WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "Jupiter Ascending" Sci-Fi Film, with Channing Tatum and Mila Kunis
Sep 25th, 2014
New Trailer for Marvel's "Big Hero 6" Animated Film
Sep 25th, 2014
First Look at Nicolas Cage's Troubled "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Sep 25th, 2014
Naked Woman Broke Into Keanu Reeves' House
Sep 25th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Sep 25th, 2014
Liam Neeson Joins "Ted" Sequel
Sep 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hunger Games" Continues to Dominate at Box Office

Posted: April 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hunger Games" Continues to Dominate at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
There were three new wide releases this weekend, but none of them could surpass "The Hunger Games," which took first place at the domestic box office for the fourth weekend in a row. The last movie to accomplish such a feat was James Cameron's "Titanic" back in 1997.

"The Hunger Games" grossed another $21.5 million for a new worldwide total of $531 million. The film cost only $78 million to make.

Taking second place was "The Three Stooges" with $17.1 million, with a third of the money coming from boys under the age of eighteen. It cost only $35 million to make, which means it should have no problem becoming profitable, but it's too early to tell whether 20th Century Fox will turn the property into a franchise. The new comedy has only a 41% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"Cabin in the Woods" horror film, which was written by Joss Whedon (director of "The Avengers"), took third place with $14.9 million. It cost $45 million to make and will struggle to make its budget back. But its impressive 92% fresh rating should help.

And landing in ninth place was Guy Pearce's "Lockout" sci-fi thriller. It grossed only $6.3 million, which may not be enough to earn back its $20 million budget domestically. The film will no doubt perform better overseas, even with a 32% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "The Three Stooges" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 5:58:50 AM

STOOGES MADE MORE THAN CABIN IN THE WOODS???

WHO ARE THESE RETARDS?
They need to gas those stooges showings,i think the world will be fine without them
pornfly writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 6:07:36 AM

 The last movie to accomplish such a feat was James Cameron's "Titanic" back in 1997.

AVATAR?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 6:54:29 AM

Zombies love to flock to the next big franchise. All the directors have to do is include some kind of love story to keep the girls moist and the promise of action to make boys wanna see it too.

I still can't believe Hunger Games has such good reviews, it was IMO one of the worst films this year so far. I went in with no expectations or hopes and came out pissed off. This IS a perfect contender for a film that should have at least a 15 rating. It's one of those films that tries to force feed you your emotions, instead of letting you make up your own mind. The "bad kids" are like high school bullies and the film tries to make you hate them enough to not care when they die, but feel emotional for the "good kids". By the end of the film I couldn't give a f*ck who died out of them, even Jennifer Lawrence could have got eaten by one of the computer generated Ghostbusters dogs for all I cared. The film was trying way to hard to be grittier than Twilight but at least Twilight accepted it's target audience.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 6:55:08 AM

I just don't understand it. Lousy horror movies does fairly well in general, but as soon as something interesting and original arise on the horror front, then suddenly people go into hiding.

What the f*ck?
Taco writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 7:16:23 AM

It was avatar not titanic! Jeez, can't even cut and paste from IGN anymore?
trailertrash writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 7:22:41 AM

I saw Battleships at the weekend ....

It was alright, No real decent story, Effects were ok, Neeson was majorly under used, Taylor Kitsch was ok in the lead role after about 40 mins, Tons of action once it finally gets going.

It was like Michael Bays half brother of a movie, Even had his sweeping slow mo shots looking up at the actors as something was about to happen.

6/10
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 7:45:41 AM

Trailer- That's the most generous review for Battleships I've seen yet. I expected nothing but mindless violence would you say it's worth spending money on or more of a DVD film?

My cousin went to Cabin In The Woods over the weekend and said it was amazing, I think I gotta check that out at the pictures before anything else atm...
MatimaximumX writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 8:22:39 AM

Poor Cabin the the Woods..

I heard it is a cool twist on the standard hollywood horror fare
trailertrash writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 8:55:40 AM

Cinema

lol, I guess i'm a little generous with most films i see at the cinema because i don't pay for any tickets, If i did maybe i would think a little different.

It's a renter for me, The effects are ok but not on the grand scale of say Transformers, So no need to see it on the big screen IMO

I wanna see that Cabin In The Woods, I have heard good things.

I also watched Twilight at the weekend too really enjoyed it !!!










The Paul Newman, Genen Hackman, James Garner and Reece Witherspoon(tits) Twilight that is ... lol
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 8:58:52 AM

Was Cabin in the Woods rated R? That's probably why so many under 18 seen The Three Stupid's.
trailertrash writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 9:50:18 AM

14.9 million. It cost $45 million to make and will struggle to make its budget back.

I disagree here, Original Horror films (Something Like Scream) always tend to open with modest figures, But with a good word of mouth can see the film still achieve a very strong boxoffice take, I see this happening with Cabin In The Woods.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 10:23:31 AM

Trailer- Cheers for the warning, I wasn't planning on seeing Battleship unless someone said the graphics were another level that need to be experienced on the big screen.

Also that long pause scared me lol
Cannon writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 10:38:04 AM

@Cinemaisdead

The demon dogs from Ghostbusters were stop-motion.

As for this movie, I didn't even bother. I was too busy anyways having sex with a midget.



...I owed her money.
pornfly writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 10:52:56 AM

Talk about gettin a lil ^
Id rather watch that than the 3stoopids

Didnt even know Battlesh*t was out,thats how much i care
pornfly writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 10:54:54 AM

Good call TRAILER,my thoughts exactly
Hopefully i'll get to see Cabin soon
happileperkon writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 11:22:41 AM

how the holy f*ck is three stooges beating Cabin in the Woods??????? its no wonder america is going down the sh*tter
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 11:32:59 AM

Cannon- I know mate, I meant the computer generated dogs in Hunger Games looked like the dogs from Ghostbusters.
Cannon writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 12:01:07 PM

@Cinemaisdead

Oh, my bad. I thought maybe you were a younger fan who just assumed that the special FX in Ghostbu—wait...what?! There are monster CG dogs in Hunger Games?

What the f*ck?!
nawtnt writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 2:26:28 PM

WTF The Hunger Games is still number 1 in the box office for the fourth week.

I hope The Avengers becomes number 1.

I guess the critics were right that The Hunger Games will be the next Twilight.

Anyone watched it, what is it like? Any good.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 2:30:40 PM

Cabin was the best movie so far this year!
trailertrash writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 3:45:48 PM

Cinema lol

No worries mate, There's nothing you haven't seen many times before.
trailertrash writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 3:47:49 PM

pornfly

Agree, Does looks very interesting

I Can't remember the last good horror film i've seen they are very rare indeed
TRUEMAN writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 3:56:30 PM

"The Hunger of Gays" Continues to Dominate at Box Office, but of course this is no news, only fags and sissy girls are going to the theaters the rest of the people just download the sh*t or go only to good movies
pornfly writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 4:08:56 PM

TRAILER,i guess we're gonna have to wait another 10/15 years or so till the next one

IT BETTER NOT BE FOUNDFOOTAGE! !
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 4:23:16 PM

i saw both hunger games and cabin in the woods.

Hunger Games- it was okay, id say a 6/10. It would have been better if they didnt try so hard to make it so emotional and actually show the violence.

Cabin in the Woods- HOLY sh*t IT WAS AWESOME. solid 10/10, it will be hard to match this movie this year

and yet, cabin in the woods will never get the exposure it deserves cause the 14 year old girls cant see it, nor do they care about good film making. f*ck this world.
romodanny3 writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 4:44:43 PM

I agree with Squirrel Cabin in the woods 10/10. But in my personal opinion I think Hunger games was a f*cking horrible overhyped piece of sh*t, I regret wasting my life to even see that horrible movie.
trailertrash writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 5:10:34 PM

pornfly - FF can FO .....

Not seen Woman In Black, That has been a massive hit here and has a very good word of mouth.

SquirrelFlyer -

10/10 wow that is high praise indeed, One to watch for sure then.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 8:26:52 PM

@trailer

If you like laughter, murder, good acting, and intelligence you'll like it haha
Johnnyb writes:
on April 16th, 2012 at 8:54:11 PM

Cause is a deadly game, DEADLY GAME!!!!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 4:04:49 AM

Still?
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on April 17th, 2012 at 6:10:27 AM

It'll do till Avengers And Dark Knight come out then it's screwed.........Christian bale will kick their ass

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved