WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Which Director will Reboot Batman Franchise?

Posted: April 17th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Which Director will Reboot Batman Franchise?Submit Comment
"The Dark Knight Rises" is the last installment in Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy. While it's possible that the helmer may return for more installments in a producing capacity, but will likely not return to direct.

But Warner Bros is not about to give up a franchise that has grossed billions of dollars. The studio will likely reboot it and bring on an entirely new director. Forbes magazine put together a list of potential helmers who could replace Nolan. Check out the list below and let us know who you would like to see take over the Batman franchise.

* Ben Affleck (The Town, Gone Baby Gone)

* Duncan Jones (Source Code, Moon)

* Nicolas Winding Refn (Drive)

* Guy Ritchie (Sherlock Holmes, Snatch)

* David Yates (last four "Harry Potter" films)

* Neill Blomkamp (District 9)

* Matthew Vaughn (X-Men: First Class, Kick-Ass)

* Rupert Wyatt (Rise of the Planet of the Apes)

* Zack Snyder (Man of Steel, Watchmen, 300)

* Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan, The Wrestler)

Source: Forbes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
elrei writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 8:53:53 PM

A) Aronofsky B) Refn C: Snyder ...Screw the rest of them! And Ben Affleck? REALLY?
minkowski writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 8:57:04 PM

Uwe Boll FTW.
coldplayesence writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 9:01:07 PM

Zack Snyder, The Dark Knight Returns. Just copy and paste and I they will have my money.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 9:03:18 PM

Why not Oprah
minkowski writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 9:11:52 PM

They said Batman, not FatWoman.
Bluegirl285 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 9:13:16 PM

AGAIN?!!!
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 9:17:17 PM

Mink

lol


Nothing wrong with watching two hours of Batman sitting on the couch; I figure an action scene would be to jump and down on the couch
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 9:20:36 PM

Ben Affleck would be the best choice, his movies are dark and realistic and that's what has been working for this franchise.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 9:21:21 PM

Why not bring Burton back? lol
DexterMorgan writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 9:25:55 PM

Nicolas Winding Refn
Raider writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 9:28:11 PM

I think David Fincher could do a great Batman film. Arronofsky was actually going to do the Batman reboot before Nolan, It was gonna be rated R apparently. Zack Snyder maybe can do it IMO. Matthew Vaughn could too considering he actually has experience with superhero films. That Refn guy could probably pull it off too! I dont know about Ben Affleck I mean the Town was fantastic but this is not for him.
Donyae 420 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 10:03:09 PM

where has the man of steel news been?
Dekead writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 10:21:32 PM

Id be ok with the last 7
rockkillers writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 10:38:06 PM

Only one I would like to see do it is Zack Snyder. I'd like to see a rated R version, or do a version on The Dark Knight Returns wth a old Bruce Wayne. Matthew Vaughn might be decent too. No ones will top Nolan's thats for sure.
rockkillers writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 10:39:09 PM

If batman survives in TDKR installment I think Zach Snyder could do one a few later a contiuation with Bale returning would be epic!
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 11:37:06 PM

why reboot it? it was batman and robin that gave the final straw into needing one, and now that it doesn't need one they want to reboot it anyway?...in the words of lucius fox from the dark knight, good luck
Blank x25 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 11:37:40 PM

I know I'll be in the minority, but as good as Nolan's franchise is, it's not gonna be hard to top. They are pretty realistic, but still nowhere near what the quintessential Batman film could be.



snoopy1014 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 11:47:29 PM

This just pisses me the hell off...
codeman_1216 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 11:56:53 PM

I don't want realistic Batman anymore. Don't get me wrong, I'm totally in love with Nolan's films, but I wanna see Clayface, Manbat and the Lazerus Pit. I know your gonna hate me, but I'd like to see what Yates could bring to the table, in terms of a more fantasy driven Batman film.
MustardTiger writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 12:03:09 AM

@Coldplay - If they ever make The Dark Knight Returns I always pictured Daniel Day Lewis as Batman
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 12:04:43 AM

Personally they should wait awhile. Like 10 yrs in my opinion. But I would have to say I like Duncan. He has room and has shown promise. Hell he even made source code good despite the cast. Because he has good direction. Plus much like Burton he has his own feel when it comes to film making. Guy Ritchie has become gimicky, ben affleck would be the worse choice. He is a better director than an actor but that doesn't say much. He just sucked the right Jew c*ck to get good scripts. Aronofsky needs to stay the hell away from batman. I feel he and Snyder would follow too much in Nolans foot steps. Id like to see batman a bit more comic bookish. Not with cgi. But in the story development. Burton did the best job. But like I said before it should be atleast 10 yrs til we see this reboot back on the silver screen.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 12:07:18 AM

I do remember reading though awhile back how they were going to do a batman film by the Hughes brothers with flint as a retired batman. Say what you will about it. But atleast that was a story out side of the box.
KillerCOck writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 12:08:29 AM

^I agree with this! That being said I'd love to se Refen the most but I cant picture doing a major studio film. I like the sh*t he's doing now alot but who knows right.

I'd like to see a Duncan Jones Batmsn film the most. I think he'd do very good at giving us a better atmsphere of Batman than the rest of them next to Snyder.
KillerCOck writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 12:09:41 AM

^ meant codeman.
KillerCOck writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 12:16:04 AM

f*ck that 10 years! if they're gonna make it any way, I rather sooner than Later. Like I could die tomorrow you know, and no matter when they realease this I'm still goinna wanna watch it
Tyrkae writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 12:24:02 AM

The only sad part about the New batman was no riddler i still say he's a criminal mastermind and thinks (maybe even) smarter then batman and thats why he has to leave clues on what his next big heist is
blumpkin4 writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 12:29:53 AM

I agree with the posters wanting a less realistic batman. I think Bloomkamp would be neat because of what he could do for the villains. Also, i think Fassbender should take over as batman
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 12:57:35 AM

It'll be nearly impossible to top Nolan's films, in my opinion. But since a reboot is happening nontheless, I think Aronofsky, Yates, or Refn would be preferable at the helm. Depending on how "Man of Steel" turns out, then maybe put Snyder on the list.

I'd like to see the films retain dark realism, while also dabbling in some of the more fantastical elements, but in a gritty way (i.e. the comics "The Long Halloween" & "Dark Victory"). Just don't stray back into Burton/Schumacher or Adam West territory.
KillerCOck writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 1:07:58 AM

It won't be hard at all to top Nolan's films at all. If anything they just won't be able to make it feel as cinematic as his was. That's it.

Batman has many great stories to tell and if a director can make a Batman film that plays to said Director's strengths like Nolan did for his films; then it'll top Nolan's films in other ways if not completely.
pornfly writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 1:17:23 AM

Megan Fox can do it.
She studied under Michael Bay(winkwink)
And her husband used to be a rapper,he can ass.direct(winkwink)



DAAHAAHAAAASSAGOOODWON!
Rambo writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 2:13:46 AM

David Lynch
kBob writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 3:43:52 AM

From that list, definitely Aronofsky. But Ben Affleck is actually an interesting choice. He has the right tone from his earlier films to pull it off.
kBob writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 3:46:42 AM

The Town and Gone Baby Gone were both exceptional by the way. Both were also snubbed by the academy because of Affleck's rep as an actor. Much better director.
kBob writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 3:50:15 AM

but I get it...Gigli sucked as well as Daredevil and Jersey Girl. So Cronenberg is my choice.
trailertrash writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 3:57:25 AM

If they hurry up Leslie Martinson is still alive but he is 97, Sure he'd have a crack at a reboot before death !
Sev writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 4:10:31 AM

Another reboot? O__O

Oh my holy crap!
Johnnyb writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 4:17:34 AM

I can see Jones and Refn as the next generation of Nolanatics to make a good progress on filmmaking. And undoubtly the next proper directors to participate on a Batman reboot!!!!!
vaodsi writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 5:12:30 AM

Aronofsky followed very closely by Affleck. I don't want snyder. His movies may look appealing but his pacing is all off and his moments of seriousness often come off as comical. As for Refn, Drive is the only movie he's made that I've liked. Valhalla Rising was okay. Guy Ritchie would just plunge his film into a fan and reassemble it and call it edgy. I liked snatch etc, but his style is pretty one note. I feel like I can call all his shots and epileptic editing. Maybe Blomkamp. NOT VAUGN. I liked kick-ass and i thought the new X-men was okay but i'm never impressed with the directing. He does great with a good script.... Stardust was a mess.
cress writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 5:28:01 AM

Errol Morris
Džeko writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 5:31:07 AM

Blomkamp or Jones.
Dan1382 writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 5:33:13 AM

Does no one have any original ideas anymore? If all we have to look forward to are prequels and reboots from movies that have barely been out a year then I weep for the future of cinema!
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 5:55:45 AM

Man, I got so used to Nolan's films that thinking that every reboot would be horrible, but I think Zack Snyder would do a good job...
KillerSniper45 writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 6:48:10 AM

Seriously guys? I would like to see Darren Aronofsky reboot Batman, and include Robin in it.
stout writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 8:12:19 AM

Why are we even talking about this already when TDKR hasn't even come out yet?
rocky96 writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 8:30:45 AM

Matthew Vaughn (X-Men: First Class, Kick-Ass)


Rocky96@msn.com
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 10:20:30 AM

Trailertrash your an embarassment to this site. And mink you still have nothing of intelligence to say
Dre-EL writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 10:29:16 AM

Ben Affleck. Really?
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 10:45:20 AM

Who the f*ck puts Ben Affleck on a list to reboot batman?
WV-Films writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 10:46:31 AM

So this is a list of directors that some moron at Forbes put together that we're suppose to take seriously? Something tells me it won't be one of these people. This isn't even a f*ckin article. It's a total waste of life reading this sh*t.
DrZoidberg writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 11:54:17 AM

Why not Zoidberg?
kBob writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 3:21:27 PM

yeah, why not zoidberg?
amg9747 writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 3:50:47 PM

Man I really really hope it's Ben Affleck
KillerCOck writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 7:09:15 PM

I didnt like the Town at all aside form the acting. It was like watching a movie with the Disney formula. I havnt seen the extended cut but I'm sure i'd still hate it.

Gone Baby Gone Was awesome doh but its not enough to give Affleck the job.
Syman404 writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 8:44:49 PM

make an adaptation of batman beyond, that way a reboot isn't required, i think it's too early for another reboot
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 19th, 2012 at 12:40:10 AM

Whoever it is...they got f*cking clown, basketball player shoes to fill.

Good luck with that...
Flav writes:
on April 19th, 2012 at 2:35:01 AM

Refn will be too buys carving his name into movie history. I see him turning this one down. Unless Gosling is cast in this, I don't see it happening.
EarOne writes:
on April 19th, 2012 at 10:01:02 AM

with The Wrestler and Black Swan, Darren shows he can do solid MAINSTREAM stuff. but, his on again, off again with Hugh Jackman's wolverine sequel doesn't show any confidence that he's into this genre.

Ben Affleck would be my second choice to continue Nolan's tenure. the third would be Rupert Wyatt.

Real Steel's Eugene Levy also seems like a good candidate.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 19th, 2012 at 12:03:35 PM

f*ck off, there's no need for a reboot..
Gnarkill writes:
on April 27th, 2012 at 1:56:16 PM

How about stop remaking and rebooting movies that came out 3 years ago and start f*cking coming up with original ideas u f*ckin f*cks f*ck u , if u want to remake a movie and not f*ck it up and make it as real as possible life wise remake f*ckin falling down or deliverence
Mchotti writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 6:56:01 AM

Aronofsky I think would be the best choice from this list, Ben Affleck is a great director. I don't think Snyder or Ritchie would be the right choice and I haven't seen any Duncan Jones's films.I have a few names that I would replace those with, They are:

Guillermo Del Toro: He has proven that he can make films with exciting action, intensity,suspense/horror, compelling storytelling, imaginary and technically impecable visual style. Pans Labyrinth,Cronos,Blade 2, and Mimic were all great examples of that, and The Hellboy movies weren't bad either.

Alex Proyas: The Crow is a masterpiece,he showed his passion for bringing to life the essence of a comic/graphic novel and a great balance of action, the emotional effects of good vs evil, sprituality and human vulnerability all kinetically paced with beuatiful musical synchronicity. Dark City was an underrated movie that showcased substance over flare, I Robot was an example of action/Sci-Fi utilized as a social commenary, and Knowing was underrated with one of the more moving and intensely compelling and memorable action sequences in recent memory(plane crash). And he has shown that he can incorporate great casting.

Danny Boyle: Visionary director who can turn any idea into gold, can bring forth a sense of dread and mood as in 28 Days Later, can display a sense of beauty and wonder and romance with Slumdog Millionare as well as the underrated Sunshine. Enough said

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved