WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jun 24th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger to Star in "478" Drama, Darren Aronofsky is Producing
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Jun 24th, 2015
Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase
Jun 23rd, 2015
First Look at Final "Paranormal Activity" Installment
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Titanic" Composer James Horner Dies in Plane Crash
Jun 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "Dragon Blade," with Jackie Chan and John Cusack
Jun 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "7 Days in Hell" Tennis Comedy, with Andy Samberg and Kit Harington
Jun 23rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Confirmed for "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Jun 21st, 2015
Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay
Jun 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Daddy's Home" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg
Jun 20th, 2015
Julia Stiles to Return for "Bourne 5," Viggo Mortensen May Play Villain
Jun 20th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says Gambit Won't Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Jun 20th, 2015
First Look at "Ghostbusters" Reboot, Slimer Will Return
Jun 19th, 2015
Full Trailer for "Kung Fu Panda 3" is Here!
Jun 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jun 19th, 2015
Disney Sets "Indiana Jones 5" for 2018?
Jun 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Boulevard," Robin Williams' Last Movie
Jun 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Daniel Schechter on "Supporting Characters" and "Jackie Brown" Prequel

Posted: April 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Daniel Schechter on "Supporting Characters" and "Jackie Brown" PrequelSubmit Comment
Director Daniel Schechter is currently working on "Switch," a prequel to Quentin Tarantino's "Jackie Brown" that has Jennifer Aniston, Dennis Quaid, John Hawkes and Mos Def on board to star. He is also set to premiere "Supporting Characters" at Tribeca Film Festival this Friday (April 20th).

"Supporting Characters," which quickly sold out its first three screenings, has a cast comprised of Alex Karpovsky and Lena Dunham, the stars of HBO's "Girls," plus Tarik Lowe, Arielle Kebbel, Melonie Diaz and Kevin Corrigan. The story revolves around two New York film editors balancing their personal relationships while reworking a movie in crisis.

We had the chance to catch up with Schechter, who not only sent us an exclusive clip from "Supporting Characters" and answered a few questions about "Switch," but also gave some advice regarding developing independent films. Check everything out below.

Exclusive Clip:


Daniel Schechter Interview:

Q. How did the idea for "Supporting Characters" come about?
A. An actor/writer friend of mine, Tarik Lowe, and I really wanted to make a micro-budget film (essentially a movie that costs practically nothing, shot on digital video with minimal expenses.) At first we had an idea for what probably would have been a more cheezy, mainstream, romantic comedy, but since we had so much creative freedom we decided to focus on every scene we wrote that had nothing to do with our forced plot. Scenes that just felt organic and honest, many taken straight from our lives. Eventually, we just threw away the rom-com premise entirely and ended up with what I hope feels like a 'Swingers'-ish, 'Sideways'-like, really personal comedy.

Q. When putting together the movie, which elements (outside of money) did you feel were the most important to have in place in order to move forward?
A. Definitely cast and locations. When you're making a movie for that price, you need to first figure out what you have available to you, for free. For a lot of indie filmmakers, that might be a family country home, or something. For me, it was my apartment, the streets of New York, an insanely talented crew of friends and a murderer's row of known and unknown acting talent that I suspected would work for me, for practically nothing. Actors like Kevin Corrigan (Pineapple Express, The Departed), Lena Dunham (Tiny Furniture, Girls), Arielle Kebbel (90210, Vampire Diaries), Melonie Diaz (Be Kind Rewind, Hamlet 2), Sophia Takal (Green, Gabi on the Roof in July) and Alex Karpovsky (Tiny Furniture, Girls).

Q. You're now premiering your second film at Tribeca. What advice would you give to struggling filmmakers to give them a better chance at getting accepted into a major film festival?
A. It was a cliche I avoided for years, but "write what you know." I didn't intend to make a movie about making movies. I wanted to make a romantic comedy, and needed a place for these guys to work for them to essentially complain about their girlfriends. I came from an editing background, and felt that was a fun job for them to do that I didn't have to research much. I think the film has so much specific detail about relationships, and working in "the business" that audiences can smell its authenticity. I think I learned on my first few films that people can also smell when its inauthentic.

Q. "Supporting Characters" is a bit about independent filmmaking. Is there anything specific that you wanted to say about independent filmmaking in the movie?
A. I think I wanted to say the same thing about indie filmmaking that I wanted to say about relationships. Especially when you're young, you f*ck up. You hurt people, you hurt your career, you burn bridges, you lose someone you love... It's up to you if you want to learn from those experiences, beat yourself up, or ignore them. I want to be a better person and a better filmmaker, so this film has been an interesting form of therapy for me to step back and examine myself from a more objective place.

Q. When working with a smaller budget, which parts of the budget would you say are the most important to not skimp on?
A. Sound and a Cinematographer. I believe our DP, Richard Ulivella, literally added hundreds of thousands of dollars in production value with just his talent and hard work. I can't say enough about him... but unfortunately, no matter how good your picture looks, if the movie sounds like sh*t, the movie feels cheap. We did really well in both those departments, fortunately.

Q. Did you run into any major problems during production that may have derailed the project?
A. No, this was a shockingly blessed project considering our limited budget. Big shout out to my producers Tim Duff and Adam Der Aris. We squeezed a quarter out of every nickel on this film, and every penny ended up on screen. I'd also like to think we had working hours just as reasonable as any other low budget indie, while treating our cast and crew with a lot of kindness and respect. No easy feat and I owe them a lot. I owe everyone a lot.

Q. You're working on "The Switch" right now. What's the status of the film? When you do plan to begin filming?
A. That film will likely shoot later this year, maybe late Summer. The cast is phenomenal so far (Jen Aniston, Dennis Quaid, John, Hawkes, Yasiin Bey, Ty Burrell), with two juicy roles yet to be cast. It's a dream project and every day I'm pinching myself that I'm going to direct it. It's going to be a great adaptation of [Elmore] Leonard's work.

Q. Is Jennifer Aniston officially on board?
A. Yup. She'll play Margaret "Mickey" Dawson, our female lead. I just realized the other day it'll be her first period film (it takes place in 1977), which is cool. Although she did have some sweet 80's flashbacks in "Friends." I'm really excited to see her in this role.

Q. Do you know what Quentin Tarantino, Samuel L Jackson and Robert De Niro think of the movie?
A. Nope. Would love to run into De Niro at Tribeca though and pick his brain. Tribeca is an incredible festival, it sounds lame, but I'm just so happy "Supporting Characters" is playing there. It's perfect. Like I said, "blessed."

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 6:25:43 AM

Nice job WP

trailertrash writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 6:47:19 AM

A 1970's Jennifer Aniston Hmmmmmmm

Short skirt and high boots and i'm in ...
KillerSniper45 writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 8:09:10 AM

Trailer:

Seems you are excited to see a 1970's Jennifer Aniston.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 8:14:08 AM

TT- I love that look, high boots is always a turn on, o and the skirt too!
bandolero999 writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 8:17:45 AM

What a waste of a movie this will be
trailertrash writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 9:03:27 AM

Killer

Sure am bud, imagine how excited i'd be if she was butt naked bent over my sofa !!

Bad - Thats a win win for me too
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 10:26:16 AM

I ain't got time to read that whole thing. This is the internet, that's like a book playa!
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 11:14:04 AM

Yup. She'll play Margaret "Mickey" Dawson, our female lead. I just realized the other day it'll be her first period film (it takes place in 1977),


wrong, ROCKSTAR was a period piece you no talent f*ck faced *sshole d*ck licker!



Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 11:52:39 AM

Speaking of period pieces, where's Shayhiri nowdays?
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 12:53:46 PM

^Dead as a result a variety of STDs he contracted from f*cking pregnant hookers paid with McDonald's Happy Meal toys.

I hope.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 3:27:06 PM

^ Talk about a tragic end!!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 6:10:51 PM

I think it's how he would have wanted to go.

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved