WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Terminator Genisys" Super Bowl TV Spot, Plus New Poster
Jan 30th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Super Bowl TV Spot
Jan 30th, 2015
Photos: Get a Better Look at Indominus Rex From "Jurassic World"
Jan 30th, 2015
"Minions" Super Bowl TV Spot
Jan 30th, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Insurgent" Super Bowl TV Spot
Jan 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ted 2" is Here!
Jan 29th, 2015
"The Strangers 2" Gets Director and Plot Synopsis, to Shoot This Spring
Jan 29th, 2015
"Snow White and the Huntsman" Sequel to Bring Back Only Two Dwarves
Jan 29th, 2015
Brad Pitt in Talks for "Africa," Directed by Angelina Jolie
Jan 29th, 2015
Emma Watson is Belle in Disney's Live-Action "Beauty and the Beast" Film
Jan 29th, 2015
Kevin Spacey to Play a Cat in "Nine Lives" Comedy
Jan 29th, 2015
Poster for Dwayne Johnson's "San Andreas" Earthquake Film
Jan 29th, 2015
Disney Wants to Reboot "Indiana Jones" with Chris Pratt
Jan 28th, 2015
Liam Hemsworth Offered Lead Role in "Independence Day" Sequel
Jan 28th, 2015
"Ghostbusters" Reboot Found Its Female Cast
Jan 28th, 2015
Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 28th, 2015
First Poster for "Ted 2," Trailer Coming on Thursday
Jan 28th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 5," "Friday the 13th" and "Paranormal Activity 5" Get New Release Dates
Jan 28th, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Jan 27th, 2015
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Magazine Covers, Opening Scene Revealed
Jan 27th, 2015
Fox Confirms "X-Men" TV Series in the Works
Jan 27th, 2015
Joss Whedon Hints He Won't Direct "Avengers: Infinity War"
Jan 27th, 2015
First Look at Michael B. Jordan in Costume From "Fantastic Four," Trailer Coming Today
Jan 27th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Ridiculous 6" Netflix Film Unveils First Details
Jan 27th, 2015
Trailer for RZA's "The Man With the Iron Fists" Sequel
Jan 27th, 2015
"American Sniper" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Mortdecai" Flops
Jan 26th, 2015
"Birdman" Wins at PGA Awards, Becomes Favorite to Win Oscar
Jan 26th, 2015
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Edward Norton and Sean Penn in Talks for "RoboCop" Remake

Posted: April 13th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Edward Norton and Sean Penn in Talks for "RoboCop" RemakeSubmit Comment
Joel Kinnaman ("The Killing") was recently cast as Alex Murphy/RoboCop in the upcoming "RoboCop" remake, to be directed by Jose Padilha (Elite Squad) and set to hit theaters on August 9th, 2013.

Apparently the plan has been to cast Kinnaman and surround him with major Hollywood actors, because now comes word that Edward Norton, Gael Garcia Bernal (Babel), Rebecca Hall (The Town) and Sean Penn are in talks to join the film.

If cast, Norton will fittingly play a character also by the name of Norton, who is a brilliant mastermind behind bringing RoboCop to life. Bernal would likely play Jack Lewis, Alex Murphy's handsome police partner who eventually begins a relationship with Murphy's former wife, to be played by Hall. Penn may end up in the role of Novack, a right-wing news reporter.

Source: Tracking-Board


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:17:46 AM

If these 2 join the cast and Jose Padilha directing this could be a very interesting remake
Taco writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:24:46 AM

Sean Penn as a right wing? Lmao!
pornfly writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:35:36 AM

Norton would perfect
f*ck Sean Penn

A Superfuzz remake makes more sense than this tho,especially if its gonna be like someone said on here"the six million dollar man with a badge"
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 7:27:35 AM

Sean Penn seems to be slipping down the ranks from his peak in the late 90s/ early 2000s. But both of these actors, unlike so many of Hollywoods A team, seem to have some respect left for the craft and don't want to sell out. So I'm sure whatever this film turns out to be it won't be bad.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 8:17:11 AM

I'm actually starting to get interested in this remake and having a positive feeling about it. Sure, it is not as intriguing as having Aronofsky direct it, but close enough. Will be fun to see if fellow countryman Joel can headline this sort of project.
yoshi187 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 8:18:00 AM

I was a bit unsure at first but this is sounding really cool. A modern take on the Verhoven's media theme would be interesting, and although Penn is an out and out c*nt (see Falklands) he's a decent actor and will be good.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 9:08:06 AM

Agreed TT, this might not be so bad afterall.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 9:42:11 AM

The movie is attracting so many heavyweights from actors that know their craft & are picky with their roles.

That only says good things about the script & the director.

Maybe they saw ELITE SQUAD?
NeoMatx70 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 9:56:29 AM

Sounds very promising w/ Norton & Penn. I wish they will allow Penn to report with the I Am Sam voice.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 10:23:18 AM

They are both amazing actors
nawtnt writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 10:58:58 AM

Edward Norton and Sean Penn are great actors and would be good additions to the Robocop remake.

The cast of this movie is just like the movie Thor by having a unknown actor and a great and famous cast to back him up in the movie.
darthraige writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 11:14:44 AM

Edward Norton is a c*nt.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 12:09:46 PM

Great actors, and a director with some hard-nosed gritty chops. This could be a godsend to remake that's been in development hell longer than George Zimmerman will be in prison.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 2:53:17 PM

why? why remake this? i still don't understand. the original is a masterpiece. this is about as dumb as remaking psycho. i don't give a f*ck if norton or penn are involved, the entire notion of remaking this just makes me sad.
c-prime writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 5:09:29 PM

@ Taco: That part made me snicker, too.

I trust Penn is all method, so I wonder if he can suppress his misgivings and intransigent liberate dogma enough to stomach watching Glenn Beck and all the other polarizing, neocon talking heads that he'll inevitably draw upon to inform what will almost certainly be an exaggerated caricature of a performance.

The guy's a solid actor, don't get me wrong, but I can never shake the feeling that he's got some ulterior, partisan reason for signing on to practically any movie he does. The same goes for Clooney, although I was pleasantly surprised by "The Ides of March", which I felt skewered both major political parties pretty equally for the most part. It was a refreshing turn of events, and I'm sure it took a lot of effort for him, as co-writer/director, to exercise restraint and not give into a grandstanding, pro-Dem, propagandist pic like we all expected. I thoroughly enjoyed that flick, and for that, he gets a modest golf clap.

(Don't mistake me, I loathe both parties. But, if only for their disgusting ubiquity on the idiot box, my contempt for the left is way more acrid.)
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 5:25:55 PM

@c-prime: Most left-wing writers and celebrities rarely draw on any greater source of inspiration for their portrayals than pop-cultural satire and preexisting stock caricatures, so if you're suggesting, for even a moment, Penn will, would entertain the notion of sustaining a few modest minutes viewing far-right entities such as Glenn Beck, in order to more correctly portray his cinematic targets, I think you've naively over-estimated the rather dubious honesty of left-wingers, both in specific reference to Clooney and Penn, and in general.
c-prime writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 5:42:32 PM

@ minkowski: That's a spot-on claim. I was only being facetious.

Besides, you and I both know Penn would never conduct conservative fact-finding from the source. He prefers to have it "pre-chewed" first by liberal opinion leaders first, like a mother bird to a fledgling chick. (I found that analogy to be an apt one, considering we're talking about a PARROT.)
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 6:11:30 PM

@c-prime: I understand you were being facetious, but I thought I might clarify for the silent majority, i.e., our audience, or else they might think you have more faith in out celebrity overlords than common sense dictates.

And yes, Penn reminds me also of a parrot: noisome pests which do nothing but squawk the same unintelligible utterances no matter the situation.

The fact Penn's nose inescapably resembles that of a parrot doesn't aid his cause.
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2012 at 3:31:39 AM

Penn is a f*cking c*nt.
Malvinas my arse.

FALKLANDS d*ckhead.
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2012 at 3:33:51 AM

Sorry,just woke up and I need my coffee...rant over.
Self-Destructing writes:
on April 14th, 2012 at 3:07:56 PM

Where is the originality in Hollywood?

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"

Tim Roth Says He Almost Returned as Abomination in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split Into Two Parts?

Michael Moore Hates "American Sniper," Says Snipers are Cowards

"Batman v Superman" Choreographer Teases Fight Between Batman and Superman
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved