writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 4:41:15 AM

I guess Tim League is the only one of the guys mentioned above with a brain and balls..
Dan1382 writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 4:48:40 AM

If you go to a movie theatre and start using your mobile phone then you're not watching the movie. If you're not watching the movie then you've wasted your money going to a movie theatre to sit in a dark room and text/call people so why go to the movies if that's all you plan on doing? I don't understand the logic behind why people do this anyway!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 4:53:46 AM

Stop the planet... I'm getting off!

CINEMA IS DEAD IF THIS HAPPENS!
Lulupendragon writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 5:12:30 AM

Are they forgetting about the bright screens on current cellphones that disrupt people who are trying to watch the movie? Or the amount of chatter allowing the use of cellphones in the theater it will create? Lower the prices for movie tickets and more people will go.
darthnoah writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 6:18:05 AM

I don't agree with ALL of you. If I needed to send a message to someone telling them I can't talk, what's the problem with that?

I keep my phone low where it shouldn't disturb anyone. But BANNING me from using my cell phone during a movie for the sake of others is like being with a bunch of vegans. I wouldn't want to insult any sentiments, but f*ck that. I want my steak.. Can't be nice to everyone..
darthnoah writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 6:20:25 AM

I have had to receive emergency messages during movies. I have left movies and dealt with situations as a result. This wouldn't have been possible if I didn't have my phone.

I don't know about you bunch, but I want my doctor to have his phone with him in a movie while I'm probably dying on his operating table..
markoz writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 6:43:56 AM

People who text or talk on a phone should be charged double on a ticket price
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 6:50:15 AM

darthnoah- Yeah I'm sure people can discretely text in the cinema for that reason if it's just the one text saying I'm but actually saying it's OK to get your phones out would encourage d*ck heads to text constantly, speak on the phone and say they're allowed to do it.
Taco writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 6:50:20 AM

@ darthnoah, if you're dying on the operating table and your doctor is in the movie theater I would find a new doctor.
WTF writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 7:06:28 AM

On the other hand if i pay $12 dollars to see a movie i would not let someone in front of me text id take there phone and throw it.
darthnoah writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 7:24:06 AM

@Cinemaisdead - Agreed with gusto
trailertrash writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 7:28:32 AM

darthnoah

Jeezzzzzz How would you ever have made through the 80's without a mobile in the cinema, What dark days they were !!!, right ?

Yeah cinema/taco said it right.

If your dying and your doctor is in the Cinema, Unless you need one of those gangster surgeons and you're a criminal whos been shot, I'm sure there will be someone else around to save you and you won't have to wait 2hrs for him to get there !!
Everybody Chillllll writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 7:41:09 AM

If you use your phone in the movie theater you are a complete douchebag. Get up and walk out if you need to use your phone.
darthnoah writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 7:55:36 AM

@Mink - That's a bullsh*t argument. You can't tell me not to use phones now because they weren't used before. How's a dump in a hole in the ground sound? You can do that too, sure.

I'm not encouraging it. I hate it when someone starts a conversation in a theater. I feel like strangling the f*ckers myself. My point is simple. Not to be dictatorial. Tim Leagues reasons are fine, but he's being an *sshole by being anal about this.
trailertrash writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 8:13:23 AM

I guess you meant me ...

I wasn't saying you couldn't use a phone Because you couldn't do that back in the 80's, I was just saying how would you have survied without being able to do so, Thats all.

I get what you are trying to say and do understand.

I run a business and i am on my phone all day and all bloody night sometimes.

When i go to the cinema i turn that sucker off and i turn it back on again when i get out.

Anyone who wanted me can just wait and i will deal with it afterwards, It's like my little bit of phone free sanctuary.
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 8:41:37 AM

I actually have a no phone rule in the house during movies. When the wife picks up the phone to check Facebook?


DONKEYPUNCH!!

but seriously Dartnoah, your EXAGGERATING for the sake of argument.
AngryAngel writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 8:48:13 AM

Why do movie goers go to watch movies at a movie theatre? To watch a movie? Or be a twat and talk or text? Now sure there have been special circ*mstances to where I've had to text someone, but I have my volume off and brightness at the lowest setting. However I would rather get kicked out for that. Than some *sshole getting to use his phone on an extremely bright setting.
Bullit writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 8:56:29 AM

IF they ever apply this stupid change of rules over here, they won't be seeing me anytime soon!
bandolero999 writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 9:12:41 AM

the movie theaters are becoming too expensive anyways.and most movies are not even good anymore.They rely too much on CG

so rather wait till they are on dvd at the comfort of my home.
Bunny X writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 9:21:22 AM

So when they appeal to the teens and allow them to use their phones, what do they plan to do about the adults who they will alienate? You know, the adults that actually pay for the teens to go to the movies in the first place. Cause I'll tell you this, if they allow it and I choose not to go (cause I definitely won't) I sure as hell wont be sending my kids either. Cause all it will take is someone still not a fan of phone use to go off on some kid in the theater and all hell will break loose.
Instead of lifting the ban on phones to increase audiences, how about making better movies. Less 3D. More reasonable prices. Dumbsh*ts
the_dude writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 9:45:14 AM

Put your f*cking phone on vibrate, and if you get a text/ call, stand up and get the f*ck out of the theater to text/ return the call. I try to sit as far forward as possible without breaking my neck to minimalize the distraction, but some of you f*ckers saying "for emergency use only in the theater" can f*ck off...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 10:04:56 AM

Great idea! Because everyone else would totally be willing to spend 14 bucks to watch a movie and be interupted be douchebags who rather play with their phones than pay attention to the movie.

Fantastic idea
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 10:09:21 AM

"Put your f*cking phone on vibrate, and if you get a text/ call, stand up and get the f*ck out of the theater to text/ return the call."

^This.

"Using your phone during a movie is retarded. I guess the thought of not being able to send "OMG", "LOL", or "Titty Sprinkles" to your friends during a movie is outrageous."

^And this.

"For f*ck sake, I think teens and younger consumeristic ungrateful pieces of sh*t can hold off using a phone for the duration of a movie."

^And this.

"Suck it up *ssholes and put your f*cking phone away for a couple of hours. You won't die. I promise."

^And...this.

"As a matter of fact, phones out with those f*cking bright lights are the biggest reason I would avoid movie theaters altogether."

^^Ditto.

And pretty much everything Trailer said.

Having said that, you people do know that a number of companies are actually PUSHING to allow phone usage during movies, right? Right??? I even posted a link on this several days ago, which went ignored.

There's MONEY in allowing teens and dumb, I mean young, adults to text during films, don't you know that? Tweeting film reviews, ad revenue, et ecetera. You don't actually believe they're doing this out of the kindness of their little ol' hearts do you? lol.

"the movie theaters are becoming too expensive anyways.and most movies are not even good anymore.They rely too much on CG"

The same could be said for video games, which peaked with the Playstation 1, imo. Storywise, anyway.

"DONKEYPUNCH!!"

Now THAT'S how a man rules his castle.
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 10:46:09 AM

How about you f*cking theaters sending out popcorn or coke coupon texts so My fat ass can get snacks MOTHERf*ckERS!
rocketman writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 10:48:19 AM

f*ck you Cinema (not you Cinemaisdead )
Never will my arse cross your threshold ever again if you do this.
The whole point of the film is to watch it not to yack on some phone,or text with that invasive light pollution that Iphones etc have nowadays,hell I'd ban food too if it was up to me.Fat c*nts grazing on popcorn with their noisy brats rustling crisps bags need slapping.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 10:49:23 AM

f*ck that, then again I only go to a few certain movies anymore anyways.
rocketman writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 11:42:47 AM

Same here,and it's not ticket prices that turn me off going.
If I do go it's on a sunny Tuesday afternoon or the traditional Saturday 10am morning slot and thats only for the big hitters.
Waiting for bluray is cool once you get used to it because the films are fresh,none of that over exposure with trailers and clips in the weeks leading up to it.My brains that numb that I forget most of the stuff,just retain enough to know if I want to see it or not.
nawtnt writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 11:53:17 AM

The reason why kids don't go to cimenas anymore like they used back 20 years ago is because there are moblie phones now and also the recession is going on.

Still lifting the ban on the phone or not isn't going to bring younger audiences to cinemas.

The film looks great then the kids should go but if not, the kids should stay home and play games.
ChicagoSciFi writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 1:28:17 PM

As I posted on another site about this...perhaps if they'd stop gouging us at the ticket office and the concessions and 3D glasses -- MAYBE, just maybe, more people would come to the movies.

Why would they even THINK this is a good thing?
ChicagoSciFi writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 1:30:01 PM

"We want [kids/young adults] to pay $12 to $14" -- getting to the point you wait 3 months and get the movie on disc or download.
Man in Black writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 1:34:22 PM

May the Flying Spaghetti Monster bless you ,Tim League, CEO of Alamo Drafthouse . Someone in business using the grey matter between their ears . As for ticket prices they are what they are but it has affected how many movies I go see.
vaodsi writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 1:59:58 PM

PREACH IT TIM!
pornfly writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 3:13:33 PM

If youre soo important maybe the theatre isnt the place for you
We go to escape idiots,retards and dooshbags,if you cant control your cell phone impulses for a couple hundred minutes then you got bigger problems

It would be the perfect scenario for phone hackers tho
The First Rule writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 3:15:11 PM

I have no beef with someone texting between their legs or from their lap...but holding up your phone is distracting, just another reason not to go to movies.

And if young people have ADHD so bad they can't sit through a movie without losing interest in what they are doing, then I actually don't know how to finish this sentence.
The First Rule writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 3:19:52 PM

BTW in High School I used to go to the movies several times a month, and that was during the height of my texting. The main reason I don't go to movies anymore is there is nothing worth seeing (and what has potential gets a PG 13 rating and suck because of it) and more importantly, tickets used to be 8 bucks, now they are 12 or 13 (what i used to pay for IMAX). I can subscribe to HBO for that price and they don't neuter their content for 13 year olds.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 3:25:16 PM

@The First Rule: what I took from your post

“I have...beef...between...legs...holding up...is distracting”

Suppose it’s only a matter of time before someone puts a ban on that.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 4:05:12 PM

here you go.Expendables character posters and chuck has is own as well.
http://latino-review.com/2012/04/26/the-expendables-2-character-posters/

bandolero999 writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 4:17:41 PM

and after watching this Chuck Norris tribute i'm pretty sure he can kick Neeson's ass.Yes they're both badass.but Norris became Christian so he got a little soft:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5tfcLL0Xke4&feature=my_liked_videos&list=LLaVG-vc0xZlf7Fy8JTon-hg
Atemisk writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 4:58:22 PM

Is anyone else a little tired of the fact that there are no consequences for anything anymore? That it isn't their fault because they're rude little sh*theads who think they are WAY more important than they actually are; OH NO on the contrary it's OUR fault because we're "limiting" them in a public setting... WHY ARE WE REVERSING CIVILIZATION?! There are reasons why you can just drop your pants in a city park and take a sh*t behind a tree. The world can stop pretending that just because a rule is enforced doesn't mean suddenly you are being oppressed.

If someone is answering a phone in the movie theater, it better be the f*cking president. And even then it shouldn't even be his normal cell phone. It has to be his super secret "The Zombie Apocalpse has started" cell phone. Other than that this is what everyone needs to know about cell phone use in a movie theater: You are not that important. You will survive, your friends will survive, and LIFE WILL CONTINUE if you go 2-3 hours without touching your cell phone. If those two sentences are too much to memorize then go to your local tattoo shop and get it tattooed onto your forearms so that the next time you go to pick up your phone you are reminded.

Long live Tim League. Champion of Sane Thought in what I can only guess is a room filled with idiots.
pornfly writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 5:59:36 PM

They shouldv given away a free cell for Tinker,Tailor,Soldier,Spy
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 6:28:38 PM

"Long live Tim League. Champion of Sane Thought in what I can only guess is a room filled with idiots."

Well, Texas is a wee bit larger than a room, atemisk.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 6:30:43 PM

@Atemisk - nicely put.
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 6:43:21 PM

"There are reasons why you can just drop your pants in a city park and take a sh*t behind a tree"

Because sh*t makes good fertilizer? I know that from the Unabomber.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/national/longterm/unabomber/overview.htm

"Neighbors said the bearded loner lived amidst stacks of books, appeared to bathe very rarely and fertilized his vegetable garden with his own feces."

Yum, ripe tomatoes.
bspence writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 7:05:25 PM

im 19 and i f*cking hate it when people text during a movie. i ignore the texts i get till the end. its not hard. so not every teen texts during a movie. but if they allow this im going to way less movies and when i do ill feel forced to go during the day when most of the twats who cant go 2hrs without their precious phone are in school. if you honestly cant sit through a movie without sending a text, tweet, whatever then dont go to the f*cking movies. if im paying half of what it costs to buy the blueray id like to be able to sit there with no interuptions and enjoy it. so why pay almost $10 to text? f*cking idiots. i agree with the last guy in the article.
bane writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 7:40:34 PM

speaking of BAN


this might be banned

http://www.facebook.com/?ref=tn_tnmn#!/photo.php?fbid=433839133294798&set=a.364499296895449.97173.364497426895636&type=1&theater
brokeboy writes:
on April 26th, 2012 at 11:49:31 PM

YOU GOT TO BE KIDDING ME!!!!!! i pay a lot of money to watch a movie. I want no interruption. You know how annoying it is to have a cell phone light on your face or have someone talk on their phone. Lower you damn ticket prices then if you want more attendees.
Dan1382 writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 6:26:43 AM

I switch my phone off in the cinema, its just common courtesy, something that people these days seem insistent on avoiding!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved