WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Wanted Tom Hardy as Sandman and Sean Penn as Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Dec 22nd, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Director Says There's No Script, Release Date or Green Light
Dec 22nd, 2014
"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" Bomb
Dec 22nd, 2014
Two Posters for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 22nd, 2014
Photos: Better Look at Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Dec 21st, 2014
First Look at "Sisters" Comedy, Re-Teaming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer: Sex Has Terrible Consequences in "It Follow" Horror Film
Dec 21st, 2014
New Photo From Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer for Sarah Michelle Gellar's "Veronika Decides to Die" Thriller
Dec 21st, 2014
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Donald Glover on His "The Amazing Spider-Man" Easter Egg

Posted: April 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Donald Glover on His "The Amazing Spider-Man" Easter EggSubmit Comment
Director Marc Webb previously revealed that he included an Easter Egg in "The Amazing Spider-Man" referencing how fans rallied around "Community" actor Donald Glover to convince Sony to cast him as the lead in the movie and make him the first black Spider-Man. The role eventually went to Andrew Garfield.

MTV now caught up with Glover, who said: "I was pretty aware of the Easter egg that Marc Webb put in there because he asked me — I guess when they were filming it — if it was OK to do it. So there's some stuff in Spider-Man's bedroom that's reflective of his musical or television taste."

He went on to say that he can't discuss the Easter Egg. "I don't know. I'm not allowed to talk about it. I had to sign some stuff, but I think it's pretty dope," he explained.

Click here to read more about "The Amazing Spider-Man."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 5:12:06 AM

"i think its pretty dope"

Thx WP
pornfly writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 5:13:04 AM

And now you know
SeWerin writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 5:22:41 AM

Troy and Abed in the moooooorning!

Community is for me one of the best shows on tv right now. It's funny, genius and meta with great humor and characters. I would say it's there right up with Arrested Development (maybe even better - still can't decide)

Anyway about this easter egg, Peter Parker will probably have poster of the rap star Childish Gambino which is Donald Glover alter ego.
japaninmotion writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 6:06:20 AM

I think he would have been a god PP
bandolero999 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 7:36:52 AM

This guy is still crying cause he wanted to be the first brack spider man?jeeeeez
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 9:14:46 AM

I like "Easter Eggs" they are like a quid each in Asdas.
Kurskij writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 9:20:28 AM

So I guess that's not what they meant when it was first announced that Spider-man reboot will go towards "dark roots".
NotAmerican writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 9:36:17 AM

I think a cameo of Glover as Miles Morales (the first Black/Latino Spider-Man in the comics) would have been cooler than "some stuff in Spider-Man's bedroom".
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 9:58:33 AM

It is the year 2012, and the treacherous Hollywood liberals are still treating blacks like f*cking pets.

Either give the dude a f*cking movie, or f*ck off, Hollywood, because I am growing increasingly angered watching you liberal hypocrites snub black actors, only to give them token appreciation to assuage your f*cking white guilt.

Having said that, Glover looks very gay in that skin tight shirt.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 10:02:10 AM

^^ I totally agree. Great self reference & planting the seed to the audience of possibly more changes to come in the Spiderman Universe.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 10:10:00 AM

It coulda been Danny Gover in his own spidey movie.
velocityknown writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 12:35:41 PM

@bandolero

Way to read the article, he's not crying about anything, he's saying he thinks it's cool he has an Easter Egg feature in the film

It's almost definitely going to be a Childish Gambino CD.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 12:38:13 PM

My question would be why the f*ck would anyone ever support the idea of a black Spiderman? Then how about supporting a black Superman, a black Batman, a black Wonder Woman, a black Thor, a black Hulk (would Hulk be dark green? Or black?)... All of these permutations would look pretty f*cking stupid since their creators never envisioned them as such. These are WHITE HEROES - get over it! Now there are some characters which have created black sub-characters like Green Lantern's John Stewart. And there are 100% black comic book characters like Blade, Falcon, Black Panther and Luke Cage. Funny you don't see any white actors trying to become Blade 4? And could you imagine the outrage that would ensue if there were a white actor trying to star in the reboot of Malcolm X?

Regarding this Easter Egg, maybe Peter Parker shoots his load onto the poster of rap star Childish Gambino.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 1:29:34 PM

White Malcolm x would be epic
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 1:43:50 PM

^^ F*ck yeah, I'd watch that!! LOL
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 2:48:18 PM

White malcom x played by hugh grant
N8R writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 3:22:51 PM

The problem I see with casting a white Malcolm X is that Malcolm was a real guy whereas Spider-Man was not. Casting white people as Jesus... is debatable since there's as much proof he existed as there is that Spider-Man exists.

A white Uncle Reemus in a remake of Song of the South... fair game.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 3:24:25 PM

"I think it's pretty dope."

Charlie Sheen likes pretty dope. Who the hell likes ugly dope?
witwicky-potter writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 3:30:45 PM

A black guy can never play a white character.Am black but even i am against such.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:23:59 PM

I only like the spiderman comic books,not the movies.except for the first one.and not the dominican spiderman.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:30:21 PM

I think this debate of using a black actor playing a white character (or vice versa) goes towards what maybe considered acceptable as far as the historical accuracy, the collective memory and canon of the original source material (yes, I like and expect my Uncle Reemus to be black). Fictional characters such as Spider-Man have always been portrayed as white. This is not a White Supremist thing, this is fact. Interesting enough, very recently Comic writer Brian Michael Bendis dabbled with the idea of making Spidey black. I personally favor the idea just as I wouldn't like it, if say, Sam Worthington were to play the next Blade (I think this would be sh*t, but just using Worthington by example). Some things you just don't do.

Putting this debate into proper context, the rally was to allow Glover to audition for the role. But landing the role is a whole different Contractual game. Why would one audition for the part if you weren’t serious about taking the gig? Or was this simply a social networking stunt to see how far a black actor could push conventional boundaries of well known source material?

The Easter Egg is a token to Glover and the fans that rally in support of him to become the Web-slinger. And why not, it costs next to nothing to insert his face on a wall poster or CD jacket and will almost surely buy those extra movie seats from Glover-lovers.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:33:18 PM

Correction:

...I personally don't favor the idea...
johnny_boy writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 5:43:28 PM

@Mr. Blonde-Great posts. I agree with all you said. You said all that needed to be said. You really owned this thread.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 5:43:55 PM

f*cking stupid....enough spider man reboots
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 5:56:50 PM

@Mr. Blonde: People innovate on stories. Stephen King took classic tropes and altered them to suit his purposes as have all authors throughout time, and in fact one of the time-honored aspects of civilization is the adaptation of stories from one culture to another.

You say that Spiderman is white because the creators made him white. And? Plenty has been changed with respect to the Marvel character over the years, aspects far more ingrained and important than merely his skin color, so why is it acceptable to modify his 'classic origins' but it's immediately verboten to alter his race?

Jews adopted and changed Sumerian myths, Romans did the same with Greek tales of comedy and tragedy, Christians altered and converted pagan customs and religions.

If we can accept those changes, celebrate them, admit that our culture is that much richer for those alterations, then surely adapting Spiderman by making him black (and we're talking about comic books here, not works of high literature) isn't unacceptable.

No matter how you spin it, it is cultural, if not racial, supremacism to refuse to accept even the notion of changing Spiderman's race.
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 6:14:12 PM

"Some things you just don't do."

That's YOUR opinion, but regardless, it runs entirely contrary to eight thousand years of human history, oral or written.
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 7:10:29 PM

Let me also add that Jesus Christ wasn't white. He was more akin to Osama bin Laden than Brad Pitt. Or Mel Gibson. But that didn't stop Christians from portraying him as some blonde-haired blue-eyed dude for 2000 years (and counting) nor has it stopped black people from portraying Christ as African.

Adaptation, innovation and improvisation. It's what keeps things fresh and the wheels of civilization rolling.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 12:35:21 AM

Childish Gambino! lol

Loved this guy in "Mystery Team"
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 1:47:33 AM

@Mink - Ok, then let's just turn Mickey Mouse white! Just kidding. I thought I’d lead off with a light hearted joke.

Sorry for getting back to this thread so late in the game. Duty called. Thanks for your posts, insightful point of view as always. And for offering your opinion, which I respect. By interconnecting this WP discussion and tracing the history of "adaptation, innovation and improvisation" thru Jewish use of Sumerian myth, Roman borrowings from Greek comedy/tragedy and Christianity which modified Pagan lore I have but one question for you. “Is there any source material that can be held sacred and left undisturbed"? I gather from your point of view, there is not, as you have brought the question of Jesus Christ white/non-white into the equation. It doesn’t get much higher than that.

Actually, in thinking about it, going one higher...perhaps Kevin Smith delivered a gender twist by making God a woman...but really Alanis Morrissette!? No one saw that one coming (Dogma for those who haven't seen it).

Sticking to the comic book discussion...

We grow and learn from source material. We build upon that source material with more of the same content with new adventures which reinforces what we have learned. This develops into our love and appreciation for the history of the character. I liken this to buying the first issue of a comic book, getting hooked and subsequently buying the next 1,000 in series. We grow and learn to be open to new ideas that deviate from the source material when these present themselves to us. We formulate our opinions, and yes this becomes my opinion as you will no doubt formulate your own. We might buy one or more of the new idea issues of a “What-If” scenario. And these may become successful in their own right and take on lives of their own. Or they may become failed experiments. History will be the tell tale sign of them all. If Black Spidey comics are around for 1,000, then a new appreciative audience will have formed from that spin-off character (pun intended). The world, and even the comic book world, thrives on reinvention and change. Perhaps Marc Webb will bring new life to the Spider Man franchise with his fresh take (Raimi did set the bar high with his first two installments). Although I have more faith in Nolan/Snyder reinterpretation of the Superman franchise.

I don’t think Hollywood is snubbing black actors. Denzel Washington, Morgan Freeman and Will Smith are of the elite A-lister crop of bankable black actors. As a good example on this topic, I think Smith’s turn at playing Robert Neville in I Am Legend was great, and IMHO better than Heston (yes, the CGI mutants looked oddly disconnected from the live action which I’m sure you could speak more to on that technical subject matter). Smith really delivered a solid performance making us feel his sense of loss, isolation, depression, determination, madness and salvation. Smith enriched the character of Richard Matheson’s Neville further than Heston. Smith brought a range of sensitivities and emotions as an actor who is often typecasted as a wise-ass with one liners (which he will reprise with MIB3). I hope by way of example, that you understand I am not racist.

I do think that there is certain source material that people still hold sacred. And a viral stunt, as successful as the campaign may have been (I understand even Stan Lee signed on Glover’s side), would barely put a dent into the Hollywood decision making process to casting the next Spider-Man. That is just the cold reality of it. And it remains my opinion.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 1:50:01 AM

@Johnny-Boy - Thanks for the kind words.

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved