WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Terminator Genisys" and "Magic Mike XXL" Flop in Theaters
Jul 6th, 2015
"Deadpool" on EW's Comic-Con Magazine Cover
Jul 6th, 2015
The Falcon in New "Ant-Man" TV Spot
Jul 6th, 2015
Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"
Jul 5th, 2015
First Photo of Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Jul 4th, 2015
Two More Photos From "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 4th, 2015
"Hello Kitty" to Become $200 Million Movie
Jul 4th, 2015
New Photos From "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Jul 4th, 2015
Lots of New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Photos and Story Details
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Ryan Reynolds' "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Monopoly" Movie Hires "The Truman Show" Writer
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight"
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" - What Did You Think?
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Jul 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Edward Norton and Sean Penn in Talks for "RoboCop" Remake

Posted: April 13th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Edward Norton and Sean Penn in Talks for "RoboCop" RemakeSubmit Comment
Joel Kinnaman ("The Killing") was recently cast as Alex Murphy/RoboCop in the upcoming "RoboCop" remake, to be directed by Jose Padilha (Elite Squad) and set to hit theaters on August 9th, 2013.

Apparently the plan has been to cast Kinnaman and surround him with major Hollywood actors, because now comes word that Edward Norton, Gael Garcia Bernal (Babel), Rebecca Hall (The Town) and Sean Penn are in talks to join the film.

If cast, Norton will fittingly play a character also by the name of Norton, who is a brilliant mastermind behind bringing RoboCop to life. Bernal would likely play Jack Lewis, Alex Murphy's handsome police partner who eventually begins a relationship with Murphy's former wife, to be played by Hall. Penn may end up in the role of Novack, a right-wing news reporter.

Source: Tracking-Board


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:17:46 AM

If these 2 join the cast and Jose Padilha directing this could be a very interesting remake
Taco writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:24:46 AM

Sean Penn as a right wing? Lmao!
pornfly writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:35:36 AM

Norton would perfect
f*ck Sean Penn

A Superfuzz remake makes more sense than this tho,especially if its gonna be like someone said on here"the six million dollar man with a badge"
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 7:27:35 AM

Sean Penn seems to be slipping down the ranks from his peak in the late 90s/ early 2000s. But both of these actors, unlike so many of Hollywoods A team, seem to have some respect left for the craft and don't want to sell out. So I'm sure whatever this film turns out to be it won't be bad.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 8:17:11 AM

I'm actually starting to get interested in this remake and having a positive feeling about it. Sure, it is not as intriguing as having Aronofsky direct it, but close enough. Will be fun to see if fellow countryman Joel can headline this sort of project.
yoshi187 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 8:18:00 AM

I was a bit unsure at first but this is sounding really cool. A modern take on the Verhoven's media theme would be interesting, and although Penn is an out and out c*nt (see Falklands) he's a decent actor and will be good.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 9:08:06 AM

Agreed TT, this might not be so bad afterall.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 9:42:11 AM

The movie is attracting so many heavyweights from actors that know their craft & are picky with their roles.

That only says good things about the script & the director.

Maybe they saw ELITE SQUAD?
NeoMatx70 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 9:56:29 AM

Sounds very promising w/ Norton & Penn. I wish they will allow Penn to report with the I Am Sam voice.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 10:23:18 AM

They are both amazing actors
nawtnt writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 10:58:58 AM

Edward Norton and Sean Penn are great actors and would be good additions to the Robocop remake.

The cast of this movie is just like the movie Thor by having a unknown actor and a great and famous cast to back him up in the movie.
darthraige writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 11:14:44 AM

Edward Norton is a c*nt.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 12:09:46 PM

Great actors, and a director with some hard-nosed gritty chops. This could be a godsend to remake that's been in development hell longer than George Zimmerman will be in prison.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 2:53:17 PM

why? why remake this? i still don't understand. the original is a masterpiece. this is about as dumb as remaking psycho. i don't give a f*ck if norton or penn are involved, the entire notion of remaking this just makes me sad.
c-prime writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 5:09:29 PM

@ Taco: That part made me snicker, too.

I trust Penn is all method, so I wonder if he can suppress his misgivings and intransigent liberate dogma enough to stomach watching Glenn Beck and all the other polarizing, neocon talking heads that he'll inevitably draw upon to inform what will almost certainly be an exaggerated caricature of a performance.

The guy's a solid actor, don't get me wrong, but I can never shake the feeling that he's got some ulterior, partisan reason for signing on to practically any movie he does. The same goes for Clooney, although I was pleasantly surprised by "The Ides of March", which I felt skewered both major political parties pretty equally for the most part. It was a refreshing turn of events, and I'm sure it took a lot of effort for him, as co-writer/director, to exercise restraint and not give into a grandstanding, pro-Dem, propagandist pic like we all expected. I thoroughly enjoyed that flick, and for that, he gets a modest golf clap.

(Don't mistake me, I loathe both parties. But, if only for their disgusting ubiquity on the idiot box, my contempt for the left is way more acrid.)
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 5:25:55 PM

@c-prime: Most left-wing writers and celebrities rarely draw on any greater source of inspiration for their portrayals than pop-cultural satire and preexisting stock caricatures, so if you're suggesting, for even a moment, Penn will, would entertain the notion of sustaining a few modest minutes viewing far-right entities such as Glenn Beck, in order to more correctly portray his cinematic targets, I think you've naively over-estimated the rather dubious honesty of left-wingers, both in specific reference to Clooney and Penn, and in general.
c-prime writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 5:42:32 PM

@ minkowski: That's a spot-on claim. I was only being facetious.

Besides, you and I both know Penn would never conduct conservative fact-finding from the source. He prefers to have it "pre-chewed" first by liberal opinion leaders first, like a mother bird to a fledgling chick. (I found that analogy to be an apt one, considering we're talking about a PARROT.)
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:11:30 PM

@c-prime: I understand you were being facetious, but I thought I might clarify for the silent majority, i.e., our audience, or else they might think you have more faith in out celebrity overlords than common sense dictates.

And yes, Penn reminds me also of a parrot: noisome pests which do nothing but squawk the same unintelligible utterances no matter the situation.

The fact Penn's nose inescapably resembles that of a parrot doesn't aid his cause.
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2012 at 3:31:39 AM

Penn is a f*cking c*nt.
Malvinas my arse.

FALKLANDS d*ckhead.
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2012 at 3:33:51 AM

Sorry,just woke up and I need my coffee...rant over.
Self-Destructing writes:
on April 14th, 2012 at 3:07:56 PM

Where is the originality in Hollywood?

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved