WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Buy First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Drawing

Posted: April 25th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Buy First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" DrawingSubmit Comment
Michael Bay is currently working on a reboot of the "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" franchise. Meanwhile, "TMNT" creators Kevin Eastman and Peter Laird are auctioning off the very first drawing of the characters. The current bid is at $5,500. Check out the drawing and story of it below.

Eastman explained: "Late in November 1983, Peter Laird and I were sharing a studio (our living room) in Dover, New Hampshire. One work night, in an effort to make Peter laugh, I drew a sketch of this character I called a 'Ninja Turtle' and threw it onto Peter's desk. He did laugh, and did a version of his own to which I needed to take it one step further, and did a pencil sketch of four different Turtles, each holding a different weapon and gave it to Peter, who wanted to ink it in and when he did, he added 'Teenage Mutant' to the 'Ninja Turtle' part of the logo, and we both fell off our chairs!

The next day, we both looked at the drawing, and decided that we really needed to come up with a story about how these characters came to be and began to hammer out the story details. Deciding to make it an homage/parody to some of our heroes and inspirations (and dedicating it to them) we worked through the winter of 1983-84 and, after finding a local New England printer, we borrowed money from my Uncle Quentin and we printed the first 3,000 copies premiering the book at a local Portsmouth comic convention May 5th, 1984.

From that day forward, and for the next 30 years, the TMNTs became a worldwide phenomenon (cartoons, toys, and movies) that even to this day we still try to completely understand and it all started with this drawing.
"

Drawing: (click to enlarge)


Source: Ha, Blastr


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 5:03:34 AM

I used to draw awesome stuff when I was a kid too. One character was called 'Fat Fro' ..a fat black dude with an Afro and bucket of chicken who happened to be a superhero with a logo on his fat belly. Didn't realize how racist that was at the time.

Anyone wanna buy that drawing for $6,000? Its essentially the same thing.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 5:38:23 AM

@Avirex-hey now. my mama didn't raise a sucker you know. make that drawing $5,000 and then we got a deal.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 6:00:52 AM

The best thing to come out of this whole idea:

http://hardcoregaming101.net/tmntbeatemups/tmnt-nes3.png

One of the best games of all time!
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 7:50:37 AM

man are they trying to raise money for the production lol. why would u want to spend so much on the downfall of tmnt!
pornfly writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 7:54:47 AM

I need to start buyin my sh*t from New Hampshire
Avirex writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 8:12:02 AM

@johnny

You drive a hard bargain mister but I like you so I'll let it go for $5,000 and include the original stolen school color pencils I used to color my priceless artwork.


Btw, anyone else notice these guys decided to draw a turtle penis on each turtle in that pic? ..not that I was looking or anything.
Dre-EL writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 9:40:48 AM

@Avirex-Dude I'll go to $5,100, and its actually a turtle's tail in the drawings.
Bullit writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 9:46:13 AM

The guy or girl who makes the funniest comment over this useless article wins the thread of the day! And my deepest respect.

So, bring it on fellas.
Cannon writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 9:51:39 AM

I would rather buy back the time I wasted reading this sh*t.
Bunny X writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 10:55:36 AM

And yet they're seemingly ok with allowing Bay to come along and take a literal sh*t all over the franchise.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 11:25:23 AM

no thanks i can just copy and paste it.they way the economy is today here people still want to overprice useless sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 12:01:50 PM

I wanted to say something nasty about the art, but the more I looked at it, the more I realized it has nice proportion, well-done lines and pretty decent composition.

Makes we want to get back into drawing.
pornfly writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 12:18:36 PM

I can see the doodoo stain from Bays butthole after he wiped
minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 2:01:59 PM

So he wiped his face with the art?
venomex writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 2:16:49 PM

f*ck this sh*t. they needed rent money so they decided to come up with a comic character to sell. sell outs from the start
minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 2:36:45 PM

^^What's wrong with inventing something to sell so you're not homeless? You make it sound like a crime...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved