WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Simpsons" Creator Finally Reveals Springfield Location

Posted: April 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Simpsons" Creator Finally Reveals Springfield LocationSubmit Comment
Everyone knows that "The Simpsons" takes place in a town called Springfield. But ever since the first episode of the show, it was never revealed which state the Simpsons family actually lives in. In fact, that became a bit of a joke, with characters often contradicting each other regarding the location.

Now for the first time, "The Simpsons" creator Matt Groening revealed the specific town the show is based on. "Springfield was named after Springfield, Oregon," he said. "The only reason is that when I was a kid, the TV show 'Father Knows Best' took place in the town of Springfield, and I was thrilled because I imagined that it was the town next to Portland, my hometown. When I grew up, I realized it was just a fictitious name. I also figured out that Springfield was one of the most common names for a city in the US. In anticipation of the success of the show, I thought, 'This will be cool; everyone will think itís their Springfield.' And they do."

And this is the reason why Groening never confirmed where the town is located. "I don't want to ruin it for people," he continued. "Whenever people say it's Springfield, Ohio, or Springfield, Massachusetts, or Springfield, wherever, I always go, 'Yup, that's right.'"

Source: SmithsonianMag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 8:14:45 PM

"I don't want to ruin it for people,"

12 years too late on that one, Groening.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 8:17:09 PM

I would have thought Detroit
bandolero999 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 8:17:40 PM

I grew up and I stopped caring
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 8:27:23 PM

I get the feeling Groening is already beginning to write this show's obituary. Anyone else, or do you see The Simpsons going on for another 20-something seasons? I'll wager FOX cancels it within five years.
saddison13 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 8:35:15 PM

He didn't reveal its location, he just revealed why he called it Springfield. Damn headlines, what if I had actually cared?
KM579 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 8:44:22 PM

In the Simpsons Episode "Behind The Laughter" they say something along the lines of... 'For this family that resides in this Northern Kentucky Town" ????
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 8:50:45 PM

This is what he means:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield

They are legion.

Also, in GI JOE: A real American Hero, Cobra Commander was said to be from Springfield USA for this very same reason.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cobra_Command#Bases
elrei writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 8:54:02 PM

I only watch the Halloween's specials.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 9:00:17 PM

Should have died a decade ago
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 9:11:39 PM

Other than the movie 5 years ago, I haven't seen the show in what 15 years or so. Stopped being funny a long time ago.
Casper writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 10:54:21 PM

I'm pretty sure that at the end of the "Behind the Laughter" episode the narrator says "this Northern Kentucky family", implying that they're from Kentucky. All this article says is that Groening named the show after a town that he thought was near his own as a kid. They are from Kentucky, and he doesn't even know it because he doesn't write for this show anymore.
Casper writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 10:56:50 PM

Narr.: The Simpsons' bitter past was forgotten, and now the future looks
brighter than ever for this northern Kentucky (*) family.
[(*) Replaced with "southern Missouri" on subsequent airings;

Taken from the script for the episode I was talking about.
pornfly writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 11:24:12 PM

Duh
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 12:33:30 AM

And the greatest mystery finally solved!

And mink, i think the simpsons will go strong for at least another 5 lol but not much longer, was my fav Kids show growing up :P Best seasons where 1-15 i love those re runs, although the newers ones arent THAT bad either..
Wallace writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 3:04:12 AM

Misleading title, WP. He only says why its called Springfield. Guess I cant expect serious journalism from this blog anyway.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 6:03:46 AM

Don't give two sh*ts!
darthraige writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 8:29:43 AM

Yea, right. No f*cking way am I comparing The Simpsons Springfield to the sh*t hole in Massachusetts.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 5:59:41 PM

People were actually curious where Springfield was?...Real people wondering about cartoons location on a real map?


Some have just too much time on their hands...
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 6:17:34 PM

The title is misleading, but I think everyone here, save the usual suspects, unedrstand what is being said. Springfield of the Simpsons is derived on Groening's home town, but it isn't situated anywhere within the US specifically because Matt realized that there's nearly one Springfield per each state, so that way, the Simpsons Springfield is everyone's Springfield, regardless of the state in which that person lives.

Case closed.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved