WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Shaquille O'Neal Explains Why He Made "Kazaam"

Posted: April 3rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Shaquille OSubmit Comment
Now that Shaquille O'Neal is a commentator for the NBA on TNT, GQ magazine sat down with the former basketball player to find out about some of his past career choices, including some time spent acting and rapping.

The magazine wanted to know what he thinks about his 1996 "Kazaam" movie. "I was a medium-level juvenile delinquent from Newark who always dreamed about doing a movie," explained Shaq. "Someone said, 'Hey, here's $7 million, come in and do this genie movie.' What am I going to say, no? So I did it."

When the topic of his rap career came up, Shaq said: "It was just about opportunities and just to say that I did it. And I got to do it with some of the greatest, Jay-Z, Nas, Notorious B.I.G., Mobb Deep, Method Man, Redman. My dream was to be a rapper, go onstage, and to do a show. And I did that."

Source: GQ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
blumpkin writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 9:19:59 PM

all trolling aside, i actually had a pair of shaq kazaam shoes when i was in grade school
Barney Stinson writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 9:22:57 PM

Doesn't matter how bad the movie is, I don't blame him for making the movie and get paid $7 million for it.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 9:25:44 PM

Those were the good ol days of hiphop now is a joke.

Bwahahahaha so Shaqs paycheck was ten times larger than Chris Evans for doing Capt America?pathetic
blumpkin writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 9:29:42 PM

we mobb when we deep!
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 9:37:03 PM

I just wanna know why he made Shaq Diesel?
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 9:49:49 PM

"I just wanna know why he made Shaq Diesel?"

Probably because the name Shane Diesel was already taken.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shane_Diesel
Man in Black writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 9:58:51 PM

The money of course. 7 million for being in the scariest movie ever . ( to Carmen Electra )
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 10:50:39 PM

"basketball player to find out about some of his past career choices, including some time spent acting and raping".

FTFY. Can also be used for Kobe Bryant if he ever goes into acting.
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 10:52:22 PM

Oh I see what you did there Mink! Nice pun!
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 10:56:00 PM

Only if raping and rapping have something in common.

They do, but I can't say those kind of things on here.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 10:56:08 PM

Shaquille O'Neal Explains Why He Made "Kazaam":

Racist Answer Week (Dedicated to Trayvon Martin): Crack, Bitches, Money and Rims .... - Spike Lee

Non-Racist Answer: Because STEEL wasn't sh*tty enough. Or Blue Chips.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 11:12:56 PM

Your racist answer was the right one max. He sure as f*ck didn't do it for philanthropy.
steamluv writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 11:26:51 PM

This was one of the scariest films alive. WP, you just brought back things from my childhood that should be left dead and buried.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 1:32:13 AM

Well, at least he's honest. Now, if he only could be regretful too.
Rambo writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 1:35:59 AM

dale cooper...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 2:24:40 AM

Good for him.
Cannon writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 4:35:18 AM

Wait, I though Kazaam was a real genie who merely detoured for a while as a pro basketball player.

On a related note, here’s a picture of a retarded black kid hold Space Jam: http://i40.tinypic.com/11l4dw6.jpg

MatimaximumX writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 8:41:22 AM

KAZAM : "Let's Green Egg and Ham it!"
*actual rap line from movie

LOL this movie just makes me shake my head in disbelief
SuluNakamura writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 11:05:45 AM

I still have Shaq Fu for the Sega Genesis. Best terrible game ever.
Wallace writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 12:38:17 PM

Explain Steel.
Raider writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 6:58:52 PM

Steel is originally a Superman character. And Shaq played him in a poor failed 90s "spin-off" movie.
japaninmotion writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 8:06:18 PM

and the reason he moved to the lakers was to further his film carreer
seveltoto writes:
on November 4th, 2017 at 1:30:16 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 29th, 2017 at 10:08:17 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved