WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"American Reunion" and "Titanic 3D" Can't Beat "The Hunger Games" at Box Office

Posted: April 8th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"American Reunion" and "Titanic 3D" CanSubmit Comment
The fourth "American Pie" film, called "American Reunion," wasn't able to surpass "The Hunger Games" at the domestic box office and had to settle for second place with slightly under $22 million.

The film grossed another $19 million for a worldwide debut of $41 million. It cost only $50 million to make, which means that Universal Pictures is on its way to make a profit, despite a lousy 44% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"The Hunger Games" has remained in first place for the last three weeks and has now surpassed the $300 million mark domestically. Globally the film has already brought in $460 million on a $78 million budget.

The other wide release of the weekend was the 3D re-release of James Cameron's "Titanic." The conversion process cost $18 million, and the movie has already grossed $17.4 million domestically and another $35.5 million overseas. While these are impressive numbers, "Titanic 3D" earned less than 3D re-releases of "The Lion King" ($30.1 million), "Beauty and the Beast" ($17.8 million) and "Star Wars: Episode I" ($22.5 million).

Click here to read our "American Reunion" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on April 8th, 2012 at 10:50:49 PM

Why didn't you write how much the hunger games made if they took first again in week 3?
The Derp Knight writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 2:12:40 AM

What do you mean American Reunion ONLY cost $50? They paid the actors next to nothing. How the hell did this movie cost 20 million more than Bridesmaids?
Rambo writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 2:26:12 AM

it will make a lot of money overseas plus DVD sales it will have a decent profit...pretty sure they'll make number 5 since all actors there are losers and need the money
trailertrash writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 3:12:02 AM

despite a lousy 44% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

But an 8/10 on WP Doesn't that count for anything Alex ?
trailertrash writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 3:15:05 AM

Has anyone seen American Reunion yet, Any good ?

The wanking into a sock to porn looked like a series low point to me from the trailer
Rambo writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 3:15:41 AM

guess even Alex doesn't give a sh*t aboout DP reviews
Johnnyb writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 3:25:23 AM

Well it seems that is not anymore 1997 again..... Thanks god that Cameron re-release remains in the deep. Enough for the moment of this ego man until Avatar 2 or any production that this guy is involved it!!!!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 9:12:47 AM

About the only film I wanna see is "American Reunion"
brandonegc writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 9:56:47 AM

American Reunion is a solid 7/10. It's very funny, but the problems with American Reunion is that it seamlessly fits into the series. Nothing really distinguishes it other than the fact other than the 9 year gap. If they make an fifth flick, I hope they come up with a different plot. Make the next one American Christmas (like Christmas Vaction, not Harold & Kumar) or a road trip movie.
JakeVermont writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 10:44:20 AM

wow didnt know Hunger Games performed that well, I dont know if I will check out American Reunion in the theathre though. The problem with comedys is that the jokes are really funny when you watch it in its original language. I recently watched the first american pie movies in english, I only knew them in german before, and they are like 10 times funnier in english. but I guess people who dont know about that fact just dont care and go watch it. most germans speak absolutely no english.


guess I have to wait for the BD release then...
nawtnt writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 2:11:53 PM

Two reasons why Titainc 3D earned less than other 3D re-release movies:

1. People didn't bother to go because everyone watched it 15 years ago.

2. Why re-release a movie when the audience knows what happened to the ship.

James Cameron should have re-release Terminator 2 in 3D, I mean the movie has awesome action scenes and the special effects were amazing or make Avatar 2 or either return to the Terminator movie series like Ridley Scott did with Alien series by making Prothnemus.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 2:34:42 PM

"James Cameron should have re-release Terminator 2 in 3D"

Now THAT would have been awesome, not that 3D does anything for me.

Too bad Jimmy has this thalassophilia thing going on:

http://genotopia.scienceblog.com/9/scientists-find-gene-for-love-of-the-sea-2/

That and Titanic made him "King of the World".
vincere01 writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 3:33:55 PM

As far as american reunion. I saw it over the weekend. I must say i was slightly dissapointed. It was a good movie dont get me wrong, i did enjoy it(and would pay 3 timez as much to se it instead of titanic that night). While some of it was exactly what i was expecting some was not. And sometimes thats good or bad. Acting was good(except for tara reid) and plenty of raunchy jokes/nudity. I thought the actors playing the teenagers were horrible at theyre jobs(except for the neighbor girl kara but again that could be because i saw her naked....lol) while the overall story was really good, good balance and not overly focused on the school reunion. Some parts were underutilized. Some characters they brought back were barely there. John cho was a great example. His part was bigger, had a point to it. But they brought back tara reid, shannon elizabeth, and the sherminator for such little amount of time(one scene each for last two) that it gave no benifet to the movie. They should have either made them bigger parts or just left them out altogether because they were pointless. Thats the bad. Everything else was great. Actually pretty good character development. All main characters got more to do, more depth. It was better than part 2, on par with part 3 and just shy of part one. So in closing. If you are a fan of the series...definitly worth a viewing because there is alot there for fans.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 4:06:50 PM

I don't care what any of you say, American Reunion was really good, funny as hell and stayed true to the original Trilogy. Very good and funny movie 5 f*cking stars
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 4:07:27 PM

@vincere: You should try breaking up your comments into smaller chunks, because even though I enjoy reading your comments the large unbroken block of text in which you use to format your comments gives me a headache (no lie).

Anyway, not trying to be a d*ck, and perhaps I'm the only one that feels this way, but the advice I'm giving to you, handed down to me years ago in a far less polite manner, has served me well and made my opinions ever so slightly more readable.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 4:11:35 PM

@Brandoegc

Thank you! i was with a bunch of friends discussing a fifth film and how they could make one. me saying that the reunion was most likely the last thing the writers could make to get them all together. Even though they said they "Should do this every year" i felt like this was the end.

but i really like the idea of a Christmas film! they have never done one revolving around Christmas time. I honestly hope they make that now lol
Barney Stinson writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 7:24:11 PM

American Reunion - 7.5/10

Pretty funny and if you've seen the first three then you know what to expect.

Also, Ali Cobrin's boobs in American Reunion - 10/10
Rambo writes:
on April 9th, 2012 at 9:54:02 PM

saw it tonight...i give it 4 out 10...it had some funny moments but overall it was quite flat and cheesy...I would recommend to wait for dvd...I think 'American pie 2' was the best in the ftanchise.
TRUEMAN writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 9:03:18 AM

TITANIC 3D WHAT THAT f*ck? HUNGER GAMES WHAT THAT f*ck! AMERICAN GAYUNION? PURE ORIGINAL OPENINGS, very good HOllywood keep milking the cow i will keep downloading the sh*t and not paying a cent for your crappy remakes, reboot, retake, redo all that resh*t!
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2012 at 11:45:42 AM

@trueman: I download most of my movies these days, not because I'm a cheap bastard but because there's no competing service for people who don't want to collect a bunch of discs. Most of the movies I have downloaded, newer films, aren't worth any money anyway.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved