WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"American Reunion" Directors Want to Remake "Back to the Future"

Posted: March 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"American Reunion" Directors Want to Remake "Back to the Future"Submit Comment
"American Reunion" directors Jon Hurwitz and Hayden Schlossberg just signed a two-year deal with Universal Pictures and will likely let the helmers tackle some of their new properties and maybe work with the old ones.

"We entrusted Jon and Hayden with one of Universal's most valuable franchises and we are thrilled with the result," said the studio. "They really know how to make crowd-pleasing comedies and we are excited to expand our relationship with them on other projects they create."

So now that Hurwitz and Schlossberg have the support of Universal, which franchise would they next like to tackle? "We want 'Back to the Future,'" they said. "That's our favorite trilogy. We're always having this conversation."

Shlossberg added that remaking "Back to the Future" may not be something they would attempt immediately. "I wouldn't want to do it now because people would be like, 'Oh, there's no way it will be as good as the original,'" he explained. "But 30 years from now when Spielberg's like 90 and those guys are kind of on their way out, and those movies just look really old, it would be great to have all these classics that you're able to remake."

Source: Deadline, Moviehole


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 83 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Donyae 420 writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 8:49:12 PM

DON'T f*ckING EVEN THINK ABOUT IT,NOOO MORE REMAKES!!!
DexterMorgan writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 8:56:22 PM

at least it wouldn't be any time soon
happileperkon writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:09:49 PM

hollywood forgot how to write. imagine if someone did this with classic books. "Im going to reboot catcher in the rye!" people would flip. write your own sh*t you f*cking hacks
Hero320 writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:12:03 PM

NO NO, A THOUSAND TIMES NO!! THAT MOVIES SHOULD NEVER BE REMAINED.... until I die from old age, maybe then.
pornfly writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:13:04 PM

To quote Kevin Kline in A Fish Called Wanda


ASSHOOOOOOOOOOLLLE! ! !
dangerlips writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:16:29 PM

If you must do remakes, remake movies that were sh*tty the first time around and make those better... Like when Mink's parents kept producing offspring after he was born. Luckily it's not hard to improve upon him but his dad did have a lot of trouble trying to reproduce again with a german shephard...
pornfly writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:21:25 PM

Where is the white Spike Lee when we need him?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:24:10 PM

"American Reunion" Directors Want to Remake "Back to the Future

1. First .... f*ck you.

2. If you do, can we get shaky cam ? That way, if Michael J Fox gets a cameo, then he'll appear standing still.

3. Crispen Glover won't get cast a cameo. He got sh*t on once by Spielberg, so he wouldn't touch this with Cameron Diaz' tainted p*ssy.
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:25:06 PM

Max


Where you been havent heard from you in a while
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:26:13 PM

pornfly writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:21:25 PM

Where is the white Spike Lee when we need him?


@pornfly

He's schpeeling his book about hating Bruce Willis and bitchin' and moanin' about getting kicked off of Southwest Airlines.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:27:39 PM

Crazyhorse writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:25:06 PM

Max


Where you been havent heard from you in a while


@Crazyhorse

Sleeping in my sensory deprevation chamber I bought at a Hollywood prop sale ... from the movie 'Altered States' ....
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:31:32 PM

Max

LOL
dangerlips writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:37:14 PM

Lool
mpiper821 writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:38:45 PM

NO
BayneMonster writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:44:42 PM

Id rather sit on a shotgun and pull the trigger with my big toe. NO ONE should touch BTTF! I dont even think I would trust SPIELBERG to do a remake!!! case in point INDIANA JONES CRYSTAL SKULL RAPE!
Dekead writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:02:49 PM

Oh hell no! I'm not a huge fan, but that's a f*cking classic right there!
bandolero999 writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:06:01 PM

wow just wow.i'm at loss at words.
blumpkin writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:09:57 PM

just do another sh*tty sequel with a different time period. Like the western one. Dont ruin the first 2 by remaking them!
elrei writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:11:19 PM

You got some balls for even thinking about it. There are so many bad movies out there, why would you pick a CLASSIC to remake?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:12:07 PM

bandolero999 writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:06:01 PM

wow just wow.i'm at loss at words.


@bandolero999

I'm not. The guy in the curly hair looks like a Rogen clone fixing to suck the c*ck of his 'life partner'. Which to them would be a better f*cking idea than for them to try to remake the BTTF franchise. In their hands, they'd have to rename it Butt Throbbin' Tallywackin' Friends ....
dangerlips writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:12:21 PM

I also don't understand why someone would want to remake their favourite movie lol
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:12:38 PM

How about Bitch to the Front ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:13:47 PM

Boner Tuckin' Transsexual Fagbots ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:14:32 PM

Blumpkin Tossin' Tuggin' Frenchies ?
Arlo11 writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:14:42 PM

Man it came out almost a week ago that he was just joking about this.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:15:19 PM

Biff Took Three Fingers ? (* Sorry, Tom)
bandolero999 writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:27:42 PM

"Man it came out almost a week ago that he was just joking about this."

I hope youre right dude.it would really suck balls.
OneTime writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:33:27 PM

in other news Jon Hurwitz and Hayden Schlossberg heads were found in a mexican playground
pornfly writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:35:30 PM

Waz there something that was broken or missed that shouldve been fixed??

Hes just gettin his name out there just for publicity
Good move but youre an *sshole for mentioning it
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:36:31 PM

In the words of Riley: Look. F**k you. F**k the plane you flew in on. F**k them shoes. F**k those socks with the belt on it. F**k your gay ass fairy faggot accent. F**k them cheap ass cigars. F**k your yuckmouth teeth. F**k your hairpiece. F**k your chocolate. F**k Guy Ritchie. F**k Prince William. F**k the Queen. This is America. My president is black and my Lambo is blue, nigga. Now get the f**k out my hotel room, and if I see you on the street, I'm slapping the sh*t out of you.
darthraige writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:39:41 PM

f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU f*ck YOU
ismokerocks writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 11:21:24 PM

Wow do you believe the stones on these guys
KillerCOck writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 11:26:45 PM

I'd be open to this, I really don't like the originals aside from some key moments
Whitta writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 11:52:53 PM

"We entrusted Jon and Hayden with one of Universal's most valuable franchises and we are thrilled with the result," said the studio.


Ok, first of all... if you manage to f*ck up an American Pie movie, i would be worried... But go f*ck yourselves guys. BTTF doesn't ever need to be remade ever, it's perfect the way it is. If you're intent on making a time travel movie, go for gold, just dont use the title BTTF or the character names Marty McFly or Doc Brown.
AngryAngel writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 12:21:45 AM

If it's your favorite trilogy then don't remake it . . . . These assclowns make me sick. Remaking a classic movie should be punishable by 3 years minimum federal prison.
c-prime writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 12:28:57 AM

"We entrusted Jon and Hayden with one of Universal's most valuable franchises and we are thrilled with the result."

And ten bucks says they'll renege all their praise if the flick flops opening weekend.

""They really know how to make crowd-pleasing comedies..."

Doesn't mean d*ck. Frat boys and FAS sufferers have very low standards.

"I wouldn't want to do it now because people would be like, 'Oh, there's no way it will be as good as the original,'" he explained. "But 30 years from now when Spielberg's like 90 and those guys are kind of on their way out, and those movies just look really old, it would be great to have all these classics that you're able to remake."

There's an underlying comment couched in that remark that the utterer may or may not have intended. (Given that he's half of the duo responsible for the abominable Harold & Kumar franchise, though, I'd prefer not to afford him commendations for subtlety and put stock in the latter assumption.) It's like he's implicitly acknowledging that humanity will regress to the point where it'll hunger for these shameless remakes.

Dunderhead f*cks. These two make post-2000 Farrelly Brothers look like Ethan and Joel Coen.
c-prime writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 12:35:46 AM

"Frat boys and FAS sufferers have very low standards."

Me and my redundancy. I keep forgetting that this is a classic case of mutualism. The sexual reproduction of one group keeps the other one going.
fuck_you_thats_my_name! writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 1:03:11 AM

SOMEONE MURDER THESE PEOPLE IMMEDIATELY!!!!!!!
c-prime writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 1:16:08 AM

"I'd be open to this, I really don't like the originals aside from some key moments"

My favorite comment on this thread. Dammit, that's funny.
fuck_you_thats_my_name! writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 1:17:57 AM

its because of this "But 30 years from now when Spielberg's like 90 and those guys are kind of on their way out, and those movies just look really old," that i know these guys are COMPLETELY UNTALENTED .... i refuse to see their new sh*t fest movie and i refuse to seee anything else they make .... i am disgusted by these guys... i hope/bet their movie tanks!!!
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 1:38:45 AM




On topic...

This doesn't need to be remade... ever. This movie needs to be remade like trolls need air.

Off topic...

I'm off of here for a bit (moving) - hope to pop in when I can, if I can (internet services transferred). After 10 months of renovating my house, I'm moving into it!

To the regulars on here, thx. (as always) for the laughs.

To the trolls: New Policy. I'll be ignoring you (easy when I'm without a computer, easier when I'm back on because you are that insignificant). Your lame attempts to drag down an interactive site with your polluting, non-contributing ways will only be a waste of your own time (like your life). I suspect other regulars will follow suit and ignore your illiterate, dumb ass.

See you on the flip-side (and by that I mean between 2 (soon to be naked) college girls!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_TjQgfr2m8A

BA-BOING!



CelluloidMan writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 1:54:49 AM

Remake BTTF? THEY'RE HIGH ON CRACK!!

F*cking Hollywood!!

If these jerkoffs think about remaking BTTF, the got huge clown sized shoes to fill!! With the exception of THE POLAR EXPRESS (or for some BEOWULF/ CHRISTMAS CAROL), Robert Zemeckis has been the director of many fan favorites such as FOREST GUMP, BTTF trilogy, WHAT LIES BENEATH, CAST AWAY, WHO FRAMED ROGER RABBIT?, (or few fans of DEATH BECOMES HER), with producing credits for TALES FROM THE CRYPT TV show, THE FRIGHTENERS, & REAL STEEL.

Why don't they just direct the movies that bomb instead of messing with the classics?
trailertrash writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 2:51:10 AM

"American Reunion" Directors Want to Remake "Back to the Future"

Helmers indeed !!
trailertrash writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 2:54:50 AM

Ranger

Take it easy bro, Naive College chicks Nice !!

We will keep Plastic's daughter warm for ya ok

In the words of Douglas Quaid

"See you at the (house warming) party"
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 2:56:10 AM

lol... u bet.
pornfly writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 3:58:59 AM

RANGER
I already took a massive dump in the toilet tank
yup that was me
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 4:07:03 AM

My day started off so well and all.
pornfly writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 4:42:30 AM

Hitler should remake the holocaust with just these two guys
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 9:14:01 AM

Those directors should get a f*cking slap in the face, if anyone EVER remakes back to the future, ill personally boy cot that film at every local theater...
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 9:16:38 AM

Do what ever you want! who cares no one is going to the cinemas anyway, i just download the sh*t see it in my house, comfortably semi-naked, and next day i don't even remember what i saw, the movies of this time are like prostitution, you pay for the sh*t and next day you don't even care who you f*ck, you don't remember who you f*ck, you only remember that you get pleasure nothing more!
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 9:16:53 AM

you tell em Ranger!
UnNameable_One writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 9:17:15 AM

FUUUCCCCKKKK NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!
dangerlips writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 9:36:06 AM

@Rager - Take your time bud!
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 11:00:35 AM

@Danger - plan to, thx. Big move.

@Tanman - thx.

@pornfly - an 'upper decker' --- nice.

Hey folks. Boxing up my TV, donating it to a Veteran's Fund to give to a Veteran. Think about doing something similar in your area when the time comes.

Later.


Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 12:03:44 PM

Hurwitz and Schlossberg should go f*ck themselves. Or better yet, they should remake American Pie. Stick to your own franchise retards and don't f*ck with classic films which have no business to be remade. 30 years from now, when Spielberg is 90, he will still have more movie making ability in one finger than you douches will ever possess. Honour him by not f*cking with his property. 30 years from now, BTTF will still look good.
vincere01 writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 12:11:48 PM

I just threw up a little in my mouth. All i have to say yo them is go f*ck yourselves. And to universal the same. And i hope the studio gets sued. But to allieviate anyones concerns here i have some facts. Robert zemekis(co creator and writer and director of all 3) and bob gale(co creator and writer) have complete creative control over the franchise. Absolutely NOTHING can be done with this franchise(t-shirts, mugs, theme park rides, or movies) without explicit approval from both. Both have gone on record for over 20 years now saying there will never be another BTTF movie. They both feel it is done after 3 and see no story left to tell. They have also said to anyone who wants another, that since michael j. Fox's parkinsons makes it impossible to do a feature length movie in the atarring role it makes it even easier for them to say no. And what they say to everyone asking is would anyone really want to see BTTF wothout him as the star?? And no real fan can say yes. I am quite possibly the biggest BTTF fan out there and long to own a delorean(have actually driven one before for my job) and while i would love nothing more than to see continuing adventures(if done right) i would never want to see it without the involvment of fox, lyoid, zemekis, gale and speilberg. And just for clarification on speilberg. He had absolutely nothing to do with the creation or making of them other than being the facilitator. Speilberg and zemekis were friends. BTTF was writen in 81 but not made until 84/85 because no studio wanted it and because zemekis was not a proven director. Speilberg had just had a recent run of success and anything he was involved in studios fought over. So he signed on to produce and zemekis had just gotten a hit movie finally(romancing the stone) so it finally was made. Funny side note disney actually was supposed to make it first but dropped it because marty makes out with his mom haha. Oh and eric stoltz was actually the original marty not fox. They filmed a few weeks then replaced him with fox(pictures are online). Fox was first choice but unavailable due to shooting tv show family ties. Ended up doing both at same time and have 2 to 3 hours sleep a day for a few months lol
vincere01 writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 12:12:30 PM

Sorry long post. But like a said....huge fan
pornfly writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 12:22:59 PM

RANGER,too bad youre not in my city,i'd take that tv. Mine crapped out so i have a 9inch color tv in my room that i cant play games on and i'm not hookin my games up to the living room tv cuz my roommate cant play games like a normal person. But thats a thoughtful donation

Oyea,"hey jew#1 whats your favorite movie?"
"hey jew#2,Back to the Future is my favorite movie"
together"we should remake it!"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEH3Oxni97c&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 12:27:46 PM

Thx. Pornfly. They just left with it.

Nice people. GREAT job they do taking care of the veterans!
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 12:35:54 PM

@Vincere01 - nice read. When you finally get your Delorean, make sure to install a flux capacitor.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 12:53:38 PM

lol, I was telling someone the other day that a remake of Back to the Future would be coming soon and they said, no, they'd never do that, and I said, yes, yes they will remake them, at least the first one, which will fail I might add, and Jaws and ET and every other film, no matter how much they're loved, because money is the only thing that matters to the newer film-making generation in Hollywood. They couldn't care less about 'cinema'.

@Vincere: Actually the rights are held by Universal Studios, not Gale and/or Zemeckis, although they have creative input. I say this because Telltale Games secured development rights to Back to the Future The Game through Universal, not through either Gale or Zemeckis, although they did provide input.

Cool video for Back to the Future, with new footage from 2011 and in Argentina.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=bW7moFxvM7U

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=SNB5mfDSo3Q

http://www.swiftfilm.com/why-are-doc-and-the-delorean-in-this-mysterious-argentinean-commercial/
trailertrash writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 3:58:02 PM

Mink i fear you could be right, What does Hollywood do when it's running out of ideas !! REMAKE !!

I love the movie Jaws, But i really wanna see a totally awesome Shark movie ,Not Sharkdogbollocks V Furrycatp*ssylips

Meg was on the cards at one point but that seems to have gone very quiet.

trailertrash writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 4:17:09 PM

doc brown y el delorean en argentina , He hasn't changed too much that crazy old doc
vincere01 writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 5:21:53 PM

@mink universal holds brand rights and rights to make merchandise, movies etc. But they cant actually move forward without approval on a movie without both gale/zemekis. I respectfully disagree with you. I have been following any shred of news or interviews from both stuido heads, the creators and the actors. They story has been the same for years when they were asked about new sequels. Google bob gales interviews on the subject for reference. He states without ambiguity that sequels cannot be made without theyre approval.
@mr. Blonde- thanks bud. Ive been dreaming of decking one out for decades. Ive also got a pleasant delusion that if i ever come into a ton of money that first thing i do i call up universal and ask em how much they want for one of the original screen used cars sitting in the backlot ;)
vincere01 writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 5:26:19 PM

@mink and as far as the game goes. Gale went on record saying that universal told telltale they had to pitch it to them. Gale actually liked the idea and saw it as an oppourtunity to have a sort of sequel in a digital sense. He actually wrote the overarching story line idea and gave input throughout the creation process. Fox and lyoid actually contributed as voice actors as well. Fox allowed use of his likeness for marty(did not voice) in return for his fee going to his foundation. But again the game would not have existed without gales input and involvement
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 5:28:50 PM

regarding the director's comments on 'it won't be like the original'...well no sh*t it won't be like the original...spielberg is almost 90 anyway, it's not like people will like the idea of a remake in the years to come...i mean i have stoners i hang out that are younger than my generation and even THEY hate this trend hollywood has gone into...which is highly overrated with the word, copycat...most people in hollywood is a little copycattin bullsh*tter...why? because if there were TRULY talented, they could get somewhere with their own material
vincere01 writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 5:30:33 PM

Also theyre were rumors floating around a few years ago about zac efron trying to reboot the franchise as well in the title role. He actually does own a delorean and is said to be a huge fan as well. However his hopes ended quickly after finding out how complicated it would be to accomplish.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 5:31:30 PM

let's time travel back to 1987, the year the movie 'the dead pool' came out...jim carrey has a cameo in the beginning and even then he was saying 'a director with TALENT would have the guts to shoot something original instead of ripping off old movies like the exorcist'...better learn hollywood, the public can turn on you in a heartbeat
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 5:43:02 PM

@Vincere: I read what you read, so unless you have something new to show me, I have to respectfully disagree too.

Here's what Gale said:

"BG: I wouldn't support it. We don't want to do a remake, and we don't want to do a part four. We've seen franchises that go back too many times; they do one too many sequels, or remake something that should not have been remade. Bob [Zemeckis] and I are real happy with the way the movies are as they now exist, and we will do the opposite of what everyone else does and say leave well enough alone -- let's not tamper with the past."

http://blog.moviefone.com/2010/10/25/back-to-the-future-bob-gale-interview/

So he says he wouldn't support it. Ok. James Cameron didn't really support Terminator 3 or 4 but damned if he could stop them. In fact I didn't support T3 or T4 either, but I was also sh*t out of luck.

He also says he and Zemeckis have no interest in a fourth film, and that's fine, but no where does he say either he or Zemeckis own the rights, and in fact it's *very* odd for a screenwriter, a partial screenwriter at that, and a director to hold exclusive rights to a film franchise, especially now, and thus I have to respectfully ask you cite your sources for your opinion that they, Gale and Zemeckis, hold exclusive rights to Back to the Future.

Thanks.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 5:45:30 PM

"the public can turn on you in a heartbeat"

They can but they won't. They like things the way they are, and they aren't about to do anything to turn off the narcotic spigot of entertainment the drug dealers in Hollywood peddle.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 9:02:54 PM

These movies were just one of those trilogies I didn't enjoy like other people did. Like breakfast club or star wars or ALMOST every Speilberg directed movie.

I get the appeal but I just really don't enjoy them.
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 30th, 2012 at 8:51:19 AM

WHO THE HELL CARES!!! DON'T SEE A REMAKE ANY MORE AND THATS IT! f*ck HOLLYWOOD AND THE c*nt "W" TOO!
vincere01 writes:
on March 30th, 2012 at 12:23:33 PM

@mink www.bttf.com/bttf-myths-and-misinformation-debunked-by-bob-gale.php
vincere01 writes:
on March 30th, 2012 at 12:25:36 PM

Thats an exstensive interview with bob gale on the official bttf website. Where he clearly states that they have to come to both him and zemekis. He has stated this before in countless interviews over the past decade but that was the most recent i could remember and pull up. I know zemekis has stated the same as well in solo interviews as well. So theres a source for ya
vincere01 writes:
on March 30th, 2012 at 12:27:33 PM

Im sure i could find more if u want but i dont see the point of digging through the years online.
vincere01 writes:
on March 30th, 2012 at 12:33:36 PM

And i believe cameron sold the rights to sequels after T2. Thats why there has been all this talk recently about trying to hurry with getting a new movie out before the rights revert back to cameron in a few years.
minkowski writes:
on March 30th, 2012 at 1:49:27 PM

@Vincere Well that's interesting for sure, and I hadn't read that, but it still doesn't say who holds the rights, which is avery specifica legal determination. All it says is that somewhere Universal has a legal contract with Gale and Zemeckis, stipulating that they are consulted first before a remake or sequel is even scripted:

"Nor does Universal or Amblin Entertainment have any such plans. How do we know? Because, per our contracts with these companies, no Back to the Future sequel or remake can even be scripted without discussing it with us first. No such discussions have taken place. We are very proud of the Trilogy as it stands and we want to leave it as is."

So I interpret this in a slightly different way, and the way I read it is that Gale/Zemeckis have to be notified before anything can go through, but it doesn't say they legally holds the right, and it doesn't specifically say if Universal or whoever can make the film regardless. It may be, yeah, they're legally required to have Universal consult them, and it also may be that Universal can go ahead regardless of whether Gale and Zemeckis approve, despite their remonstrations. After all, we've only heard Gale say this, not Zemeckis and certainly not Universal.

Also, people like Gale and Zemeckis are often quite fond of exaggerating their power and influence, especially people like Gale that haven't done much of anything since BTTF, so again, I would have to see more before I could be convinced that they alone control the property.

"Thats why there has been all this talk recently about trying to hurry with getting a new movie out before the rights revert back to cameron in a few years."

Yes, that's quite true and as I tried to explain to someone else this is why Constantin produced that unreleased Fantastic Four film back in the nineties, because legal contracts are stipulated quite specifically, which is why, again, I'd have to see the legal details rather than Gale's solo opinion before I can say what rights they really have.

People think they know something about how the movie biz works, people on the internet I mean, including me, but in reality without seeing the contracts, we don't know much of anything, and we can't go on what someone like Gale says in an interview to form a detailed opinion.

Case in point is what someone said about Nolan's final cut authority on TDKR, of which I was then unaware, but as I said anyway, final cut doesn't give Nolan god's powers to do as he pleases, the studio be damned, because the studios have money and power, more than the directors and writers and actors, and if you think they're going to enter into a contract that f*cks them over or screws them out of making money off of property they can sell, you're wrong, and in the case of TDKR, my point was that even though Nolan has final cut privilege, he STILL has to answer, ultimately, to the studio. He just can't some sh*t and throw it to the distributors without the studio having SOME say.

My point: the house always wins. Ultimately.
vincere01 writes:
on March 30th, 2012 at 2:12:14 PM

Well from all the interviews i have seen they all are consistent to me in their explanation that they hold approval before anything can be done. Zemekis has also said this on record as well. The contract i would liken to that of ghostbusters. Ramis, akryoid, murray and reitman have to approve of any sequels before they can be made even though the studio holds the rights. Murray held up production on G2 using the contract(eventually caved from all the money they offered him). And he has officially said no to star in the 3rd one but not officially said they cannot continue without him. It has been well publicised that they have approval powers over the movie as it has been stated many times in interviews(as well as in articles on here). So these kinds of contracts are not unheard of. It is my opinion after reading that interview, as well as many others containing said information, as well as history of other such contracts that it is indeed the fact. And i do believe that this industry as a whole deserves to be taken at face value on every statement because of the untruatworthy nature of the buisness. But i beleive this is one of the exceptions to that rule where the parties pertaining are trustworthy and forthright. I mean the man has been holding a liscense to print money for over 2 decades now and has refused to use it because he has a soul and a concience. There is plenty of proof to it. I believe him when he says what he does. And i wish there were more people like him and zemekis in the buisness. There would be a hell of alot less sequels and remakes. Think about it. This is exactly the kind of guy folks on here have been asking for. Lets commend him for his efforts and not just blindly think he is full of it
vincere01 writes:
on March 30th, 2012 at 2:14:19 PM

Oh and the post about rights reverting back to cameron was to your point about terminator movies. I wasnt really clear on that part. My bad
vincere01 writes:
on March 30th, 2012 at 2:28:36 PM

And lets just take a common sense route for a moment. Fact 1. Studios love making money 2. They will make any remake or sequel they think they can make money off of. 3. They love making money....
So with that in mind. Bttf franchise is one of the most successful and lucrative ever. If the studio really did have the complete control to make more they would have done at least once or twice in 20 years. So just by common sense you must realize there is something keeping them back all this time?? There is. Bob and bob.
minkowski writes:
on March 30th, 2012 at 2:44:37 PM

I don't think the argument holds that just because Universal hasn't remade BTTF over the last 25 years means that they couldn't, and that even now they cant, it only means that because they're a large studio with many profitable franchises, and because the remake fad has only just now picked up steam, they haven't had the thought to seriously entertain remaking one of the most beloved trilogies ever made, and I think that's why they haven't, not because they legally can't. I don't see why they would lock themselves into such a contract.

As for Ghostbusters 2, that's a different circ*mstance. That was but a few years later wherein the actors signed legally binding contracts from the first film on any and all sequels.

On the other hand, it's been nearly THREE dacades since the first BTTF, and neither Lloyd nor Fox are involved in any way, contractually, so there's no real comparison to Ghostbusters 2 imo.

What we do have here though is a question of the details of the contract, and whether o not it says Universal has legal imperative to remake the films regardless of whether or not G and Z sign on or approve, because if so, what if they both live another 30 years? Universal has locked themselves out of a remake for six decades with absolutely no legal recourse? Maybe they did, but that would have to be the dumbest move one could make, ever.

And what if the 'estates' of G and Z then hold the rights? So a remake could never go through unless they approve either? I know that's the case in part with Superman, but that's a somewhat unusual situation. I guess the case could be made that that's whats going on here, but I'd have to see more, I'd have to hear the legal perspective from someone with true inside knowledge before I could say, because going on Gale's vague claims isn't convincing me, and it won't.

Also, what if the studio has a clause in the contract to BUY the BTTF franchise outright if they so choose, because that's always an option and it may very well be the case, which would make sense for Universal to have that clause in the contract.
vincere01 writes:
on March 30th, 2012 at 4:46:29 PM

If that clause is there. I would be willing to bet they woukd have asked by now. And from comments made by both bobs they seem to have enough artistic integrity to not sell it. They created it. Now when one or both of them are on theyre death beds and it becomes more about what to leave theyre families. They might revisit the subject then. At that point they wont be alive to see theyre beloved franchise be run into the ground. Either way its my opinion that they will not allow another movie to be done unless something unforseen down the road were to happen. Like fox finding a cure for parkinsons or something. Now its obvious you are not inclined to believe any of this even if gale said it on record, and universal has never tried to issue any public correction to that fact for 20 years either. So agree to disagree then?
minkowski writes:
on March 30th, 2012 at 6:34:00 PM

We can agree to disagree, yes, but Gale has only said what he's said within the last few years. The internet hasn't been around but for a decade and a half, and much of that is long gone, so a record of what Gale may have said, say from 1985 to 2000, isn't likely to be found on the internet, and nor is anything not located in digital form, say within cinematographer mags.

Again, the fact Universal hasn't remade the film(s) isn't proof that Universal absolutely cannot, only that they have had, up till now, before the reboot/remake trend, no inclination to do so, and drawing any other conclusions from that is more than just a bit of wishful thinking, which is where this discussion is going.

Regardless, at some point, Universal WILL remake the films(s). Gale and Zemckis will either be dead, or they'll be paid off, or Universal will simply muster the legal wherewithal, assuming they can, to do so, and all the hopes and dreams that BTTF won't get made will be quashed like an ant, because ultimately someone somewhere will want to make money, and that's 'all that matters', right?

Can't have it both ways, folks.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved