WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Says "Terminator 5" Should Focus on Arnold's T-800 Character

Posted: April 17th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Says "Terminator 5" Should Focus on ArnoldSubmit Comment
Ever since Arnold Schwarzenegger announced his to acting, he and "Fast Five" director Justin Lin have been working on a fifth "Terminator" installment. Now, in an interview with MTV, James Cameron revealed the advice he gave Schwarzenegger regarding returning to the franchise.

"I was talking to him back in fall about a new 'Terminator' film and quietly advising on that," he explained. "I was trying to be as encouraging as possible. Frankly, at that time, I thought it needed to be more about him. I told him he should not do it until it's focused on his character. I think there are some great stories that can be told about that character that haven't even been thought of yet."

Just recently, Lin dropped out of the project to focus on the sixth "Fast and Furious" film. At this point, it's unclear what the status of "Terminator 5" is, but it's starting to look like if it ever happens, it will be all about Schwarzenegger's character.

Source: MTV

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
yoshi187 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 6:41:05 AM

Thats the most interesting idea I've heard in a while, but Arnie looks like he's melting these days, and if this flops my childhood memories will officially be dead.
mattjudge62 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 7:29:50 AM

Ive liked the terminator movies, even salvation alot of people I know didnt like it. I would like to see a movie written about the t 800 it will be good to see arnold back in what I feel is is greatest role
elrei writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 7:55:58 AM

Hurry up then.. Arnie isn't getting any younger.
pornfly writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 7:57:00 AM

They need to put this puppy to sleep already
Ahnold is so old, A.W.S.O.M-O 4000 could kick his ass
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 8:30:25 AM

I think the old ARHNALD should be a lead scientist that makes the T800 in his dead twins likeness so that he can remember how great it was to have 2 of them........banging over weight , dried up p*ssy Mexican women. The movie could focus on how he raised the young T800 from childhood to assist him in a wedding crashers kinda-way. It could be a cross over film.
Bullit writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 8:32:32 AM

It's 12 years too late! he looks half asleep all the time, what kind of Terminator would that be? The Sleepyminator?
nawtnt writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 8:45:49 AM

For me, this is the last chance for the Terminator series to go back on form.

The studio should hire John Hyams if James Cameron doesn't want to direct and make Terminator 5 very violent and have pratical effects istead of CGI just like Terminator 2.

About Arine coming back? I am not sure about that.

He's too old, maybe have some backstory that it is T-800 but with a new face and a body.

Maybe have The Rock or some other actor who can act and be bulked up for the role.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 10:38:41 AM

I lost interest along time ago!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 10:50:59 AM

He should play one of the creators of the T800 who he modeled on himself as he was younger, he could help John Connor defeat the other robots with a computer generated T800 who he made to be a good robot. He could then be the guy who helps John Connor send one of them back to Terminator 2 to save John Connor then.
trailertrash writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 10:55:21 AM

trailertrash writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 11:02:18 AM

On this, They have never been able to recreate that awesome thrill ride that James Cameron created with his Terminator movies, No matter how much money and flavor of the month stars they throw at it.
trailertrash writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 11:08:04 AM

My link was a new Prometheus Viral Video BTW
minkowski writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 11:27:33 AM

^^Good sh*t, trailer.

Hey Jimmy, this is the future of 3D. Seen this sh*t yet, bitch?

minkowski writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 11:40:45 AM

Oh, and James Cameron is out of his f*cking mind. Arnold is too f*cking old. The best they could ever do is use Kickinger's body with a mo-capped digital Arnold head, and I doubt very seriously they're going to do that sh*t for an *entire* film, especially one about a f*cking cyborg with essentially no personality.

I mean let's face it, Arnold worked in the first because he was a cold, relentless killing machine, a force of f*cking nature, and in the second, he was a machine learning to be human in direct contravention to his role as a killer in the first (why was there *two* of the same exact Arnold cyborg's I have no idea), so there you have two very strong themes, carried well by a capable director, but in this fifth piece of sh*t, after two previous pieces of sh*t, you'll have some Green Lantern-like goofed up CG doing either what we've already seen, poorly, or doing something we haven't seen, poorly.

Jame Cameron needs to shut the f*ck up. Stop feeding into Arnold's collapsing ego. Telling him to make a Terminator film all about him would NEVER work. I mean, what are they going to do, set the f*cking film back int he 90s? Before T3? In the future with some sh*tty body-doubling? No f*cking thanks.

Arnold's too old, he's divorced, his hips are imploding and his d*ck is rotting off after f*cking the thing from The Goonies. Stupid *sshole. The Austrian Oak worked all the way up to Mount Olympus to hang with the gods, and what does he do? Throws it all away to f*ck the mongoloid help, just because he wasn't feeling pretty anymore.

Here's a trip: reboot the f*cker. I know, I know people hate that f*cking thought, and yeah, we all know The Terminator is fine the way it is, but there's room to do all kinds of new sh*t, and let's also face THIS fact: in the future, Skynet wasn't f*cking stupid enough to send out the *same* T-800, so there had to have been a variety of different Terminator like entities, like Terminator dogs, and cyborgs as old women, and what not. I mean, for f*ck's sake, Lance Hendrickson was set to do the Terminator role IIRC, and Cameron was only convinced to give the job to Arnold through the power of the big man's positive personality.

I could go on, but I'm sure I'm wasting my time as always.
Cannon writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 12:38:59 PM

James Cameron says a lot of things. I seldom listen.
SeWerin writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 12:49:36 PM

"I think there are some great stories that can be told about that character that haven't even been thought of yet"

Yup, like how he is more overweight, or how his skin melts, or his ability to be incredibly fat and old - you know, the usual magical stories
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 1:24:57 PM

TT and Mink- Nice find's. I agree with you Mink on JC. JC put that video in your pipe and smoke it.
JakeVermont writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 2:07:35 PM

wow ok now I gotta post something after being quiet for a while (summer term started)

That crazy laser tech looks awesome already and it's still at the beginning. BUT this IS the beginning and in a couple of years we're going to see true 3D in theatre no more stereoscopic sh*t that we have now, yes people to be precise it is sterescopy right now and NOT 3D as everybody says.

Reboot Terminator... on the one hand yeah I'd really like to see the story told again with a lot of new ideas and stuff. On the other hand I'd also like to see the future war done properly with a lot of creative new sh*t.

- stop referencing T-800 with Arnolds character, only the 101 model looked like Arnold, this means there should be different versions of the 800 series with different appearances as Mink said for example and old woman with a T800 Endsoskeleton, why not?

- show us some truly great war scenes between man and machine, I'm thinking about something like we've seen in Troy e.g. you know masses of infantry mixed with a lot of different artillery and stuff.

- and please show us how the Terminators were sent back in time, close the timeline this is one of the most important things.

- focus the story on John Connor he is the saviour of mankind after all. DONT and i mean it DONT f*ckin focus on a single T800 or the 101 model per se. whats a single T800 unit in the future? not more a soldier today. it is a weapon not more. there is no f*ckin point about making a story about a single Terminator, we've seen that already.

final words:

Mink, I really believe that doing a proper 5th Terminator movie without that Arnold bullsh*t will be a lot easier that rebooting the whole thing. I mean they did a 4th, the story is unfinished so f*ckin finish it!

I personaly wouldn't be as happy about a reboot that a proper sequel.

oh here's an idea for the studios. make a website were people could brainstorm different ideas and discuss different directions. Maybe the writers could draw a lot of inspiration from that.

cheers guys ;-)
JakeVermont writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 2:10:33 PM

oh and I didnt mean that soldiers are weapons, terminators are cuz they're machines dont get me wrong ;-)
WV-Films writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 4:17:21 PM

I'll make it. I'm free this summer.
Bullit writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 4:25:29 PM

^ ^ LOL! Nice one.

@Trailer: Nice find mate.

@Mink: excellent post, I totally agree with you in every paragraph.

Cheers mate,
bandolero999 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 4:49:27 PM

What a waste of a f*cking thread.is just a f*cking thought and nothing is in production.
Self-Destructing writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 5:05:51 PM

What an Ass! Of course James Cameron is giving advice. If the movie becomes successful, it was because of the advice that he gave. If it flops, they didn't follow his advice. EVERYONE in Hollywood should turn to him for advice on anything. Anchorman 2 should be directed by Cameron.
Rambo writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 5:10:47 PM

Cameron should had made terminator 3 back in the 90's and concluded the trilogy...but instead we got titanic...
Elpomp writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 5:20:48 PM

I don't think cyborgs age and there's a big part of the series everyone has forgotten...TIME TRAVEL!!!!!
Rambo writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 5:28:26 PM

If it's dead we can bleed it...
minkowski writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 5:58:19 PM

^That's the wittiest thing I've read on here in a while, mostly because it's a tight turn of phrase and because it's totally f*cking true.

@Jake & Bullit: thanks brothers. And I would respond to what you wrote, Jake, but my brain is full of meal-a-tonin (pun intended, I just ate).
minkowski writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 6:05:42 PM

Totally off-topic: you know who has an awesome Transformer-ish voice? Liam Neeson. Imagine him as Ultra Magnus. I think that would be bad ass. Or Alpha Trion. Or Prime after Peter Cullen dies of throat cancer from doing too many f*cking robot voice his whole life.

Liam Neeson, the new Chuck Norris. Except Neeson isn't a f*cking p*ssy.
minkowski writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 6:33:45 PM

Also totally off-topipc: HUmphrey Bogart makes a terrible Phillip Marlowe. And Lauren Bacall, what a bizarre looking chick. Nice profile, but she would have made a perfect Harle Quinn.

Someone should do a proper reboot of The Big Sleep. I'm a huge fan of Raymon Chandler, and his books deserve better than the Howard Hawks film. Not bad, not great, just poorly cast, at least in retrospect.
minkowski writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 6:35:13 PM

Also, McDonalds should make a p*ssy-flavored hamburger. The 99 cent value variety. Know what I mean Vern?
Dr Fate writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 7:39:31 PM

The new movie has to be the last installment.....I think the novels describes Arnolds character as a govt official who helps John in the war...they model t 800 to infiltrate the rebels...the movie should end with them finding skynets time hub, John n Arnold fighting to get Kyle into the time warp....while skynet sends terminator to 1980s.the end
The First Rule writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 8:20:48 PM

I don't understand this, if Terminator is going to continue as a franchise it really has to reinvent itself. T3 was terrible, and going that route again would be a mistake. What are they suggesting by "focusing on his character", we delve into the emotional depth of a robot?

Salvation wasn't executed perfectly but it was a step in the right direction. Reece should be the main character of new movies, not Connor.
The First Rule writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 8:29:09 PM

Also, they need to bring the story back to its roots as Micheal Biehn told it. Firstly, the retina scanning bullsh*t that went on in Salvation ruined it because the machines knew who Reece was from the start, when they shouldn't have any data on him since he was born after the war...and its not like theirs a giant database of biometric data in the United States.

They could have done more with the extermination camps and Connor actually rallying people.

Also, if the machines do have the advantage of technology like Thermal imaging, show us how the Resistance counteracts those kind of disadvantages. For example, using blankets to cover one's thermal output.
jdl107 writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 8:52:48 PM

Horrible idea, and I'm sick of hearing about it.

This story is about humanitys survival against it's own creation, not one goofy talking cyborg. It should be, anyway...
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 12:00:00 AM

if i don't see an army of arnold t-800s all in view coming after john connor, then count me out because that's about as epic as i'd expect it to be...it's about as bad as teasing the viewers with an army of aliens vs predators in AVP, but when you see the movie, you feel cheated because what you saw in the trailer was all you got...would it have really hurt to put in 5-10 minutes of senseless army fighting between aliens and predators instead of 10 seconds?...no, but that's just studios i guess, not thinking about what fans are expecting to see and too busy putting in what they think fans want to see
trailertrash writes:
on April 18th, 2012 at 4:26:47 AM

Thanks Mink / Bullit and Bad ....
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 19th, 2012 at 12:08:02 PM

I didn't mind the 4th, Sam worthington did a really good job, And I loved the freak out lmao, I hope they make this with Arnold, that'd be cool

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved