WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Will Smith's "Concussion" Football Drama
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer: Eddie Redmayne is First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Sep 3rd, 2015
Vincent Cassel is Main Villain in New "Jason Bourne" Film
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Chloe Moretz's "The 5th Wave" Sci-Fi Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Pay the Ghost" Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

How Our April Fools Joke Fooled the Internet

Posted: April 2nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
How Our April Fools Joke Fooled the InternetSubmit Comment
On April Fools Day we posted an article about James Cameron wanting to direct a sequel to Ridley Scott's "Prometheus," just like he directed a sequel to "Alien." Since then we've been bombarded with emails asking if the article is a joke or not. So now I'm posting a clarification. IT'S A JOKE. All the quotes were made up. Cameron never said any of those things.

The reason why so many are interested in this is because The Guardian picked up on this story and treated it as fact. All the paper had to do was click on the "Source" link in our original article to see that it's an April Fools joke. But they didn't and it just got worse.

Soon after, Deadline posted their own article based on The Guardian article and other sites followed. It would have been wise to check the source, especially on April Fools, but I don't blame The Guardian. After all, we did our best to make the article sound legitimate, even though most people understand that Cameron will never direct a sequel to anyone's work except his own.

The problem is with Deadline. Not that it picked up the article from The Guardian, but because it said that the source is The Guardian, not WP. After most sites realizes it was a joke, they simply apologized. But not Deadline. It instead erased all user comments about how the original article was a joke and then posted an update that states:

"Insiders tell me that James Cameron was making a slightly humorous off handed comment about making a Prometheus sequel and they'd be surprised if it amounted to anything, considering how busy the director will be preoccupied with Avatar sequels."

I can tell you that Cameron never said any of those things. So what is Deadline talking about?

The entire thing ended up embarrassing several people and a few very prestigious news outlets that I personally trust and am a fan of. For that I apologize, but maybe this will force some journalists to do a bit more digging before posting something as fact. In the end, we can be proud of creating what FilmSchoolRejects called: "By far the most damaging false story of all."

Click here to read our original article

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vincere01 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:40:56 PM

I knew they were jokes for april fools right away. Who the hell hired those "journalists??!!" my god we have some lazy people in charge of bringing us the news. With that said. Very funny
minkowski writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:41:21 PM

"we can be proud of creating what FilmSchoolRejects called: "By far the most damaging false story of all.""

365 days of making up news, and WP gets credit for only one. Excellent.

"maybe this will force some journalists to do a bit more digging before posting something as fact."

....*cough* fish....*cough* barrel *cough*....

GrandpasWeiner writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:42:19 PM

Tits.
guy writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:49:07 PM

the guy who runs this site is a dork
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:54:51 PM

lmao Good job Alex,
Kurskij writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:56:47 PM

Like a boss, Alex.

Advertising bonuses and traffic is expected to follow. No "TOLDJA" for Mrs Finke today.
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:57:32 PM

Pot meet kettle
Dre-EL writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:58:02 PM

Exellent
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:02:00 PM

Hahaha good form Alex. If others couldn't tell this was a joke then I guess they should release the sand from their Vagina and relax...
bandolero999 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:04:46 PM

Bleh
mehh0408 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:09:22 PM

Boobs.
blumpkin writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:22:08 PM

haha ya minks seems like one of these journalists always giving out false FACTS!
secondbest writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:39:47 PM

Tch, tch, tch. Silly Guardian, not doing their homework.
pornfly writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 10:34:37 PM

Daahahasssagooodwon!

If i gave a crap about facebook i wouldve said Mcdonalds is now serving breakfast all day
snoop writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:01:30 PM

Oh yeah? That's pretty cool.
Deadline... More like Doucheline.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:05:12 PM

WTF? Dude, I thought the April Fool's news was Megan Fox directing TRANSMORPHERS...

F*ck!! I just lost $5...
Dirt writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:15:33 PM

Oh you guys! Sneaky sneaky!
pornfly writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:16:50 PM

CELLULOID,same here
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:19:31 PM

That's funny.
mariachi writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:19:37 PM

You're telling me that something on the internet wasn't true?
Dekead writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:02:49 AM

Ah! Nice! You had me fooled!
witwicky-potter writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:38:59 AM

lol.you guys had me fooled
Darksider4477 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:43:55 AM

@blumpkin mink is always full of false facts
like when he said he liked women.
come on we all know thats total BS
SACdaddy writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 1:42:49 AM

Nice one WP
vaodsi writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:25:42 AM

WAY TO GO WP!
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:28:59 AM

The British media not checking their sources properly, Well i never .....
Johnnyb writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:32:17 AM

All I can say it was a good joke that sounds reliable from a man who has the biggest ego on earth with his sunken ship and naked blue guys!!!!!
Damon242 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 4:17:55 AM

"even though most people understand that Cameron will never direct a sequel to anyone's work except his own."

except for, you know, things like 'Aliens' and 'Piranha'...
English_Bloke82 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 4:39:48 AM

@TT To be fair mate I am suprised they didn't hack Alex's phone to find out this was fake. Remember Piers "The Bellend" Morgan's expose of the British troops beating up Iraqi soldiers?
Well done Alex on this one, another rule to life by, along with "Always work from a saved doc*ment", "Always check the source"
BoJangles writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 5:38:42 AM

Bravo WP, bravo. I'm proud to say my first post is to acknowledge your awesomeness.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 6:04:26 AM

That's literally the lamest April fools joke ever. If you would have said James Cameron had died or that Uwe Boll was directing the Prometheus sequel that would have got me worried. I thought the article wasn't clear about whether Cameron was doing it any way so I wasn't really fussed.
Phil writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 6:52:37 AM

WP for president!
darthnoah writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 7:16:10 AM

Fan-f*cking-tastic..

New comment-er. I've been reading this stuff since 2009 at least. Never missed a story I've wanted to read and this is the best damned forum on movies I know of. You guys like the same sh*t I do.. !!

Burn Guardian.. Burn..
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 8:35:26 AM

English_Bloke lol

Piers MoRan is a major bellend

Yeah that is very true and since the papers can't get to the stars anwsers machine messages anymore the news has been pretty dull here hasn't it.
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 8:37:11 AM

Cinema

I'm with you on that pal...

As CelluloidMan said the Megan Fox story seemed way more like an April fool joke ..
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 8:40:55 AM

But kudos to WP for the embarrassment caused, To the lazy hacks around the world
rocketman writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:02:40 PM

You little tinkers ;)
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:25:56 PM

As Kyle would say "Shenanigans!"

Good work WP.

Hopefully someone's heads will roll over at The Guardian.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:40:15 PM

Heads will definitely roll once the mullahs take over Britain...
DeVries writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 2:48:05 PM

April fool is gay, should name it DarkSider fool.
DexterMorgan writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:25:28 PM

lmao i knew it,nice one alex
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 5:10:45 PM

"should name it DarkSider fool"

Why are you stuttering?
Man in Black writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 10:24:26 PM

Keep it up and you'll be the Onion of movie sites .

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved