WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"The Maze Runner" Sequel Already Gets Release Date and Concept Art
Sep 22nd, 2014
"Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters" Sequel Has a Finished Script
Sep 22nd, 2014
"The Maze Runner" Easily Beats Liam Neeson's "A Walk Among the Tombstones" at Box Office
Sep 22nd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Sep 21st, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Will Be PG-13
Sep 21st, 2014
Marvel Says "Daredevil" TV Series Won't Make Same Mistakes As Ben Affleck's Movie
Sep 21st, 2014
Is Jennifer Lawrence's "Serena" a Terrible Movie?
Sep 21st, 2014
Roberto Orci Drops Out of "Power Rangers" to Direct "Star Trek 3"
Sep 21st, 2014
Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed
Sep 20th, 2014
Deadpool Creator Comments on "Deadpool" Movie Announcement
Sep 20th, 2014
Two New Posters for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 20th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Loses Director
Sep 20th, 2014
Angelina Jolie to Next Direct "Africa"
Sep 20th, 2014
Trailer For "Low Down," with John Hawkes and Elle Fanning
Sep 20th, 2014
If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You
Sep 19th, 2014
Trailer For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Sep 19th, 2014
Matthew McConaughey NOT Returning For "Magic Mike" Sequel
Sep 19th, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "V/H/S: Viral" Horror Film Arrives Online
Sep 19th, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" Unveils First Poster
Sep 19th, 2014
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Edward Norton and Sean Penn in Talks for "RoboCop" Remake

Posted: April 13th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Edward Norton and Sean Penn in Talks for "RoboCop" RemakeSubmit Comment
Joel Kinnaman ("The Killing") was recently cast as Alex Murphy/RoboCop in the upcoming "RoboCop" remake, to be directed by Jose Padilha (Elite Squad) and set to hit theaters on August 9th, 2013.

Apparently the plan has been to cast Kinnaman and surround him with major Hollywood actors, because now comes word that Edward Norton, Gael Garcia Bernal (Babel), Rebecca Hall (The Town) and Sean Penn are in talks to join the film.

If cast, Norton will fittingly play a character also by the name of Norton, who is a brilliant mastermind behind bringing RoboCop to life. Bernal would likely play Jack Lewis, Alex Murphy's handsome police partner who eventually begins a relationship with Murphy's former wife, to be played by Hall. Penn may end up in the role of Novack, a right-wing news reporter.

Source: Tracking-Board


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:17:46 AM

If these 2 join the cast and Jose Padilha directing this could be a very interesting remake
Taco writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:24:46 AM

Sean Penn as a right wing? Lmao!
pornfly writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:35:36 AM

Norton would perfect
f*ck Sean Penn

A Superfuzz remake makes more sense than this tho,especially if its gonna be like someone said on here"the six million dollar man with a badge"
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 7:27:35 AM

Sean Penn seems to be slipping down the ranks from his peak in the late 90s/ early 2000s. But both of these actors, unlike so many of Hollywoods A team, seem to have some respect left for the craft and don't want to sell out. So I'm sure whatever this film turns out to be it won't be bad.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 8:17:11 AM

I'm actually starting to get interested in this remake and having a positive feeling about it. Sure, it is not as intriguing as having Aronofsky direct it, but close enough. Will be fun to see if fellow countryman Joel can headline this sort of project.
yoshi187 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 8:18:00 AM

I was a bit unsure at first but this is sounding really cool. A modern take on the Verhoven's media theme would be interesting, and although Penn is an out and out c*nt (see Falklands) he's a decent actor and will be good.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 9:08:06 AM

Agreed TT, this might not be so bad afterall.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 9:42:11 AM

The movie is attracting so many heavyweights from actors that know their craft & are picky with their roles.

That only says good things about the script & the director.

Maybe they saw ELITE SQUAD?
NeoMatx70 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 9:56:29 AM

Sounds very promising w/ Norton & Penn. I wish they will allow Penn to report with the I Am Sam voice.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 10:23:18 AM

They are both amazing actors
nawtnt writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 10:58:58 AM

Edward Norton and Sean Penn are great actors and would be good additions to the Robocop remake.

The cast of this movie is just like the movie Thor by having a unknown actor and a great and famous cast to back him up in the movie.
darthraige writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 11:14:44 AM

Edward Norton is a c*nt.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 12:09:46 PM

Great actors, and a director with some hard-nosed gritty chops. This could be a godsend to remake that's been in development hell longer than George Zimmerman will be in prison.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 2:53:17 PM

why? why remake this? i still don't understand. the original is a masterpiece. this is about as dumb as remaking psycho. i don't give a f*ck if norton or penn are involved, the entire notion of remaking this just makes me sad.
c-prime writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 5:09:29 PM

@ Taco: That part made me snicker, too.

I trust Penn is all method, so I wonder if he can suppress his misgivings and intransigent liberate dogma enough to stomach watching Glenn Beck and all the other polarizing, neocon talking heads that he'll inevitably draw upon to inform what will almost certainly be an exaggerated caricature of a performance.

The guy's a solid actor, don't get me wrong, but I can never shake the feeling that he's got some ulterior, partisan reason for signing on to practically any movie he does. The same goes for Clooney, although I was pleasantly surprised by "The Ides of March", which I felt skewered both major political parties pretty equally for the most part. It was a refreshing turn of events, and I'm sure it took a lot of effort for him, as co-writer/director, to exercise restraint and not give into a grandstanding, pro-Dem, propagandist pic like we all expected. I thoroughly enjoyed that flick, and for that, he gets a modest golf clap.

(Don't mistake me, I loathe both parties. But, if only for their disgusting ubiquity on the idiot box, my contempt for the left is way more acrid.)
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 5:25:55 PM

@c-prime: Most left-wing writers and celebrities rarely draw on any greater source of inspiration for their portrayals than pop-cultural satire and preexisting stock caricatures, so if you're suggesting, for even a moment, Penn will, would entertain the notion of sustaining a few modest minutes viewing far-right entities such as Glenn Beck, in order to more correctly portray his cinematic targets, I think you've naively over-estimated the rather dubious honesty of left-wingers, both in specific reference to Clooney and Penn, and in general.
c-prime writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 5:42:32 PM

@ minkowski: That's a spot-on claim. I was only being facetious.

Besides, you and I both know Penn would never conduct conservative fact-finding from the source. He prefers to have it "pre-chewed" first by liberal opinion leaders first, like a mother bird to a fledgling chick. (I found that analogy to be an apt one, considering we're talking about a PARROT.)
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:11:30 PM

@c-prime: I understand you were being facetious, but I thought I might clarify for the silent majority, i.e., our audience, or else they might think you have more faith in out celebrity overlords than common sense dictates.

And yes, Penn reminds me also of a parrot: noisome pests which do nothing but squawk the same unintelligible utterances no matter the situation.

The fact Penn's nose inescapably resembles that of a parrot doesn't aid his cause.
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2012 at 3:31:39 AM

Penn is a f*cking c*nt.
Malvinas my arse.

FALKLANDS d*ckhead.
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2012 at 3:33:51 AM

Sorry,just woke up and I need my coffee...rant over.
Self-Destructing writes:
on April 14th, 2012 at 3:07:56 PM

Where is the originality in Hollywood?

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved