WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Edward Norton and Sean Penn in Talks for "RoboCop" Remake

Posted: April 13th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Edward Norton and Sean Penn in Talks for "RoboCop" RemakeSubmit Comment
Joel Kinnaman ("The Killing") was recently cast as Alex Murphy/RoboCop in the upcoming "RoboCop" remake, to be directed by Jose Padilha (Elite Squad) and set to hit theaters on August 9th, 2013.

Apparently the plan has been to cast Kinnaman and surround him with major Hollywood actors, because now comes word that Edward Norton, Gael Garcia Bernal (Babel), Rebecca Hall (The Town) and Sean Penn are in talks to join the film.

If cast, Norton will fittingly play a character also by the name of Norton, who is a brilliant mastermind behind bringing RoboCop to life. Bernal would likely play Jack Lewis, Alex Murphy's handsome police partner who eventually begins a relationship with Murphy's former wife, to be played by Hall. Penn may end up in the role of Novack, a right-wing news reporter.

Source: Tracking-Board


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:17:46 AM

If these 2 join the cast and Jose Padilha directing this could be a very interesting remake
Taco writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:24:46 AM

Sean Penn as a right wing? Lmao!
pornfly writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:35:36 AM

Norton would perfect
f*ck Sean Penn

A Superfuzz remake makes more sense than this tho,especially if its gonna be like someone said on here"the six million dollar man with a badge"
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 7:27:35 AM

Sean Penn seems to be slipping down the ranks from his peak in the late 90s/ early 2000s. But both of these actors, unlike so many of Hollywoods A team, seem to have some respect left for the craft and don't want to sell out. So I'm sure whatever this film turns out to be it won't be bad.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 8:17:11 AM

I'm actually starting to get interested in this remake and having a positive feeling about it. Sure, it is not as intriguing as having Aronofsky direct it, but close enough. Will be fun to see if fellow countryman Joel can headline this sort of project.
yoshi187 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 8:18:00 AM

I was a bit unsure at first but this is sounding really cool. A modern take on the Verhoven's media theme would be interesting, and although Penn is an out and out c*nt (see Falklands) he's a decent actor and will be good.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 9:08:06 AM

Agreed TT, this might not be so bad afterall.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 9:42:11 AM

The movie is attracting so many heavyweights from actors that know their craft & are picky with their roles.

That only says good things about the script & the director.

Maybe they saw ELITE SQUAD?
NeoMatx70 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 9:56:29 AM

Sounds very promising w/ Norton & Penn. I wish they will allow Penn to report with the I Am Sam voice.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 10:23:18 AM

They are both amazing actors
nawtnt writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 10:58:58 AM

Edward Norton and Sean Penn are great actors and would be good additions to the Robocop remake.

The cast of this movie is just like the movie Thor by having a unknown actor and a great and famous cast to back him up in the movie.
darthraige writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 11:14:44 AM

Edward Norton is a c*nt.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 12:09:46 PM

Great actors, and a director with some hard-nosed gritty chops. This could be a godsend to remake that's been in development hell longer than George Zimmerman will be in prison.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 2:53:17 PM

why? why remake this? i still don't understand. the original is a masterpiece. this is about as dumb as remaking psycho. i don't give a f*ck if norton or penn are involved, the entire notion of remaking this just makes me sad.
c-prime writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 5:09:29 PM

@ Taco: That part made me snicker, too.

I trust Penn is all method, so I wonder if he can suppress his misgivings and intransigent liberate dogma enough to stomach watching Glenn Beck and all the other polarizing, neocon talking heads that he'll inevitably draw upon to inform what will almost certainly be an exaggerated caricature of a performance.

The guy's a solid actor, don't get me wrong, but I can never shake the feeling that he's got some ulterior, partisan reason for signing on to practically any movie he does. The same goes for Clooney, although I was pleasantly surprised by "The Ides of March", which I felt skewered both major political parties pretty equally for the most part. It was a refreshing turn of events, and I'm sure it took a lot of effort for him, as co-writer/director, to exercise restraint and not give into a grandstanding, pro-Dem, propagandist pic like we all expected. I thoroughly enjoyed that flick, and for that, he gets a modest golf clap.

(Don't mistake me, I loathe both parties. But, if only for their disgusting ubiquity on the idiot box, my contempt for the left is way more acrid.)
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 5:25:55 PM

@c-prime: Most left-wing writers and celebrities rarely draw on any greater source of inspiration for their portrayals than pop-cultural satire and preexisting stock caricatures, so if you're suggesting, for even a moment, Penn will, would entertain the notion of sustaining a few modest minutes viewing far-right entities such as Glenn Beck, in order to more correctly portray his cinematic targets, I think you've naively over-estimated the rather dubious honesty of left-wingers, both in specific reference to Clooney and Penn, and in general.
c-prime writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 5:42:32 PM

@ minkowski: That's a spot-on claim. I was only being facetious.

Besides, you and I both know Penn would never conduct conservative fact-finding from the source. He prefers to have it "pre-chewed" first by liberal opinion leaders first, like a mother bird to a fledgling chick. (I found that analogy to be an apt one, considering we're talking about a PARROT.)
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:11:30 PM

@c-prime: I understand you were being facetious, but I thought I might clarify for the silent majority, i.e., our audience, or else they might think you have more faith in out celebrity overlords than common sense dictates.

And yes, Penn reminds me also of a parrot: noisome pests which do nothing but squawk the same unintelligible utterances no matter the situation.

The fact Penn's nose inescapably resembles that of a parrot doesn't aid his cause.
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2012 at 3:31:39 AM

Penn is a f*cking c*nt.
Malvinas my arse.

FALKLANDS d*ckhead.
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2012 at 3:33:51 AM

Sorry,just woke up and I need my coffee...rant over.
Self-Destructing writes:
on April 14th, 2012 at 3:07:56 PM

Where is the originality in Hollywood?

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved