WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garcia's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Trailer for Lee Daniels' "Empire" Hip-Hop TV Series, with Terrence Howard
Oct 26th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Pixar Announces "The Good Dinosaur" and "Dia De Los Muertos"

Posted: April 25th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Pixar Announces "The Good Dinosaur" and "Dia De Los Muertos"Submit Comment
During CinemaCon, Pixar provided updates on some of their upcoming projects, including "The Good Dinosaur," "Dia De Los Muertos," and an untitled film that takes you inside the mind.

The Good Dinosaur: What if the cataclysmic asteroid that forever changed life on Earth actually missed the planet completely and giant dinosaurs never became extinct? This hilarious, heartfelt and original tale is directed by Bob Peterson (co-director/writer of "Up" and writer of "Finding Nemo") and produced by John Walker (The Incredibles, The Iron Giant). It's set to hit theaters on May 30th, 2014.

Dia De Los Muertos: The Mexican holiday focuses on gatherings of family and friends to pray for and remember friends and family members who have died. It will be directed by Lee Unkrich (Toy Story 3). It will likely be released in the fall of 2015 or summer of 2016.

Untitled Mind Film: From director Pete Docter (Up, Monsters Inc), the inventive new film will take you to a place that everyone knows, but no one has ever seen: the world inside the human mind. It's set to hit theaters on June 19th, 2015.

Source: Pixar, ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 4:41:48 AM

Yet still no Incredibles 2 !!
Avirex writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 4:56:27 AM

Well, at least these ideas sound slightly better than more sequels and prequels.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 5:40:55 AM

Dia De Los Muertos, huh? Guess even a mega company like Pixar has to do a little pandering every now and again.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 5:57:50 AM

The Untitled Mind Film looks the most interesting, especially with Pete Docter directing one of the best Pixar captains so far IMO. I wonder how many ideas Pixar can get through before the standard starts declining or they give in to the ass raping, money grabbing c*nts formerly known as Disney. They've pretty much run out of animals to animate so they're going back to Dinosaur times, creationists will be doing there nut!
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 7:53:33 AM

i would actually like to see a Ratatouille prt 2 :D
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 7:53:47 AM

f*ck Pixar...thay have lost whatever magic they had.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 8:14:29 AM

Boring!! But the kiddies will love it.
Cannon writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 9:34:49 AM

Pixar should make a movie called 'd*cks' ...about talking d*cks, that talk, and f*ck.

Don't worry, it wouldn't be obscene or anything because, ya know, they would be CG cartoon d*cks with funny faces and whatnot, and not actual d*cks. It could be a heartwarming tale. Kids would love it. Parents would love it, especially moms ...and Uncle Lewis.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 11:32:21 AM

is just a stupid announcement.not like anyone is casted to do the voices or anything.WASTE of thread.
minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 12:09:49 PM

"What if the cataclysmic asteroid that forever changed life on Earth actually missed the planet completely and giant dinosaurs never became extinct?"

Benn done to death in comics, cartoon and even a television show. What if. Wouldn't happen. The earth's ecosystem was already changing, and the dinos would have gone extinct in another hundred million years anyway, and they couldn't even live in our ecosystem, and even if they hadn't, they had hundreds of millions of years to evolve intelligence and they didn't, so another hundred wouldn't have mattered because there was no environmental impetus to develop intelligence. That and the fact that walking upright and possessing opposable thumbs has something to do with the development of human-level IQ, neither of which the big brutes possessed.

But hey, I love PIXAR. But they need to change up the CGI every blue moon. Do something different. They have earned the cache to do it, and we'd forgive them if they failed, though Disney might. Ok, so I see why they won't. Never mind.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 1:14:03 PM

The Good Dinosaur sounds promising. A search for concept art shows a boy and a brachiosaurus which means dinosaurs and mammals will coexist in this world. Since dinosaurs were not wiped out from an extinction level event i.e. asteroid, it would be interesting to see how their species have further evolved over the years with possibly higher intelligence and maybe even speech. Lots of great potential for funny interactions.

source: http://www.slashfilm.com/pixar-announces-dinosaur-movie-holiday-2013-d23-expo/

Dia De Los Muertos or Day of the Dead. Interesting subject matter, that Pixar is making films to explore cultural celebrations from around the world. With Ratatouille, it explored the world of French culinary and showcased Paris. Now a Mexican religious festival to celebrate deceased loved ones as a symbol of death and rebirth. I’m sure Pixar will somehow make the ritual of cemetery visits, building alters and shrines and dressing up skeletons to become something tasteful and a fun family affair.

@Bando – surprised you aren’t excited for this one seeing that it comes from your own backyard.

Untitled Mind Film sounds the most intriguing. The Fantastic Voyage and Inner Space were both entertaining films for their times and explored a good part of the human body. There is great material with updating the subject matter using animation format. As a film that deals exclusively on the mind will hopefully give us the grand tour of the human skull, cerebral cortex, frontal lobes, spinal column etc. The film could potentially delve into brain functions like how we exercise self-control, reason, imagine, dream and how we carry out our routine day-to-day tasks of living (for most WP-er its sleeping, waking, eating, sh*tting, reading, swearing, writing, insulting and jacking etc.). It will certainly help as a refresher to some on WP who appear lacking in their ability to effectively communicate and play nice within larger group settings. Of course, this will likely be a happy family movie and won't get into degenerative brain disorders nor show melting brain matter. So unfortunately retards still won't understand why they are retards.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 1:30:44 PM

@Mink - interesting points. However, how about humans becoming the impetus for dinosaurs to evolve their intelligence levels? Or maybe dinosaurs become the impetus for humans to evolve dinosaur-like traits to better adapt and survive in the outdoors eg. chameleon boy or flight ability. Point being, both dominant species never coexisted in the same world. So no doubt Pixar will give us their funny take on what happens when these two get together. Maybe they will explore the change on ecosystems. Or maybe they will create a new one altogether. Knowing both species will share the same world, there is likely to be a good degree of creative license.
minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 1:44:19 PM

I think the thing to remember is that humans would have never evolved if the reign of dinosaurs had never ended, because the mammals that eventually led the way to primates filled the vast ecological niches left void by the departing dinos, so there's not much likelihood humans and dinosaurs would have ever coexisted, and I think that's a moot point, because from the above synopsis, I don't see where there's any mention of humans at all.

Seems to me PIXAR is going for an alternate take on evolution, a 'what if the Chixulub event never occurred' kind of thing.

"However, how about humans becoming the impetus for dinosaurs to evolve their intelligence levels?"

I don't think that makes much sense, no offense, one because there's no mention of humans, and two, humans didn't come along until much, much later after the dinosaurs.

Mankind is only ~2 million years old, the dinos left 65 mya, and three, if the dinos had never gone extinct, there would be no humans, so we're back to what I said, which is, PIXAR is taking a 'what if' look, saying what would life have done if the asteroid that wiped the dinos out had missed earth, and I'm saying, not much, because dinosaurs had limited intelligence for the entire time they ruled the world, and would have likely retained that rather limited intelligence because a, there was no ecological impetus for them to do otherwise, and b, morphologically, they lacked the physiological structures many biologists now agree are necessary for the co-development of human-level intelligence.

And yes, I know PIXARs films aren't much more than 3D cartoons, but I would like to think that a progressive studio like them, with their enviro-friendly WALL-E and their power-girl feminist portrayal per Brave, would want to aim for a more scientifically literate attitude, instead of going all Wile E Coyote on the mixed-demo audience to which they aspire to entertain.
minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 1:57:23 PM

And now I see where you posted a link to some art involving a sauropod and a human. So two things: if humans do appear, then I think that's not only highly unoriginal, but also stupid as even most American kids nowadays know, in general, that humans only came about as a result of the dinosaurs going extinct. It also unfortunately assists in reinforcing the re-emerging and scientifically illiterate Creationist ideology that man and dinosaurs shared the world before the Biblical Great Deluge.

I also thought the first image on your link was perhaps used to show scale, but then they have some mongoloid looking kid below, so whatever.

Pass.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 2:45:33 PM

@Mink – firstly, thanks for taking the time to respond. Your thoughts are well considered.

I agree with the traditional understanding of theory of evolution, the rise of mammals/humans after the fall of dinosaurs. One dominant species removed in time to make way for the next. However, this is a movie and a Pixar animation served to entertain.

Yes, this is a “What If” scenario. If I use the fictional world of movies as an example, Reign of Fire showed how an underground dig in London accidentally unleashed dormant fire breathing dragons into the modern day world. Over the next several years, Dragons became the dominant species as humans could not compete against them for supremacy in the skies, nor on land. Remnants of humanity seek shelter in castles with extensive caves against the dragons who demonstrated a sheer destructive need to ignite everything and live off ash remains. I know it was just a movie, but a separation of the two worlds caused to collide by a chance excavation was that film’s premise. It may be possible that Dinosaurs and their ecosystem remain somewhere on this world undisturbed. While the rise of mammals in a separate ecosystem is allowed to spring up, unchallenged by massive prey, flourish, develop technological advances and become modern day man as we know it. Then somehow these two worlds collide, the flood gates open and hence we have a new Pixar film. It could be that simple and Pixar might just dodge the changes in ecosystems altogether and spontaneously put both species together.

The legend of the infamous Loch Ness Monster is one that still baffles. In the lake of the Scottish Highlands there is thought to be an extinct sea creature who occasionally surfaces but lives so deep within the loch. The Nessie legend goes way back and it is hypothesized to be a form of Plesiosaur. There have been many hoaxes and well staged photographs. But again “What If”. And with Nessie, here is a real life example in our world.

Yes, the above synopsis does not contain mention of humans. As I previously mentioned, my source is slashfilm “blogging the reel world” and I repost:
http://www.slashfilm.com/pixar-announces-dinosaur-movie-holiday-2013-d23-expo/

This article mentions that a progressive studio like Pixar animations has already allowed its creative engineers to field research the badlands of South Dakota for dino-stuff. No doubt to draw their inspiration from real life experiences and encounters with the fossil record. This good research is trademark with the quality of Pixar films to date.

Hence my suppositions and working with what is being presented to us, we know the two dominant species will get together on film. The fun will be the how and why.
minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 3:29:36 PM

All I have to say on the matter is that the Loch Ness monster is entirely a hoax which in general started with a surgeon planting a fakery on the lake and snapping a grainy photo. People saw and believed what they wanted, and someone suggesting it might be a pleisosaur only added to the nonsense, as sonar has repeatedly shown there to be no large lifeforms throughout the loch.

And no offense, but there's no chance dinosaurs remain anywhere on the globe, as with extensive LANDSAT imaging and Google Earth, they would have been found long ago.

But hey, if you want to see where evolution took the dinosaurs, the only remaining living breathing dino-anything, just look outside your window and into a nearby tree.

Furthermore, Reign of Fire is just one of those movies I've mentioned, one that operates not on logic or thought, but cheap gimmick. Some guy said, "hey, I want to have people battling dragons in modern cities", so he came up with this contrived, silly way to make it happen. Doesn't matter if the story that makes it happen is entirely inane and insulting to a lunch box's IQ.

And here with PIXAR we have a guy fascinated with dinosaurs since his childhood making a film featuring a boy and a dino, and that's fine, I'm sure it'll make it an entertaining film, as I said and you agreed, but just don't expect people, and that includes educated children, to not go wtf when they see large sauropods playing with human children.

(I'm also sure Dinosaurs will be a huge hut with those Westboro Baptist nuts, though.)
minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 3:30:57 PM

I'm sorry, I said Dinosaurs when the title is actually The Good Dinosaur.
vaodsi writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 3:54:41 PM

Di de los muertos is f*cking visually AWESOME. Candy skulls and colorful skeletons coming form the grave to visit their prodigy. My ticket is SOLD.
vaodsi writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 4:04:41 PM

Minkowski

I agree that Pixar needs to change up its CGI style. Disney did it to great success with Sleeping Beauty. Watching Rango I was struck as to how UN-PIXAR everything looked. It was so visually refreshing. Just as 2d animation from other studio's still looked disney-ish, 3D animated movies all look to be aping pixar. I think the first shrek was the first 3D animated film where I noticed that it wasn't trying to look like Pixar. I felt that visually Rango was very striking. I hope Pixar branches out into a similar vein of visual creativity.
kBob writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 5:53:50 PM

Hollywood needs more Dinosaurs. I can't stress that enough. Dinosaurs and Jason Statham. Dinosaurs, Jason Statham, and Peter Dinklage. Put those together and you have 2014's next big summer hit. Throw a mostly nude Olivia Wilde in the mix, and the opportunities are endless. The Untitled Mind Film sounds promising.
Dekead writes:
on April 25th, 2012 at 6:32:18 PM

Hope the money doesnt get to their heads. Come on pixar! Its been quality first all these years and thats why you have succeeded! Dont ruin it...

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved