WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Photo of Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Jul 4th, 2015
Two More Photos From "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 4th, 2015
"Hello Kitty" to Become $200 Million Movie
Jul 4th, 2015
New Photos From "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Jul 4th, 2015
Lots of New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Photos and Story Details
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Ryan Reynolds' "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Monopoly" Movie Hires "The Truman Show" Writer
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight"
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" - What Did You Think?
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Jul 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

How Our April Fools Joke Fooled the Internet

Posted: April 2nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
How Our April Fools Joke Fooled the InternetSubmit Comment
On April Fools Day we posted an article about James Cameron wanting to direct a sequel to Ridley Scott's "Prometheus," just like he directed a sequel to "Alien." Since then we've been bombarded with emails asking if the article is a joke or not. So now I'm posting a clarification. IT'S A JOKE. All the quotes were made up. Cameron never said any of those things.

The reason why so many are interested in this is because The Guardian picked up on this story and treated it as fact. All the paper had to do was click on the "Source" link in our original article to see that it's an April Fools joke. But they didn't and it just got worse.

Soon after, Deadline posted their own article based on The Guardian article and other sites followed. It would have been wise to check the source, especially on April Fools, but I don't blame The Guardian. After all, we did our best to make the article sound legitimate, even though most people understand that Cameron will never direct a sequel to anyone's work except his own.

The problem is with Deadline. Not that it picked up the article from The Guardian, but because it said that the source is The Guardian, not WP. After most sites realizes it was a joke, they simply apologized. But not Deadline. It instead erased all user comments about how the original article was a joke and then posted an update that states:

"Insiders tell me that James Cameron was making a slightly humorous off handed comment about making a Prometheus sequel and they'd be surprised if it amounted to anything, considering how busy the director will be preoccupied with Avatar sequels."

I can tell you that Cameron never said any of those things. So what is Deadline talking about?

The entire thing ended up embarrassing several people and a few very prestigious news outlets that I personally trust and am a fan of. For that I apologize, but maybe this will force some journalists to do a bit more digging before posting something as fact. In the end, we can be proud of creating what FilmSchoolRejects called: "By far the most damaging false story of all."

Click here to read our original article

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vincere01 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:40:56 PM

I knew they were jokes for april fools right away. Who the hell hired those "journalists??!!" my god we have some lazy people in charge of bringing us the news. With that said. Very funny
minkowski writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:41:21 PM

"we can be proud of creating what FilmSchoolRejects called: "By far the most damaging false story of all.""

365 days of making up news, and WP gets credit for only one. Excellent.

"maybe this will force some journalists to do a bit more digging before posting something as fact."

....*cough* fish....*cough* barrel *cough*....

GrandpasWeiner writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:42:19 PM

Tits.
guy writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:49:07 PM

the guy who runs this site is a dork
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:54:51 PM

lmao Good job Alex,
Kurskij writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:56:47 PM

Like a boss, Alex.

Advertising bonuses and traffic is expected to follow. No "TOLDJA" for Mrs Finke today.
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:57:32 PM

Pot meet kettle
Dre-EL writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:58:02 PM

Exellent
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:02:00 PM

Hahaha good form Alex. If others couldn't tell this was a joke then I guess they should release the sand from their Vagina and relax...
bandolero999 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:04:46 PM

Bleh
mehh0408 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:09:22 PM

Boobs.
blumpkin writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:22:08 PM

haha ya minks seems like one of these journalists always giving out false FACTS!
secondbest writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:39:47 PM

Tch, tch, tch. Silly Guardian, not doing their homework.
pornfly writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 10:34:37 PM

Daahahasssagooodwon!

If i gave a crap about facebook i wouldve said Mcdonalds is now serving breakfast all day
snoop writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:01:30 PM

Oh yeah? That's pretty cool.
Deadline... More like Doucheline.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:05:12 PM

WTF? Dude, I thought the April Fool's news was Megan Fox directing TRANSMORPHERS...

F*ck!! I just lost $5...
Dirt writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:15:33 PM

Oh you guys! Sneaky sneaky!
pornfly writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:16:50 PM

CELLULOID,same here
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:19:31 PM

That's funny.
mariachi writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:19:37 PM

You're telling me that something on the internet wasn't true?
Dekead writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:02:49 AM

Ah! Nice! You had me fooled!
witwicky-potter writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:38:59 AM

lol.you guys had me fooled
Darksider4477 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:43:55 AM

@blumpkin mink is always full of false facts
like when he said he liked women.
come on we all know thats total BS
SACdaddy writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 1:42:49 AM

Nice one WP
vaodsi writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:25:42 AM

WAY TO GO WP!
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:28:59 AM

The British media not checking their sources properly, Well i never .....
Johnnyb writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:32:17 AM

All I can say it was a good joke that sounds reliable from a man who has the biggest ego on earth with his sunken ship and naked blue guys!!!!!
Damon242 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 4:17:55 AM

"even though most people understand that Cameron will never direct a sequel to anyone's work except his own."

except for, you know, things like 'Aliens' and 'Piranha'...
English_Bloke82 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 4:39:48 AM

@TT To be fair mate I am suprised they didn't hack Alex's phone to find out this was fake. Remember Piers "The Bellend" Morgan's expose of the British troops beating up Iraqi soldiers?
Well done Alex on this one, another rule to life by, along with "Always work from a saved doc*ment", "Always check the source"
BoJangles writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 5:38:42 AM

Bravo WP, bravo. I'm proud to say my first post is to acknowledge your awesomeness.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 6:04:26 AM

That's literally the lamest April fools joke ever. If you would have said James Cameron had died or that Uwe Boll was directing the Prometheus sequel that would have got me worried. I thought the article wasn't clear about whether Cameron was doing it any way so I wasn't really fussed.
Phil writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 6:52:37 AM

WP for president!
darthnoah writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 7:16:10 AM

Fan-f*cking-tastic..

New comment-er. I've been reading this stuff since 2009 at least. Never missed a story I've wanted to read and this is the best damned forum on movies I know of. You guys like the same sh*t I do.. !!

Burn Guardian.. Burn..
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 8:35:26 AM

English_Bloke lol

Piers MoRan is a major bellend

Yeah that is very true and since the papers can't get to the stars anwsers machine messages anymore the news has been pretty dull here hasn't it.
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 8:37:11 AM

Cinema

I'm with you on that pal...

As CelluloidMan said the Megan Fox story seemed way more like an April fool joke ..
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 8:40:55 AM

But kudos to WP for the embarrassment caused, To the lazy hacks around the world
rocketman writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:02:40 PM

You little tinkers ;)
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:25:56 PM

As Kyle would say "Shenanigans!"

Good work WP.

Hopefully someone's heads will roll over at The Guardian.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:40:15 PM

Heads will definitely roll once the mullahs take over Britain...
DeVries writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 2:48:05 PM

April fool is gay, should name it DarkSider fool.
DexterMorgan writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:25:28 PM

lmao i knew it,nice one alex
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 5:10:45 PM

"should name it DarkSider fool"

Why are you stuttering?
Man in Black writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 10:24:26 PM

Keep it up and you'll be the Onion of movie sites .

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved