WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
"X-Men: Apocalypse" to Focus on Younger Cast, Patrick Stewart Says He May Still Return
Apr 20th, 2014
Hayden Panettiere Won't Return for "Heroes: Reborn" TV Series
Apr 20th, 2014
Trailer for Michael C. Hall's "Cold in July" Thriller
Apr 20th, 2014
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

How Our April Fools Joke Fooled the Internet

Posted: April 2nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
How Our April Fools Joke Fooled the InternetSubmit Comment
On April Fools Day we posted an article about James Cameron wanting to direct a sequel to Ridley Scott's "Prometheus," just like he directed a sequel to "Alien." Since then we've been bombarded with emails asking if the article is a joke or not. So now I'm posting a clarification. IT'S A JOKE. All the quotes were made up. Cameron never said any of those things.

The reason why so many are interested in this is because The Guardian picked up on this story and treated it as fact. All the paper had to do was click on the "Source" link in our original article to see that it's an April Fools joke. But they didn't and it just got worse.

Soon after, Deadline posted their own article based on The Guardian article and other sites followed. It would have been wise to check the source, especially on April Fools, but I don't blame The Guardian. After all, we did our best to make the article sound legitimate, even though most people understand that Cameron will never direct a sequel to anyone's work except his own.

The problem is with Deadline. Not that it picked up the article from The Guardian, but because it said that the source is The Guardian, not WP. After most sites realizes it was a joke, they simply apologized. But not Deadline. It instead erased all user comments about how the original article was a joke and then posted an update that states:

"Insiders tell me that James Cameron was making a slightly humorous off handed comment about making a Prometheus sequel and they'd be surprised if it amounted to anything, considering how busy the director will be preoccupied with Avatar sequels."

I can tell you that Cameron never said any of those things. So what is Deadline talking about?

The entire thing ended up embarrassing several people and a few very prestigious news outlets that I personally trust and am a fan of. For that I apologize, but maybe this will force some journalists to do a bit more digging before posting something as fact. In the end, we can be proud of creating what FilmSchoolRejects called: "By far the most damaging false story of all."

Click here to read our original article

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vincere01 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:40:56 PM

I knew they were jokes for april fools right away. Who the hell hired those "journalists??!!" my god we have some lazy people in charge of bringing us the news. With that said. Very funny
minkowski writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:41:21 PM

"we can be proud of creating what FilmSchoolRejects called: "By far the most damaging false story of all.""

365 days of making up news, and WP gets credit for only one. Excellent.

"maybe this will force some journalists to do a bit more digging before posting something as fact."

....*cough* fish....*cough* barrel *cough*....

GrandpasWeiner writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:42:19 PM

Tits.
guy writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:49:07 PM

the guy who runs this site is a dork
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:54:51 PM

lmao Good job Alex,
Kurskij writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:56:47 PM

Like a boss, Alex.

Advertising bonuses and traffic is expected to follow. No "TOLDJA" for Mrs Finke today.
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:57:32 PM

Pot meet kettle
Dre-EL writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:58:02 PM

Exellent
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:02:00 PM

Hahaha good form Alex. If others couldn't tell this was a joke then I guess they should release the sand from their Vagina and relax...
bandolero999 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:04:46 PM

Bleh
mehh0408 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:09:22 PM

Boobs.
blumpkin writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:22:08 PM

haha ya minks seems like one of these journalists always giving out false FACTS!
secondbest writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:39:47 PM

Tch, tch, tch. Silly Guardian, not doing their homework.
pornfly writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 10:34:37 PM

Daahahasssagooodwon!

If i gave a crap about facebook i wouldve said Mcdonalds is now serving breakfast all day
snoop writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:01:30 PM

Oh yeah? That's pretty cool.
Deadline... More like Doucheline.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:05:12 PM

WTF? Dude, I thought the April Fool's news was Megan Fox directing TRANSMORPHERS...

F*ck!! I just lost $5...
Dirt writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:15:33 PM

Oh you guys! Sneaky sneaky!
pornfly writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:16:50 PM

CELLULOID,same here
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:19:31 PM

That's funny.
mariachi writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:19:37 PM

You're telling me that something on the internet wasn't true?
Dekead writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:02:49 AM

Ah! Nice! You had me fooled!
witwicky-potter writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:38:59 AM

lol.you guys had me fooled
Darksider4477 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:43:55 AM

@blumpkin mink is always full of false facts
like when he said he liked women.
come on we all know thats total BS
SACdaddy writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 1:42:49 AM

Nice one WP
vaodsi writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:25:42 AM

WAY TO GO WP!
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:28:59 AM

The British media not checking their sources properly, Well i never .....
Johnnyb writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:32:17 AM

All I can say it was a good joke that sounds reliable from a man who has the biggest ego on earth with his sunken ship and naked blue guys!!!!!
Damon242 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 4:17:55 AM

"even though most people understand that Cameron will never direct a sequel to anyone's work except his own."

except for, you know, things like 'Aliens' and 'Piranha'...
English_Bloke82 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 4:39:48 AM

@TT To be fair mate I am suprised they didn't hack Alex's phone to find out this was fake. Remember Piers "The Bellend" Morgan's expose of the British troops beating up Iraqi soldiers?
Well done Alex on this one, another rule to life by, along with "Always work from a saved doc*ment", "Always check the source"
BoJangles writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 5:38:42 AM

Bravo WP, bravo. I'm proud to say my first post is to acknowledge your awesomeness.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 6:04:26 AM

That's literally the lamest April fools joke ever. If you would have said James Cameron had died or that Uwe Boll was directing the Prometheus sequel that would have got me worried. I thought the article wasn't clear about whether Cameron was doing it any way so I wasn't really fussed.
Phil writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 6:52:37 AM

WP for president!
darthnoah writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 7:16:10 AM

Fan-f*cking-tastic..

New comment-er. I've been reading this stuff since 2009 at least. Never missed a story I've wanted to read and this is the best damned forum on movies I know of. You guys like the same sh*t I do.. !!

Burn Guardian.. Burn..
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 8:35:26 AM

English_Bloke lol

Piers MoRan is a major bellend

Yeah that is very true and since the papers can't get to the stars anwsers machine messages anymore the news has been pretty dull here hasn't it.
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 8:37:11 AM

Cinema

I'm with you on that pal...

As CelluloidMan said the Megan Fox story seemed way more like an April fool joke ..
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 8:40:55 AM

But kudos to WP for the embarrassment caused, To the lazy hacks around the world
rocketman writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:02:40 PM

You little tinkers ;)
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:25:56 PM

As Kyle would say "Shenanigans!"

Good work WP.

Hopefully someone's heads will roll over at The Guardian.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:40:15 PM

Heads will definitely roll once the mullahs take over Britain...
DeVries writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 2:48:05 PM

April fool is gay, should name it DarkSider fool.
DexterMorgan writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:25:28 PM

lmao i knew it,nice one alex
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 5:10:45 PM

"should name it DarkSider fool"

Why are you stuttering?
Man in Black writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 10:24:26 PM

Keep it up and you'll be the Onion of movie sites .

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved