WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gary Ross Confirms He Will NOT Direct "Hunger Games" Sequel

Posted: April 11th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gary Ross Confirms He Will NOT Direct "Hunger Games" SequelSubmit Comment
Lionsgate and director Gary Ross have been involved in some heated negotiations regarding the sequel to "The Hunger Games," called "Catching Fire." Since the first film already grossed over $460 million worldwide, Ross was reportedly expecting a significant raise in pay, but the studio hasn't been eager to oblige.

Insiders and even actor Josh Hutcherson were convinced that things would eventually work out and Ross would return for "Catching Fire." "I don't think there's a chance at all that he wouldn't do it," said Hutcherson. "Myself and Jennifer [Lawrence] and all of the other cast members loved him. I couldn't imagine making the movie without him."

But now comes word directly from Ross that he will NOT be returning. "Despite recent speculation in the media, and after difficult but sincere consideration, I have decided not to direct 'Catching Fire,'" he said. "As a writer and a director, I simply donít have the time I need to write and prep the movie I would have wanted to make because of the fixed and tight production schedule. And contrary to what has been reported, negotiations with Lionsgate have not been problematic."

"Catching Fire" is set to begin shooting this fall and will then hit theaters on November 22nd, 2013. Lionsgate is now searching for Ross' replacement.

Source: Lionsgate


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 2:55:58 AM

Regardless who directs it,chics will still flock like lemmings to see it
johnny_boy writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 3:01:49 AM

Who gives a flying f*ck?!
Wallace writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 3:11:48 AM

Yes, go fast track a movie, change the director, get Ratner or Campbell and lose money for doing so.
pornfly writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 3:40:27 AM

Let BANDO direct
Itll still make$$$
Avirex writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 4:47:40 AM

Maybe the next director will actually use a tripod or something so the camera isn't f*cking shaking uncontrollably like Michael J. Fox is operating it.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 6:05:38 AM

The studio take a note from the director and also not come back.
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 6:24:30 AM

i can see this is the new gay twilight
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 8:11:47 AM

Pornfly- Couldn't have said it better myself.
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 8:22:51 AM

smart move. sure he would make a ton of money for the next 2 films but he would be locked and forever be know as the man who directed Hunger games.
trailertrash writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 8:25:51 AM

^ Just like that Condom guy, Right ?!!
thomas deadison writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 9:04:27 AM

Makes sense. He can direct anything he wants!
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 9:17:16 AM

@TT

I missed the reference . please explain yourself before I write you out of my will you SON OF A BITCH!
trailertrash writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 9:22:06 AM

Big - lol

Bill Condon hasn't he directed most of the Twilight Movies !!

We still good i don't want to miss out on all porn !!
trailertrash writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 9:23:07 AM

*all that .....
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 9:39:54 AM

@ TT

correct...I now see the funny side.

you still have a place in my will........but consider yourself on double secret probation
NotAmerican writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 9:42:12 AM

For a movie that could easily have turned into "the new Twilight" I think Ross and his team have turned the Hunger Games into a movie that distinguishes itself from Twilight by being smart, genuinely entertaining and not making romance its primary objective. One can only hope that he is replaced by someone who will ensure that distinction is kept.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 9:55:51 AM

Let German sensation Uwe Boll direct.or Renny harlin so he can cast bodybuilder Val kilmer

I will never be involved in a movie with Lenny kravitz,unless is his daughter taking it in all 3 holes
bandolero999 writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 10:20:33 AM

And woody harrelson shame on you for picking poor projects,as well as appearing in a Justin Timberlake movie being a homosexual character.I rather see a cowboy way sequel any day.
trailertrash writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 10:22:21 AM

................................................................. Double secret probation !!

blumpkin4 writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 10:25:27 AM

i gues you could say the director was.............full?
j-man writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 10:35:22 AM

Hunger Games was sh*t!
@avirex
Agreed mate! I dont see how directors rewatch scees like that and go, 'yea we got a great shot'.....its fckin rediculus
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 10:52:30 AM

Yeah, they can probably replace him with whoever. Directing these movies is a cash-for-grab work, no effort required and maximum payout.
And normally I'm not bothered with shaky-cam, if it's motivated by story or is a fast-paced movie. 'Hunger Games' is neither.
rocketman writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 11:11:26 AM

Gary Ross Confirms He Will NOT Direct "Hunger Games" Sequel

Rocketman confirms he couldn't give a f*ck if he tried.
Bullit writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 11:24:36 AM

@Rocket: Haha, DIDDO!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 12:09:15 PM

Losing this guy can only help the sequel. I just saw HG last night after taking a few days to read the book and wasn't very impressed. The film changes and assumes way too much and pretty much cuts all of the heart out of the story and the characters. The acting is almost as weak and vapid as Twilight with the slight exception of a mildy capable performance from Jennifer Lawrence. Its not her fault, she didn't have much to work with and the director obviously didn't seem to care. The idiot they got to play Peeta was a complete strikeout. The directing and editing were extremely amateur, only slightly above the level of a Sci-fi Chan Megashark movie. How disappointing, the book was pretty entertaining.
Burn Me Long Time writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 12:12:38 PM

My whole life is now in utter f*cking shambles.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 12:21:18 PM

Replace him with someone who gives a sh*t about the material. Its like this guy just through some sh*t together at the last minute and released it because he knew its following would sell out the BO anyway regardless of the film's quality.

Oh and spend more than $50 on the CGI and cinematography this time. You know its gonna make a killing at the BO again, but don't get so greedy and cheap on the budget. Make a real film, not this after school special bullsh*t.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 12:24:51 PM

"threw" sorry
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 3:43:25 PM

I think Ross and his team have turned the Hunger Games into a movie that distinguishes itself from Twilight by being smart, genuinely entertaining and not making romance its primary objective.

NotAmerican- Was you watching some other film called the Hunger Games? The one I watched was easily the dumbest, least entertaining, unnecessarily romantic, worst acted films I've seen in years. They needed to make a film about killing people an 18 and f*ck sh*t up properly. Not do all this gay Disney sh*t where the bad guys have one dimension and you're supposed to not really care when they get killed. They sold out by trying to make "The Next Twilight" I'm sure someone from the studio even said it.
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 4:48:06 PM

@cinema 100% agree with you with all there profit they are going to make this the next twilight
Bullit writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 4:54:55 PM

^ ^ Really? How the f*ck do you know?
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 6:05:08 PM

@Sac: I agreed with pretty much else you said, but this:

"The directing and editing were extremely amateur"

I don't, not because it's entirely wrong, but when I think extremely amateur, Starship Troopers 2 comes to mind. That has to be one of the worst shot, worst acted, worst edited films to have ever be put to film.
witwicky-potter writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 6:14:32 PM

Really enjoyed the first one.oh well
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 6:15:00 PM

Ok, I'm here now for a bit. Everyone can run home.
Gunslinger writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 6:23:48 PM

A sequel. Great. Now all you douchebags out there are gonna say that it's just gonna be a rip-off of the Battle Royalle sequel...
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 6:27:53 PM

@bullit dont push it
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 6:33:34 PM

Another Hunger Games? It's just gonna be a rip-off of the Battle Royalle sequel...
blahbla writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 10:34:42 PM

Thank the baby Jesus he's not back, the shaky cam ruined this movie.
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 3:08:47 AM

Mink - lol ....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved