WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "Jupiter Ascending" Sci-Fi Film, with Channing Tatum and Mila Kunis
Sep 25th, 2014
New Trailer for Marvel's "Big Hero 6" Animated Film
Sep 25th, 2014
First Look at Nicolas Cage's Troubled "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Sep 25th, 2014
Naked Woman Broke Into Keanu Reeves' House
Sep 25th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Sep 25th, 2014
Liam Neeson Joins "Ted" Sequel
Sep 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

How Our April Fools Joke Fooled the Internet

Posted: April 2nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
How Our April Fools Joke Fooled the InternetSubmit Comment
On April Fools Day we posted an article about James Cameron wanting to direct a sequel to Ridley Scott's "Prometheus," just like he directed a sequel to "Alien." Since then we've been bombarded with emails asking if the article is a joke or not. So now I'm posting a clarification. IT'S A JOKE. All the quotes were made up. Cameron never said any of those things.

The reason why so many are interested in this is because The Guardian picked up on this story and treated it as fact. All the paper had to do was click on the "Source" link in our original article to see that it's an April Fools joke. But they didn't and it just got worse.

Soon after, Deadline posted their own article based on The Guardian article and other sites followed. It would have been wise to check the source, especially on April Fools, but I don't blame The Guardian. After all, we did our best to make the article sound legitimate, even though most people understand that Cameron will never direct a sequel to anyone's work except his own.

The problem is with Deadline. Not that it picked up the article from The Guardian, but because it said that the source is The Guardian, not WP. After most sites realizes it was a joke, they simply apologized. But not Deadline. It instead erased all user comments about how the original article was a joke and then posted an update that states:

"Insiders tell me that James Cameron was making a slightly humorous off handed comment about making a Prometheus sequel and they'd be surprised if it amounted to anything, considering how busy the director will be preoccupied with Avatar sequels."

I can tell you that Cameron never said any of those things. So what is Deadline talking about?

The entire thing ended up embarrassing several people and a few very prestigious news outlets that I personally trust and am a fan of. For that I apologize, but maybe this will force some journalists to do a bit more digging before posting something as fact. In the end, we can be proud of creating what FilmSchoolRejects called: "By far the most damaging false story of all."

Click here to read our original article

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vincere01 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:40:56 PM

I knew they were jokes for april fools right away. Who the hell hired those "journalists??!!" my god we have some lazy people in charge of bringing us the news. With that said. Very funny
minkowski writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:41:21 PM

"we can be proud of creating what FilmSchoolRejects called: "By far the most damaging false story of all.""

365 days of making up news, and WP gets credit for only one. Excellent.

"maybe this will force some journalists to do a bit more digging before posting something as fact."

....*cough* fish....*cough* barrel *cough*....

GrandpasWeiner writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:42:19 PM

Tits.
guy writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:49:07 PM

the guy who runs this site is a dork
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:54:51 PM

lmao Good job Alex,
Kurskij writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:56:47 PM

Like a boss, Alex.

Advertising bonuses and traffic is expected to follow. No "TOLDJA" for Mrs Finke today.
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:57:32 PM

Pot meet kettle
Dre-EL writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 8:58:02 PM

Exellent
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:02:00 PM

Hahaha good form Alex. If others couldn't tell this was a joke then I guess they should release the sand from their Vagina and relax...
bandolero999 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:04:46 PM

Bleh
mehh0408 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:09:22 PM

Boobs.
blumpkin writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:22:08 PM

haha ya minks seems like one of these journalists always giving out false FACTS!
secondbest writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 9:39:47 PM

Tch, tch, tch. Silly Guardian, not doing their homework.
pornfly writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 10:34:37 PM

Daahahasssagooodwon!

If i gave a crap about facebook i wouldve said Mcdonalds is now serving breakfast all day
snoop writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:01:30 PM

Oh yeah? That's pretty cool.
Deadline... More like Doucheline.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:05:12 PM

WTF? Dude, I thought the April Fool's news was Megan Fox directing TRANSMORPHERS...

F*ck!! I just lost $5...
Dirt writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:15:33 PM

Oh you guys! Sneaky sneaky!
pornfly writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:16:50 PM

CELLULOID,same here
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:19:31 PM

That's funny.
mariachi writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 11:19:37 PM

You're telling me that something on the internet wasn't true?
Dekead writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:02:49 AM

Ah! Nice! You had me fooled!
witwicky-potter writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:38:59 AM

lol.you guys had me fooled
Darksider4477 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:43:55 AM

@blumpkin mink is always full of false facts
like when he said he liked women.
come on we all know thats total BS
SACdaddy writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 1:42:49 AM

Nice one WP
vaodsi writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:25:42 AM

WAY TO GO WP!
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:28:59 AM

The British media not checking their sources properly, Well i never .....
Johnnyb writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:32:17 AM

All I can say it was a good joke that sounds reliable from a man who has the biggest ego on earth with his sunken ship and naked blue guys!!!!!
Damon242 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 4:17:55 AM

"even though most people understand that Cameron will never direct a sequel to anyone's work except his own."

except for, you know, things like 'Aliens' and 'Piranha'...
English_Bloke82 writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 4:39:48 AM

@TT To be fair mate I am suprised they didn't hack Alex's phone to find out this was fake. Remember Piers "The Bellend" Morgan's expose of the British troops beating up Iraqi soldiers?
Well done Alex on this one, another rule to life by, along with "Always work from a saved doc*ment", "Always check the source"
BoJangles writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 5:38:42 AM

Bravo WP, bravo. I'm proud to say my first post is to acknowledge your awesomeness.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 6:04:26 AM

That's literally the lamest April fools joke ever. If you would have said James Cameron had died or that Uwe Boll was directing the Prometheus sequel that would have got me worried. I thought the article wasn't clear about whether Cameron was doing it any way so I wasn't really fussed.
Phil writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 6:52:37 AM

WP for president!
darthnoah writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 7:16:10 AM

Fan-f*cking-tastic..

New comment-er. I've been reading this stuff since 2009 at least. Never missed a story I've wanted to read and this is the best damned forum on movies I know of. You guys like the same sh*t I do.. !!

Burn Guardian.. Burn..
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 8:35:26 AM

English_Bloke lol

Piers MoRan is a major bellend

Yeah that is very true and since the papers can't get to the stars anwsers machine messages anymore the news has been pretty dull here hasn't it.
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 8:37:11 AM

Cinema

I'm with you on that pal...

As CelluloidMan said the Megan Fox story seemed way more like an April fool joke ..
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 8:40:55 AM

But kudos to WP for the embarrassment caused, To the lazy hacks around the world
rocketman writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:02:40 PM

You little tinkers ;)
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:25:56 PM

As Kyle would say "Shenanigans!"

Good work WP.

Hopefully someone's heads will roll over at The Guardian.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 12:40:15 PM

Heads will definitely roll once the mullahs take over Britain...
DeVries writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 2:48:05 PM

April fool is gay, should name it DarkSider fool.
DexterMorgan writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 3:25:28 PM

lmao i knew it,nice one alex
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 5:10:45 PM

"should name it DarkSider fool"

Why are you stuttering?
Man in Black writes:
on April 3rd, 2012 at 10:24:26 PM

Keep it up and you'll be the Onion of movie sites .

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved