WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Five Actresses in Talks for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Role
Dec 16th, 2014
20th Century Fox Planning to Merge "Fantastic Four" With "X-Men"
Dec 15th, 2014
"Aquaman" Film Considering "Mud" Director Jeff Nichols
Dec 15th, 2014
Tim Burton Says "Beetlejuice 2" is Closer Than Ever
Dec 15th, 2014
First Look at Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in Color
Dec 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Short Circuit" Remake to Make Johnny 5 More Threatening

Posted: April 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Short Circuit" Remake to Make Johnny 5 More ThreateningSubmit Comment
Director Tim Hill (Hop, Alvin and the Chipmunks) is currently working on a remake of the 1986 film "Short Circuit." Now, in an interview with LA Times, Hill spoke about some of the changes moviegoers can expect in the new movie, like Johnny 5 becoming more threatening.

"I think it has to be closer to what modern design actually is," he explained. "There are computer models and labs developing real machines like this. You've got to find the balance between something fierce and something endearing. The original was cute. But no one was threatened by it."

Hill went on to say that Johnny 5 will be based on modern warfare technology that's used in unmanned drones. "The thing that makes it so relevant is that we live in this age of robots, particularly when it comes to war," he continued. "We have drones that do our fighting for us, do all these jobs men and women don't want to do. And that's what makes this so interesting -- things like this moment in the story when Johnny realizes he's going to be disassembled and contemplates death, and whether it's right to terminate someone else."

The plan is to also make the lead human character, played by 23-year-old Ally Sheedy in the original, a teenager or even younger.

Click here to read more about "Short Circuit."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GettodaChopper writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 3:33:12 AM

Sounds lame.
KillerSniper45 writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 4:03:51 AM

If they hire El Debarge to contribute a song for the remake, the title is "Whose Darker she says". Lol. A remake more darker than the Dark Knight.
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 4:15:28 AM

Make Johnny 5 More Threatening ... And less like a dustbin

Johnny 5 looked crap back in the 80's, This is a real lame remake idea
Džeko writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 5:21:18 AM

"Short Circuit" Remake to Make Johnny 5 More Threatening...in short he will look like Megatron from Transformers.
Bullit writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 5:22:05 AM

What Trailer said.

And if you would be watching the original film today, it will look so old & stupid.
pornfly writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 6:10:01 AM

I'll wait for the porno version
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 6:13:36 AM

Teenager? Younger?

That's it, I'm outta here!
pornfly writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 6:34:34 AM

Johhny 5 must have input!
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 6:52:00 AM

pornfly

I'll wait for the porno version .....


http://tuber.underskog.no/cache/image/16839_570x.jpg


Your wait is over it's on the way .....
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 8:58:15 AM

f*ck this remake!!
TRUEMAN writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 10:31:30 AM

this remake, isn't done already? WALEE? again?
billofill writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 10:42:07 AM

f*ck this, i'll just watch Transformers Prime.
pornfly writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 11:32:53 AM

HA!TRAILER
looks like RANGERS robobutler!
"need to input!"
minkowski writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 11:49:04 AM

As long as they have the epic scene where Johnny 5 disassembles the car, I'm in. Besides, we need a better Boy and His Robot film than what AI and Transformers gave us, and Iron Giant is a cartoon, so if done right, I think it could be badass. Besides, Real Steel was surprisingly good if not entirely predictable.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 11:50:52 AM

I stopped reading at (Hop, Alvin and the Chipmunks). How can anyone who was involved with those films understand what threatening even means?

nawtnt writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 12:35:18 PM

Another remake made by Hollywood that no one wants.

I seriously hope Hollywood doesn't remake The Gremlins and The Goonies, those movies are my classic childhood movies.
vincere01 writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 12:42:11 PM

They just want to escape any confusion with johnny 5 and WALEE. Damn cartoon robot completely ripped off johnny 5. Its painfully obvious. But that is what people will think. f*cking hollywood
minkowski writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 12:58:36 PM

Actually, the state of robots has advanced considerably in 26 years. The original Johnny 5 looks ridiculous when compared to robots built within the last ten years, and even in 1986, the version used wasn't terribly realistic. But you're right, WALL-E heavily resembles Johnny 5, and I swear they both remind me of E.T.

You should look up Honda's ASIMO to see just how laughable Johnny 5 compares to today technology.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q3C5sc8b3xM


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ASIMO
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 1:27:34 PM

My idea for a robot movie...

A.W.E.S.O.M.-O (played by Eric Cartman)

Wall-E was brilliant. An amazing achievement for Disney/Pixar to make a film with very little dialogue in the beginning - (and an environmental social responsibility message too that even kids can understand). Yet Wall-E was totally comprehendible through sounds, actions of the robots. The animation was well done especially seeing rendered post-apocalyptic landscapes rendered in dust and orange which contrasted well against the futuristic sterileness of the space cruise ship.

No fond memories of Short Circuit.
minkowski writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 1:32:10 PM

"Yet Wall-E was totally comprehendible through sounds, actions of the robots."

Most people can be understood through a limited gestural repertoire too, as long as the thought conveyed is limited.

Pat your stomach and point to your mouth and everyone in the world will know you're hungry, for example.

Wall-E worked because he was a simple robot conveying simple thoughts. Had he tried to use gestural commands to convey Kierkegaard's existentialism, I think he would have failed...
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 2:07:16 PM

@Mink -

The amazing thing for me was seeing how well this film worked on my 3 year old kid. At this stage in their lives, children have very limited experiences. They have seen a handful of Disney Pixars and their eyes light up at hearing funny characters move and bounce around on the screen, accompanied by great music and a solid story. Now with Wall-E, I think Disney tried something very different and it paid off. Kids this time around had their attention focused on one single character moving thru a desolate landscape, stuck on the daily routine of its custodial task. Instead of being bored with the lack of action and tonnes of animated characters, kids were fixated and drawn by this little robot who seemed less and less of a robot but more human with each passing frame. Kids even sympathized with Wall-E, a worn model, clearly not the latest advancement of robotics (again well contrasted with EVE). That Wall-E closely resembled E.T. was deliberate as it brought a familarity for older audiences. For me, Wall-E was a compelling way to tell a story. And refreshing for Disney as every sound, beep, blip meant something.
vincere01 writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 2:41:27 PM

@mink my comment was more of a an observation of part of the thought process for them as i see it. Ofcourse they will update the robot to look more human. Changing with the times, the themes. Its just natural progression of things. Buck Rodgers-->Lost in space---->Star wars---->I am Robot. Movies will always progress and adapt to public conciousness. At the time they are made what is the popular representation of what robots are thought yo look likr will
vincere01 writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 2:41:46 PM

@mink my comment was more of a an observation of part of the thought process for them as i see it. Ofcourse they will update the robot to look more human. Changing with the times, the themes. Its just natural progression of things. Buck Rodgers-->Lost in space---->Star wars---->I am Robot. Movies will always progress and adapt to public conciousness. At the time they are made what is the popular representation of what robots are thought yo look likr will
vincere01 writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 2:42:16 PM

@mink my comment was more of a an observation of part of the thought process for them as i see it. Ofcourse they will update the robot to look more human. Changing with the times, the themes. Its just natural progression of things. Buck Rodgers-->Lost in space---->Star wars---->I am Robot. Movies will always progress and adapt to public conciousness. At the time they are made what is the popular representation of what robots are thought yo look like will be used
vincere01 writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 2:43:15 PM

Sorry for multi-post issue. Phone was trying to read my mind and thought i was done and hit submit on me.
pornfly writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 4:48:26 PM

If my comments dont post right away
I just open a new window to see if it posted,if it did cool,i close the old window
If not i copy and paste my comment in the new window.

Hope this helps
darthraige writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 4:59:40 PM

f*ck you Hollywood.
DeVries writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 6:25:25 PM

Dafuq again ? Hollywood... I could I hate you more than now ?
Donyae 420 writes:
on April 13th, 2012 at 10:25:17 PM

Goonies sequel will have the kids grown up and their children will go on a new Goonie adventure having the original Goonies join in.No more remakes but SS with new Johnny 5 does sound kinda cool.

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved