WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Mummy" Reboot is Officially in the Works

Posted: April 4th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Mummy" Reboot is Officially in the WorksSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures is moving forward with a reboot of "The Mummy" franchise and has hired Jon Spaihts (Prometheus, The Darkest Hour) to write the script. Sean Daniel, who produced all three "Mummy" films and "The Scorpion King," will return.

Story details are being kept a secret, but Spaihts hinted: "I see it as the sort of opportunity I had with 'Prometheus': to go back to a franchise's roots in dark, scary source material and simultaneously open it up to an epic scale we haven't seen before."

Brendan Fraser's 1999 movie "The Mummy" grossed $415 million worldwide and was outperformed by its 2001 sequel "The Mummy Returns," which took in $433 million globally. The 2002 "Scorpion King" spin-off only grossed $165 million. But when Fraser return for "The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor," the 2008 film grossed $401 million, indicating that there was still plenty of interest left in the franchise.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 8:10:25 PM

the mummy returns was amazing...i already think that i wont like whoever they pick to replace brendan fraser
pornfly writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 8:12:15 PM

Bout time,the only reason those made so much was because they were made for kids
minkowski writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 8:26:50 PM

I think the only thing I couldn't stand about the first three was Fraser. That guy has goofy written into his DNA.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 8:28:30 PM

Dear god! Does that mean we gotta suffer a Scorpion King reboot as well?
pornfly writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 8:37:04 PM

Kelly Hu couldnt even make me see that^
minkowski writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 8:40:50 PM

Kelly who??
Wallace writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 8:45:33 PM

Here wo go again...
Wallace writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 8:48:11 PM

It could work without him, although he was a big plus in at least the first two installments.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 8:53:45 PM

The first two Fraser films are gold.
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 8:54:03 PM

Is there no more creativity in Hollywood anymore? What a bunch parasitic leeches.
minkowski writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 8:59:44 PM

"Is there no more creativity in Hollywood anymore?"

Yeah, it's now called 'Ninja Turtles'.

*facepalm*
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 9:13:02 PM

That's just plain stupid... NO WAY can they make money on this without having Fraser in it, why would they not just make another sequel like the last one? I'd watch that.. And im sure plenty of other people would as well, this isn't spider-man...

Honestly.. Just make a 4th.. its the only way to make any REAL money.
OneTime writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 9:41:20 PM

i want to stalk rachel weisz.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 10:43:23 PM

Why am I not surprised by this? O well it was gonna happen sooner or later.
jellyzero79 writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 11:04:27 PM

I think there needs to be a new rule in Hollywood that reboots are not allowed unless 20 years have passed since the last installment.
Damon242 writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 11:26:55 PM

Why? The mythology is pretty well explained in the first two.

I'm don't even consider The Scorpion King or the third film as entries in the saga.
mrstretch writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 11:32:29 PM

Since when did Hollywood start doing reboots ?
bandolero999 writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 11:48:37 PM

I see Chris pine,Franco,Jonah Hill,Tatum in this role.
DeVries writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 12:08:14 AM

Why the f*ck reboot that ? The first two were pretty good. f*ck you again Hollywood.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 1:06:36 AM

That's the thing about Stephen Sommers...he has great ideas for his movies, but he always has trouble with the execution. He's never able to close the deal to get the credit...to hang with big boys.

He's only exception was THE MUMMY...he got to to the sequel to it, had the oppurtunity to convince he wasn't a fluke..and then, BAM!! Nothing...

His GHOSTRIDER, GI JOE, DAREDEVIL (Spinoff)...are always mauled by the critics, but have made enough money to greenlight his movie's sequel.

As they say, "Always a bridesmaid, but never the bride...".


Donyae 420 writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 1:26:14 AM

WTF!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 1:47:45 AM

CELLULLOID you dont like Deep Rising that was a fun movie.

I hate that Van HElsing movie with Hugh Jackman he directed total cgi fest garbage.
steamluv writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 2:11:49 AM

In response to this I just watched The Mummy 3, that piece of sh*t made over $400 million dollars?!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 3:03:23 AM

Liked the first two and Scorpian King.

Never saw the fourth or any of the Scorpian King sequels or whatever they were.

So, will I see this reboot? Maybe.
Will it be any good? Doubtful.
Any chance of me being proved wrong? Yes.
Džeko writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 6:36:43 AM

The dude who wrote the script for The Darkest Hour(if you can call a complete pile of sh*t a script)wrote the script for Prometheus!?That doesn't sound good...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 6:39:20 AM

@Bando: Couldn't agree more, Deep Rising is an underrated "guilty pleasure"-gem.

I don't see why they would reboot this. Sure, the two first installments made some money, while the third was almost a flop, but this franchise has never had a real fanbase. They were fun popcorn-flicks for the time, but everyone has moved on. Just make another popcorn/CGI-extravaganza instead, Show us something new.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 9:09:03 AM

Good I'm glad I'm not the only one
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 12:54:05 PM

The Mummy doesn't need to be rebooted. I have only seen the first two installments which were good (and the Scorpion King - meh). Since they were set in the past and have decent SFX, they will likely still hold up over time. As light popcorn fare, nothing to hold a serious fanbase but something to treat young kids for weekend matinees. The Mummy series were kids version of the Indiana Jones series.

I think Hollywood should only reboot something if it was f*cked up to begin with. For example, I would like to see a reboot of the Fantastic Four. Those first two felt extremely retarded, with bad casting, bad script, and truly bastardized the character development. Sorry Galactus is not a cosmic cloud. I know, a purple giant bucket head might look gay as f*ck. But they could take some creative license to change Galactus to black, gun metal grey etc. just like Wolverine has never appeared in the movies wearing a yellow spandex outfit.
vincere01 writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 1:13:06 PM

My casting would go like this.
Frasers part- nathan fillion
Rachel weitz part- eva green
Her brother- simon pegg
Imoteb/mummy- faran tahir
Pharohs wife/mummys lover-
minkowski writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 1:17:44 PM

"just like Wolverine has never appeared in the movies wearing a yellow spandex outfit."

Shudders at the thought.
vincere01 writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 1:18:04 PM

My casting would go like this.
Frasers part- nathan fillion
Rachel weitz part- eva green
Her brother- simon pegg
Imoteb/mummy- faran tahir
Pharohs wife/mummys lover- menna fadaly
Magi leader- gokhan tepe
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 1:23:16 PM

@Bando & Freud - agree (Famke was so f*cking hot). Also included my list of other good late 90s "Sea Terrors" were Virus and Deep Blue Sea.
Jennifer I Love Hewitt writes:
on April 5th, 2012 at 9:06:08 PM

Damn! I loved the first two and just because the third wasn't as good doesn't mean it has to be rebooted. Atleast this means there won't be another Scorpion King

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved