WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Aug 28th, 2014
First Photos of Doctor Doom From "Fantastic Four" Leaked Online?
Aug 28th, 2014
"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died
Aug 28th, 2014
"Underworld" Franchise is Being Rebooted
Aug 28th, 2014
"Pacific Rim" Star Charlie Hunnam May Star in "King Arthur"
Aug 28th, 2014
Three New Photos From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 28th, 2014
"Cops" Cameraman Killed While Filming TV Show
Aug 28th, 2014
"Looney Tunes" Movie Gets Steve Carell and "X-Men: First Class" Writers
Aug 27th, 2014
Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Aug 27th, 2014
Henry Cavill Does the Ice Bucket Challenge in His Superman Costume
Aug 27th, 2014
"Da Vinci Code 3" to Begin Filming in April, Tom Hanks Set to Return
Aug 27th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Set Photo Honors Richard Attenborough
Aug 27th, 2014
First Look at Lucy Lawless in Marvel's "Agents of SHIELD" TV Series
Aug 27th, 2014
Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Unveils IMAX TV Spot
Aug 27th, 2014
Trailer for "The Pyramid" Thriller, From Alexandre Aja
Aug 27th, 2014
"Full House" Sequel Coming to TV, With Original Cast
Aug 26th, 2014
Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller Unveils Emmy Awards TV Spot
Aug 26th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Hawkeye May Appear in "Captain America 3"
Aug 26th, 2014
Tyler Perry Never Heard of David Fincher Until Joining His "Gone Girl" Film
Aug 26th, 2014
"Thor" Star Chris Hemsworth in Talks For "Vacation" Reboot
Aug 26th, 2014
New Photos of Henry Cavill in "The Man From UNCLE"
Aug 26th, 2014
"Shutter Island" to Become a TV Series, Martin Scorsese May Direct
Aug 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Discusses "Blade Runner" and "Prometheus" Sequels
Aug 26th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "As Above So Below" Horror Film
Aug 26th, 2014
Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 25th, 2014
Photo of Jeremy Renner's Redesigned Hawkeye Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 25th, 2014
"Jurassic Park" Star Richard Attenborough Dead at 90
Aug 25th, 2014
"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records
Aug 25th, 2014
Chloe Moretz Says "Kick-Ass 3" Won't Happen
Aug 25th, 2014
Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 24th, 2014
Director Rian Johnson Used "Se7en" and "Blade Runner" to Get "Looper" Made
Aug 24th, 2014
Director Josh Trank Unveils Photo of The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Aug 24th, 2014
"Ant-Man" Set Photo Hints at Hulk's Appearance
Aug 23rd, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Wants to Direct "Prometheus" Sequel

Posted: April 1st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Wants to Direct "Prometheus" SequelSubmit Comment
During the premiere of "Titanic 3D," director James Cameron was asked about Ridley Scott returning to the "Alien" franchise and whether he plans to see "Prometheus."

"I'll be first in line for Ridley's new film," he said. "The idea of Ridley coming back and doing another 'Alien' film is every fan's dream. And I was a fan of the first film so much that I wanted to do the second film just as a kind of a fanboy."

Since Cameron directed the "Alien" follow-up, called "Aliens," he was asked if he has any interest in helming a sequel to "Prometheus." "It's funny because when Fox first approached Ridley to make another 'Alien,' he was more interested in working on something original rather than returning to his old work," he explained. "At the time I was still working on 'Avatar.' Ridley came to me and he saw what I was doing and the ideas I was exploring. We sat down and talked about 'Alien' and saw that there's big ideas hidden in these stories. Where do we come from? What does it mean to be human? This was something that Ridley saw as original and something he wanted to be a part of."

Cameron continued: "I'm not sure if Ridley changed his mind, because the movie turned out fantastic, but it was during those early talks when he brought up the idea of me stepping in to direct a follow-up. This is why there's a gap of a few years between 'Prometheus' and the original 'Alien.' That gap is meant for me to answer all the questions raised in 'Prometheus.'"

When asked if that means he would want to direct 'Prometheus 2,' Cameron replied: "We'll see. Right now I'm working on 'Avatar 2,' so if Fox wants to wait... we'll see what happens."

Source: Prometheus Forum


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bullit writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 7:34:03 AM

This sis great news but it's not going to happen anytime soon! If he's not caught exploring the Devil'a ass somewhere in the f*cking ocean maybe we have this in 3 or 4 years.

Patience is the mother of wisdom!
boogiel writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 7:40:10 AM

Keep on dreaming, Jimmy boy. Ridley's Alien epicness is no match for you.
JakeVermont writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 7:42:18 AM

if ridley scott is doing a great job and the movie will bring in some serious money he will be doing the sequel come on!
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 8:06:33 AM

It'll never happen.
Bullit writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 8:07:10 AM

*Devil's ass.

Which automatically reminds me of DarkOldFart.

Imbécil!

SeWerin writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 8:16:04 AM

Back off douchebag! Go explore some deep sh*ts in your CGI sea.

Znavoy writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 8:33:02 AM

but the first one is not out yet.. come on when will June be here.. :(
pornfly writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 8:44:27 AM

Is it me or is it easier to to direct a sequel each time
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 9:00:57 AM

So, does that mean it would be called Prometheuses?



Game over man! Game over!
haydn writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 9:08:08 AM

Oh please, not again. The first Alien was a fully fledged intelligent adult movie, then thanks to Cameron it turned into a populist action genre based buck maker. No, he MUST not be allowed anywhere near the real artists, Avatar may of been a blockbuster but it's just a corporate venture that millions of idiots fell for, it looked dated even when it came out despite the effects. No, this idiot is like watching a 5 year old banjo player tugging at John Lee Hooker's arm screeching "I can do that! I can do that!"
PLASTIC MAN writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 9:11:14 AM

MINK IS A PEDOPHILE. HE THREATENED TO RAPE MY FOUR YEAR OLD DAUGHTER. LET'S FIND OUT WHAT HE THINKS ABOUT JAMES CAMERON...
Bullit writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 9:15:45 AM

Wait a second!

This is April fool's day!!

Well done Alex.
mpiper821 writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 9:16:28 AM

Awesome!
Wallace writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 9:34:40 AM

The same thing every year, and people still don't get it.
Wallace writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 9:35:04 AM

Anyway, well done.
bane writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 10:06:39 AM






Get away from her

you BITCH
SACdaddy writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 10:53:54 AM

I've always thought Cameron's film was always just as good or even better than Scott's Alien. There is actually more character development in the second film, wathcing these badass intergalactic soldiers turn into pussies as they're put through the meat grinder while Ripley is forced to turn into a badass. Sigourney's change from traumatized sole survivor to flamethrowing mechwarrior is on of the most memorable in film history. It singlehandedly changed female roles in film and opened the door for them to be more than just helpless heroines waiting to be saved. For better or worse (namely Angelina Jolie's lame asskicking roles) it changed film forever. Add in tons of action, awesome special effects (at the time), Cameron's unique attention to detail, and a whiney up and coming Bill Paxton and you've got a nearly perfect film. I'd love to see Cameron get another shot at the franchise!

Plus, this is a great excuse for Cameron to dive back into R rated material :)
nawtnt writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 11:09:17 AM

This is news is true or it's a April's Fool Day joke.
TheFilmmaker writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 11:09:20 AM

I'm excited for this, though I don't think it's going to be as Alien-esque that a lot of the fanboys will want since Ridley Scott even said it's a whole different story, just set in the Alien universe.
DexterMorgan writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 11:44:05 AM

april fools day joke by james perhaps?please be a joke
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 12:00:47 PM

This insn't even news :P If Prometheus does well there's obviously going to be a sequel. And Said sequel won't be out till like 2015
pH0u57 writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 12:23:57 PM

PLEASE god, for the love of everything, PLEASE obviate this!
MarshallErikson writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 12:30:02 PM

It wasn't Avatar that made Cameron famous. Its not like they're saying, oh Avatar was great, make more movies. No. Cameron has been doing Sci-Fi since the Abyss. Aliens was a great movie (though yeah it did turn it into an action-fest instead of real horror) and I think he could do well with the Prometheus sequel.
Barney Stinson writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 12:41:35 PM

All you have to do is click on the "Source" link of Prometheus Forums and it tells you that it's a joke.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 1:03:46 PM

Plastic Man- Get off the f*cking site you attention seeking c*nt! You don't have a daughter... if you did then you should be looking after her instead of winding people up on here. Get a f*cking grip!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 1:05:44 PM

Alien is a beautiful horror film, one of the best there is. Tension, drama and a look in to the human psyche. Aliens was a great action film with moments of horror and a great day for women in film. In the end i prefer the original Alien, which is why I'd rather Ridley direct any sequels to whatever world he recreates. As Cameron's let his ego get to him, but I could be wrong.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 1:38:45 PM

Darksh*tter- how's your day going my friend?
Bullit writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 2:27:27 PM

^ ^ LOL!

I bet he has a sh*tty day.
minkowski writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 3:06:32 PM

Dark is doing quite well, I bet.

Today is his birthday after all.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 3:10:23 PM

Bullsh*t!!!

April Fools.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 3:11:11 PM

Yup Mink today is the day Darks abortion failed! And here we all are, suffering day after putting up with his stupidity and typing errors.
minkowski writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 3:18:32 PM

lol. Your post, Bad, for some reason immediately reminded me of Yeats poem 'The Second Coming':

That twenty centuries of stony sleep
were vexed to nightmare by a rocking cradle,
And what rough beast, its hour come round at last,
Slouches towards Bethlehem to be born?

http://www.mcabee.org/~lcm/lines/slouch.html
OneTime writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 3:55:59 PM

its happened ..then...so it can dam well happen now
encoreyourface writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 4:51:36 PM

i'd rather have ridley do it so i wouldn't have to wait 10 years, but i'm sure Cameron's movie would have been f*cking awesome. he needs to start directing good films again.
minkowski writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 5:46:36 PM

Good films?

You didn't see Avatar and Titanic?

Oh, you did?

I see.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 5:48:57 PM

Mink-lol
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 6:25:18 PM

Prometheus looks like a visually stunning movie, and the story also sounds great! I'm really excited for this movie! Cameron knows how to make "big" movies but Scott's adaptation seems like it will be big enough. In this case I have a feeling Cameron's version will be a step backwards if it happens.
trailertrash writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 6:46:04 PM

James Cameron has been j*zzing at the trailers too then.
mariachi writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 7:50:52 PM

April fools...?
Johnnyb writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 9:17:42 PM

Alien it is what is and Prometheus is the perfect complement for this classic..... I know it would deliver a great Big Box Office, and not doubt we will have the sequel in the future..... But talking about a Cameron's Prometheus sequel is to soon for development..... Aliens was great on his moment but it would never gonna give us the chills and terrorific experience that we have on Alien, so in my case, I prefer more a Ridley sequel than Cameron's version.
bane writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 11:18:20 PM

i can't
get over these FAKE stories

for april fools day

albert brooks was oscar snubbed

''bin ladin is dead''

not likely
bane writes:
on April 1st, 2012 at 11:23:56 PM


trailertrash

j*zzing at the trailers ???


http://www.cinemablend.com/new/Scandalous-Shame-Poster-Banned-Hungary-29076.html





Lulupendragon writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 3:09:14 AM

If he did a sequel to Prometheus, wouldn't that be Alien?
TRUEMAN writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 12:53:23 PM

@Lulupendragon i have the same question, f*ck CAMERON
minkowski writes:
on April 2nd, 2012 at 2:47:17 PM

"If he did a sequel to Prometheus, wouldn't that be Alien?"

You assume there's no story between Prometheus and Alien.
citysims writes:
on April 4th, 2012 at 9:38:20 AM

Will this f*ck nut please go away! Dude go stick your face up Kathryn Bigelow's ass. Master Ridley is back you are no longer needed!
theslay3r writes:
on April 15th, 2012 at 3:16:05 PM

Hands sh*teron go eat a d*ck you c*cksucker all your movies suck durty crusty *sshole .
And while you were with bigelow i ass f*cked that fine bitch and came in her mouth so the joke is on you ugly motherf*cker .

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved