WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ben Kingsley May Play Villain in "Iron Man 3"

Posted: April 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ben Kingsley May Play Villain in "Iron Man 3"Submit Comment
Ben Kingsley is in talks to play a villain in Marvel's third "Iron Man" film. According to THR, it's not clear what role he'll play, but he won't be the main villain.

Despite the fact that director Shane Black (Kiss Kiss Bang Bang) had previously stated that he will not use the Mandarin, going as far as calling him a "racist caricature," THR says that there's a chance the character will appear in the film and Kingsley may play him.

To make the Mandarin less of a "Caricature," the villains classic traits may end up being merged with a nanotechnological virus seen in a comic book version storyline, called "Extremis," that "Iron Man 3" is rumored to be based on.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 5:11:04 AM

I wonder if Black will be following a certain comic book plot or arc? I think I read they're not going to do the Mandarin with his "magical rings"....maybe after the AVENGERS, but really doubt it.

I also just hope they make Kingsley a badass like in SEXYBEAST or something similar. That'd be pretty awesome. I'd definitely watch that...at the movie theatre
EarOne writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 6:43:50 AM

No, he will not play Mandarin...he doesn't even look chinese..nope, black won't make the same mistake as favreau did by casting Shaun Toub as a non-chinese guy with a very chinese-sounding name, Yinsen.

Naaa...Ben's character would be named either The Arabic, or the Taliban.
markoz writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 7:58:05 AM

He'll play Guru Tugginmypudda
markoz writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 8:00:50 AM

Don't you just hate it when they call those rings magical?
pornfly writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 8:06:04 AM

MINK

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1175415/My-father-Zodiac-killer--I-tagged-Police-investigate-new-claims-chilling-U-S-murders.html
Sonic writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 8:06:24 AM

@EarOne Yinsen in the 2008 film is from Afghanistan.
trailertrash writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 8:25:59 AM

"I f*cked Jackie. Dirty cow. During what we were doing, she tried to stick her finger up my bum. I nearly hit the roof, you can imagine. I mean, what have you got to think of a woman who'd want to do that?"
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 9:23:43 AM

Great!!

Now I can't watch the movie.
Kurskij writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 9:28:16 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xmoApbjQKd4&feature=related

Making Ray f*cking Winston uncomfortable... great movie.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1C00TFbDe_A

^ Best scene in London Boulevard.
trailertrash writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 9:31:47 AM

CelluloidMan

Sexy Beast I should totally love this movie, A British Gangster film with a truly Awesome cast.

But i was really disappointed with it, Seemed really slow and in fact never really got going until the last 15 minutes or so and by then i really didn't care what was going on.

It's saving grace is Ben Kingsley man that guy totally ripped it up as Logan, One of his best performances IMO

The Limey with Terence Stamp directed by Soderbergh came out about the same time, A much better film i thought.
trailertrash writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 9:50:17 AM

Kurskij

Don't know if you have seen Sc*m ??

This my friend is Ray Winstone's finest 2 minutes on film ever !!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yn7o35NcJwo
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 10:06:17 AM

Hopefully he'll be a better villan than what he was in Prince of Persia.
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 10:32:52 AM

^Please do not mention that film ever again. I'm still paying a Russian shrink to have memories of Prince of Persia excoriated from my bleeding brain. Thank you.

House of Sand and Fog was great, btw, and I prefer Kingsley as something more approaching the good guy, not the villain. I think with that Ming the Merciless looking face, he's getting typecast as a villain anyway so maybe he should do some more sympathetic characters before it's too late.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 10:41:51 AM

@tt

Ray Winstone is definetly the daddy....end of.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 10:56:27 AM

Mink- lol
Džeko writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 12:06:59 PM

He was brilliant in Sexy Beast.
bane writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 1:02:59 PM





if this bad guy
is half as brilliant
as the character
he played in SEXY BEAST

this will be amazing
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 1:20:01 PM

House of Sand and Fog rocked. Kingsley was amazing and could play any ethnicity. He has a quiet intensity about him. I hope they give Kingsley sufficient material so he could flex his acting chops as Mandarin. One film I felt he underperformed was Species where instead of an effective leader, he came off as a whiny bitch. At least Natasha Henstridge's tits were awesome.
Maacho writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 1:34:09 PM

And the main villain?
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 1:49:51 PM

^^George Zimmerman.
DeVries writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 1:50:00 PM

Oh and I guess Rourke's caracter in Iron Man 2 wasn't a racist caricatur ? f*ck you to hell, Jon Favreau.
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 2:05:04 PM

Shane Black sounds like an *sshole. Racist caricature? Who told him that? The studio, which of course doesn't want to offend the huge Chinese film market?

Seems like 2012 is the year to lose respect for people involved with film. First Chuck "I'll break your back by breathing" Norris and now Shane "Witty Action Film Dialogue Maker Turned Politically Correct p*ssy" Black.

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/ben-kingsley-iron-man-3-robert-downey-jr-jon-favreau-309693

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/joshw24/news/?a=49135
Rambo writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 3:10:19 PM

he was awesome in 'sexy beast'.
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 3:14:35 PM

Don't know if this has been mentioned or not, but Kingsley was awesome in Sexy Beast.

Anyone agree?
KillerCOck writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 3:39:48 PM

hahaha He Was more bad ass in Ghandi!

the article mentioned sh*t about nanotech, I think he's going to play the Wizard just based on that.

Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:00:28 PM

@Mink – Re: Racist caricature...

My view, Black is correct in calling the traditional image of The Mandarin a “racist caricature” as this is a throwback to the Fu Manchu look. This would be a caricature of a villain with a long thin moustache, exaggerated Vulcan-like eyebrows, long dagger-like finger nails, flowing purple robes, sitting high on a golden gild throne chair and high on opium. No one dresses or carries themselves like that anymore. A very outdated look since The Mandarin was created in 1964 when the Chinese were stereotypically viewed this way. And they would be right to pursue the Iron Man Extremis storyline involving nanotechnological virus. I don’t think Black is a p*ssy, rather I think he is making The Mandarin more realistic and accessible to today’s expectations. Another thing to consider is the Asian film market is a huge box office draw. Take it from me, as one who has stood in Hong Kong cinema lines during blockbuster opening weekends. Thus it would bode well to consider how other foreign markets/cultures might view something that is "yesterday's news".

Just looked up on Wiki and note The Mandarin is of mixed heritage with father a descendent of Genghis Khan and mother of English Nobility. So if they decide to go non-Asian, then Kingsley would be a good choice as he has played Indian, Iranian, Jewish etc. He is one of few actors who is believable in any ethnic character.

Yes, Sexy Beast was awesome.
trailertrash writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:09:14 PM

Mr Blonde

Sexy Beast was crap, Ben Kingsley was Awesome (has that been mentioned today yet?) IMO
bandolero999 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:17:56 PM

Sexy beast is overrated and dissapointing.lots of talking and very little action.it was Ben kingsley calling ray Winstone a fat c*nt for an hour long then he gets killed.

dangerlips writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:25:53 PM

Wow spoiler alert Bando!!!
dangerlips writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:27:27 PM

@Trailertrash way to completely rip-off Minkowski's unfunny joke
bandolero999 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:34:40 PM

Yea whoops.is an okay movie.that airport scene is retarded
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:35:57 PM

@TT - yes, Kingsley was awesome in Sexy Beast.
trailertrash writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:36:22 PM

dave- He sure is pal ....
dangerlips writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:37:00 PM

Trailertrash is the Asylum version of Minkowski... I just thought of that!
trailertrash writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:38:40 PM

Mr Blonde - sure was bud

Sneakers with Redford was another good Kingsley movie also.
dangerlips writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:42:16 PM

So was the love guru
rocketman writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 4:43:30 PM

Hope he says spunk bubble again
trailertrash writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 5:03:12 PM

lol
Blumpkin3 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 5:03:52 PM

very true danger, Kingsley hasnt been in a good movies since the Love Guru. probly his best role since Ghandi!
johnny_boy writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 5:51:51 PM

Great choice. And I am with everyone here he was a bad ass in Sexy Beast. Bring it on.
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 6:11:28 PM

@Mr. Blonde: you're a study in contradictions today. First you refuse to accept even the notion of Spiderman ever being played by a black actor, which is a racist attitude imo, but then you say that a silly Fu Manchu stereotype, which can hardly be said to blanket denigrate Chinese, who by the way aren't a race under any definition, especially now that most biologists doubt the notion of race actually even exists is in fact racist.

I'm pretty sure you have things backwards.

Regardless, all you said regarding Mandarin is total speculation, spun by essentially one sentence by a stranger over at the Hollywood Reporter, which in turn is based on nothing more than his or her opinion Mandarin will appear, which then when dovetailed with Black's statements that Mandarin is a 'racist caricature', which by the way then makes all caricatures inherently demeaning, you and others then further speculate that Black's going to do this or he's going to do that, when in reality neither you nor WP nor THR, nor myself for that matter, have any clue as to who or what will provide Iron Man a nemesis, so until it is confirmed, at the very least all your opinon-making will have to shelved.

Furthermore, the very article above undercuts your premise. It says Kingsley is in talks, not that he has been hired, and his role is not that of the main villain; unfortunately, people have tried to insert Kingsley into this franchise, playing Mandarin, for quite some time, so it's no surprise that news of negotiations has increased internet speculation, which almost always baseless and wrong, he'll play Mandarin, even though Mandarin would likely be a 'main villain', and Kingsley is far too old imo to play off a powerful, relatively young character like Iron Man. Even in Spiderman 1 and 2, Dafoe and Molina were relatively vital, while Kingsley is ancient.
dangerlips writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 6:16:05 PM

NHL Playoffs got me feeling extra horny!!!
Blumpkin3 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 6:21:30 PM

lol mink accusing someone of being racist. i guess its true what they say, It takes one to know one. But i agree with blondee no black spidey, he already has a black suit, isnt that enough?
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 7:15:03 PM

"Kingsley would be a good choice as he has played Indian, Iranian, Jewish etc."

I can accept all of that, yes, but Chinese is stretching it, because even if Mandarin is half-white half-black, genetically speaking the epicanthic fold is largely dominant. Kingsley clearly lacks that mongoloid trait, thus ruining the illusion in my eyes (pun intended).

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090530184746AASE4pG
Blumpkin3 writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 7:28:13 PM

im sure robert downey will help him discover the character, i mean downey did a heck of a job pulling off a black man. as long as kingsley doesnt go full retard, he should have no problem pulling it off
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 11th, 2012 at 2:49:19 AM

@Mink -

"Black's going to do this or he's going to do that, when in reality neither you nor WP nor THR, nor myself for that matter, have any clue as to who or what will provide Iron Man a nemesis, so until it is confirmed, at the very least all your opinon-making will have to shelved".

You know, just as well as the rest of us, WP forums are for sharing opinions. We may offer them, strike agreements towards becoming popular opinion, have them bashed and with those on the extreme polar end of the spectrum (who insist on firing insults without any form of substantiations especially on knowing the sexual preferrences of our mothers) become the ongoing joke subjected to becoming gang butt f*cked where warranted. It is fair game on this board. Respectfully, my opinion counts just as much as yours. It is fun to speculate, we all do it as a great distraction from daily routines. And we can do so within reason. I expect you will be here a long time to keep us within check.

I believe I presented why Mandarin would be considered a "racist caricature". This is due to the classic traits associated with The Mandarin which I listed as traits of the past when the character was envisioned in the 60s. Would "outdated caricature" suit you better?

THR article:
http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/ben-kingsley-iron-man-3-robert-downey-jr-jon-favreau-309693

THR picked up on this stating "The update will be necessary. The Mandarin, a Chinese ruler who worked with the communists, was introduced in 1963 -- a different era from today when China is one of the world's most important film markets".

Calling me as a racist is not correct. Realist more likely.
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on April 12th, 2012 at 4:21:47 PM

It will most likely be a cross of The Mandarin /Count_Nefaria. And Madame Masque as a rival love interest

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved